DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18 are pending.
In view of the amendment, filed 04/06/2026, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 01/06/2026:
Drawings and claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A (Espacenet translation provided 01/06/2026 referenced below), in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a recoater (scraper, see above, Figs. 1-2, [0028]) for an apparatus for making three-dimensional objects from a solidifiable material (for 3D printing, [0001], SLA 3D printing, [0033]), comprising:
A front wall and a rear wall (see annotated Fig. 1 above) connected by an upper wall (see annotated Fig. 1) and spaced apart along a first axis (along direction between front and rear walls, see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the front wall, rear wall, and upper wall define a partially enclosed space (inner cavity 111, which is open on lower end, Fig. 2, [0028]) having a height along a second axis (top to bottom direction, Figs. 1-2), and a length along a third axis (along longitudinal direction of scraper, Fig. 1).
Wu discloses the recoater includes a heater arranged along the third axis (temperature regulator 2, Fig. 1, used to heat the scraper and the photocurable material, [0028]). Wu does not disclose a plurality of heaters spaced apart along this axis.
In the analogous art, Wyatt discloses a coating apparatus with an integrated heating system ([0014]-[0017]) including a plurality of heaters spaced apart along an analogous longitudinal axis of the device (groups of cross-width heaters spaced within the die across the width, [0017]; Fig. 10, die having heater groups 310, 312 along length axis which are a plurality of individual heaters inserted into cavities in the rear of the die, [0075]). Wyatt teaches that the plurality of heaters can constitute independently controlled zones to minimize heat losses and accommodate temperature fluctuations ([0017], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Wu to use a plurality of heaters spaced apart along the third axis in order to implement a heating arrangement with multiple independently controlled zones for more accurate heating control and accommodation of temperature fluctuations, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1, and Wu discloses a temperature sensor (thermistors 115, 116, Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032]) in thermal communication with at least one of the front wall and the rear wall (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 2, and Wu discloses the front wall, rear wall, and upper wall define a lower body of the recoater (define a lower body indicated as 11 in Fig. 1), the recoater further comprises an upper body (upper body indicated as 12 in Fig. 1) in thermal communication with the lower body (assembled/connected to lower body 11, [0029]).
Wu discloses the thermistors 115, 116 can be mounted on walls of the scraper body 11 ([0031], Fig. 1) and that there may be several thermistors 115 ([0032]). Wu does not disclose the temperature sensor is embedded in the upper body.
Wyatt further teaches that temperature sensors should be located in the same zone as the respective heaters of the plurality of heaters ([0017]). Accordingly, for the combination involving the plurality of heaters at the upper end of the recoater, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to locate corresponding temperature sensors at the upper end of the recoater adjacent the heaters. The upper body 12 of Wu is directly adjacent and connected to the upper end (Fig. 1, [0029]), made of the same material as the lower body ([0030]), and would have predictably provided an easily accessible and usable space (Fig. 1) for locating the temperature sensors in the same zones as the heaters, as taught by Wyatt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor(s) of the combination to be embedded in the upper body so that they were located adjacent the plurality of heaters at an upper end of the recoater, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 2, and the combination further discloses a temperature controller (Wu: temperature controller, [0029], [0031]) operatively connected to the temperature sensor (Wu: connected to the thermistor(s), [0031]-[0032]) and to the plurality of heaters (Wu: and to the temperature regulator, [0032]; the plurality of heaters of the combination), wherein the temperature controller is configured to selectively energize the plurality of heaters based on a temperature signal received from the temperature sensor and a temperature set point (Wu: the temperature controller can control the heating power of the temperature regulator based on the thermistor(s) through current and PID algorithm, [0032], PID control of the temperature requiring a corresponding set point).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1. The combination did not address the heaters being cartridge heaters.
Wyatt further teaches the plurality of heaters are cartridge heaters ([0019]) connected to a power source (the heaters being powered, [0073], and thus being connected to a power source) and are selectively energizable (their power can be controllably regulated, [0073], [0081]). Wyatt teaches the controllable cartridge heaters can minimize and/or compensate for temperature gradients ([0019]). The combination discloses the heaters being used to heat the at least one of the front wall and the rear wall (Wu: the heaters heat the body 11 which includes the front and rear walls, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the plurality of heaters are cartridge heaters connected to a power source and are selectively energizable to heat at least one of the front wall and the rear wall, in order to implement suitable, controllable heaters for reliably heating the recoater and minimizing and/or compensating for temperature gradients, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1, and Wu discloses the front wall and the rear wall are connected by first and second end walls (end walls, see annotated Fig. 1 below), and each of the front wall, rear wall, and first and second end walls have bottom surfaces that enclose an opening (bottom opening from cavity 111 seen in Fig. 2) that is in fluid communication with the partially enclosed space (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1. The combination did not address the plurality of heaters including cartridge heaters arranged in pairs as claimed.
