DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,2,5,8,11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: first installation groove and a second installation groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,11,12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Crawford et al. (US 2015/0156301), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Filser et al. discloses an expansion frame (case) (fig. 5A) for an electronic device (abstract), comprising: an expansion frame providing a storage space (fig. 9 number 124) for receiving the electronic device (P:0150); and a plurality of installation interfaces (docking areas) (fig. 5a number 106) for attaching external accessories (packages)(abstract and P:0015), with the plurality of installation interfaces being configured for one or more specifications (predetermined size and predetermined shape)(P:0115). Filser et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a third installation groove within the storage space; a power control module installed in the third installation groove, the power control module being connected to at least one of a plurality of electrical interfaces; and a protective layer within the third installation groove, wherein the protective layer covers the third installation groove. Crawford et al. teaches smart case for protecting a mobile device (abstract and P:0005), a battery compartment (i.e. third installation groove, i.e. a Groove Can Be a Compartment If the groove is fully enclosed on all sides except for the opening where it connects to another space, and it is intentionally designed to contain something (e.g., a seal, cable, or fluid), it can be considered a compartment, google) within the storage space (fig. 14, i.e. square compartment with lid within the storing section for a mobile device, P:0052 and page 5, claim 8); a battery installed in the battery compartment and connected to an adapter 200 (fig. 14 number 200, P:0052 and page 5, claim 8); and a lid (i.e. protective layer) for covering the battery compartment (fig. 14, i.e. square compartment with lid for coving the battery compartment)(fig. 14, P: 0052 and page 5, claim 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Filser et al. with a third installation groove within the storage space; a power control module installed in the third installation groove, the power control module being connected to at least one of a plurality of electrical interfaces; and a protective layer within the third installation groove, wherein the protective layer covers the third installation groove in order to provide the expansion frame with an enclosed internal power source within the frame to provide power to the packages when communicating with a data network and allow the user to provide additional functions such as blood work determination, card reading and position measurement, etc. to the electronic communication device to perform, as taught by Crawford et al..
Regarding claim 2, Filser et al. discloses the expansion frame comprises a plurality of electrical interfaces (pins)(fig. 5a number 110) for electrically connecting with external accessories (i.e. the frame 104 contains a power supply and the electronic package will be electrically driven by the frame 104) (P:0153), with the plurality of electrical interfaces corresponding to the position of the plurality of installation interfaces (fig. 5A number 110).
Regarding claim 11, Filser et al. discloses the plurality of installation interfaces comprise:
a third installation interface (fig. 5anumber 106); and a fourth installation interface (fig. 5a number 106), the expansion frame further includes a peripheral side (i.e. side where number 106, fig. 5a), with the first installation interface and the second installation interface located on the peripheral side of the expansion frame (fig. 5a), corresponding in position, and used for assembling external accessories (packages)(abstract and fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 12, Filser et al. discloses at least one positioning hole (positioning cavity and/or docking area)(fig. 5a number 106 and P:0146), with the positioning hole corresponding to positions of the plurality of installation interfaces (fig. 5a numbers 106 and 110) .
Regarding claim 14, Filser et al. discloses electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a tablet, or a laptop, and the mobile phone, the tablet, or the laptop is accommodated within the storage space (P:0063, fig. 9 and P:0150).
5. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Crawford et al. (US 2015/0156301), newly recited reference, as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Huang et al. (US 2014/0268519).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Filser et al. and Crawford et al. differs from claim 8 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a second case for preventing the electronic device from detaching, the second case being detachably connected to the first case, with the storage space positioned on the first case, and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space. Huang et al. teaches a first case (fig. 4 number 14), a second case (fig. 4 number 12) for preventing the electronic device from detaching t(i.e. the malleable outer layer 14 can be stretched over the rigid case portion 12 to provide impact-resistance and to increase water-resistance) (P:0114), the second case being detachably connected to the first case (fig. 4 and P:0114), with the storage space positioned on the first case (fig. 4 number 14) , and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space (fig. 4 number 28 and P:0122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang et al. of a second case for preventing the electronic device from detaching, the second case being detachably connected to the first case, with the storage space positioned on the first case, and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space in order to provide a case portion to the frame to protect the mobile device located within the frame from being accidentally dropped, as taught Huang et al..
6. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Crawford et al. (US 2015/0156301), newly recited reference, as applied to claim 1 and 12 above and in further view of Huang et al. (US 2014/0268519).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Filser et al. and Crawford et al. differs from claim 13 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose at least one anti-misalignment hole, with the at least one positioning hole and the anti-misalignment hole corresponding in position to each other. Huang et al. teaches at least one anti-misalignment hole (fig. 4 number 18), with the at least one positioning hole (fig. 4 number 30) and the anti-misalignment hole (fig. 4 number 18) corresponding in position to each other (i.e. located on the outer edge of the casing 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Filser et al. and Crawford et al. with at least one anti-misalignment hole, with the at least one positioning hole and the anti-misalignment hole corresponding in position to each other in order for the user to be able to press the buttons on the mobile device when the mobile device in located between the frame and a front casing, as taught by Huang et al..
7. Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Crawford et al. (US 2015/0156301), newly recited reference, as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Filser et al. and Crawford et al. differs from claim 16 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a first installation interface and a second installation interface, wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove set around an outer side of the storage space, and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove corresponding to the first installation groove, and wherein the second installation groove surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space. Fathollahi et al. teaches a mobile device case (abstract and fig. 32) comprising a first installation interface (screen protector) (fig. 32 number 395) and a second installation interface (sleeve)(fig. 32 number 240), wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove (perimeter profile) (fig. 32 number 391) set around an outer side of a storage space (i.e. space where the mobile device is placed) of the sleeve (fig. 32 and P:0081), and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove (channel) (fig. 32 number 392) corresponding to the first installation groove (fig. 32 and P:0081), and wherein the second installation groove (fig. 32 number 392) surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space (i.e. the channel is a small distance away) from the storage space (i.e. space where the mobile device is placed) (fig. 32 and P:0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Filser et al. and Crawford et al. with a first installation interface and a second installation interface, wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove set around an outer side of the storage space, and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove corresponding to the first installation groove, and wherein the second installation groove surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space in order to secure the electronic device in a protective case to prevent damage to the mobile device in case of accidently dropping the mobile device to the ground, as taught by Fathollahi et al..
Regarding claim 17, Filser et al. discloses a first opening for revealing an external display screen of the electronic device (fig. 9 number 124 and P:0150); and a second opening (space for package) (fig. 5a number 112 and P:0146) for revealing a side (rear) of the electronic device away from the external display screen (fig. 9), with both the first opening and the second opening communicating with the storage space (i.e. the frame 104 contains a power supply and the electronic package will be electrically driven by the frame 104) (P:0153).
Regarding claim 18, Filser et al. discloses a first installation interface on a first side (left side) of the external display screen within the expansion frame (fig. 5a number 106); and a second installation interface on a second side (right side) (fig. 5a number 106 and fig. 7 i.e. interface connected to package 102), opposite to the first side (fig. 9), of the external display screen (fig. 1number 21, P:0096 and fig. 9), the first installation interface and the second installation interface corresponding to each other in position (i.e. the interfaces are on the left side and right side of the rear of the frame)(fig. 5a and fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Filser et al. discloses a third installation interface (fig. 5a number 106); and a fourth installation interface (fig. 5a number 106), both the third installation interface and the fourth installation interface being set on a side of the second opening (rear side open spaces) (fig. 5a), with the third installation interface and the fourth installation interface corresponding to each other in position (i.e. in the rear of the frame)(fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 20, Filser et al. discloses the first installation groove (fig. 5a number 106) and the second installation groove (fig. 5a number 106) are configured to enable the packages (i.e. external accessories) (fig. 5a number 112) be clamped into the first installation groove and the second installation groove (fig. 7 and P:0148).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination a locating protrusion inside the expansion frame and protruding into the storage space; and a positioning groove set on the protective layer, with the locating protrusion securely fitting into the positioning groove.
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To et al. (WO 2016/100331) discloses a protective battery case comprising a battery in a groove in a storage space for an electronic device (fig. 1 numbers 100,118, and 146 and fig. 5 numbers 146 118, 106a and 106b).
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648