DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgements
The amendments to the claims filed on 9/22/2026 have obviated the claim objections. Accordingly, objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims filed on 9/22/2026 have obviated the 112 rejections. Accordingly, the 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laduca et al. (US 2018/0344981; hereafter Laduca) in view of Fojtik et al. (US 2020/0230359; hereafter Fojtik).
In regard to claim 1, Laduca discloses a medical catheter (10) for transfer of fluids (see at least par. [0003]) comprising: a laser-cut hypotube (56) comprising cuts (78), the laser-cut hypotube having a proximal end (left side of 76) and a distal end (right side of 76) (see par. [0076]; Laduca explicitly discloses “laser-cut” but the examiner maintains the limitation is a product-by-process limitation); and an embedded polymer flowed into the cuts (78) of the laser-cut hypotube (see par. [0081]), wherein the polymer has a Shore Durometer value from about 35A to about 76A (see par. [0081]), wherein the laser-cut hypotube (56) and the embedded polymer form a catheter wall (12), the catheter wall comprising an interior surface, an exterior surface, and a length between a proximal and distal end of the catheter wall.
Laduca fails to expressly disclose a difference between a catheter wall thickness where the embedded polymer flows into the cuts and a wall thickness of the laser-cut hypotube is about 0.0005” to about 0.006” as is recited in claim 1. Laduca discloses various sizes for the catheter (12) with the embedded hypotube (56) at par. [0080] and Table 1. Laduca fails to expressly disclose wall thickness of the hypotube.
The instant disclosure describes the parameters of the difference between the catheter wall thickness and the hypotube wall thickness as being merely preferable, and does not describe the recited thickness difference as contributing any unexpected results to the system. See par. [0056] of the instant pg-publication for the sole disclosure of the recited range. As such, parameters such as the difference between the catheter wall thickness and the hypotube wall thickness are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the limitation of the recited difference between the catheter wall thickness and the hypotube wall thickness would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
In a similar art, Fojtik discloses a medical catheter (10) for transfer of fluids (see at least par. [0003]) comprising: a laser-cut hypotube (30) comprising cuts (50d, 50i, 50p), the laser-cut hypotube having a proximal end (29) and a distal end (20) (see par. [0043 and [0047]); wherein the hypotube (30) comprises a wall thickness of about 0.0015 inches to about 0.006 inches with an outer diameter of about 0.005 inches to about 0.080 inches (see par. [0056]). Fojtik further discloses in par. [0056] that the hypotube may have any suitable dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hypotube of Laduca with the dimensions disclosed by Fojtik, since Fojtik discloses the hypotube in a similary sized catheter for the similar purpose of providing structural support and a small profile. The catheters disclosed in Table 1 of Laduca and par. [0056]-[0057] of Fojtik are substantially similarly sized and configured for similar purposes of navigating tortuous vasculature (see at least par. [0003] of Laduca and [0015] of Fojtik). The ordinary skilled artisan would recognize the dimensions of the hypotube of Fojtik would be suitable for use in the hypotube of Laduca in order to provide sufficient column strength and trackability while maintaining a relatively low-profile structure. The modified Laduca would have a wall thickness of about 0.006” to 0.008” and a hypotube wall thickness of 0.0015” to about 0.006” for a difference of about 0.0045” to about 0.002” which substantially overlaps with the recited range.
In regard to claim 2, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) is configured to extend along at least about the distal 30% of the catheter length (see par. [0079]).
In regard to claim 3, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) comprises a plurality of sections (72, 74, 76), each of the plurality of sections having a distinct laser cut pattern (see at least Fig. 7a; par. [0076]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 5, Laduca discloses wherein the distinct laser cut pattern is associated with a flexibility of the corresponding section (see par. [0077]).
In regard to claim 6, Laduca discloses wherein a first section (72) of the laser cut hypotube comprises a consistent pitch and a second section (74+76) of the laser cut hypotube comprises a pitch transitioning from a first value at a distal end to a second value at a proximal end (74 and 76 can be considered one section and each part has a different cut per revolution).
