DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 and 24-26 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments for the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101, applicant has amended independent claim 1, 18 and 22. Claim 1 introduces the limitation “wherein the audio encoder and the audio decoder have been trained in an end-to-end manner with generative and adversarial loss functions using clean speech audio distorted by artifacts and impairments”. Thus, the 101 abstract idea rejection is withdrawn for claim 1. Claim 18 introduces the limitation “wherein the audio encoder and a vector quantization process are trained in an end-to-end manner with an audio decoder and vector de-quantization process such that the codeword indices of the codebook represent speech content while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments”. The 101 abstract idea rejection is maintained for claim 18. The broad interpretation of the claim where the audio encoder and vector quantitation process are trained in an “end-to-end manner” is broad and does not describe any specific improvement or other technical features that would demonstrate integration of the abstract idea into a practical application in reducing artifacts and impairments in speech. Claim 22 introduces the limitations “wherein converting comprises generating first speech vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accent nuances associated with the default voice prosody”, “including mapping the first speech vectors to second speech vectors for the target voice prosody”, and “wherein the speech vectors correspond to codeword indices generated using an audio encoder, a vector quantization process, an audio decoder and a vector de-quantization process trained in an end-to-end manner such that codeword indices of a codebook, generated from the speech vectors, represent speech content that preserves speech semantics and prosody attributes while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments”. The 101 abstract idea rejection is maintained for claim 22. The broad interpretation of the claim where the audio encoder and vector quantitation process are trained in an “end-to-end manner” is broad and does not describe any specific improvement or other technical features that would demonstrate integration of the abstract idea into a practical application in reducing artifacts and impairments in speech. Regarding the Applicant’s arguments for the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102, applicant has amended independent claims 1, 18, and 22. Hence, the Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The as-filed disclosure specification does not teach “codeword indices” that “suppress” non-speech artifacts while preserving speech semantics and prosody attributes. The specification teaches vector quantization process that compress encoded speech vectors. The specification teaches audio encoder encoding degraded speech content into high-quality speech vectors by ignoring artifacts and impairments. Spec. P0043.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "vector quantization process" and “vector de-quantization process”, claim 18 recite the limitation “vector quantization process”, and claim 22 recite the limitation “audio encoder, a vector quantization process, an audio decoder and a vector de-quantization process” that lacks antecedent basis for the term because the term was not explicitly recited earlier in the same claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 18 the limitations of “encode speech audio to generate embedding vectors that represent a snapshot of speech audio attributes over successive timeframes of the speech audio, and to generate from the embedding vectors, codeword indices to entries in a codebook”, “a communication interface configured to transmit a bit stream that includes the codeword indices”, and “wherein the audio encoder and a vector quantization process are trained in an end-to-end manner with an audio decoder and vector de-quantization process such that the codeword indices of the codebook represent speech content while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments”, as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. More specifically, the mental process of a human applying a set of rules or instructions to obtain a representation of speech audio in the mind or using a pen or pencil, generating codeword indices for the representation using a codebook, and writing the codeword indices on paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the --Mental Processes-- grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recitation of an apparatus in claim 18, reads to generalized computer components, based upon the claim interpretation wherein the structure is interpreted using P0120-P0132 in the specification. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generalized computer components to apply a set of rules or instructions to obtain a representation of speech audio in the mind or using a pen or pencil, generate codeword indices for the representation using a codebook, and write the codeword indices on paper amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 19, the claim recites “wherein the audio encoder generates speech embedding vectors that are more condensed compared to embedding vectors encompassing speech distorted by artifacts and impairments”, which reads on a human applying a set of rules or instructions to obtain a representation of speech audio in a condensed format. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 20, the claim recites “wherein the audio encoder generates speech embedding vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accents nuances”, which reads on a human applying a set of rules or instructions to obtain a representation of speech audio in the mind or using a pen or pencil that includes speech semantics and stationary attributes. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 21, the claim recites “wherein the speech audio contains speech of a first prosody and the codeword indices include a sequence of first codeword indices to the codebook for the first prosody, wherein the one or more processors are configured to” and “map the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second prosody”, which reads on a human mapping codeword indices found in a codebook to another codebook in the mind. No additional limitations are present.
