Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 18-19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0383167), herein referred to as “Sengupta”, in view of Babaei (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0307108).
Regarding Claim 1,
Sengupta discloses: A communication method, applicable to a terminal device, the method comprising: triggering, in response to a beam failure of a Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) being detected, a Scheduling Request (SR) for a Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) of the TRP
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
wherein before the triggering the SR, the method further comprises: determining whether there is an uplink resource sufficient to accommodate a BFR Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) for the TRP and a header; and determining whether the BFR is canceled
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
Sengupta does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Babaei discloses wherein in case that a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of another SR, the
PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is preferentially transmitted.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Note: The overlap is the “conflict”.
Babaei further discloses wherein the method further comprises: in case that the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of a SR for a BFR of a secondary cell (SCell), determining whether the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP or the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted based on an implementation of the terminal device.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Sengupta in view of Babaei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta to include the concept of conflicting PUCCH resources and whether the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted as taught by Babaei so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Sengupta discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein in response to a transmitted Medium Access Control Packet Data Unit (MAC PDU) comprising beam failure information of the TRP for triggering the SR, the SR for the BFR of the TRP is canceled.
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
Regarding Claim 9,
Sengupta discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in response to an uplink resource currently available being used for transmitting beam failure information of the TRP for triggering the SR, at least one of canceling the SR for the BFR of the TRP or canceling a random access procedure for the BFR of the TRP, or the method further comprises: in response to a cell corresponding to the TRP being deactivated or a Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurring in the cell, cancelling the SR for the BFR of the TRP.
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Sengupta discloses: A terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the terminal device to: trigger, in response to a beam failure of a Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) being detected, a Scheduling Request (SR) for a Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) of the TRP
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the terminal device to, before the triggering the SR, determine whether there is an uplink resource sufficient to accommodate a BFR Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) for the TRP and a header; and determining whether the BFR is canceled
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
Sengupta does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Babaei discloses wherein in case that a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of another SR, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the terminal device to preferentially transmit the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Note: The overlap is the “conflict”.
Babaei further discloses wherein in case that the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of a SR for a BFR of a secondary cell (SCell), the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the terminal device to determine whether the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP or the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted based on an implementation of the terminal device.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Sengupta in view of Babaei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta to include the concept of conflicting PUCCH resources and whether the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted as taught by Babaei so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Sengupta discloses: A chip, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause a device installed with the chip to: trigger, in response to a beam failure of a Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) being detected, a Scheduling Request (SR) for a Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) of the TRP
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the device to, before the triggering the SR, determine whether there is an uplink resource sufficient to accommodate a BFR Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) for the TRP and a header; and determining whether the BFR is canceled
[0134] If the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not cancelled, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission, and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, then the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate a BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Additionally or alternatively, if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE, which contains beam failure information (or NBI) of that SCell.
Sengupta does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Babaei discloses wherein in case that a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of another SR, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the device to preferentially transmit the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Note: The overlap is the “conflict”.
Babaei further discloses wherein in case that the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP is in conflict with a PUCCH resource of a SR for a BFR of a secondary cell (SCell), the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program from the memory to cause the terminal device to determine whether the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the TRP or the PUCCH resource of the SR for the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted based on an implementation of the chip.
[0281] In an example, when SCell BFR SR is triggered and the wireless device has an overlapping SR PUCCH resource with the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource, the wireless device may all select the SCell BFR SR PUCCH resource for transmission. In an example, a pending SR for SCell beam failure recovery triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly may be cancelled when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a SCell BFR MAC CE. In an example, SCell BFR MAC CE may carry information of multiple failed SCells, e.g., a multiple entry format for SCell BFR MAC CE may be used.
Sengupta in view of Babaei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta to include the concept of conflicting PUCCH resources and whether the BFR of the SCell is preferentially transmitted as taught by Babaei so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Claims 2, 5, 7, 12, 15, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Babaei, held further in view of Tsai et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0029724), herein referred to as “Tsai”. The Tsai reference was provided in the Information Disclosure Statement dated August 6, 2024.
Regarding Claim 2,
Sengupta in view of Babaei do not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Tsai discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information about the SR
[0213] In some implementations, each MAC entity of a UE may be configured with only one BFR-SR configuration that includes configuration parameter(s) for a BFR-SR procedure. The UE may perform a BFR-SR procedure based on the BFR-SR configuration.