In regard to claim 7, Laduca discloses wherein a section (74+76) of the laser cut hypotube transitions from a first cuts per revolution at a first end to a second cuts per revolution at a second end (74 and 76 can be considered one section and each part has a different cut per revolution).
In regard to claim 8, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube with embedded polymer has an average wall thickness from about 0.0020 inches (0.0508 mm) to about 0.010 inches (0.254 mm) (see par. [0080]) and an inner diameter of at least 0.072” (see par. [0056] of Fojtik).
In regard to claim 9, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube with embedded polymer has an average wall thickness from about 0.0025 inches (0.0635 mm) to about 0.008 inches (0.216 mm) (see par. [0080]) and an inner diameter of at least 0.072” (see par. [0056] of Fojtik).
In regard to claim 10, Laduca discloses wherein the polymer has a Shore Durometer value from about 42A to about 58A (see par. [0081]).
In regard to claim 11, Laduca discloses wherein the hypotube (56) comprises stainless steel (see par. [0083]).
In regard to claim 12, Laduca discloses comprising uncut segments (these segments can be interpreted as portions of the catheter; the uncut segments are not recited as part of the hypotube) at a distal end and a proximal end (the catheter 12 is on the proximal and distal ends), the uncut segments independently having a length along the catheter from about 0.0020 in to about 0.1 (the segment can be interpreted as portions equivalent to the recited sizes) and at least one section (74) of spiral cut hypotube (see par. [0078]).
In regard to claims 13-14, Laduca discloses further comprising a low friction polymer coating over an exterior surface, an interior surface, or both (see par. [0062]), wherein the low friction polymer coating comprises a hydrophilic polymer (see par. [0062]).
In regard to claim 15, Laduca discloses wherein the proximal end of the laser cut hypotube is inserted into and secured to a hub (28a) (see par. [0079]; the hypotube 56 can be embedded anywhere within catheter 12; see Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 16, Laduca discloses wherein a control structure (see at least par. [0039]-[0060] for multiple examples of control structures) is secured to the laser cut hypotube at or near the proximal end of the hypotube (see par. [0079]; the hypotube can be embedded anywhere within catheter 12) and a distal end of the control structure (see 112 rejection; the distal end of the control is secured to the hypotube).
In regard to claim 17, Laduca discloses wherein the control structure comprises a feature that interfaces with a mated feature cut into the hypotube to facilitate securing of the control structure (see at least par. [0039]-[0060] for multiple examples of control structures).
In regard to claim 18, Laduca discloses wherein a polymer jacket (the catheter body 12 can be considered a jacket) is placed over the secured distal end of the control structure to form a connection section.
In regard to claim 19, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) has a port near the distal end (the distal end of 56 is open thereby defining a port).
In regard to claim 20, Laduca discloses wherein the port is formed by a gap in the embedded polymer to allow fluid flow through the laser cuts, or the port is formed through a specific hole formed though the hypotube and embedded polymer (the distal end of 56 is open thereby defining a port).
In regard to claim 22, Laduca discloses further comprising a radiopaque marker band that is laser cut or comprises radiopaque wire, and wherein the embedded polymer further embeds the radiopaque marker band (see par. [0064] and [0113]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laduca and Fojtik in view of Janardhan et al. (US; hereafter Janardhan).
In regard to claim 4, Laduca is silent wherein at least two sections comprise a spiral laser cut and two distinct laser cut patterns differ from one another by differences of one or more of a pitch, a degree of an uncut portion, and a cuts per revolution.
In a similar art, Janardhan teaches a hypotube (502; Fig. 27B; col 156 In 24-56), comprising: at least two sections comprise a spiral laser cut (two sections with differing pitches of spiral laser cut; Fig. 27B, 17G; col 156, In 24-56, col 120, In 30-47) and two distinct laser cut patterns differ from one another by, differences of one or more of a pitch (two sections with differing patterns of pitches of spiral laser cut; Fig. 27B; col 156 In 24-56, col 120 In 30-47), a degree of an uncut portion, and a cuts per revolution.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the elements of Janardhan upon the catheter of Laduca, in order to improve catheter flexibility and navigability in situ.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THEODORE J. STIGELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783