DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/539,761 is responsive to communications filed on 01/31/2026, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 10/30/2025. Currently, claims 1-25 are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Response to Arguments
4. Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba [US Pub. No.: 2012/0257024 A1] in view of Takao et al., [US Pub. No.: 2022/0400208 A1].
Re. Claim 1, Inaba [US Pub. No.: 2012/0257024 A1] discloses:
An image pickup apparatus [imaging unit |0013] attachable to, detachable [In an imaging device 100, left and right two sliders 102 which have left and right imaging units 105 mounted thereon are attached onto a guideway 101 so as to slide 102 thereon in an engaged state. |Figs. 10] from, and communicable with a stereoscopic lens apparatus that includes two optical systems arranged in parallel [the left and right imaging units 105 are moved on the guide way in an opposed manner to each other, with their mutually parallel orientations being maintained and with the distance between them being freely adjusted| Fig.10, 0023, 0109], a focusing unit configured to perform focusing that integrally moves the two optical systems [zoom lenses may be respectively attached to the left and right imaging units of a stereoscopic imaging device so that left and right units are adjusted in cooperation with each other in accordance with adjustments of the zooming ratio |0111], and a focus difference adjustment unit configured to perform focus difference adjustment for adjusting a focus difference between the two optical systems by independently moving one optical system of the two optical systems [the zooming ratio and the distance between optical axes may be adjusted separately without providing cooperative movements (switching between automatic/manual operations)| 0065, 0108,0112],
Inaba does not distinctly disclose:
the image pickup apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions;
and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: detect an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus,
and provide a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment with the stereoscopic lens apparatus attached to the image pickup apparatus.
In the same field endeavor Takao et al., [US Pub. No.: 2022/0400208 A1] discloses:
the image pickup apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions [Fig.2 Memory 220| 0060];
and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: detect an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus [The mount unit is constituted by a lens mount unit 304 and a camera mount unit 305. When the binocular lens unit 300 is mounted to the camera 100, the communication terminal 124 of the camera 100 is electrically connected to a communication terminal 306 of the binocular lens unit 300. This enables the system control unit 218 of the camera 100 and the lens system control circuit 303 of the binocular lens unit 300 to communicate with each other. |0092], and provide a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment with the stereoscopic lens apparatus attached to the image pickup apparatus [a display may be made to prompt the user to drive the focus ring to adjust the focus distances of the right eye optical system 301R and left eye optical system 301L simultaneously. |0228].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Inaba with Takao to notify a user to adjust focus difference for stereoscopic image capturing.
Re. Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al. meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to provide the notification in response to receiving from the stereoscopic lens apparatus information indicating that the focus difference adjustment can be performed in the stereoscopic lens apparatus [display is made to prompt user to adjust focus difference |0228].
Re. Claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al. meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to provide the notification in a case where information indicating that the focus difference adjustment has not been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus is received from the stereoscopic lens apparatus [display is made to prompt user that no adjustment has been made to the focus difference |0228].
Re. Claim 4, Inaba discloses:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to provide the notification in a case where information indicating that an external force is applied to the stereoscopic lens apparatus is received from the stereoscopic lens apparatus [The binocular lens unit 300 is a type of interchangeable lens that can be attached to and removed from the camera 100. The binocular lens unit 300 has two imaging optical systems 301L and 301R in one lens barrel, and thus has two optical axes |0050, 0085].
Re. Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to provide, as the notification, a notification prompting the user to direct the stereoscopic lens apparatus toward an object [The user can view an image displayed in an internal electronic viewfinder (EVF) 217 (described later) through the eyepiece part 116. The eye proximity sensing unit 118 is a sensor that senses whether an object is near the eyepiece part 116. |0043, 0066-0067, 0155].
Re. Claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation unit operated by a user who instructs the focus difference adjustment, wherein the processor is configured to transmit to the stereoscopic lens apparatus an instruction to perform the focus difference adjustment in response to an operation of the operation unit [a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, performs operations etc…. |0005, 0039, 0052, 0064, 0184].
Re. Claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: store in the memory information on the focus difference adjustment in a case where the processor has received from the stereoscopic lens apparatus the information on the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus [the memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, performs operations as: an obtaining unit configured to obtain, based on a defocus amount obtained using the signal pair, a focus distance of a lens unit that is mounted to the apparatus |0005, 0242, Claim 1], and transmit to the stereoscopic lens apparatus the information on the focus difference adjustment stored in the memory in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus in the combination is again attached to the image pickup apparatus [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1].
