Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16, and 19-20 in the reply filed on April 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on February 7, 2024, June 28, 2024, and March 31, 2026. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Jiang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0337295), herein referred to as “Jiang”. This reference claims priority to, and has support in, provisional application 63/363130.
Regarding Claim 1,
Jiang discloses: A method for optimizing data transfer in ultra-wideband (UWB) communication, comprising: receiving, from a UWB device, one or more first application data packets as a first part of a sequence of application data packets, the sequence having a first number of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
determining a receiver status value based on the one or more first application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The “status” is being interpreted as the “Ack status”.
comparing the receiver status value to a threshold value
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The threshold value is being interpreted as whether all LL packets have been received successfully. The comparison occurs where (and if) the packets were received successfully or not. If they were received successfully, the Ack status is sent from the receiver.
determining a second number of application data packets for the sequence based on a difference between the receiver status value and the threshold value, the second number being different from the first number;
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Referring to Figure 8, note that elements/frames 808 and 810 contain LL packets 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The receiver status/threshold, as discussed above, depends on if the packets were successfully received. Either frames 808 or 810 can have successful dropped packets. If either contain dropped packets (the “first number”), the “second number” is element 814, which are the retransmitted packets, differing in number between the missing packets of 808 or 810.
generating a message indicating the second number of application data packets for the sequence; and transmitting the message to the UWB device
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Paragraphs [0049] and [0051] in combination demonstrate that the acknowledge message is transmitted to a UWB device (Device A element 802) when successful packets are received.
Regarding Claim 15,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to the determining of the second number of application data packets in the sequence, receiving a second message from the UWB device requesting for the second number of application data packets in the sequence to be transmitted.
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Referring to Figure 8, note that elements/frames 808 and 810 contain LL packets 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The receiver status/threshold, as discussed above, depends on if the packets were successfully received. Either frames 808 or 810 can have successful dropped packets, resulting in a second message in order to retransmit the failed packets.
Regarding Claim 16,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the message is a link layer message.
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth, but from the perspective of the transmitter.
Jiang discloses: A method for optimizing data transfer in ultra-wideband (UWB) communication, comprising: transmitting a first number of application data packets; receiving acknowledgement messages for a second number of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
determining a transmitter status value based on at least one of the first number of application data packets or the second number of application data packets.
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The “status” is being interpreted as the “Ack status”.
Regarding Claim 20,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 19, further comprising:
retransmitting a third number of application data packets of which the acknowledgement messages are not received; receiving acknowledgement messages for a fourth number of retransmitted application data packets; and determining a fifth number of application data packets of which acknowledgement messages are not received, wherein the determining of the transmitter status value is further based on one or more of the third number of retransmitted application data packets, the fourth number of retransmitted application data packets, or the fifth number of application data packets.
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Referring to Figure 8, note that elements/frames 808 and 810 contain LL packets 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The receiver status/threshold, as discussed above, depends on if the packets were successfully received. Either frames 808 or 810 can have successful dropped packets. If either contain dropped packets (the “first number”), the “second number” is element 814, which are the retransmitted packets, differing in number between the missing packets of 808 or 810.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Hasegawa (JP 6554807 B2). This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated June 28, 2024.
Regarding Claim 2,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 2; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: in response to the receiver status value being equal to or greater than the threshold value, decreasing or maintaining the first number such that the second number is less than or equal to the first number
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
Note: The “>0” is being interpreted as a threshold value, where “RWIN_new(t)” is interpreted as the first value and “RWIN_new(t-1)” is the second value.
and in response to the receiver status value being less than the threshold value, increasing the first number such that the second number is greater than the first number
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 3,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 3; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein: in response to the receiver status value being equal to or greater than the threshold value, decreasing the number of second application data packets to be less than a difference between the first number and a number of the first application data packets
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
Note: Since “RWIN_new(t)” is interpreted as the first value and “RWIN_new(t-1)” is the second value as aforementioned, these are window sized, which also constitute application data packets.
and in response to the receiver status value being less than the threshold value, increasing the number of second application data packets to be greater than the difference between the first number and the number of the first application data packets
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 4,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 4; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 3, further comprising storing the one or more first application data packets in a memory, wherein the receiver status value comprises a storage space of the one or more first application data packets in the memory and the threshold value comprises a threshold storage space.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Note: The “threshold storage space” can be interpreted here as “MAX_BURST”.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 5,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 5; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the threshold storage space is one of a predetermined percentage of the memory or a predetermined percentage of a total storage space corresponding to the sequence of the first number of application data packets.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
Note: RWIN_new(t) can also serve as a percentage since it is smaller than the total corrected window size.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 6,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 6; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein: the threshold storage space is equal to or greater than a predetermined percentage of the memory, or equal to or greater than the predetermined percentage of the total storage space corresponding to the sequence of the first number of application data packets; and the storage space is equal to or greater than the threshold storage space.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 7,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 7; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein: the threshold storage space is less than a predetermined percentage of the memory, or equal to or greater than the predetermined percentage of the total storage space corresponding to the sequence of the first number of application data packets; and the storage space is less than the threshold storage space.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 8,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein: the receiver status value comprises a throughput at a UWB control interface (UCI) computed based on the first application data packets; and the threshold value comprises a threshold bandwidth.
