DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the response filed 5/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rombach et al. (U. S. Pat. No. – 8,295,528).
Regarding claim 1, Rombach et al. disclose a microphone package (Fig. 1a), comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) (1, col. 6, lines 32-36); a substrate (5); and a transducer (8) disposed between the substrate and the IC, wherein the IC or the substrate comprises a perforation (11) above or below the transducer (Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 2, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, comprising dielectric material (col. 6, line 33) disposed adjacent to the substrate, wherein the transducer is coupled to one or more traces (3) in the dielectric material.
Regarding claim 4, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, comprising one or more passive elements (col. 6, line 33) disposed adjacent to the substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, comprising dielectric material (col. 6, line 33) adjacent to the substrate, wherein the passive elements (capacitors are also passive elements) are disposed in the dielectric material.
Regarding claim 9, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, comprising one or more other passive elements disposed (col. 6, line 33) adjacent to the substrate, wherein the IC (1) is disposed between the one or more passive elements and the one or more other passive elements (capacitors).
Regarding claim 11, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, wherein the substrate (5) comprises the perforation below the transducer (8) (Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 13, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, wherein the transducer comprises a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) device (8) configured to convert sound waves into electrical signals (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 14, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, comprising one or more pillars (15, 16) supporting the substrate above the IC.
Regarding claim 15, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, wherein a top side of the transducer (8) is disposed adjacent to the substrate (5) and wherein a bottom side of the transducer is coupled to a trace of the IC (1) via a solder bump (3).
Regarding claim 16, Rombach et al. further disclose the microphone package, wherein a top side of the transducer (8) is disposed adjacent to the IC (1) and wherein a bottom side of the transducer (8) is coupled to a via of the substrate via a solder bump (15, 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7, 10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rombach et al. (U. S. Pat. No. – 8,295,528).
Regarding claim 3, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that the substrate comprises a glass substrate or a silicon substrate as claimed. Since Rombach et al. do teach the substrate is a PCB and providing suitable substrate or PCB for a microphone means is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable substrate or PCB, such as silicon nitride PCB, for the microphone means taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone package.
Regarding claim 5, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that the passive elements comprise an inductive element and wherein the inductive element is implemented using one or more vias through the substrate or the IC as claimed. Since Rombach et al. do teach a portable communication device (PCD) and providing suitable inductive element for a PCD is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable inductive element, such as an antenna coil or an inductive charging coil, for the PCD taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently utilize the microphone package for desirable applications.
Regarding claims 6-7, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that the one or more passive elements are disposed between a portion of the substrate and the one or more passive elements are adjacent to a lateral side of the transducer as claimed. Since Rombach et al. do teach a portable communication device (PCD) and providing suitable passive elements for a PCD is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable passive elements, such as an antenna coil, an inductive charging coil, and/or capacitors (as suggested by Rombach et al.) in a suitable location, for the PCD taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently utilize the microphone package for desirable applications.
Regarding claim 10, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that the substrate comprises the perforation above the transducer as claimed. Since Rombach et al. do not restrict the depth of the MEMS (transducer) and providing suitable MEMS for a microphone package is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable MEMS, such as the height of the MEMS is less than the perforation, for the PCD taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently utilize suitable MEMS to manufacture the microphone package for desirable applications.
Regarding claim 12, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that the IC comprises the perforation below the transducer as claimed. Since Rombach et al. do teach that IC (1) is a carrier, for carrying electric elements and providing suitable perforation for receiving suitable electric element for a microphone package is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable perforation, for receiving electric elements, such as capacitors, for the microphone package taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone package.
Regarding claim 17, Rombach et al. may not specially teach that comprising an opening extending from a lateral side of the microphone package to a back volume of the transducer configured to provide ventilation for the transducer as claimed. Since providing suitable venting duct for a microphone package is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable venting duct in a desirable location, such as on a lateral and/or frontal side, for the microphone package taught by Rombach et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone package with enhanced feature for desirable applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The cited reference (U. S. Pat. No. – 8,295,528) does clearly show all the limitation as claimed in claim 1: a microphone package (Fig. 1a), comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) (1, col. 6, lines 32-36); a substrate (5); and a transducer (8) disposed between the substrate and the IC, wherein the IC or the substrate comprises a perforation (11) above or below the transducer (Fig. 3a).
Furthermore, regarding to the limitation of “an integrated circuit (IC)” in claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants. The cited reference (U. S. Pat. No. – 8,295,528) states:
“Naturally additional electronic elements, such as amplifiers or decoupling capacitors, may be provided on the carrier 1 and within the ring 2, in order to take advantage of electrical connection to e.g. the microphone 8 while being within the shielded area (col. 6, lines 32-36)”; and
“In FIGS. 1a and b, a mobile terminal assembly comprises a mobile terminal printed circuit board 5 disposed inside a casing or housing 10 of a mobile terminal (not shown). A Chip-Scale-Packaged (CSP) MEMS microphone 8 is mounted onto and electrically coupled to a first surface of an intermediate carrier 1 that preferably comprises a printed circuit board.
The CSP packaged MEMS microphone assembly 8 comprises a semiconductor or ceramic substrate 12 that holds a MEMS transducer element 13 in form of a MEMS condenser transducer. The semiconductor substrate 12 may advantageously comprise an indentation or cut-out 14 aligned with and positioned beneath a diaphragm/back plate assembly of the MEMS transducer element 13. The indentation 14 functions as a back chamber for the MEMS transducer element 13. The MEMS transducer element 13 is adjacently positioned to an electronic circuit die 16 that preferably comprises a low-noise preamplifier, and optionally and A/D converter and/or a voltage regulator and a voltage multiplier, electrically coupled to the MEMS transducer element 13 through interconnections supplied on the semiconductor substrate 12, or alternatively, directly between respective bonding pads on the MEMS transducer element and the electronic circuit die 16 (col. 5, lines 15-38)”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691