[0214] In some implementations, the UE may be configured with only one PUCCH resource configuration for a BFR-SR transmission per BFR-SR configuration.
wherein the TRP comprises a first TRP and a second TRP, and the SR comprises a first SR and a second SR.
[0329] In some implementations, a BFR-SR may be transmitted in the BFR-SR transmission (e.g., action 1A illustrated in FIG. 1) of the BFRQ operation. The BFR-SR may be transmitted on a dedicated SR-like PUCCH resource for BFR. The BFR-SR may be used to inform the NW of a beam failure event and/or used for requesting for an UL-SCH resource for BFR report transmission. The UL resource required by a BFR-SR may (only) be used for BFR (report transmission). The UE may be configured with zero, one, or more BFR-SR configuration. The PUCCH resource for BFR-SR may be configured per BWP, per TRP, per CC, per set of CCs, per cell group (CG), and/or per UE. The PUCCH resource for BFR-SR may be configured on a PCell, a PSCell, and/or a (PUCCH) SCell. The BFR-SR may be transmitted on a PCell, a PSCell, and/or an SCell accordingly. In some implementations, the BFR-SR may be transmitted through a cross-cell transmission (e.g., the beam failure event happens on an SCell, and the BFR-SR corresponding to the beam failure event the is transmitted on a PCell). In some implementations, the BFR-SR configuration may be a specific configuration which is not one of the SR configurations (e.g., the ID of BFR-SR configuration is not shared with the parameter, schedulingRequestid.) In some implementations, the BFR-SR configuration may be one of the SR configurations (e.g., the ID of BFR-SR configuration is shared with the schedulingRequestid.) In some implementations, the BFR-SR may have the highest priority among all SR configurations configured to the UE. In some implementations, the BFR-SR configuration may be configured per BWP, per TRP, per CC, per set of CCs, per CG, and/or per UE.
Note: Since there are “one or more BFR-SR configurations”, these configurations are also “per TRP”, thus being indicative of more than one TRP.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of SR configuration information for independent TRPs as taught by Tsai so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 5,
Sengupta in view of Babaei do not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Tsai discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the first SR is associated with a first PUCCH resource and a second PUCCH resource, the first PUCCH resource corresponds to the first TRP, and the second PUCCH resource corresponds to the second TRP
[0286] In action 502, a UE may receive, from a BS, a first SR configuration indicating a first SR index associated with a first SR resource. For example, the first SR configuration may be a BFR-SR configuration. The first SR resource may be an UL resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource) for a BFR-SR transmission. In one implementation, the first SR index may be indicated by an IE schedulingRequestID-BFR-SCell.
[0287] In action 504, the UE may receive, from the BS, a second SR configuration indicating a second SR index associated with a second SR resource. For example, the second SR configuration may be a regular SR configuration. The second SR resource may be an UL resource (e.g., PUCCH resource) for a regular SR transmission. The second SR index may be indicated by an IE schedulingRequestID.
wherein the method further comprises: in response to triggering the BFR by the first TRP or triggering the BFR by the second TRP, transmitting the first SR using the first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first TRP; or transmitting the second SR using the second PUCCH resource corresponding to the second TRP
[0289] In action 506, the UE may trigger a first SR procedure (e.g., a BFR-SR procedure) for a BFR procedure based on the first SR configuration. For example, the BFR procedure may be triggered by the UE when a beam failure event is detected by the UE on an SCell of the BS. In one implementation, the BFR procedure may be an SCell BFR procedure. In addition, the BFR procedure may not be an RA procedure for SpCell BFR. After triggering the BFR procedure, if the UE finds that it is not allocated with available UL resource(s) for a BFR report transmission, the UE may further trigger the first SR procedure to transmit a BFR-SR to request the BS for an available UL resource to transmit a BFR report of the BFR procedure.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of SR configuration information for independent TRPs and corresponding resources as taught by Tsai so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 7,
Tsai discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the BFR MAC CE for the TRP is used for reporting information about the beam failure of the TRP to a network side.