[0003] As contemplated by the FiRa, wireless signals can be used to determine distance between electronic devices. Networks used by FiRa are typically referred to as Ultra-Wideband (UWB) networks. UWB networks may connect wireless electronic devices in various arrangements. In one example, a UWB network may comprise a primary device (e.g., a controller or initiator) and one or more secondary devices (e.g., controlees or responders). The devices of the UWB network may perform various functionalities with respect to the other devices connected to the UWB network.
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The threshold value is being interpreted as whether all LL packets have been received successfully. The comparison occurs where (and if) the packets were received successfully or not. If they were received successfully, the Ack status is sent from the receiver.
Regarding Claim 12,
Jiang does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 12.
Hasegawa discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein: the receiver status value comprises a central processing unit (CPU) usage; and the threshold value comprises a predetermined threshold percentage of CPU usage.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Note: Since the window size increases, as does the storage required increase due to the window size, so to the CPU requirements needed for certain computations.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Claims 9-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Hasegawa, held further in view of Guo (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0178980).
Regarding Claim 9,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving one or more other sequences from one or more other connections, each of the other sequences having a plurality of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
computing a respective throughput at the UCI for each of the connection and other connections
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: The throughput is computer through the connection setup based on how many LL packets are received or not received.
determining at least one of the throughputs at the UCI to be higher than the threshold bandwidth
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Referring to Figure 8, note that elements/frames 808 and 810 contain LL packets 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The receiver status/threshold, as discussed above, depends on if the packets were successfully received (which can be a higher/lower status). Either frames 808 or 810 can have successful dropped packets.
Jiang does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Guo discloses comparing a priority of a connection for the sequence with priorities of the one or more other connections for the one or more other sequences; and determining the connection for the sequence has a lowest priority.
[0108] For example, the base station may determine the combination priority of the BWP combination according to the sum, in an ascending order, of the priority orders of respective BWPs in the BWP combination. For example, the BWPs with the highest priority in the CCs may form the BWP combination with the highest combination priority; and then, the BWP combinations with a descending combination priority order can be determined according to an order in which the priority of each BWP descends. For example, for CC1-CC3 in FIG. 5, the BWP combination with the highest combination priority can be BWP11, BWP21, BWP31, and the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs in this BWP combination is 3; then it can be determined that a BWP combination with the second combination priority is a BWP combination in which the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs is 4, such as one of the following three combinations: BWP12, BWP21, BWP31; BWP11, BWP22, BWP31; BWP11, BWP21, BWP32. Note that, the base station can determine a priority order of the above three combinations according to the actual situation. For example, the base station may directly determine the priority order according to sequence numbers, or the base station may randomly determine the priority order, or the base station may determine the priority order according to the sum of the BWP buffered data volume, etc., which is not limited by embodiments of the present disclosure. By means of the same method, the base station can continue to determine the BWP combination with a lower combination priority, which will not be repeated here.
Note: The base station is comparing the combinations/sequence of BWP for the connections.
Jiang and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different priorities and their respective comparison level as taught by Guo so as to promote low latency communication.
Hasegawa discloses wherein the threshold bandwidth is equal to or greater than a predetermined percentage of a maximum throughput at the UCI.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 10,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving one or more other sequences from one or more other connections, each of the other sequences having a plurality of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
computing a respective throughput at the UCI for each of the connection and other connections
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. The connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4 lacked the improvements shown in FIGS. 5-7C. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: The throughput is computer through the connection setup based on how many LL packets are received or not received.
determining at least one of the throughputs at the UCI to be lower than the threshold bandwidth
[0051] For example, device A 802 and device B 204 may perform a connection setup 806. After the connection is set up, device A may send a first MAC frame 808 and a second MAC frame 810 without receiving an acknowledgment from device B 204 between the MAC frames. Then device B 204 may send a response MAC frame 812 that indicates whether the LL packets of first MAC frame 808 and/or the LL packets of second MAC frame 810 failed to be received or properly decoded. The response MAC frame 812 may also include LL packets sent by device B 204. The device A 202 may retransmit a MAC frame 814 containing the missing LL packets. The devices may continue to send additional MAC frames 816.