These claims further do not remedy the judicial exception being integrated into a practical application and further fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeghidour et al (U.S. PG Pub No. 20230186927), hereinafter Zeghidour.
Regarding claim 1 Zeghidour teaches:
A method comprising: (Abstract, Methods, systems and apparatus.)
obtaining speech audio to be encoded; (P0029, The audio waveform can originate from any suitable audio source. For example, the waveform can be a recording from an external audio device (e.g., speech from a microphone).)
applying the speech audio to an audio encoder that is part of a neural network audio codec system that includes the audio encoder and an audio decoder, wherein the audio encoder and the audio decoder have been trained in an end-to-end manner with generative and adversarial loss functions using clean speech audio distorted by artifacts and impairments; (P0031, The audio waveform is processed (e.g., encoded) by the encoder to generate a sequence of feature vectors representing the waveform. Feature vectors (e.g., embeddings, latent representations) are compressed representations of waveforms that extract the most relevant information about their audio content. … the encoder neural network can use multiple convolutional layers with increasing strides to generate feature vectors at the lower sampling rate (e.g., lower temporal resolution).; P0041, The QFVs can then be processed (e.g., decoded) by the decoder to generate an audio waveform. The decoder generally mirrors the processes of the encoder by outputting waveforms starting from (quantized) feature vectors.; P0043, The neural network architecture can be trained using a training system. The training system can enable efficient general-purpose compression or tailored compression (e.g., speech-tailored) by utilizing a suitable set of training examples and various training procedures.; P0048, The neural networks are trained end-to-end on an objective function that can include numerous reconstruction losses. In some implementations, a discriminator neural network is also trained to facilitate adversarial losses and, in some cases, additional reconstruction losses.; P0052, The target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise. In general, any desired audio enhancement can be enabled using this technique.)
encoding the speech audio with the audio encoder to generate embedding vectors that represent a snapshot of speech audio attributes over successive timeframes of the speech audio; and generating from the embedding vectors, codeword indices to entries in a codebook. (P0031, The audio waveform is processed (e.g., encoded) by the encoder to generate a sequence of feature vectors representing the waveform.; P0035, At the first vector quantizer, the quantizer can receive the feature vector and select a code vector from its codebook to represent the feature vector based on a smallest distance metric. A residual vector can be computed as the difference between the feature vector and the code vector representing the feature vector.)
wherein the audio encoder, a vector quantization process, the audio decoder and a vector de-quantization process are trained in the end-to-end manner such that codeword indices of a codebook, generated from the embedding vectors, represent speech content while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments. (P0048, FIG. 3 shows operations performed by an example training system to jointly train an encoder neural network, a decoder neural network and a residual vector quantizer. The neural networks are trained end-to-end on an objective function that can include numerous reconstruction losses. In some implementations, a discriminator neural network is also trained to facilitate adversarial losses and, in some cases, additional reconstruction losses.; P0036, The RVQ can utilize any suitable number of vector quantizers. The number of quantizers Nq and the size of each codebook Ni control tradeoffs between computational complexity and coding efficiency.; P0052, The target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise. In general, any desired audio enhancement can be enabled using this technique.)
Regarding claim 2 Zeghidour teach claim 1 and further teaches:
encoding comprises encapsulating speech and background noise characteristics jointly or separately. (P0029, The audio waveform can originate from any suitable audio source. For example, the waveform can be a recording from an external audio device (e.g., speech from a microphone), a purely digital production (e.g., electronic music), or generic audio such as sound effects and background noise (e.g., white noise, room tone). In some implementations, the audio compression system can perform audio enhancement, e.g., suppressing unwanted background noise, simultaneously when compressing the waveform.)