[0059] On the other hand, the purpose of BFR-SR transmission may include informing the NW that beam failure happens on a serving cell(s) (e.g., a beam failure event is detected on the serving cell(s)), and/or to request a (specific) UL resource for transmitting a BFR report (e.g., a MAC CE). When beam failure occurs on the serving cell(s), the UE may not perform DL and/or UL transmission successfully on the serving cell(s) due to the radio link problem. For example, the UE may not receive any scheduling (e.g., from a PDCCH) on the serving cell(s). Also, the misalignment of the beam pair link between the NW and the UE may result in some negative impacts (e.g., transmission failure, bad resource efficiency, unnecessary power consumption, etc.). Thus, beam failure recovery may be urgent and critical compared to other transmissions. In this sense, in some implementations of the present disclosure, the UE may prioritize the BFR-SR resource (or an “SR resource for BFR”) for a BFR-SR transmission over some other UL resources (e.g., a PUSCH for data transmission and/or a PUCCH for (normal) SR transmission), if the BFR-SR resource (occasion) for transmission collides with the other UL resources in the time domain.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of having the BFR MAC CE for the TRP being used for reporting information about the beam failure of the TRP to a network side as taught by Tsai so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 21,
Sengupta in view of Babaei do not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 21.
However, Tsai discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the SR is shared by a plurality of logical channels, wherein the method further comprises: triggering, in response to a number of retransmissions of the SR exceeding a first threshold, a random access procedure.
[0175] In some implementations, a UE may use an RA procedure for SpCell BFR to recover from a beam failure event detected on an SpCell, and use an SCell BFR procedure to recover from a beam failure event detected on an SCell(s). In certain cases, the RA procedure for SpCell BFR and the SCell BFR procedure for the SCell(s) may be performed by the UE individually. In addition, the beam failure event on the SpCell and the beam failure event on the SCell(s) may happen simultaneously (e.g., happen in the same symbol/slot/subframe/frame). In this case, for example, the RA procedure for SpCell BFR and the SCell BFR procedure may be initiated/triggered by the UE at the same time (e.g., in the same symbol/slot/subframe/frame). In another example, the UE may initiate/trigger the RA procedure for SpCell BFR, and then initiate/trigger the SCell BFR procedure when the RA procedure for SpCell BFR is ongoing. In another example, the UE may initiate/trigger the SCell BFR procedure, and then initiate/trigger the RA procedure for SpCell BFR when the SCell BFR procedure is ongoing. Based on the examples described above, the UE may need to determine whether to initiate/perform multiple BFR procedures simultaneously, and/or determine the priority of different BFR procedures.
[0184] In some implementations, detecting a beam failure event on the SpCell and a beam failure event on the SCell at the same time may refer to the case of a first Beam Failure Indication (BFI) counter (e.g., configured on the SpCell) used in the RA procedure for SpCell BFR reaching a first maximum number and, at the same time (e.g., in the same symbol/slot/subframe/frame), a second BFI counter (e.g., configured on an SCell/a group of SCells) used in the SCell BFR procedure reaching a second maximum number.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of having a random access procedure associated with retransmissions of the SR exceeding a threshold as taught by Tsai so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai, held further in view of Agiwal et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0013949), herein referred to as “Agiwal.” This reference was provided in the Information Disclosure Statement dated August 6, 2024.
Regarding Claim 4,
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Agiwal discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising: in case that the first TRP is associated with the first SR and the second TRP is associated with the second SR, in response to triggering the BFR by the first TRP or triggering the BFR by the second TRP, triggering the first SR; or triggering the second SR, wherein the first SR is associated with a first PUCCH resource.
[0013] For a logical channel, at most one PUCCH resource for SR is configured per BWP. Each SR configuration corresponds to one or more logical channels. Each logical channel may be mapped to zero or one SR configuration, which is configured by RRC.
[0070] If there are multiple SR(s) pending, all pending SR(s) except the SR triggered for BFR (or for BFR request (BFRQ) or for BFR/BFRQ of secondary cell (SCell)), triggered prior to the MAC PDU assembly are cancelled and each respective sr-ProhibitTimer are stopped when the MAC PDU is transmitted and this PDU includes a long or short BSR MAC CE which contains buffer status up to (and including) the last event that triggered a BSR prior to the MAC PDU assembly.
Sengupta in view of Babaei, Tsai, Agiwal are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei and Tsai to include the concept of triggering the BFR in response to triggering the BFR by a TRP as taught by Agiwal so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Babaei, held further in view of Wu et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0340068), herein referred to as “Wu.”