Wyatt further teaches the heaters in the plurality of heaters comprise cartridge heaters ([0019]), the cartridge heaters define pairs of cartridge heaters that are adjacent one another along the third axis (Fig. 10, pairs being made up of heaters within cavities of heater groups 310, 312 directly across from one another in die halves 324 and 326), a first cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in one of the first and second walls (in one of first or second die halves, 324 or 326, Fig. 10) and a second cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in the other of the first and second walls (the other die half 324 or 326, Fig. 10). Wyatt teaches the controllable cartridge heaters can minimize and/or compensate for temperature gradients ([0019]) and the arrangement can constitute independently controlled zones to minimize heat losses and accommodate temperature fluctuations ([0017], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heaters of the combination to comprise cartridge heaters, the cartridge heaters defining pairs of cartridge heaters that are adjacent one another along the third axis, a first cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in one of the first and second walls and a second cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in the other of the first and second walls, in order to implement the controllable heating zones for more accurate heating control as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses an apparatus for making a three-dimensional object from a solidifiable material (system performing SLA 3D printing, [0033]), comprising:
A source of the solidifiable material defining an exposed surface of the solidifiable material (layer of photocurable material, [0033]);
A build platform (printing platform, [0033]) that is movable along a height axis relative to the source of the solidifiable material (that is capable of being lowered, [0033]);
A recoating assembly comprising a recoater (scraper, Fig. 1) and a recoater drive (the scraper is controlled to move, [0007], at a particular speed, [0017], and thus is driven), wherein the recoater drive is operable to traverse the recoater (the scraper is moved across the surface, [0033]) along the first axis in contact with the exposed surface of the solidifiable material (moved in the direction such that the blade interacts with the layer, [0028], [0033], i.e., along the first axis as shown in annotated Fig. 1 above).
Wu alone does not disclose each of the elements of the recoater of claim 1. Wu in view of Wyatt as set forth above for claim 1 renders obvious the recoater of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu discloses the solidifiable material defines a solidifiable material level along the height axis in the partially enclosed space (when the inner cavity 111 is under negative pressure, excess photocurable material is sucked up and stored in the cavity, [0008], i.e., there is regularly solidifiable material in the partially enclosed space which has a level/height).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the solidifiable material defines a headspace above the solidifiable material level in the partially enclosed spaced (space between top of cavity and material level), and the apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump (vacuum pump, [0007]) in fluid communication with the headspace (connected to the inner cavity, [0007]) and operable to maintain a sub atmospheric pressure in the head space (applies a negative air pressure to the cavity such that material is sucked up and stored in the cavity, [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu discloses as the recoater traverses along the first axis, solidifiable material from the partially enclosed space is deposited on an exposed surface of solidified solidifiable material (the scraper is moved, [0007], and the inner cavity can be under positive pressure such that photocurable material stored in the cavity is released, [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu further discloses the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 14, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 14, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu further discloses the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 6.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A, in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gaignon et al., US 20220161323 A1.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 10. The combination does not disclose the recoater comprises a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis.
In the analogous art, Gaignon discloses a machine for manufacturing parts by stereolithography (Abstract, [0021]), including an applicator 1 (Figs. 1-6) for supplying and spreading a radiation-curable material ([0021]-[0024], [0026]-[0034]). Gaignon teaches providing the applicator with a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports (recesses 11 for receiving hoses connected to external suspension tank, [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2-4) for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis (Figs. 2-6, for feeding material from external supply R to the partially enclosed internal space of the applicator via hoses 13, [0028]-[0030], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recoater of the combination to include a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis in order to provide the capability of controllably supplying additional material to the recoater from an external material supply source, as taught by Gaignon.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A, in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al., CN 111002583 A (Espacenet translation provided 01/06/2026 referenced below).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Wu further discloses a temperature controller (temperature controller, [0029], [0031]).
The combination does not disclose a database of solidifiable materials (interpreted as a digital database of information) stored in association with a temperature set point for the temperature controller, a processor operatively connected to the temperature controller, and a computer readable medium having a set of executable steps stored thereon, wherein when executed by the processor, the executable steps cause a setpoint of the temperature controller to be set based on a solidifiable material identifier entered by a user and the temperature set point corresponding to the solidifiable material identifier in the database.