Re. Claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where information on the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus is stored in the stereoscopic lens apparatus [the optical axis position (Lx, Ly), which is stored in advance in the image capture apparatus in association with the identification information of the lens unit, may be obtained through reference based on the identification information of the mounted lens unit. |0146], when the stereoscopic lens apparatus in the combination is attached to the image pickup apparatus [The lens unit 200 and the camera 100 are electrically connected through the communication terminals 206 and 124, and the lens system control circuit 205 and a system control unit 218 included in the camera 100 can therefore communicate with each other |0052], the processor is configured to instruct the stereoscopic lens apparatus to perform the focus difference adjustment based on the stored information on the focus difference adjustment [The lens system control circuit 205 includes a CPU, ROM, and RAM, for example, and controls operations of the various units of the lens unit 200 by loading a program which is stored in the ROM into the RAM and executing the program using the CPU.|0052].
Re. Claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to acquire information about a positional difference between the two optical systems caused by the focus difference adjustment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus [The system control unit 218 determines what type of operation (touch operation) has been made on the touch panel 109 based on the communicated information. With respect to a touch-move, the movement direction of the finger or pen moving on the touch panel 109 can be determined based on changes in the positional coordinates, for each of a vertical component and a horizontal component on the touch panel 109 |0082, 0158-0159, 0274],
and provides the notification in a case where the focusing can be performed using the information about the positional difference [a display may be made to prompt the user to drive the focus ring to adjust the focus distances of the right eye optical system 301R and left eye optical system 301L simultaneously. |0082, 0228].
Re. Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to: store in the memory the information about the positional difference between the two optical systems in a case where the processor has received from the stereoscopic lens apparatus the information about the positional difference acquired by the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus [the optical axis position (Lx, Ly), which is stored in advance in the image capture apparatus in association with the identification information of the lens unit, may be obtained through reference based on the identification information of the mounted lens unit. |0146],
and transmit to the stereoscopic lens apparatus the information about the positional difference stored in the memory in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus in the combination is again attached to the image pickup apparatus [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1].
Re. Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The image pickup apparatus according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the information about the positional difference between the two optical systems acquired by the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus is stored in the stereoscopic lens apparatus [the optical axis position (Lx, Ly), which is stored in advance in the image capture apparatus in association with the identification information of the lens unit, may be obtained through reference based on the identification information of the mounted lens unit. |0146], when the stereoscopic lens apparatus in the combination is attached to the image pickup apparatus [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1],
the processor is configured to instruct the stereoscopic lens apparatus to perform the focusing using the stored information about the positional difference [The lens system control circuit 205 includes a CPU, ROM, and RAM, for example, and controls operations of the various units of the lens unit 200 by loading a program which is stored in the ROM into the RAM and executing the program using the CPU.|0052].
Re. Claim 12, Inaba discloses:
A stereoscopic lens apparatus attachable to, detachable from [In an imaging device 100, left and right two sliders 102 which have left and right imaging units 105 mounted thereon are attached onto a guideway 101 so as to slide 102 thereon in an engaged state. |Figs. 10], and communicable [the left and right imaging units 105 are moved on the guide way in an opposed manner to each other, with their mutually parallel orientations being maintained and with the distance between them being freely adjusted| Fig.10, 0023, 0109], with an image pickup apparatus [imaging unit |0013], the stereoscopic lens apparatus comprising: two optical systems arranged in parallel [the left and right imaging units 105 are moved on the guide way in an opposed manner to each other, with their mutually parallel orientations being maintained and with the distance between them being freely adjusted| Fig.10, 0023, 0109];
a focusing unit configured to perform focusing that integrally moves the two optical systems [zoom lenses may be respectively attached to the left and right imaging units of a stereoscopic imaging device so that left and right units are adjusted in cooperation with each other in accordance with adjustments of the zooming ratio |0111];
a focus difference adjustment unit configured to perform focus difference adjustment for adjusting a focus difference between the two optical systems by independently moving one optical system of the two optical systems [the zooming ratio and the distance between optical axes may be adjusted separately without providing cooperative movements (switching between automatic/manual operations)| 0065, 0108,0112];
Inaba does not disclose:
a memory storing instructions;
and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: detect an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus. and transmit to the image pickup apparatus information indicating that the focus difference adjustment can be performed in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus is attached to the image pickup apparatus capable of providing a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment.