Regarding Claim 10,
Sengupta in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the TRP is indicated by:
an identifier of a Control Resource Set (CORESET); or an identifier of a CORESET pool; or an identifier of a reference signal set
[0109] (1) Step 1: A UE accesses a network. A serving cell of the UE is a SCell (or a SpCell). [0110] (2) Step 2: The network, e.g., a PCell, transmits the configuration to the UE. [0111] One TRP or two TRPs for the serving cell are configured, e.g., TRP #0 and TRP #1 as shown in FIG. 1. [0112] A BFD-RS set is configured for each TRP. Each TRP is associated with a BFD-RS set. For example, BFD-RS set #0 is associated with TRP #0, and BFD-RS set #1 is associated with TRP #1. [0113] Independent configuration of a new beam identification RS (NBI-RS) set is per TRP if a NBI-RS set per TRP is configured, e.g., NBI-RS set #0 and NBI-RS set #1. [0114] A combination of BFD counter #0 and timer #0 in the MAC layer is configured for TRP #0. A combination of BFD counter #1 and timer #1 in the MAC layer is configured for TRP #1. [0115] One TRP may be described as one CORESET pool. For example, CORESET pool #0 is TRP #0.
wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, whether the beam failure occurs at the TRP based on a beam failure indication reported from a lower layer
[0116] (3) Step 3: The UE receives the configuration from the network, e.g., the PCell. [0117] (4) Step 4: If a beam failure instance indication associated with TRP #0 has been received by the UE from lower layers, the MAC entity of the UE shall for each serving cell starts or restarts the timer for a beam failure detection (BFD) procedure associated with TRP #0, with an increment of COUNTER associated with TRP #0 by 1.
wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether the beam failure occurs at the TRP comprises: in response to a beam failure instance on the TRP reaching a second threshold during an operation of a beam failure detection timer, determining that the beam failure occurs at the TRP.
[0118] COUNTER (per TRP) is a counter for the beam failure instance indication which is initially set to 0. [0119] (5) Step 5: If COUNTER for TRP #0>=the Maximum Count for the beam failure instance indication and if the serving cell is the SCell, the UE triggers a BFR procedure for this TRP and transmits a BFR request, e.g., in a TRP based BFR MAC CE. [0120] Regarding a TRP based BFR MAC CE and the UE's corresponding behavior, the UE may adopt any of following Options 1-5 in different cases.
Note: The “counter” here is being interpreted as the timer and the threshold (>= Maximum Count), as there are is a counter per TRP, thereby making it possible for a second threshold.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Wu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of determining a beam failure indication at a lower layer and during operation of a timer as taught by Wu so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Babaei, held further in view of Lohr et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0244475), herein referred to as “Lohr.” This reference claims priority to, and has support in, provisional application 63/186052.
Regarding Claim 22,
Sengupta in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 22.
However, Lohr discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the BFR MAC CE has a logical channel priority, and the logical channel priority is one of a plurality of priorities, or between any two adjacent priorities of the plurality of priorities.
[0118] Regarding logical channel priority, the logical channels are to be prioritized in accordance with the following order (highest priority listed first): [0119] C-RNTI MAC CE or data from UL-CCCH; [0120] Configured Grant (“CG”) Confirmation MAC CE or Beam Failure Recovery (“BFR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE; [0121] Sidelink Configured Grant (“SL CG”) Confirmation MAC CE; [0122] Listen-Before-Talk (“LBT”) failure MAC CE; [0123] MAC CE for Sidelink Buffer Status Report (“SL-BSR”) prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6; [0124] MAC CE for BSR, with exception of BSR included for padding; [0125] Single Entry Power Headroom Report (“PHR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE; [0126] MAC CE for the number of Desired Guard Symbols; [0127] MAC CE for Pre-emptive BSR; [0128] MAC CE for SL-BSR, with exception of SL-BSR prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6 and SL-BSR included for padding; [0129] Data from any Logical Channel, except data from UL-CCCH; [0130] MAC CE for Recommended bit rate query; [0131] MAC CE for BSR included for padding; [0132] MAC CE for SL-BSR included for padding.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0092], a logical channel priority can exist in any of the aforementioned locations.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Lohr are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of logical channel prioritization as taught by Lohr so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 23,
Sengupta in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 23.
