DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim s 2-22 are objected to because of the following informalities: On line 2 of claim 2, “laser cut” should read “laser-cut ” to correct a minor typographical error. Claims 3-9, 15-16, and 19-22 has the same issue. The preambles of claims 2-22 should include a comma after “claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regard to claim 1, there is no antecedent basis for “the cuts” on line 3. The claim previously recites “a laser-cut hypotube” but that limitation does not necessarily imply multiple cuts. Furthermore, a hyoptube can be “laser-cut” to define a length of the hypotube (i.e., the proximal and distal ends are cut to define the length of the hypotube), wherein these cuts would not be suitable to hold flowed polymer. The examiner suggests an amendment like: “a laser-cut hypotube comprising cuts, the laser-cut hypotube having a proximal end and a distal end”. In regard to claim 2, there is no antecedent basis for “the length” . The claim can be interpreted as any stretch of the catheter. In regard to claim 13, it is unclear what structure the recited exterior and interior surfaces belong to. The claim can be interpreted as an exterior and interior surface of the medical catheter or some other feature (recited or not recited). In regard to claim 16, it is unclear what “a distal end of the control structure” means. The claim doesn’t appear to make sense. The examiner is interpreting that the distal end of the control structure is secured to the hypotube. The dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on the rejected independent claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 -22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Laduca et al. (US 2018/0344981; hereafter Laduca) . In regard to claim 1, Laduca discloses a medical catheter (10) for transfer of fluids (see at least par. [0003]) comprising: a laser-cut hypotube (56) having a proximal end (left side of 76) and a distal end (right side of 76) (see par. [0076]; Laduca explicitly discloses “laser-cut” but the examiner maintains the limitation is a product-by-process limitation) ; and an embedded polymer flowed into the cuts (78) of the laser-cut hypotube (see par. [0081]) , wherein the polymer has a Shore Durometer value from about 35A to about 76A (see par. [0081]) . In regard to claim 2, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) is configured to extend along at least about the distal 30% of the catheter length (see par. [0079]) . In regard to claim 3, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) comprises a plurality of sections (72, 74, 76) , each of the plurality of sections having a distinct laser cut pattern (see at least Fig. 7a; par. [0076]-[0077]) . In regard to claim 5, Laduca discloses wherein the distinct laser cut pattern is associated with a flexibility of the corresponding section (see par. [0077]) . In regard to claim 6, Laduca discloses wherein a first section (72) of the laser cut hypotube comprises a consistent pitch and a second section (74+76) of the laser cut hypotube comprises a pitch transitioning from a first value at a distal end to a second value at a proximal end (74 and 76 can be considered one section and each part has a different cut per revolution) . In regard to claim 7, Laduca discloses wherein a section (74+76) of the laser cut hypotube transitions from a first cuts per revolution at a first end to a second cuts per revolution at a second end (74 and 76 can be considered one section and each part has a different cut per revolution) . In regard to claim 8, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube with embedded polymer has an average wall thickness from about 0.0020 inches (0.0508 mm) to about 0.010 inches (0.254 mm) (see par. [0080]) . In regard to claim 9, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube with embedded polymer has an average wall thickness from about 0.0025 inches (0.0635 mm) to about 0.008 inches (0.216 mm) (see par. [0080]) . In regard to claim 10, Laduca discloses wherein the polymer has a Shore Durometer value from about 42A to about 58A (see par. [0081]) . In regard to claim 11, Laduca discloses wherein the hypotube (56) comprises stainless steel (see par. [0083]) . In regard to claim 12, Laduca discloses comprising uncut segments (these segments can be interpreted as portions of the catheter; the uncut segments are not recited as part of the hypotube) at a distal end and a proximal end (the catheter 12 is on the proximal and distal ends) , the uncut segments independently having a length along the catheter from about 0.0020 in to about 0.1 (the segment can be interpreted as portions equivalent to the recited sizes) and at least one section (74) of spiral cut hypotube (see par. [0078]) . In regard to claims 13-14, Laduca discloses further comprising a low friction polymer coating over an exterior surface, an interior surface, or both (see par. [0062]), wherein the low friction polymer coating comprises a hydrophilic polymer (see par. [0062]) . In regard to claim 15, Laduca discloses wherein the proximal end of the laser cut hypotube is inserted into and secured to a hub (28a) (see par. [0079]; the hypotube 56 can be embedded anywhere within catheter 12; see Fig. 1) . In regard to claim 16, Laduca discloses wherein a control structure (see at least par. [0039]-[0060] for multiple examples of control structures) is secured to the laser cut hypotube at or near the proximal end of the hypotube (see par. [0079]; the hypotube can be embedded anywhere within catheter 12 ) and a distal end of the control structure (see 112 rejection; the distal end of the control is secured to the hypotube) . In regard to claim 17, Laduca discloses wherein the control structure comprises a feature that interfaces with a mated feature cut into the hypotube to facilitate securing of the control structure ( see at least par. [0039]-[0060] for multiple examples of control structures) . In regard to claim 18, Laduca discloses wherein a polymer jacket (the catheter body 12 can be considered a jacket) is placed over the secured distal end of the control structure to form a connection section. In regard to claim 19, Laduca discloses wherein the laser cut hypotube (56) has a port near the distal end (the distal end of 56 is open thereby defining a port) . In regard to claim 20, Laduca discloses wherein the port is formed by a gap in the embedded polymer to allow fluid flow through the laser cuts, or the port is formed through a specific hole formed though the hypotube and embedded polymer (the distal end of 56 is open thereby defining a port) . In regard to claim 21, Laduca discloses wherein a difference between a catheter wall thickness and a laser cut hypotube wall thickness ranges from about zero to about 0.0015 inches (0.0381 mm) (see par. [0080]) . In regard to claim 22, Laduca discloses further comprising a radiopaque marker band that is laser cut or comprises radiopaque wire, and wherein the embedded polymer further embeds the radiopaque marker band (see par. [0064] and [0113]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laduca in view of Janardhan et al. ( US ; hereafter Janardhan). In regard to claim 4 , Laduca is silent wherein at least two sections comprise a spiral laser cut and two distinct laser cut patterns differ from one another by differences of one or more of a pitch, a degree of an uncut portion, and a cuts per revolution. In a similar art , Janardhan teaches a hypotube (502; Fig. 27B; col 156 In 24-56), comprising: at least two sections comprise a spiral laser cut (two sections with differing pitches of spiral laser cut; Fig. 27B, 17G; col 156 , In 24-56, col 120 , In 30-47) and two distinct laser cut patterns differ from one another by, differences of one or more of a pitch (two sections with differing patterns of pitches of spiral laser cut; Fig. 27B; col 156 In 24-56, col 120 In 30-47), a degree of an uncut portion, and a cuts per revolution. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the elements of Janardhan upon the catheter of Laduca , in order to improve catheter flexibility and navigability in situ. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE J STIGELL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8759 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9-5:30 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Tsai can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5246 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE J. STIGELL Primary Examiner Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783