DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I and species E, Claims 1-8 and 17-20, without traverse in the reply filed on 07/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objection
Claims 2-6, 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: please amend “a polycrystalline diamond compact component” to – [[a]] the polycrystalline diamond compact component--.
Claims 3-6, 18 and 20: please amend “ the electrically conductive materials” to -- the one or more electrically conductive materials-- .
Claims 17 and 19: please amend “the electrified polycrystalline diamond compact component” to -- the polycrystalline diamond compact component--.
Claim 20: please amend “the polycrystalline diamond compact” to -- the polycrystalline diamond compact component--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “the one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions”, which lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if claim 5 depends from claim 4 instead of claim 3 since claim 4 provide antecedent basis for the one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions. Thus, the scope of claim 5 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US20180320513A1), and in view of Graphenea (Graphene for oil exploration, https://www.graphenea.com/blogs/graphene-news/10904145-graphene-for-oil-exploration, December 19, 2013), Albarakaty (US20150270358A1), and Sumant et al. (US20150206748A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scott teaches a system (drill bit system 100 in Fig.1 comprising a cutting element [abstract; para. 0030]; cutting element 300 as shown in Fig.3D [para. 0043, 0049]), comprising:
an polycrystalline diamond compact component (diamond table 314 in Fig.3 [para. 0043]; the polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314 [para. 0044]), comprising one or more conductive surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal (a plurality of sensing elements 316, 318 may be configured for one or more of resistivity sensing, piezoresistivity sensing, and thermistor sensing. The sensing elements 316, 318 may be formed from and comprise an electrically conductive diamond-based material [e.g., doped polycrystalline diamond]. The polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314 may be electrically insulating, while the polycrystalline diamond of the sensing elements 316, 318 may be electrically conductive. The diamond-based material that is electrically conductive may be referred to herein as a “doped diamond material” [para. 0043-0044; Fig.3D]).
Scott further teaches various parameters (e.g., stress, pressure, temperature, resistivity, etc.) may be inferred from the change in the output (i.e., electrical signal) from the cutting element 300 as different loads are experienced during drilling [para. 0045 ], and the sensing elements 316, 318 may further be employed as an electrode [para. 0047]. The diamond substrate 314 may further include conduits 320, 322 formed therein. The conduits 320, 322 may be formed within the substrate 314 at locations that at least partially align with the sensing elements 316, 318. The conduits 320, 322 may include electrical conductors 324, 326 that couple with the sensing elements 316, 318. The conduits 320, 322 may be configured to receive the electrical signal from the sensing elements 316, 318, and transmit the electrical signal away from the cutting element 300. For example, the electrical signal may be transmitted to a processor (not shown) that may be part of a data collection module located in the earth-boring drill bit 100 [para. 0050-0052 ].
Scott is silent to the following limitations: (1) wherein the one or more conductive surfaces are one or more graphene surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field; (2) the polycrystalline diamond compact component is “electrified” polycrystalline diamond compact component.
Graphenea teaches graphene can also be put to use for well logging. Well logging techniques provide data on the geological properties of reservoirs of interest to the oil and gas exploration industry. A commonly used logging technique uses wirelines to provide information about an oil or gas well. Wirelines are long wires with sensors attached to them, which are lowered into an exploration hole to provide information about the hole and its contents (page 7).
Albarakaty teaches graphene electrodes on diamond substrate (title, Figs. 1-2).
Sumant teaches graphene layer on a diamond substrate (abstract), wherein the diamond substrate can be single crystal or polycrystalline diamond [para. 0007].
Given the teachings of Scott regarding the sensing elements 316, 318 may be employed as an electrode for sensing/logging various parameters (e.g., stress, pressure, temperature, resistivity, etc.) during a drilling operation in oil and gas industry [para. 0003-0004, 0045. 0047]; the teachings of Graphenea regarding graphene can also be put to use for well logging; the teachings of Albarakaty regarding graphene electrodes on diamond substrate, and the teachings of Sumant regarding graphene on a diamond substrate wherein the diamond substrate can be polycrystalline diamond, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the doped diamond material of the sensing elements in Scott with graphene, as taught by combined Graphenea, Albarakaty, and Sumant, since graphene can be used for well logging to provide information about the hole and its contents (page 7 in Graphenea), and graphene electrode(s) can be fabricated on a diamond substrate (title in Albarakaty; abstract in Sumant) wherein the diamond substrate can be polycrystalline diamond [para. 0007 in Sumant]. The simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., electrode material of graphene for another electrode material) is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (i.e., measurement of an electrical signal while drilling) [MPEP § 2143(I) (B)]. Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
With the substituted graphene as the material of the sensing elements, the modified sensing elements 316/318 in Fig.3D of Scott become sensing elements made of graphene extended into the polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314. Thus, modified Scott teaches the polycrystalline diamond compact component comprising one or more graphene surfaces (graphene surfaces of the modified sensing elements made of graphene).
The limitations “configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field” is an inherent characteristic of the graphene surfaces. Since the prior art does disclose the sensing elements made of graphene comprising substantially the same elements or components as that of the applicant, it is contended that the graphene surfaces of the prior art are capable of performing the same functions as the graphene surfaces of the instant application. Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and thus, the claimed property (i.e. graphene surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field), is necessarily present in the prior art material. The courts have held that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
The limitation “electrified” is product-by-process limitation. In the instant case, modified Scott teaches the polycrystalline diamond compact component comprising one or more graphene surfaces, as outlined in the rejection above. There is no evidence the step of “electrified” impart any additional structure on the resulting polycrystalline diamond compact component that is not already present or substantially similar to that of modified Scott.