In the analogous art, Wang discloses a temperature-controlled coating device for a 3D printer (Abstract, [0002]). Wang teaches a temperature control configuration for the recoater including a database of solidifiable materials (pre-stored printing material information, [0241]) stored in association with a temperature set point for the temperature controller (associated with a suitable/set temperature range, [0243]), wherein control of the temperature set point is performed by a control device (control device performing temperature-control operations, determines set temperature range based on suitable temperature range, [0243]), based on a solidifiable material identifier (based on the characteristics of different printing materials, [0243], i.e., based on a type of material) entered by a user (material information of the printing material may be manually input, [0241]) and the temperature set point corresponding to the solidifiable material identifier in the database (based on the type of material and its set temperature range, [0243]). Wang teaches the control device comprises a processor and a storage unit, the processor executing instructions stored in non-volatile storage devices to perform the operations ([0258]-[0260]), such that the operations are conducted via the processor/computer readable medium. Wang teaches that different materials have different characteristics and different suitable temperature ranges and therefore control of the temperatures should be based on consideration of the materials to ensure the temperatures are within the suitable ranges ([0241]-[0243]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Wu to include a database and temperature control configuration as disclosed by Wang in order to ensure the temperature control of the recoater would account for the unique properties of a given material being utilized by the apparatus and its corresponding suitable temperature range, as taught by Wang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments/remarks do not have page numbers, so the following referenced page numbers start from 1 as the page titled “REMARKS.” Applicant argues (p. 4) that Wu’s scraper body is structurally different from the claimed recoater in that Wu’s inner cavity 111 is not a “partially enclosed space” defined by three separate walls (front, rear, and upper) that is open at the bottom, but rather it is an enclosed suction chamber within a monolithic scraper body with a narrow blade opening for dispensing resin.
This argument is not persuasive. See below for comparison between Applicant’s recoater with the front, rear, and upper walls as identified in the present specification (top figures) and Wu’s scraper body as annotated in the rejection (bottom figures). The inner cavity 111 of Wu’s recoater is a partially enclosed space defined by front, rear, and upper walls that is open at the bottom. Wu’s recoater is only an enclosed suction chamber within a monolithic scraper body with a narrow blade opening for dispensing resin to the same extent as Applicant’s claimed recoater.
Applicant argues (p. 5) that Wu only discloses a single temperature regulator. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection relied on a combination of Wu and Wyatt. Wyatt teaches a plurality of heaters arranged along the third axis as claimed.
Applicant argues (pp. 5-6) that Wyatt is not a 3D printing reference and seems to imply that Wyatt is not analogous art. This argument is not persuasive. The claims are directed to a heated recoater, which is a dispenser for applying coatings of a viscous resin (instant specification, [0002], “recoat” meaning to “coat” again over a surface). Wyatt is directed to a heated coating apparatus typically used for coating polymeric materials (Abstract, [0002]). These disclosures are analogous in either/both of field of endeavor (coating polymeric materials) and problem solved (heater placement and temperature control for successful coating).
Applicant argues (pp. 5-6) that the stated motivation of providing “more accurate heating control and accommodation of temperature fluctuations” is generic and does not account for a supposed difference in fields. This argument is not found persuasive primarily for the reasons provided above and that the motivation describes a valid advantageous effect that would be beneficial in designing/improving a heated recoater.
In response to applicant's argument (p. 6) that Wyatt’s heaters are provided in the rear of each die half and the rejection does not explain how the physical combination would be implemented to arrive at the claim, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The claim recites that the plurality of heaters are spaced along the third axis. Modifying Wu’s heater which is arranged along the third axis to incorporate Wyatt’s plurality of heaters which are also spaced along an analogous third/longitudinal axis to achieve the stated benefits meets the claim language and supports the obviousness conclusion.
In response to applicant's argument (p. 6) that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues (pp. 6-7) that claim 7 requires paired heaters in a first and second wall and spaced along the third axis and Wyatt’s die halves are not walls of a recoater. Applicant argues that Wyatt’s heaters are not paired as individual heaters embedded in opposing walls of a recoater.
This argument is not persuasive. Wyatt’s heaters are arranged in pairs in opposing walls of the coating apparatus along the analogous third axis (Fig. 10). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection relied on a combination of Wu and Wyatt, and Wu’s analogous walls are recoater walls.
Applicant argues (p. 7) regarding claim 10 that Wu’s vacuum system draws resin into the inner cavity whereas the claimed vacuum retains material within the partially enclosed space.
This argument is not persuasive and does not represent a structural distinction. Both vacuum systems provide a vacuum function, i.e., maintain a sub atmospheric pressure as claimed. Whether that vacuum draws material in and/or retains material is immaterial in the apparatus claim and both would be capable of either/both functions.
Applicant argues (p. 7) regarding claim 11 that the motivation to add external feed ports according to the rejection is not adequately established and the increasing number of references (three) further weighs against obviousness.
This argument is not persuasive as Applicant does not address what aspect of the provided motivation is deficient. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Applicant argues (p. 7) regarding claim 13 that Wang does not explicitly disclose a stored “database” of solidifiable materials with associated temperature set points that is queried based on a user-entered material identifier and the increasing complexity of this combination weighs against obviousness.
This argument is not persuasive as Applicant does not address what aspect of the provided mapping to Wang is deficient or why “pre-stored printing material information” does not correspond to a “database.” Applicant is incorrect in calling the reference a complex four-reference combination, as the rejection relied on Wu and Wyatt as applied to claim 8, further in view of Wang (three references). Still, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754