DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are canceled with the response.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference number 33 (filed specification, [0020]), reference number 45 ([0022]), reference number 37 ([0022]), reference number 58 ([0025]-[0041]), reference number 54C ([0035]). In addition, they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 44 in Fig. 1, 59 in Fig. 3. An “interior space 50” is mislabeled in [0040]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 5, 14, and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 2 and 14 should read “with at least one of the front wall and the rear wall” in line 2. Claims 5 and 17 should read “…energizable to heat and are connected to…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 15 recite “wherein the front wall, back, wall, and upper wall…” in line 1. The claim language is unclear as to what elements are the “back” and the “wall.” For further examination, these elements are interpreted to refer to the rear wall.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 16, and 17 recite “the heaters in the plurality of heaters.” The claims are unclear as to whether “the heaters” refers to each of the heaters of the plurality of heaters or a subset of the previously introduced heaters.
Claims 4 and 16 recite the limitation "the cartridge heaters" in the next to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 6 and 18 recite the limitation "the rear walls" in the first line. The limitation directed to plural rear walls is unclear since only a single rear wall was previously introduced.
Claims 8 recites the limitation "the height axis" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims and the claim does not specify what element the height axis is defined in connection with (e.g., the apparatus, the build platform, the source, etc.).
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the temperature controller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the temperature sensor" in the next to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
The indicated dependent claims are rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A (Espacenet translation attached and referenced below), in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a recoater (scraper, see above, Figs. 1-2, [0028]) for an apparatus for making three-dimensional objects from a solidifiable material (for 3D printing, [0001], SLA 3D printing, [0033]), comprising:
A front wall and a rear wall (see annotated Fig. 1 above) connected by an upper wall (see annotated Fig. 1) and spaced apart along a first axis (along direction between front and rear walls, see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the front wall, rear wall, and upper wall define a partially enclosed space (inner cavity 111, which is open on lower end, Fig. 2, [0028]) having a height along a second axis (top to bottom direction, Figs. 1-2), and a length along a third axis (along longitudinal direction of scraper, Fig. 1).
Wu discloses the recoater includes a heater arranged along the third axis (temperature regulator 2, Fig. 1, used to heat the scraper and the photocurable material, [0028]). Wu does not disclose a plurality of heaters spaced apart along this axis.
In the analogous art, Wyatt discloses a coating apparatus with an integrated heating system ([0014]-[0017]) including a plurality of heaters spaced apart along an analogous longitudinal axis of the device (groups of cross-width heaters spaced within the die across the width, [0017]; Fig. 10, die having heater groups 310, 312 along length axis which are a plurality of individual heaters inserted into cavities in the rear of the die, [0075]). Wyatt teaches that the plurality of heaters can constitute independently controlled zones to minimize heat losses and accommodate temperature fluctuations ([0017], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Wu to use a plurality of heaters spaced apart along the third axis in order to implement a heating arrangement with multiple independently controlled zones for more accurate heating control and accommodation of temperature fluctuations, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1, and Wu discloses a temperature sensor (thermistors 115, 116, Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032]) in thermal communication with at least [one] of the front wall and the rear wall (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 2, and Wu discloses the front wall, back, wall [currently interpreted as the rear wall], and upper wall define a lower body of the recoater (define a lower body indicated as 11 in Fig. 1), the recoater further comprises an upper body (upper body indicated as 12 in Fig. 1) in thermal communication with the lower body (assembled/connected to lower body 11, [0029]).
Wu discloses the thermistors 115, 116 can be mounted on walls of the scraper body 11 ([0031], Fig. 1) and that there may be several thermistors 115 ([0032]). Wu does not disclose the temperature sensor is embedded in the upper body.