However, Lohr discloses: The method of claim 22, wherein the plurality of priorities comprises a first priority to a fourteenth priority in a descending order.
[0118] Regarding logical channel priority, the logical channels are to be prioritized in accordance with the following order (highest priority listed first): [0119] C-RNTI MAC CE or data from UL-CCCH; [0120] Configured Grant (“CG”) Confirmation MAC CE or Beam Failure Recovery (“BFR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE; [0121] Sidelink Configured Grant (“SL CG”) Confirmation MAC CE; [0122] Listen-Before-Talk (“LBT”) failure MAC CE; [0123] MAC CE for Sidelink Buffer Status Report (“SL-BSR”) prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6; [0124] MAC CE for BSR, with exception of BSR included for padding; [0125] Single Entry Power Headroom Report (“PHR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE; [0126] MAC CE for the number of Desired Guard Symbols; [0127] MAC CE for Pre-emptive BSR; [0128] MAC CE for SL-BSR, with exception of SL-BSR prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6 and SL-BSR included for padding; [0129] Data from any Logical Channel, except data from UL-CCCH; [0130] MAC CE for Recommended bit rate query; [0131] MAC CE for BSR included for padding; [0132] MAC CE for SL-BSR included for padding.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Lohr are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of a descending order of priorities as taught by Lohr so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Regarding Claim 24,
Sengupta in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 24.
However, Lohr discloses: The method of claim 23, wherein the first priority is an MAC CE of a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) or an MAC CE of data from the Uplink Common Control Channel (UL-CCCH), the second priority is a Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE or BFR MAC CE or a Multiple Entry Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE, the third priority is a Sidelink Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE, the fourth priority is a Listen before talk (LBT) failure MAC CE, the fifth priority is an MAC CE for Sidelink Buffer Status Report (SL-BSR), the sixth priority is an MAC CE for BSR, with exception of BSR included for padding, the seventh priority is a Single Entry Power Headroom Report (PHR) MAC CE or Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE, the eighth priority is an MAC CE for the number of Desired Guard Symbols, the ninth priority is an MAC CE for Pre-emptive BSR, the tenth priority is an MAC CE for SL-BSR, with exception of SL-BSR prioritized according to clause 5.22. 1.6 and SL-BSR included for padding, the eleventh priority is an MAC CE of data from any Logical Channel, except data from UL-CCCH, the twelfth priority is an MAC CE for Recommended bit rate query, the thirteenth priority is an MAC CE for BSR included for padding, and the fourteenth priority is an MAC CE for SL-BSR included for padding, a C-RNTI MAC CE or data from ULCCH.
[0118] Regarding logical channel priority, the logical channels are to be prioritized in accordance with the following order (highest priority listed first): [0119] C-RNTI MAC CE or data from UL-CCCH; [0120] Configured Grant (“CG”) Confirmation MAC CE or Beam Failure Recovery (“BFR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry Configured Grant Confirmation MAC CE; [0121] Sidelink Configured Grant (“SL CG”) Confirmation MAC CE; [0122] Listen-Before-Talk (“LBT”) failure MAC CE; [0123] MAC CE for Sidelink Buffer Status Report (“SL-BSR”) prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6; [0124] MAC CE for BSR, with exception of BSR included for padding; [0125] Single Entry Power Headroom Report (“PHR”) MAC CE or Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE; [0126] MAC CE for the number of Desired Guard Symbols; [0127] MAC CE for Pre-emptive BSR; [0128] MAC CE for SL-BSR, with exception of SL-BSR prioritized according to clause 5.22.1.6 and SL-BSR included for padding; [0129] Data from any Logical Channel, except data from UL-CCCH; [0130] MAC CE for Recommended bit rate query; [0131] MAC CE for BSR included for padding; [0132] MAC CE for SL-BSR included for padding.
Sengupta in view of Babaei and Lohr are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sengupta in view of Babaei to include the concept of a descending order of priorities as taught by Lohr so as to promote effective communications in a wireless network.
Response to Arguments
The following claims were amended: 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-19.
There following claims are new: 21-25.
The following claims have been canceled: 3, 6, 13, 16, and 20.
The objections to the claims and specification are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2,4-5,7-12,14-15,17-19 and 21-25 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 11, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411