Regarding claim 3 Zeghidour teach claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein encoding comprises producing speech embedding vectors that are more condensed compared to embedding vectors encompassing speech distorted by artifacts and impairments. (P0029, The audio compression system can perform audio enhancement, e.g., suppressing unwanted background noise, simultaneously when compressing the waveform.
P0052, In some cases, the target waveform is identical to the input waveform, which can train the neural networks towards faithful and perceptually similar reconstructions. However, the target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise.)
Regarding claim 4 Zeghidour teach claim 3 and further teaches:
wherein encoding comprises generating speech embedding vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accent nuances. (P0052, In some cases, the target waveform is identical to the input waveform, which can train the neural networks towards faithful and perceptually similar reconstructions. However, the target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise.)
Regarding claim 11 Zeghidour teach claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein encoding comprises encoding the speech audio at any bit rate within a rate range, in increments, based on use of a corresponding number of codeword indices included in an audio packet. (P0057, To adequately train the neural networks for variable (e.g., scalable) bit rates, the training system can select a particular number nq of vector quantizers to be used for each training example, such that the number of quantizers differs between training examples. For instance, the training system can sample nq uniformly at random in [1; Nq], for each training example, and only use the first i=1 . . . nq quantizers in the sequence. Consequently, the networks are trained to encode and decode audio waveforms for all target bitrates corresponding to the range nq=1. . . Nq and no architectural changes are necessary for the encoder or decoder.)
Regarding claim 16 Zeghidour teach claim 1 and further teaches:
decoding, with the audio decoder, the codeword indices to recover the speech audio. (P0041, The QFVs can then be processed (e.g., decoded) by the decoder to generate an audio waveform. The decoder generally mirrors the processes of the encoder by outputting waveforms starting from (quantized) feature vectors.)
Regarding claim 17 Zeghidour teach claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the audio encoder and audio decoder have been trained with generative and adversarial loss functions of one or more deep neural network models in an end-to-end manner using clean speech audio distorted by artifacts and impairments. (P0044, In general, the training system can utilize unsupervised learning algorithms, semi-supervised learning algorithms, supervised learning algorithms, or more elaborate combinations of these. For example, the training system can balance reconstruction losses with adversarial losses to enable audio compression that is both faithful and perceptually similar to the original audio on playback.; P0049, The training system receives a set of training examples. Each training example includes a respective input audio waveform and a corresponding target audio waveform that the neural networks are trained to reconstruct. That is, using the objective function, the target waveform can be compared with a resulting output audio waveform to evaluate performance of the neural networks.; P0090, The target audio waveform of one or more of the training examples can be an enhanced version of the input audio waveform, such as a denoised version of the input audio waveform.)
Regarding claim 18 Zeghidour teaches:
An apparatus comprising: (Abstract, Methods, systems and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer storage media.)
one or more processors configured to execute instructions for an audio encoder to encode speech audio to generate embedding vectors that represent a snapshot of speech audio attributes over successive timeframes of the speech audio, and to generate from the embedding vectors, codeword indices to entries in a codebook; and (P0099, apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor.; P0031, The audio waveform is processed (e.g., encoded) by the encoder to generate a sequence of feature vectors representing the waveform.; P0035, At the first vector quantizer, the quantizer can receive the feature vector and select a code vector from its codebook to represent the feature vector based on a smallest distance metric. A residual vector can be computed as the difference between the feature vector and the code vector representing the feature vector.)
a communication interface configured to transmit a bit stream that includes the codeword indices. (P0008, The compression system can generate a compressed representation of an input audio waveform and transmit the compressed representation to a destination over a data communication network, e.g., a local area network, a wide area network, or the internet.)
wherein the audio encoder and a vector quantization process are trained in an end-to-end manner with an audio decoder and vector de-quantization process such that the codeword indices of the codebook represent speech content while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments. (P0048, FIG. 3 shows operations performed by an example training system to jointly train an encoder neural network, a decoder neural network and a residual vector quantizer. The neural networks are trained end-to-end on an objective function that can include numerous reconstruction losses. In some implementations, a discriminator neural network is also trained to facilitate adversarial losses and, in some cases, additional reconstruction losses.; P0036, The RVQ can utilize any suitable number of vector quantizers. The number of quantizers Nq and the size of each codebook Ni control tradeoffs between computational complexity and coding efficiency.; P0052, The target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise. In general, any desired audio enhancement can be enabled using this technique.)