In the same field endeavor Takao discloses:
a memory storing instructions [Fig.2 Memory 220| 0060];
and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: detect an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus [The mount unit is constituted by a lens mount unit 304 and a camera mount unit 305. When the binocular lens unit 300 is mounted to the camera 100, the communication terminal 124 of the camera 100 is electrically connected to a communication terminal 306 of the binocular lens unit 300. This enables the system control unit 218 of the camera 100 and the lens system control circuit 303 of the binocular lens unit 300 to communicate with each other. |0092], and transmit to the image pickup apparatus information [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1] indicating that the focus difference adjustment can be performed in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus is attached to the image pickup apparatus capable of providing a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment [a display may be made to prompt the user to drive the focus ring to adjust the focus distances of the right eye optical system 301R and left eye optical system 301L simultaneously. |0228].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Inaba with Takao to notify a user to adjust focus difference for stereoscopic image capturing.
Re. Claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al. meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to transmit information indicating whether or not the focus difference adjustment has been performed to the image pickup apparatus that provides the notification in a case where the focus difference adjustment has not been performed in a combination on the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus [display is made to prompt user that no adjustment has been made to the focus difference |0228].
Re. Claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Inaba meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising an external force detector configured to detect that an external force is applied to the stereoscopic lens apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to transmit information indicating that it is detected that the external force is applied to the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus which provides the notification in a case where the external force is applied to the stereoscopic lens apparatus [The binocular lens unit 300 is a type of interchangeable lens that can be attached to and removed from the camera 100. The binocular lens unit 300 has two imaging optical systems 301L and 301R in one lens barrel, and thus has two optical axes |0050, 0085].
Re. Claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to perform the focus difference adjustment according to receiving an instruction to perform the focus difference adjustment from the image pickup apparatus [a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, performs operations etc…. |0005, 0039, 0052, 0064, 0184].
Re. Claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit to the image pickup apparatus information on the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus [the optical axis position (Lx, Ly), which is stored in advance in the image capture apparatus in association with the identification information of the lens unit, may be obtained through reference based on the identification information of the mounted lens unit. |0146] and the image pickup apparatus [Image pickup apparatus |0004], and perform the focus difference adjustment based on the information on the focus difference adjustment in a case where the stored information on the focus difference adjustment is received from the image pickup apparatus in the combination [The lens system control circuit 205 includes a CPU, ROM, and RAM, for example, and controls operations of the various units of the lens unit 200 by loading a program which is stored in the ROM into the RAM and executing the program using the CPU.|0052].
Re. Claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the memory stores information on the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus [the memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, performs operations as: an obtaining unit configured to obtain, based on a defocus amount obtained using the signal pair, a focus distance of a lens unit that is mounted to the apparatus |0005, 0242, Claim 1] and the image pickup apparatus [Image pickup apparatus |0004], and wherein the processor is configured to perform the focus difference adjustment based on the stored information on the focus difference adjustment in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus is attached to the image pickup apparatus in the combination [the optical axis position (Lx, Ly), which is stored in advance in the image capture apparatus in association with the identification information of the lens unit, may be obtained through reference based on the identification information of the mounted lens unit. |0146].
Re. Claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Inaba et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising two driving units configured to drive the two optical systems independently from each other, and to perform the focusing that integrally moves the two optical systems and the focus difference adjustment that independently moves one optical system of the two optical systems [the zooming ratio and the distance between optical axes may be adjusted separately without providing cooperative movements (switching between automatic/manual operations)| 0065, 0108, 0112].
Re. Claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the processor is configured to acquire information about a positional difference between the two optical systems caused by the focus difference adjustment [The lens system control circuit 205 includes a CPU, ROM, and RAM, for example, and controls operations of the various units of the lens unit 200 by loading a program which is stored in the ROM into the RAM and executing the program using the CPU.|0052], and controls the two driving units using the information about the positional difference during the focusing [an AF drive circuit that drives the focus lenses of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L in tandem, and at least one AF drive circuit that drives the focus lens of at least one of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L independently, can be provided.|0088].
Re. Claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit to the image pickup apparatus the information about the positional difference between the two optical systems acquired by the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1], and control the two driving units using the information about the positional difference during the focusing in a case where the information about the positional difference stored in the image pickup apparatus is received from the image pickup apparatus in the combination [an AF drive circuit that drives the focus lenses of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L in tandem, and at least one AF drive circuit that drives the focus lens of at least one of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L independently, can be provided.|0088].
Re. Claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
The stereoscopic lens apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the memory stores the information about a positional difference between the two optical systems acquired by the focus difference adjustment that has been performed in a combination of the stereoscopic lens apparatus and the image pickup apparatus [the memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, performs operations as: an obtaining unit configured to obtain, based on a defocus amount obtained using the signal pair, a focus distance of a lens unit that is mounted to the apparatus |0005, 0242, Claim 1],
wherein the processor is configured to controls the two driving units using the stored information about the positional difference during the focusing in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus is attached to the image pickup apparatus in the combination [an AF drive circuit that drives the focus lenses of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L in tandem, and at least one AF drive circuit that drives the focus lens of at least one of the right eye optical system 301R and the left eye optical system 301L independently, can be provided.|0088].
