DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first prediction information" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first prediction information" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first prediction information" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Palm: Predicting Actions through Language Modeles @ Ego4D Long-Term Action Anticipation Challenge 2023” by Huang et al. (hereinafter ‘Huang’).
In regards to claim 1, Huang teaches an electronic device, comprising: circuitry that: receives a video that includes one or more objects performing a physical task; (See Huang Figure 1, Huang inputs a video including tasks)
generates, based on the video, a first set of tags that corresponds to a first sequence of actions associated with the physical task; (See Huang Figure 1 and Section 2.2, ‘Past Action’, Huang teaches determining tags for actions performed in the video)
generates a first prompt for a neural language model based on the first set of tags; (See Huang Figure 1 and Section 2.2, ‘Prompt Selection’, Huang teaches generating LLM prompt based on action tags.)
predicts, by application of the neural language model on the first prompt, a second set of tags that corresponds to a second sequence of actions associated with the physical task, wherein the second sequence of actions succeed the first sequence of actions; and controls a display device to display the first prediction information based on the second set of tags. (See Huang Figure 1 and Section 2.3, Huang teaches using LLM to generate long-term action sequences based on the prompt.)
In regards to claim 2, Huang teaches wherein the first set of tags is generated by application of an action recognition model on a sequence of frames of the video. (See Huang Figure 1).
In regards to claim 5, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further splits the received video into a set of segments, and each tag of the generated first set of tags corresponds to a segment of the set of segments. (See Huang Section 2.1).
In regards to claim 6, Huang teaches wherein each tag of the generated first set of tags includes a noun and a verb that is associated with the noun. (See Huang Section 2.2, ‘Past actions’)
In regards to claim 7, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further: applies the neural language model on a first set of tags; predicts a second set of tags based on application of the neural language model; and fine-tunes the neural language model based on the predicted second sequence of actions, wherein the fine-tuned neural language model is applied on the generated first prompt. (See Huang Section 2.2, Huang teaches iteratively selecting prompt.)
In regards to claim 9, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further retrieves historical data that includes pairs of input and output tags corresponding to past actions and past action predictions associated with one or more physical tasks that is same as or different from the physical task, wherein the first prompt is generated based on the retrieved historical data and the first set of tags. (See Huang Section 2.2, ‘Past actions’)
In regards to claim 10, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further: generates an output action sequence based on the application of the neural language model on the first prompt; parses the output action sequence into a set of tags, each of which includes a verb and a noun associated with the verb; (See Huang Section 2.3.)
determines whether the set of tags includes an invalid tag; identifies a valid tag that is nearest to the identified invalid tag from the set of tags based on a distance metric; and updates the set of tags by replacing the identified invalid tag with the identified valid tag, wherein the predicted second set of tags is the updated set of tags. (See Huang Section 3, ‘Evaluation Metric’).
In regards to claim 11, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further: retrieves historical data that includes pairs of input and output tags corresponding to past actions and past action predictions associated with one or more physical tasks that is same as or different from the physical task; and receives an input that includes a first question associated with an objective of the physical task and a second question associated with the second sequence of actions, wherein the first prompt is generated further based on the historical data and the input. (See Huang Section 2.2).
In regards to claim 12, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further predicts the objective of the physical task by the application of the neural language model on the first prompt, wherein the first prediction information is displayed further based on the predicted objective. (See Huang Figure 1).
In regards to claim 13, Huang teaches wherein the first set of tags corresponds to a first set of time stamps associated with a timeline of the received video. (See Huang Section 2.1).
In regards to claim 14, Huang teaches wherein the circuitry further predicts a second set of time stamps corresponding to the second set of tags based on the application of the neural language model on the first prompt, wherein the first prediction information is displayed further based on the predicted second set of time stamps. (See Huang Figure 1.)
Claims 15-16 and 19 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 1-2 and 5, respectively. Therefore, claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected similarly as claims 1-2 and 5, respectively.
Claim 20 recites limitations that are similar to that of claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected similarly as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Palm: Predicting Actions through Language Modeles @ Ego4D Long-Term Action Anticipation Challenge 2023” by Huang et al. (hereinafter ‘Huang’) in view of “Frozen CLIP Models are Efficient Video Learners” by Lin et al. (hereinafter ‘Lin’).
In regards to claim 3, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 2. However, Huang does not expressly teach wherein the action recognition model includes a frozen backbone network and a transformer encoder.
Lin teaches wherein the action recognition model includes a frozen backbone network and a transformer encoder. (See Lin Figure 2, Lin teaches video learning model comprising frozen backbone and transformer.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to Huang to include the action model as taught by Lin. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Huang in this manner because/in order to be able to efficiently train models and still produce high quality outputs.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huang with Lin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
In regards to claim 4, Huang and Lin teach all the limitations of claim 3. Lin also teaches wherein the circuitry further: applies the frozen backbone network on the received video; extracts a set of representations from a set of sampled frames associated with the received video; and applies the transformer encoder on the extracted set of representations based on at least one learnable query token, wherein the first set of tags is generated based on the application of the transformer encoder. (See Lin Figure 2 and Section 3.)
Claims 17-18 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 3-4, respectively. Therefore, claims 17-18 are rejected similarly as claims 3-4, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 8, the applied art does not teach or suggest “generates a second prompt based on the predicted second set of tags; predicts a third set of tags based on application of the neural language model on the second prompt, wherein the third set of tags corresponds to a third sequence of actions associated with the physical task, and the third sequence of actions succeed the second sequence of actions; and controls the display device to display second prediction information based on the predicted third set of tags.”
Conclusion
/UTPAL D SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668