Regarding claim 19 Zeghidour teach claim 18 and further teaches:
wherein the audio encoder generates speech embedding vectors that are more condensed compared to embedding vectors encompassing speech distorted by artifacts and impairments. (P0029, The audio compression system can perform audio enhancement, e.g., suppressing unwanted background noise, simultaneously when compressing the waveform.; P0052, In some cases, the target waveform is identical to the input waveform, which can train the neural networks towards faithful and perceptually similar reconstructions. However, the target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise.)
Regarding claim 20 Zeghidour teach claim 18 and further teaches:
wherein the audio encoder generates speech embedding vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accents nuances. (P0052, In some cases, the target waveform is identical to the input waveform, which can train the neural networks towards faithful and perceptually similar reconstructions. However, the target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelsteinet et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20230064749), hereinafter Finkelstein, in view of Zeghidour.
Regarding claim 22 Finkelstein teaches:
A method comprising: (P0005, A method for synthesizing an input text utterance into expressive speech having an intended prosody and a target voice.)
obtaining text to be converted to speech audio; (P0032, Input text.)
converting the text to speech vectors of a default voice prosody, wherein converting comprises generating first speech vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accent nuances associated with the default voice prosody;; (P0033, The first TTS model is trained to produce an intermediate speech representation. … the resulting intermediate synthesized speech representation produced by the first TTS model captures the intended prosody (expressiveness) that was conveyed in the training utterances. P0035, Synthesized speech representations produced by the first TTS model conditioned on prosodic features and linguistic features embeddings representing the training synthesized speech representations. The prosodic features may represent acoustic information about the reference audio signals in terms of pitch (F0), phoneme duration, and energy (C0). For instance, the prosodic features may include phoneme durations and fixed-length frames of pitch and energy sampled from the reference audio signal.)
wherein converting comprises generating first speech vectors representing speech semantics and stationary attributes including volume, pitch modulation, and accent nuances associated with the default voice prosody; ()
mapping the speech vectors of the default voice prosody to speech vectors of a target voice prosody that is different from the default voice prosody, including mapping the first speech vectors to second speech vectors for the target voice prosody; and (P0033, The second TTS model is trained to reproduce the intended prosody captured by the intermediate speech representation and generate expressive speech having the intended produced in the target voice. That is, the second TTS model generates expressive speech with the intended prosody and having speaker characteristics associated with the target voice. Here, the target voice may be associated with an actor that never spoke any of the training utterances possessing the intended prosody.; P0047, The model may jointly predict, for each syllable of given input text, a duration of the syllable and pitch (F0) and energy (C0) contours for the syllable without relying on any unique mappings from the given input text or other linguistic specification to produce synthesized speech having an intended prosody in the target voice.)
decoding the speech vectors of the target voice prosody to produce output speech audio in the target voice prosody, (Col. 10, 28-38, Lines the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker. As one example of this, the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker with a first accent of a natural language and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker with a different accent of the natural language.)
Finkelsteinet does not specifically teach:
wherein the speech vectors correspond to codeword indices generated using an audio encoder, a vector quantization process, an audio decoder and a vector de-quantization process trained in an end-to-end manner such that codeword indices of a codebook, generated from the speech vectors, represent speech content that preserves speech semantics and prosody attributes while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments.