Re. Claim 22, Inaba discloses:
A control method of an image pickup apparatus [Image pickup apparatus |0004] attachable to, detachable [The lens apparatus 200 is detachably attachable to the camera main body 110 |0062] from, and communicable with a stereoscopic lens apparatus including two optical systems arranged in parallel [two optical systems arranged parallelly to each other |0037], a focusing unit configured to perform focusing that integrally moves the two optical systems [focus positions of the right-eye optical system 201R and the left-eye optical system 201L can be simultaneously adjusted |0040], and a focus difference adjustment unit configured to perform focus difference adjustment for adjusting a focus difference between the two optical systems by independently moving one optical system of the two optical systems [the first focus adjusting unit 400 and the second focus adjusting unit 500 can be operated independently of each other.| 0072-0073, 0102],
Inaba does not distinctly disclose:
the control method comprising the steps of: detecting an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus;
and providing a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment with the stereoscopic lens apparatus attached to the image pickup apparatus.
In the same field endeavor Takao et al., [US Pub. No.: 2022/0400208 A1] discloses:
the control method comprising the steps of: detecting an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus [The mount unit is constituted by a lens mount unit 304 and a camera mount unit 305. When the binocular lens unit 300 is mounted to the camera 100, the communication terminal 124 of the camera 100 is electrically connected to a communication terminal 306 of the binocular lens unit 300. This enables the system control unit 218 of the camera 100 and the lens system control circuit 303 of the binocular lens unit 300 to communicate with each other. |0092];
and providing a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment with the stereoscopic lens apparatus attached to the image pickup apparatus [a display may be made to prompt the user to drive the focus ring to adjust the focus distances of the right eye optical system 301R and left eye optical system 301L simultaneously. |0228].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Inaba with Takao to notify a user to adjust focus difference for stereoscopic image capturing.
Re. Claim 23, Inaba discloses:
A control method of a stereoscopic lens apparatus including two optical systems arranged in parallel and attachable to, detachable [The lens apparatus 200 is detachably attachable to the camera main body 110 |0062] from, and communicable with an image pickup apparatus [Image pickup apparatus |0004], the stereoscopic lens apparatus including a focusing unit configured to perform focusing that integrally moves the two optical systems [focus positions of the right-eye optical system 201R and the left-eye optical system 201L can be simultaneously adjusted |0040], and a focus difference adjustment unit configured to perform focus difference adjustment for adjusting a focus difference between the two optical systems by independently moving one optical system of the two optical systems [the first focus adjusting unit 400 and the second focus adjusting unit 500 can be operated independently of each other.| 0072-0073, 0102],
In the same field endeavor Takao discloses:
the control method comprising the steps of: detecting an attachment of the stereoscopic lens apparatus to the image pickup apparatus [The mount unit is constituted by a lens mount unit 304 and a camera mount unit 305. When the binocular lens unit 300 is mounted to the camera 100, the communication terminal 124 of the camera 100 is electrically connected to a communication terminal 306 of the binocular lens unit 300. This enables the system control unit 218 of the camera 100 and the lens system control circuit 303 of the binocular lens unit 300 to communicate with each other. |0092], and transmit to the image pickup apparatus information [the lens type information is included in lens information transmitted from the lens unit to the camera 100 when the camera 100 is turned on, when the lens unit is replaced, or the like. |0005,0184, 0242, Claim 1];
and transmitting to the image pickup apparatus information indicating that the focus difference adjustment can be performed in a case where the stereoscopic lens apparatus is attached to the image pickup apparatus capable of providing a notification prompting a user to perform the focus difference adjustment [a display may be made to prompt the user to drive the focus ring to adjust the focus distances of the right eye optical system 301R and left eye optical system 301L simultaneously. |0228].
In the same field endeavor Takao discloses:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Inaba with Takao to notify a user to adjust focus difference for stereoscopic image capturing.
Re. Claim 24, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program to cause a computer in the image pickup apparatus to execute the control method according to claim 22 [Fig.10, 0063].
Re. Claim 25, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Takao et al., meets claim limitations, as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program to cause a computer in the stereoscopic lens apparatus to execute the control method according to claim 23 [Fig.10, 0063].
Conclusion
HOWARD D. BROWN JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/HOWARD D BROWN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2488