Wyatt further teaches that temperature sensors should be located in the same zone as the respective heaters of the plurality of heaters ([0017]). Accordingly, for the combination involving the plurality of heaters at the upper end of the recoater, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to locate corresponding temperature sensors at the upper end of the recoater adjacent the heaters. The upper body 12 of Wu is directly adjacent and connected to the upper end (Fig. 1, [0029]), made of the same material as the lower body ([0030]), and would have predictably provided an easily accessible and usable space (Fig. 1) for locating the temperature sensors in the same zones as the heaters, as taught by Wyatt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor(s) of the combination to be embedded in the upper body so that they were located adjacent the plurality of heaters at an upper end of the recoater, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 2, and the combination further discloses a temperature controller (Wu: temperature controller, [0029], [0031]) operatively connected to the temperature sensor (Wu: connected to the thermistor(s), [0031]-[0032]) and to the heaters in the plurality of heaters (Wu: and to the temperature regulator, [0032]; the plurality of heaters of the combination), wherein the temperature controller is configured to selectively energize the plurality of heaters based on a temperature signal received from the temperature sensor and a temperature set point (Wu: the temperature controller can control the heating power of the temperature regulator based on the thermistor(s) through current and PID algorithm, [0032], PID control of the temperature requiring a corresponding set point).
To the extent that the claim requires the heaters to be cartridge heaters, the combination as set forth did not address this requirement.
Wyatt further teaches the controllable heaters in the plurality of heaters being cartridge heaters ([0019]). Wyatt teaches the controllable cartridge heaters can minimize and/or compensate for temperature gradients ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heaters of the combination to specify the plurality of heaters are cartridge heaters in order to implement suitable, controllable heaters for the plurality of heaters for reliably heating the recoater and minimizing and/or compensating for temperature gradients, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 5, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1. The combination did not address the heaters being cartridge heaters.
Wyatt further teaches the heaters in the plurality of heaters are cartridge heaters ([0019]) connected to a power source (the heaters being powered, [0073], and thus being connected to a power source) and are selectively energizable (their power can be controllably regulated, [0073], [0081]). Wyatt teaches the controllable cartridge heaters can minimize and/or compensate for temperature gradients ([0019]). The combination discloses the heaters being used to heat the at least one of the front wall and the rear wall (Wu: the heaters heat the body 11 which includes the front and rear walls, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heaters of the combination to specify the plurality of heaters are cartridge heaters connected to a power source and are selectively energizable to heat the at least one of the front wall and the rear wall, in order to implement suitable, controllable heaters for reliably heating the recoater and minimizing and/or compensating for temperature gradients, as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1, and Wu discloses the front wall and the rear walls [wall] are connected by first and second end walls (end walls, see annotated Fig. 1 below), and each of the front wall, rear wall, and first and second end walls have bottom surfaces that enclose an opening (bottom opening from cavity 111 seen in Fig. 2) that is in fluid communication with the partially enclosed space (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu discloses the recoater of claim 1. The combination did not address the plurality of heaters including cartridge heaters arranged in pairs.
Wyatt further teaches the heaters in the plurality of heaters comprise cartridge heaters ([0019]), the cartridge heaters define pairs of cartridge heaters that are adjacent one another along the third axis (Fig. 10, pairs being made up of heaters within cavities of heater groups 310, 312 directly across from one another in die halves 324 and 326), a first cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in one of the first and second walls (in one of first or second die halves, 324 or 326, Fig. 10) and a second cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in the other of the first and second walls (the other die half 324 or 326, Fig. 10). Wyatt teaches the controllable cartridge heaters can minimize and/or compensate for temperature gradients ([0019]) and the arrangement can constitute independently controlled zones to minimize heat losses and accommodate temperature fluctuations ([0017], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heaters of the combination to comprise cartridge heaters, the cartridge heaters defining pairs of cartridge heaters that are adjacent one another along the third axis, a first cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in one of the first and second walls and a second cartridge heater in each pair of cartridge heaters is embedded in the other of the first and second walls, in order to implement the controllable heating zones for more accurate heating control as taught by Wyatt.
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses an apparatus for making a three-dimensional object from a solidifiable material (system performing SLA 3D printing, [0033]), comprising:
A source of the solidifiable material defining an exposed surface of the solidifiable material (layer of photocurable material, [0033]);
A build platform (printing platform, [0033]) that is movable along the height axis relative to the source of the solidifiable material (that is capable of being lowered, [0033]);
A recoating assembly comprising a recoater (scraper, Fig. 1) and a recoater drive (the scraper is controlled to move, [0007], at a particular speed, [0017], and thus is driven), wherein the recoater drive is operable to traverse the recoater (the scraper is moved across the surface, [0033]) along the first axis in contact with the exposed surface of the solidifiable material (moved in the direction such that the blade interacts with the layer, [0028], [0033], i.e., along the first axis as shown in annotated Fig. 1 above).