Zeghidour, however, teaches:
wherein the speech vectors correspond to codeword indices generated using an audio encoder, a vector quantization process, an audio decoder and a vector de-quantization process trained in an end-to-end manner such that codeword indices of a codebook, generated from the speech vectors, represent speech content that preserves speech semantics and prosody attributes while reducing representation of artifacts and impairments. (P0048, FIG. 3 shows operations performed by an example training system to jointly train an encoder neural network, a decoder neural network and a residual vector quantizer. The neural networks are trained end-to-end on an objective function that can include numerous reconstruction losses. In some implementations, a discriminator neural network is also trained to facilitate adversarial losses and, in some cases, additional reconstruction losses.; P0036, The RVQ can utilize any suitable number of vector quantizers. The number of quantizers Nq and the size of each codebook Ni control tradeoffs between computational complexity and coding efficiency.; P0052, The target waveform can also be modified with respect to the input waveform to encourage more sophisticated functionalities, such as joint compression and enhancement. The nature of the enhancement can be determined by designing training examples with certain qualities. For instance, the target waveform can be a speech enhanced version of the input waveform, such that the neural networks improve audio dialogue upon reconstruction of waveforms. Alternatively or in addition, the target waveform can be a denoised version of the input waveform, which trains the networks to suppress background noise. In general, any desired audio enhancement can be enabled using this technique.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have audio encoder, vector quantization process, audio decoder, and vector de-quantization process trained in end-to-end manner. It would have been obvious to combine the references because encoding vectors and quantizing vectors reduced consumption of computational resources by obviating any requirement to train and maintain multiple respective encoders, decoders, and vector quantizers that are each optimized for a respective bitrate. (Zeghidour P0014)
Regarding claim 24 Finkelstein in view of Zeghidour teach claim 22:
Finkelstein further teaches:
wherein mapping comprises mapping the first speech vectors to second speech vectors for the target voice prosody. (P0033, The second TTS model is trained to reproduce the intended prosody captured by the intermediate speech representation and generate expressive speech having the intended produced in the target voice. That is, the second TTS model generates expressive speech with the intended prosody and having speaker characteristics associated with the target voice. Here, the target voice may be associated with an actor that never spoke any of the training utterances possessing the intended prosody.)
Regarding claim 25 Finkelstein in view of Zeghidour teach claim 22:
Finkelstein further teaches:
wherein decoding is performed with an audio decoder that is part of a neural network audio codec system that includes an audio encoder and the audio decoder, which has been trained end-to-end with generative and adversarial loss functions of one or more deep neural network models, using clean speech audio distorted by artifacts and impairments. (P0034, The second TTS model may correspond to a prosody transfer model that includes an encoder portion and a decoder portion. Here, the prosody transfer model may correspond to a variational autoencoder (VAE) architecture or a sequence-to-sequence feature prediction network architecture.; P0018, Second TTS model includes a second neural network architecture.; P0010, Training, by the data processing hardware, using the corresponding transcript of the training data, the decoder portion of the second TTS model by decoding the corresponding utterance embedding encoded by the encoder portion into a predicted output audio signal of expressive speech having the intended prosody; generating gradients/losses between the predicted output audio signal and the corresponding reference audio signal; and back-propagating the gradients/losses through the second TTS model.)
Regarding claim 26 Finkelstein in view of Zeghidour teach claim 22.
Finkelstein further teaches:
wherein the codeword indices correspond to compact speech representations that suppress non-speech artifacts while preserving speech semantics and prosody attributes. (P0033, The first TTS model is trained to produce an intermediate speech representation that captures the intended prosody without attempting to disentangle the intended prosody and speaker characteristics. As such, the resulting intermediate synthesized speech representation produced by the first TTS model captures the intended prosody (expressiveness) that was conveyed in the training utterances, but may include an imperfect voice having reduced quality (e.g., noise artifacts) and lacking speaker characteristics (e.g., accent). As such, the intermediate synthesized speech representation is not suitable for a human listener since it is not intended to accurately convey a message (intelligibility), nor is the intermediate synthesized speech representation intended to sound like human speech (naturalness). Despite the intermediate synthesized speech representation having the imperfect voice, and thus not conveying speaker characteristics representative of the target voice, the second TTS model is trained to reproduce the intended prosody captured by the intermediate speech representation and generate expressive speech having the intended produced in the target voice. That is, the second TTS model generates expressive speech with the intended prosody and having speaker characteristics associated with the target voice.)
