DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Drawings
The drawings are either low resolution or out of focus and therefore not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [470] of the disclosure recites “FIG.26”. There is no Fig.26 in drawing. It is suggested Applicant to confirm the cited FIG.26 is intended to be FIG.18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 recites executing the object tracking based on the obtained 3D definition model, obtaining the plurality of frame images based on the object tracking, extracting the descriptors within the plurality of obtained frame images, and determining the key frame image based on the extracted descriptors in parallel. It is unclear whether all the cited executing, obtaining, extracting and determining steps are in parallel or the last two/three steps are in parallel.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 recites the limitation "occlusion area" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2018/0335840 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin disclose an object tracking method ([0004]: One aspect of the present disclosure is related to an eye tracking method) for augmented reality ([0003]: Nowadays, eye tracking methods are used in various applications. For example, in virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) application, eye tracking methods are used in the VR/AR system to trace a user's gazing direction in order to provide corresponding reaction and/or control in the VR/AR environment), by which a tracking application executed by at least one processor of a terminal (Fig.1: See processing circuit) performs object tracking for augmented reality, the method comprising:
obtaining a 3D definition model (Fig.2: step S1 obtaining, by a processing circuit, an eye model) trained based on images capturing a target object from a first viewpoint ([0066]: Accordingly, various machine learning methods may be applied to minimize the cost of errors between the estimated pupil region Re and the pupil region of interest Ri to optimize the eye model. The optimized eye model, similarly to the original eye model, includes a matrix indicating relationship between the viewpoint of the eye and the gaze vector of the pupil region of interest. A machine learning model is a trained model);
performing object tracking of the target object based on the obtained 3D definition model (Fig.2: S6 tracing, by the processing circuit, a motion of the eye based on the viewpoint calculate using the eye model);
obtaining a plurality of frame images from a plurality of viewpoints for the target object based on the object tracking; learning the target object from the plurality of viewpoints based on the plurality of frame images obtained; updating the 3D definition model based on the learning ([0066]: various machine learning methods may be applied to minimize the cost of errors between the estimated pupil region Re and the pupil region of interest Ri to optimize the eye model. The optimized eye model, similarly to the original eye model, includes a matrix indicating relationship between the viewpoint of the eye and the gaze vector of the pupil region of interest. Lin does not explicitly recite obtaining a plurality of frame images from a plurality of viewpoints for the target object based on the object tracking; learning the target object from the plurality of viewpoints based on the plurality of frame images obtained; updating the 3D definition model based on the learning. However a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that principal of machine learning is to obtain a plurality training data, process the training data through the machine learning model, obtain a result, obtain a comparison result by comparing the result with an expected result, adjust model’s parameter therefore minimize the comparison error); and
performing AR object tracking for the target object based on the updated 3D definition model (Fig.8: S6 tracing, by the processing circuit, a motion of the eye based on the viewpoint calculated using the optimized eye model).
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is similar to Claim 1 except in the format of system. Lin discloses at least one memory and at least one processor as shown in Fig.1. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 13.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2018/0335840 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0292715 A1) and Ye et al. (US 2020/0273190 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin fails to disclose wherein the learning of the target object includes: extracting descriptors within the plurality of frame images obtained, determining a key frame image based on the extracted descriptors, and obtaining 3D depth data based on the determined key frame image.
However Liu discloses
extracting descriptors within the plurality of frame images obtained ([0079]: a descriptor corresponding to a feature point (e.g., Fk) such as Oriented FAST and Rotated BRIEF (ORB) is extracted from an input image, and a feature point matching relationship between two frames before and after is obtained by comparing the extracted descriptor (e.g., a descriptor for feature point Fk) with a descriptor of an input image of the previous frame (e.g., a descriptor for feature point Fj)),
determining a key frame image based on the extracted descriptors ([0085]: When determining a tracking state between the two frames before and after, the number of feature points tracked in the current frame and the number of newly extracted feature points (i.e., feature points newly extracted from the current frame when the number of matched feature points obtained on the current frame is less than the set threshold value) may be compared to each other, and when the number of feature points tracked in the current frame is less than a given value or the number of newly extracted feature points exceeds a given value, the current frame may be used as a key frame in the key frame set), and
obtaining 3D depth data based on the determined key frame image ([0122]: In this case, a process of calculating the feature matching relationship includes the following operations. That is, feature points and descriptors on a similar key frame obtained by looking up a current frame may be extracted, and a three-dimensional (3D) point cloud corresponding to the current frame and the similar key frame may be obtained through a depth value corresponding to each key frame. Through the 3D point cloud, a corresponding device pose and a descriptor, a feature point matching relationship between two frames may be calculated. Note Liu teaches depth data may be obtained through various input sensors, see [0052]: Specifically, the SLAM may capture inputs from various sensors (e.g., a LiDAR, a camera, an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU), a Global Positioning System (GPS), and a depth sensor (Kinect)) in real time, thereby building a three-dimensional scene or map while estimating a pose in real time).