Wu alone does not disclose each of the elements of the recoater of claim 1. Wu in view of Wyatt as set forth above for claim 1 renders obvious the recoater of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu discloses the solidifiable material defines a solidifiable material level along the height axis in the partially enclosed space (when the inner cavity 111 is under negative pressure, excess photocurable material is sucked up and stored in the cavity, [0008], i.e., there is regularly solidifiable material in the partially enclosed space which has a level/height).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the solidifiable material defines a headspace above the solidifiable material level in the partially enclosed spaced (space between top of cavity and material level), and the apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump (vacuum pump, [0007]) in fluid communication with the headspace (connected to the inner cavity, [0007]) and operable to maintain a sub atmospheric pressure in the head space (applies a negative air pressure to the cavity such that material is sucked up and stored in the cavity, [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu discloses as the recoater traverses along the first axis, solidifiable material from the partially enclosed space is deposited on an exposed surface of solidified solidifiable material (the scraper is moved, [0007], and the inner cavity can be under positive pressure such that photocurable material stored in the cavity is released, [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu further discloses the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 14, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and the combination renders obvious the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Wu further discloses the remaining limitations as set forth above for claim 6.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A, in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gaignon et al., US 20220161323 A1.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 10. The combination does not disclose the recoater comprises a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis.
In the analogous art, Gaignon discloses a machine for manufacturing parts by stereolithography (Abstract, [0021]), including an applicator 1 (Figs. 1-6) for supplying and spreading a radiation-curable material ([0021]-[0024], [0026]-[0034]). Gaignon teaches providing the applicator with a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports (recesses 11 for receiving hoses connected to external suspension tank, [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2-4) for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis (Figs. 2-6, for feeding material from external supply R to the partially enclosed internal space of the applicator via hoses 13, [0028]-[0030], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recoater of the combination to include a plurality of solidifiable material inlet ports for feeding the solidifiable material into the partially enclosed space as the recoater travels along the first axis in order to provide the capability of controllably supplying additional material to the recoater from an external material supply source, as taught by Gaignon.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 114474715 A, in view of Wyatt et al., US 20040241327 A1, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al., CN 111002583 A (Espacenet translation attached and referenced below).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Wu further discloses a temperature controller (temperature controller, [0029], [0031]).
The combination does not disclose a database of solidifiable materials (interpreted as a digital database of information) stored in association with a temperature set point for the temperature controller, a processor operatively connected to the temperature controller, and a computer readable medium having a set of executable steps stored thereon, wherein when executed by the processor, the executable steps cause a setpoint of the temperature controller to be set based on a solidifiable material identifier entered by a user and the temperature set point corresponding to the solidifiable material identifier in the database.
In the analogous art, Wang discloses a temperature-controlled coating device for a 3D printer (Abstract, [0002]). Wang teaches a temperature control configuration for the recoater including a database of solidifiable materials (pre-stored printing material information, [0241]) stored in association with a temperature set point for the temperature controller (associated with a suitable/set temperature range, [0243]), wherein control of the temperature set point is performed by a control device (control device performing temperature-control operations, determines set temperature range based on suitable temperature range, [0243]), based on a solidifiable material identifier (based on the characteristics of different printing materials, [0243], i.e., based on a type of material) entered by a user (material information of the printing material may also be manually input, [0241]) and the temperature set point corresponding to the solidifiable material identifier in the database (based on the type of material and its set temperature range, [0243]). Wang teaches the control device comprises a processor and a storage unit, the processor executing instructions stored in non-volatile storage devices to perform the operations ([0258]-[0260]), such that the operations are conducted via the processor/computer readable medium. Wang teaches that different materials have different characteristics and different suitable temperature ranges and therefore control of the temperatures should be based on consideration of the materials to ensure the temperatures are within the suitable ranges ([0241]-[0243]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Wu to include a database and temperature control configuration as disclosed by Wang in order to ensure the temperature control of the recoater would account for the unique properties of a given material being utilized by the apparatus and its corresponding suitable temperature range, as taught by Wang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 207549495 U, Li discloses a relevant temperature-controlled recoater (Fig. 1).
US 4245585 A, Bocquet discloses a relevant recoater including cartridge heaters 2 and a thermocouple 28 coupled to a heating controller.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754