Zeghidour further teaches:
wherein the codeword indices correspond to compact speech representations that suppress non-speech artifacts while preserving speech semantics and prosody attributes. (P0035, At the first vector quantizer, the quantizer can receive the feature vector and select a code vector from its codebook to represent the feature vector based on a smallest distance metric. A residual vector can be computed as the difference between the feature vector and the code vector representing the feature vector. The residual vector can be received by the next quantizer in the sequence to select a code vector from its codebook to represent the residual vector based on a smallest distance metric. The difference between these two vectors can be used as the residual vector for the next iteration. This iterative method can continue for each vector quantizer in the sequence. Every code vector identified in the method can be summed into the QFV and the codeword of each code vector can be stored in a respective CFV.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize codeword indices. It would have been obvious to combine the references because CFVs consume less space in memory and can achieve greater compression than QFVs with no additional loss. (Zeghidour P0033)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Asghar (U.S. Patent No. 6347297).
Regarding claim 5 Zeghidour teach claim 1.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
wherein the speech audio is to be converted to text, further comprising: decoding the codeword indices associated with the embedding vectors to produce text for the speech audio.
Asghar, however, teaches:
wherein the speech audio is to be converted to text, further comprising: decoding the codeword indices associated with the embedding vectors to produce text for the speech audio. (Col. 2, Lines 47-60, The extracted features representing input signal are segmented into short-term input signal frames and considered to be stationary within each frame for 10 to 30 msec duration. The extracted features may be represented by a D-dimensional vector and compared with predetermined, stored reference patterns by the pattern similarity operation. Similarity between the input signal pattern and the stored reference patterns 208 is determined in pattern similarity operation using well-known vector quantization processes. The vector quantization process yields spectral distortion or distance measures to quantify the score of fitness or closeness between the representation of input signal and each of the stored reference patterns.; Col. 6, Lines 43-51, In addition to matrix and vector quantization, the speech recognition system may further utilize probabilistic classification processes to further enhance speech recognition accuracy. Matrix and vector quantizers serve as front end speech classifiers to provide observation sequences, in the forms of respective classification vectors, to respective HMMs in order to characterize the HMMs during training. Each of the HMMs are preferably trained for a single word and may be gender specific.; Col. 6, Lines 62-66, A neural network, such as an MLP neural network, enhances recognition accuracy by processing input data generated by the mixer by determining the probabilities of each vocabulary word matching input signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to decode the codeword indices to produce text. It would have been obvious to combine the references because quantization of input speech improves speech recognition. (Asghar, Abstract)
Claims 6, 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Agostinelli et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11915689), hereinafter Agostinelli.
Regarding claim 6 Zeghidour teach claim 1.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
mapping the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second language; and
decoding the sequence of second codeword indices to produce an output audio stream of the speech audio in the second language.
Agostinelli, however, teaches:
mapping the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second language; and (Col. 7, Lines 59-63, The system can also include an embedding neural network. In some examples where the context includes an input, the system can process the input to map the input to one or more embedding tokens, also referred to as audio embedding tokens.)
decoding the sequence of second codeword indices to produce an output audio stream of the speech audio in the second language. (Col. 10, Lines 25-29, The input audio signal can include speech in one natural language and the output audio signal can represent speech in a target, different natural language that is a translation of the input speech into the target language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to map indices to produce an output in the second language. It would have been obvious to combine the references because mapping of sequences is a known technique to yield a predictable result of translating speech.
Regarding claim 7 Zeghidour teach claim 1.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
mapping the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second prosody; and
decoding the sequence of second codeword indices to produce an output audio stream of the speech audio in the second prosody.