Lin and Liu are both related to the field of augmented reality application. Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Lin and to include the limitation of extracting descriptors within the plurality of frame images obtained, determining a key frame image based on the extracted descriptors in order to a improve the efficiency of global and local feature joint learning on a data set with only image level annotations as suggested by Liu ([0066]).
Lin modified by Liu fails to disclose obtaining 3D depth data based on the determined key frame image.
However Ye disclose, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a PHOSITA had already known to obtain 3D depth data based on the determined key frame image ([0008]: Depth estimation from CNN based on monocular color image: the key frames generated by previous step are input into the well-trained CNN model to obtain corresponding depth maps). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Ye into that of Lin modified by Liu and to include the limitation of obtaining 3D depth data based on the determined key frame image in order to obtain high-quality dense depth maps as suggested by Ye ([0004]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ye further teaches or suggests obtaining the 3D depth data for each key frame image ([0008]: the key frames generated by previous step are input into the well-trained CNN model to obtain corresponding depth maps) and updating the 3D definition model based on the 3D depth data obtained for each key frame image ([0010]: Depth fusion and reconstruction: Depth sources are fused and the corresponding confidence map is computed for every key frame). The same reason to combine as that of Claim 2 is applied.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2018/0335840 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0292715 A1) and Ye et al. (US 2020/0273190 A1) as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Nagy et al. (US 20180114372 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin as modified teaches The key frame set may be built by employing the SLAM technique. Specifically, the key frame set may be built through the following method. First, feature points of an input image of an image acquisition device (a process is expressed by a current frame and a previous frame) may be collected or extracted. Next, the number of feature points tracked between a current frame image and a previous frame image may be updated, and key frames included in the key frame set may be updated (Liu [0076]). Liu further teaches extracting a descriptor corresponding a feature point such as Oriented FAST and Rotated BRIEF (ORB) ([0079]).
Lin as modified fails to explicitly recite wherein the extracting of the descriptors within the plurality of frame images includes obtaining frame descriptor information for each of the plurality of frame images based on 6 degrees of freedom (DoF) parameters between 3D depth data of the 3D definition model and the plurality of frame images.
However Nagy, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention had already known that The tracking can comprise, for example, six degrees of freedom (6DoF) device tracking. This can be implemented, for example, using Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM). SLAM generally includes constructing and/or updating a map of an unknown environment while simultaneously keeping track of an agent's (e.g., the capture device's) location within the environment. One suitable approach uses ORB-SLAM with a monocular, stereo, and/or RGB-D camera of the capture device. It should be appreciated that this granularity of device tracking need not be employed in all embodiments, such as in embodiments of viewing and/or modifying environmental snapshots ([0065]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Nagy into that of Lin as modified and to include the limitation of wherein the extracting of the descriptors within the plurality of frame images includes obtaining frame descriptor information for each of the plurality of frame images based on 6 degrees of freedom (DoF) parameters between 3D depth data of the 3D definition model and the plurality of frame images in order to use a known technology to extract a descriptor within a frame image as required by Lin modified by Liu.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2018/0335840 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Shreve et al. (US 2023/0403459 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Lin fails to disclose providing an object additional shooting guide describing a procedure for capturing the occlusion area representing a target object area other than a sight area which is the target object area detected from the first viewpoint.
However Shreve discloses providing an object additional shooting guide describing a procedure for capturing the occlusion area representing a target object area other than a sight area which is the target object area detected from the first viewpoint ([0067]: Module 216 can use the statistical measures estimated by module 214 and guide the user to capture additional images to ensure obtaining all possible views of each object under all lighting conditions with and without occlusions and without excessive blur, in addition to other scene characteristic changes. Module 216 can provide this guidance as instructions (similar to instructions 176/198 in FIG. 1) to the user using AR features, such as arrows, waypoints, animations (e.g., to tilt the screen up/down, to move closer/further, etc.)).
Shreve and Lin both are related to augmented reality application. Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Shreve into that of Lin and to include the limitation of providing an object additional shooting guide describing a procedure for capturing the occlusion area representing a target object area other than a sight area which is the target object area detected from the first viewpoint in order to obtain or capture images with high quality that cover all the conditions expected in the final application as suggested by Shreve ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shreve further teaches or suggests wherein the providing of the object additional shooting guide includes providing the object additional shooting guide based on a predetermined virtual object ([0067]: Module 216 can provide this guidance as instructions (similar to instructions 176/198 in FIG. 1) to the user using AR features, such as arrows, waypoints, animations (e.g., to tilt the screen up/down, to move closer/further, etc.)). The same reason to combine as that of Claim 11 is applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose or render obviousness the limitation of calculating the number of detected times that each the same descriptor is detected within the plurality of frame descriptor information and setting a same descriptor for which the calculated number of detected times is smaller than or equal to a predetermined criterion as an invalid descriptor as claimed in dependent Claim 4. The closest prior art Liu et al. (US 2022/0292715 A1) discloses extracting a descriptor from a current frame. But prior art fails to disclose above cited limitation. Claims 5-8 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 4.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613