DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. (I.E. The expansion frame according to claim 1, wherein the first installation groove and the first installation groove are configured to enable the external accessories be clamped into the first installation groove and the first installation groove).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) ) 1,2,6,7,9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Filser et al. discloses an expansion frame (case) (fig. 5A) for an electronic device (abstract), comprising: an expansion frame providing a storage space (fig. 9 number 124) for receiving the electronic device (P:0150); and a plurality of installation interfaces (docking areas) (fig. 5a number 106) for attaching external accessories (packages)(abstract and P:0015), with the plurality of installation interfaces being configured for one or more specifications (predetermined size and predetermined shape)(P:0115). Filser et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a first installation interface and a second installation interface, wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove set around an outer side of the storage space, and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove corresponding to the first installation groove, and wherein the second installation groove surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space. Fathollahi et al. teaches a mobile device case (abstract and fig. 32) comprising a first installation interface (screen protector) (fig. 32 number 395) and a second installation interface (sleeve)(fig. 32 number 240), wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove (perimeter profile) (fig. 32 number 391) set around an outer side of a storage space (i.e. space where the mobile device is placed) of the sleeve (fig. 32 and P:0081), and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove (channel) (fig. 32 number 392) corresponding to the first installation groove (fig. 32 and P:0081), and wherein the second installation groove (fig. 32 number 392) surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space (i.e. the channel is a small distance away) from the storage space (i.e. space where the mobile device is placed) (fig. 32 and P:0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Filser et al. with a first installation interface and a second installation interface, wherein the first installation interface comprises a first installation groove set around an outer side of the storage space, and the second installation interface comprises a second installation groove corresponding to the first installation groove, and wherein the second installation groove surrounds an installation portion of the storage space away from the storage space in order to secure the electronic device in a protective case to prevent damage to the mobile device in case of accidently dropping the mobile device to the ground, as taught by Fathollahi et al..
Regarding claim 2, Filser et al. discloses the expansion frame comprises a plurality of electrical interfaces (pins)(fig. 5a number 110) for electrically connecting with external accessories (i.e. the frame 104 contains a power supply and the electronic package will be electrically driven by the frame 104) (P:0153), with the plurality of electrical interfaces corresponding to the position of the plurality of installation interfaces (fig. 5A number 110).
Regarding claim 6, Filser et al. discloses a first opening for revealing an external display screen of the electronic device (fig. 9 number 124 and P:0150); and a second opening (space for package) (fig. 5a number 112 and P:0146) for revealing a side (rear) of the electronic device away from the external display screen (fig. 9), with both the first opening and the second opening communicating with the storage space (i.e. the frame 104 contains a power supply and the electronic package will be electrically driven by the frame 104) (P:0153).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Filser et al. discloses a third installation interface (fig. 5a number 106); and a fourth installation interface (fig. 5a number 106), both the third installation interface and the fourth installation interface being set on a side of the second opening (rear side open spaces) (fig. 5a), with the third installation interface and the fourth installation interface corresponding to each other in position (i.e. in the rear of the frame)(fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 10, Filser et al. discloses a first installation interface on a first side (left side) of the external display screen within the expansion frame (fig. 5a number 106); and a second installation interface on a second side (right side) (fig. 5a number 106 and fig. 7 i.e. interface connected to package 102), opposite to the first side (fig. 9), of the external display screen (fig. 1number 21, P:0096 and fig. 9), the first installation interface and the second installation interface corresponding to each other in position (i.e. the interfaces are on the left side and right side of the rear of the frame)(fig. 5a and fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Filser et al. discloses the plurality of installation interfaces comprise:
a first installation interface (fig. 5anumber 106); and a second installation interface (fig. 5anumber 106), the expansion frame further includes a peripheral side (i.e. side where number 106, fig. 5a), with the first installation interface and the second installation interface located on the peripheral side of the expansion frame (fig. 5a), corresponding in position, and used for assembling external accessories (packages)(abstract and fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 12, Filser et al. discloses at least one positioning hole (positioning cavity and/or docking area)(fig. 5a number 106 and P:0146), with the positioning hole corresponding to positions of the plurality of installation interfaces (fig. 5a numbers 106 and 110) .
Regarding claim 14, Filser et al. discloses electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a tablet, or a laptop, and the mobile phone, the tablet, or the laptop is accommodated within the storage space (P:0063, fig. 9 and P:0150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833), newly recited reference as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Jung (KR 101229948 B1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Filser et al. and Fathollahi et al. differs from claim 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose an installation groove within the storage space; and a power control module installed in the installation groove, the power control module being connected to at least one of the plurality of electrical interfaces. Jung teaches a case for a mobile device (fig. 1), an installation groove (fig. 1 number 10) within a storage space (i.e. space for storing the mobile device 100) (fig. 1); and a power control module (battery) (fig. 1 number 200) installed in the installation groove (fig. 1 number 10). Jung does not teach the power control module being connected to at least one of the plurality of electrical interfaces. However, Filser et al. discloses the frame 104 contains a power supply and the electronic package will be electrically driven by the frame 104 (P:0153). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Filser et al. and Fathollahi et al. with an installation groove within the storage space; and a power control module installed in the installation groove, the power control module being connected to at least one of the plurality of electrical interfaces in order for the frame to supply power to the packages to allow the electronic communication device to perform additional functions such as a secondary processor and/or external battery for the electronic communication device, as taught by Jung.
10. Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filser et al. (US 2016/0191682) in view of Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833), newly recited reference as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and in further view of Huang et al. (US 2014/0268519).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Filser et al. and Fathollahi et al. differs from claim 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a second case for preventing the electronic device from detaching, the second case being detachably connected to the first case, with the storage space positioned on the first case, and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space. Huang et al. teaches a first case (fig. 4 number 14), a second case (fig. 4 number 12) for preventing the electronic device from detaching t(i.e. the malleable outer layer 14 can be stretched over the rigid case portion 12 to provide impact-resistance and to increase water-resistance) (P:0114), the second case being detachably connected to the first case (fig. 4 and P:0114), with the storage space positioned on the first case (fig. 4 number 14) , and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space (fig. 4 number 28 and P:0122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang et al. of a second case for preventing the electronic device from detaching, the second case being detachably connected to the first case, with the storage space positioned on the first case, and the second case corresponding to the position of the storage space in order to provide a case portion to the frame to protect the mobile device located within the frame from being accidentally dropped, as taught Huang et al..
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Filser et al. and Fathollahi et al. differs from claim 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose at least one anti-misalignment hole, with the at least one positioning hole and the anti-misalignment hole corresponding in position to each other. Huang et al. teaches at least one anti-misalignment hole (fig. 4 number 18), with the at least one positioning hole (fig. 4 number 30) and the anti-misalignment hole (fig. 4 number 18) corresponding in position to each other (i.e. located on the outer edge of the casing 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Filser et al. and Fathollahi et al. with at least one anti-misalignment hole, with the at least one positioning hole and the anti-misalignment hole corresponding in position to each other in order for the user to be able to press the buttons on the mobile device when the mobile device in located between the frame and a front casing, as taught by Filser et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the expansion frame is provided with a protective layer within the third installation groove, and the protective layer covering the third installation groove..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH FERGUSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648