Note: Referring to Figure 8, note that elements/frames 808 and 810 contain LL packets 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The receiver status/threshold, as discussed above, depends on if the packets were successfully received (which can be a higher/lower status). Either frames 808 or 810 can have successful dropped packets.
Jiang does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Guo discloses comparing a priority of a connection for the sequence with priorities of the one or more other connections for the one or more other sequences; and determining the connection for the sequence has a lowest priority.
[0108] For example, the base station may determine the combination priority of the BWP combination according to the sum, in an ascending order, of the priority orders of respective BWPs in the BWP combination. For example, the BWPs with the highest priority in the CCs may form the BWP combination with the highest combination priority; and then, the BWP combinations with a descending combination priority order can be determined according to an order in which the priority of each BWP descends. For example, for CC1-CC3 in FIG. 5, the BWP combination with the highest combination priority can be BWP11, BWP21, BWP31, and the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs in this BWP combination is 3; then it can be determined that a BWP combination with the second combination priority is a BWP combination in which the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs is 4, such as one of the following three combinations: BWP12, BWP21, BWP31; BWP11, BWP22, BWP31; BWP11, BWP21, BWP32. Note that, the base station can determine a priority order of the above three combinations according to the actual situation. For example, the base station may directly determine the priority order according to sequence numbers, or the base station may randomly determine the priority order, or the base station may determine the priority order according to the sum of the BWP buffered data volume, etc., which is not limited by embodiments of the present disclosure. By means of the same method, the base station can continue to determine the BWP combination with a lower combination priority, which will not be repeated here.
Note: The base station is comparing the combinations/sequence of BWP for the connections.
Jiang and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different priorities and their respective comparison level as taught by Guo so as to promote low latency communication.
Hasegawa discloses wherein the threshold bandwidth is equal to or greater than a predetermined percentage of a maximum throughput at the UCI.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Regarding Claim 13,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving one or more other sequences from one or more other connections, each of the other sequences having a plurality of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
Jiang does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Guo discloses comparing a priority of a connection for the sequence with priorities of the one or more other connections for the one or more other sequences; and determining the connection for the sequence has a lowest priority.
[0108] For example, the base station may determine the combination priority of the BWP combination according to the sum, in an ascending order, of the priority orders of respective BWPs in the BWP combination. For example, the BWPs with the highest priority in the CCs may form the BWP combination with the highest combination priority; and then, the BWP combinations with a descending combination priority order can be determined according to an order in which the priority of each BWP descends. For example, for CC1-CC3 in FIG. 5, the BWP combination with the highest combination priority can be BWP11, BWP21, BWP31, and the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs in this BWP combination is 3; then it can be determined that a BWP combination with the second combination priority is a BWP combination in which the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs is 4, such as one of the following three combinations: BWP12, BWP21, BWP31; BWP11, BWP22, BWP31; BWP11, BWP21, BWP32. Note that, the base station can determine a priority order of the above three combinations according to the actual situation. For example, the base station may directly determine the priority order according to sequence numbers, or the base station may randomly determine the priority order, or the base station may determine the priority order according to the sum of the BWP buffered data volume, etc., which is not limited by embodiments of the present disclosure. By means of the same method, the base station can continue to determine the BWP combination with a lower combination priority, which will not be repeated here.
Note: The base station is comparing the combinations/sequence of BWP for the connections.
Jiang and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different priorities and their respective comparison level as taught by Guo so as to promote low latency communication.
Hasegawa discloses the threshold CPU usage is equal to or greater than a predetermined percentage of a maximum CPU usage; and the CPU usage is equal to or greater than the threshold CPU usage.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Hasegawa, held further in view of Lee et. al. (EP 1878155 B1), herein referred to as “Lee”. This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated June 28, 2024.
Regarding Claim 11,
Jiang in view of Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 7; however, Jiang does disclose the concept of UWB.
Lee discloses: The method of claim 7, further comprising, prior to the determining of the number of second application data packets to be transmitted, receiving a message from the UWB device requesting for an adjustment of a bitrate.