Agostinelli, however, teaches:
mapping the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second prosody; and (Col. 7, Lines 59-63, The system can also include an embedding neural network. In some examples where the context includes an input, the system can process the input to map the input to one or more embedding tokens, also referred to as audio embedding tokens.)
decoding the sequence of second codeword indices to produce an output audio stream of the speech audio in the second prosody. (Col. 10, 28-38, Lines the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker. As one example of this, the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker with a first accent of a natural language and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker with a different accent of the natural language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to map indices to produce an output in the second prosody. It would have been obvious to combine the references because mapping of sequences is a known technique to yield a predictable result of changing prosody.
Regarding claim 21 Zeghidour teach claim 18.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
wherein the speech audio contains speech of a first prosody and the codeword indices include a sequence of first codeword indices to the codebook for the first prosody, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: map the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second prosody.
Agostinelli, however, teaches:
wherein the speech audio contains speech of a first prosody and the codeword indices include a sequence of first codeword indices to the codebook for the first prosody, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: map the sequence of first codeword indices to a sequence of second codeword indices to a codebook for a second prosody. (Col. 7, Lines 59-63, The system can also include an embedding neural network. In some examples where the context includes an input, the system can process the input to map the input to one or more embedding tokens, also referred to as audio embedding tokens.; Col. 10, 28-38, Lines the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker. As one example of this, the input audio signal can include speech spoken by a first speaker with a first accent of a natural language and the output audio signal can represent the same semantic content as the input speech but spoken by a different speaker with a different accent of the natural language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to map indices to produce an output in the second prosody. It would have been obvious to combine the references because mapping of sequences is a known technique to yield a predictable result of changing prosody.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20240386881), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 8 Zeghidour teach claim 1.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
converting the embedding vectors to language embeddings that are suitable to be provided as input to a large language model for a text generation task or for a discriminative task.
Wang, however, teaches:
converting the embedding vectors to language embeddings that are suitable to be provided as input to a large language model for a text generation task or for a discriminative task. (P0037, The computing system can map each audio embedding of the plurality of audio embeddings to a textual embedding using the speech adapter. The textual embeddings the audio embeddings are mapped to can be any textual token embeddings in the textual embedding space of a LLM., Fig. 2, Example of search discriminative task.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to convert embedding vectors to language embeddings as input to large language model. It would have been obvious to combine the references because the conversion avoids potential ASR misrecognitions and weakness in processing domain-specific entities. (Wang P0004)
Regarding claim 9 Zeghidour teach claim 8.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
wherein converting is performed by a translator that has been trained across a broad spectrum of speaker profiles and content diversity to account for speech audio that results in embedding vectors of diverse sizes, to be invariant to speaker-specific variations, and to use one or more transformer models that account for different length sequences.
Wang, however, teaches:
wherein converting is performed by a translator that has been trained across a broad spectrum of speaker profiles and content diversity to account for speech audio that results in embedding vectors of diverse sizes, to be invariant to speaker-specific variations, and to use one or more transformer models that account for different length sequences. (P0019, Present disclosure is directed to a joint speech and language model (“SLM”) that can map speech into a text token embedding spaces without speech information loss. This can be accomplished by utilizing blank filtering, which is a technique that is used to reduce speech data sequence length to the same order of magnitude as the text token embedding space.; P0020, The resulting filtered frames (e.g., only frames containing speech) therefore only provide semantic relevant information from the speech input to the speech encoder, which makes fine-tuning the model easier.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to convert embedding vectors to language embeddings as input to large language model. It would have been obvious to combine the references because the conversion avoids potential ASR misrecognitions and weakness in processing domain-specific entities. (Wang P0004)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Wang and further view of Coucheiro Limeres (U.S. PG Pub No. 20250149032).
Regarding claim 10 Zeghidour in view of Wang teach claim 9.
Zeghidour in view of Wang does not specifically teach:
providing an end-of-sequence token to indicate that conversion for a sequence of indices is complete.
Coucheiro Limeres, however, teaches:
providing an end-of-sequence token to indicate that conversion for a sequence of indices is complete. (P0023, This marking could occur, for example, by the use of additional tokens that indicate the start and end of a command.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide end of sequence token. It would have been obvious to combine the references because the end of sequence token addresses any potential ambiguity that might arise that belong to normal conversational speech. (Coucheiro Limeres P0023)
Claims 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Vos et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20110077940), hereinafter Vos.