[0015] A radio link control (hereinafter abbreviated 'RLC') layer takes charge of guarantee of quality of service (hereinafter abbreviated 'QoS') of each radio bearer and also takes charge of a transfer of corresponding data. The RLC leaves one independent RLC entity at each RB to guarantee intrinsic QoS of RB. The RLC offers three kinds of RLC modes such as transparent mode (hereinafter abbreviated 'TM'), unacknowledged mode (hereinafter abbreviated 'UM') and acknowledged mode (hereinafter abbreviated 'AM') to support various QoS. And, the RLC plays a role in adjusting a data size to enable a lower layer to transfer data to a radio section. For this, the RLC plays a role in segmenting and concatenating data received from an upper layer.
Jiang in view of Hasegawa and Lee are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Hasegewa to include the concept of adjusting a bitrate as taught by Lee so as to promote low latency communication.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Hasegawa, held further in view of Lee, and held further in view of Guo.
Regarding Claim 14,
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving one or more other sequences from one or more other connections, each of the other sequences having a plurality of application data packets
[0049] FIG. 8 is a signal flow diagram 800 of devices using the MAC frame structure shown in the connection-oriented mode 406 of FIG. 4. The MAC frames may be used for connection-oriented data transfer for BPRF. Accordingly, a receiving device (e.g., device B 204) can only send an Ack status related to whether all of the LL packets in a MAC frame are received successfully or are not successfully received.
Note: The devices are communicating as UWB devices in connection-oriented mode as noted here:
[0023] FIG. 2 is a signal flow diagram 200 for the pure data transfer between two devices using connection-oriented mode in accordance with one embodiment. To initiate the connection between the two devices (i.e., device A 202 and device B 204), the devices perform a data bearer negotiation 206.
[0025] After the data bearer negotiation 206 is performed a data exchange 208 may occur. Embodiments herein provide improvements to the data exchange 208 process using UWB networks such as those used for FiRa.
Further, Figure 4, in particular element 406, contains the sequence of application data packets, as shown:
[0027] In the connection-oriented mode 406 a device can multiplex multiple LL packets together into the application payload allowing the LL packets to be transmitted together in one MAC frame.
Jiang does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Guo discloses comparing a priority of a connection for the sequence with priorities of the one or more other connections for the one or more other sequences; and determining the connection for the sequence has a highest priority.
[0108] For example, the base station may determine the combination priority of the BWP combination according to the sum, in an ascending order, of the priority orders of respective BWPs in the BWP combination. For example, the BWPs with the highest priority in the CCs may form the BWP combination with the highest combination priority; and then, the BWP combinations with a descending combination priority order can be determined according to an order in which the priority of each BWP descends. For example, for CC1-CC3 in FIG. 5, the BWP combination with the highest combination priority can be BWP11, BWP21, BWP31, and the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs in this BWP combination is 3; then it can be determined that a BWP combination with the second combination priority is a BWP combination in which the sum of the priority orders of respective BWPs is 4, such as one of the following three combinations: BWP12, BWP21, BWP31; BWP11, BWP22, BWP31; BWP11, BWP21, BWP32. Note that, the base station can determine a priority order of the above three combinations according to the actual situation. For example, the base station may directly determine the priority order according to sequence numbers, or the base station may randomly determine the priority order, or the base station may determine the priority order according to the sum of the BWP buffered data volume, etc., which is not limited by embodiments of the present disclosure. By means of the same method, the base station can continue to determine the BWP combination with a lower combination priority, which will not be repeated here.
Note: The base station is comparing the combinations/sequence of BWP for the connections.
Jiang and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different priorities and their respective comparison level as taught by Guo so as to promote low latency communication.
Hasegawa discloses the threshold CPU usage is less than a predetermined percentage of a maximum CPU usage; and the CPU usage is less than the threshold CPU usage.
[0099] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1) <0 (Yes branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertising window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has decreased. Judge. This means that the amount of data that can be received by the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 decreases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) is smaller than the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0103] Specifically, when RWIN (t) −RWIN (t−1)> 0 (No branch in step S210), the adjustment unit 233 indicates that the recommended advertisement window size RWIN advertised from the receiving terminal 300 has increased. Judge. This means that the receiving terminal 300 can receive a larger amount of data than when the previous data was received. Therefore, in this case, the adjustment unit 233 increases the correction coefficient α so that the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t) increases from the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) at the previous data transmission.
[0159] Here, the reduction in the recommended advertisement window size RWIN means that the previous transmission data amount is equal to or larger than the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300. This means that the upper limit data amount that can be received in the receiving terminal 300 is smaller than the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1). Therefore, the TCP transmission unit 230 determines the transmittable data amount SWIN corresponding to the corrected advertisement window size RWIN_new (t−1) as the threshold value MAX_BURST.
Jiang and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to include the concepts of different data values in response to a threshold level as taught by Hasegawa so as to promote low latency communication.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411