Regarding claim 12 Zeghidour teach claim 11.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
transmitting multiple audio packets within a network packet.
Vos, however, teaches:
transmitting multiple audio packets within a network packet. (P0028, The output bitstream representing a speech signal and comprising a residual signal encoded at a first rate, the error correction data comprising the residual signal encoded at a second rate lower than the first rate.; P0087, The output FEC bitstream generated for payload n is buffered in the buffer 522 in order to piggyback it to the bitstream for payload n+1 or payload n+2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to transmit multiple audio packets. It would have been obvious to combine the references because packets can be lost on transmission and FEC information can be used to decode an output signal for the lost packet. (Vos P0009)
Regarding claim 13 Zeghidour in view of Vos teach claim 12.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
transmitting network packets, each network packet including a most recent audio packet in a sequence, the most recent audio packet encoded at a first bit rate Ro and L plurality of previous audio packets in the sequence encoded at bit rates R1, . . . , RL, respectively, wherein rate Ro is greater than bit rates R1, . .., RL.
Vos, however, teaches:
transmitting network packets, each network packet including a most recent audio packet in a sequence, the most recent audio packet encoded at a first bit rate Ro and L plurality of previous audio packets in the sequence encoded at bit rates R1, . . . , RL, respectively, wherein rate Ro is greater than bit rates R1, . .., RL. (P0030, A first signal-processing module configured to encode a residual signal at a first bit rate; a first arithmetic encoder configured to generate an output bitstream based on the residual signal encoded at the first bit rate; and a second signal-processing module configured to encode the residual signal at a second bit rate that is lower than the first bit rate and to generate error correction data based on the residual signal encoded at the second bit rate.; P0032, The encoder may further comprise a buffer configured to delay the error correction bitstream relative to the output bit stream.; P0033, The encoder may further comprise a gain adjustment module configured to control the quantization gain used to encode the residual information at the second bit rate to thereby control the second bit rate.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to transmit audio packets with previous audio packets with different bit rates. It would have been obvious to combine the references because packets can be lost on transmission and FEC information can be used to decode an output signal for the lost packet. (Vos P0009)
Regarding claim 14 Zeghidour in view of Vos teach claim 13.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
wherein bit rates R1,... , RL are each a second bit rate.
Vos, however, teaches:
wherein bit rates R1,... , RL are each a second bit rate. (P0030, A first signal-processing module configured to encode a residual signal at a first bit rate; a first arithmetic encoder configured to generate an output bitstream based on the residual signal encoded at the first bit rate; and a second signal-processing module configured to encode the residual signal at a second bit rate that is lower than the first bit rate and to generate error correction data based on the residual signal encoded at the second bit rate.; P0032, The encoder may further comprise a buffer configured to delay the error correction bitstream relative to the output bit stream.; P0033, The encoder may further comprise a gain adjustment module configured to control the quantization gain used to encode the residual information at the second bit rate to thereby control the second bit rate.)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeghidour in view of Vos and further view of "SoundStream: An End-to-End Neural Audio Codec" by Zeghidour et al.
Regarding claim 15 Zeghidour in view of Vos teach claim 14.
Zeghidour does not specifically teach:
wherein the first bit rate is 6 kbps and the second bit rate is 1 kbps.
SoundStream paper by Zeghidour, however, teaches:
wherein the first bit rate is 6 kbps and the second bit rate is 1 kbps. (V. Results, SoundStream operates at three different bitrates: i) low (3kbps); ii) medium(6 kbps); iii) high (12kbps). … We observe similar results when SoundStream operates at 6kbps and 12kbps.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize 6 kbps and 1kbps. It would have been obvious to combine the references because the quantized and transmission bitrate were obvious to try as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions came with a reasonable expectation of success. (Soundstream, V. Results)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W CHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659