Regarding claim 2, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more graphene surfaces form one or more patterned surfaces on a polycrystalline diamond compact component (Scott teaches wherein the one or more conductive surfaces of the sensing elements form one or more patterned surfaces on a polycrystalline diamond compact component [Fig.3D]; and Figs.4-6 further show the sensing element(s) can be formed in a linear shape or annular shape. As outlined in the rejection of claim1 above, the material of the sensing elements is modified to graphene, thus, the one or more graphene surfaces form one or more patterned surfaces on a polycrystalline diamond compact component).
Regarding claim 3, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 1, comprising one or more electrically conductive materials (electrical conductors 324, 326 in Fig.3D [para. 0051 in Scott]) that are electrically coupled to the one or more graphene surfaces (Fig.3D in Scott shows the electrical conductors 324/326 are electrically coupled to the sensing elements 316/318, which are modified to be made of graphene as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrically conductive materials are different from graphene (the electrical conductors 324, 326 may be formed from niobium, aluminum, copper, titanium, nickel, molybdenum, tantalum, tungsten, boron, phosphorous [para. 0051 in Scott], thus the material of the electrical conductors is different from graphene).
Regarding claim 5, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials are surrounded by the one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions (Fig.3D in Scott shows that the electrical conductors 324/326 are surrounded by side walls of the conduits 320/322 formed in the polycrystalline diamond compact component 314).
Regarding claim 6, . The system of claim 3, wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials are coupled to an outer insulated ceramic layer (the electrical conductors 324, 326 may be surrounded by a dielectric material [e.g., a ceramic sheath] to electrically isolate the electrical conductors 324, 326 from the substrate 314 [para. 0051 in Scott]).
Regarding claim 17, Scott teaches a system (drill bit system 100 in Fig.1 comprising a cutting element [abstract; para. 0030]; cutting element 300 as shown in Fig.3D [para. 0043, 0049]), comprising:
an polycrystalline diamond compact component (diamond table 314 in Fig.3 [para. 0043]; the polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314 [para. 0044]) comprising:
one or more conductive surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal (a plurality of sensing elements 316, 318 may be configured for one or more of resistivity sensing, piezoresistivity sensing, and thermistor sensing. The sensing elements 316, 318 may be formed from and comprise an electrically conductive diamond-based material [e.g., doped polycrystalline diamond]. The polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314 may be electrically insulating, while the polycrystalline diamond of the sensing elements 316, 318 may be electrically conductive. The diamond-based material that is electrically conductive may be referred to herein as a “doped diamond material”. Various parameters (e.g., stress, pressure, temperature, resistivity, etc.) may be inferred from the change in the output (i.e., electrical signal) from the cutting element 300 as different loads are experienced during drilling [para. 0043-0045; Fig.3D]),
one or more channels (conduits 320/322 in Fig.3D [para. 0055]) within the polycrystalline diamond compact component (the conduits 320, 322 may extend into the diamond table 314 for the electrical conductors 324, 326 to couple with the sensing elements 316, 318 [para. 0055]);
one or more electrically conductive materials (electrical conductors 324/326 in Fig.3D [para.0055]) within the one or more channels(see Fig.3D; the conduits 320/322 may extend into the diamond table 314 for the electrical conductors 324, 326 to couple with the sensing elements 316, 318 [para. 0055]), wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials are joined to the one or more conductive surfaces or to the polycrystalline diamond compact component, or a combination thereof (Fig.3D shows the electrical conductors 324/326 are joined to the sensing elements 316/318 through the conduits 320/322 of the diamond table 314 [para. 0055]).
Scott further teaches the sensing elements 316, 318 may further be employed as an electrode [para. 0047]. The conduits 320, 322 may be configured to receive the electrical signal from the sensing elements 316, 318, and transmit the electrical signal away from the cutting element 300. For example, the electrical signal may be transmitted to a processor (not shown) that may be part of a data collection module located in the earth-boring drill bit 100 [para. 0052 ].
Scott is silent to the following limitations: wherein the one or more conductive surfaces are one or more graphene surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field.
Graphenea teaches graphene can also be put to use for well logging. Well logging techniques provide data on the geological properties of reservoirs of interest to the oil and gas exploration industry. A commonly used logging technique uses wirelines to provide information about an oil or gas well. Wirelines are long wires with sensors attached to them, which are lowered into an exploration hole to provide information about the hole and its contents (page 7).
Albarakaty teaches graphene electrodes on diamond substrate (title, Figs. 1-2).
Sumant teaches graphene layer on a diamond substrate (abstract), wherein the diamond substrate can be single crystal or polycrystalline diamond [para. 0007].
Given the teachings of Scott regarding the sensing elements 316, 318 may be employed as an electrode for sensing/logging various parameters (e.g., stress, pressure, temperature, resistivity, etc.) during a drilling operation in oil and gas industry [para. 0003-0004, 0045. 0047]; the teachings of Graphenea regarding graphene can also be put to use for well logging; the teachings of Albarakaty regarding graphene electrodes on diamond substrate, and the teachings of Sumant regarding graphene on a diamond substrate wherein the diamond substrate can be polycrystalline diamond, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the doped diamond material of the sensing elements in Scott with graphene, as taught by combined Graphenea, Albarakaty, and Sumant, since graphene can be used for well logging to provide information about the hole and its contents (page 7 in Graphenea), and graphene electrode(s) can be fabricated on a diamond substrate (title in Albarakaty; abstract in Sumant) wherein the diamond substrate can be polycrystalline diamond [para. 0007 in Sumant]. The simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., electrode material of graphene for another electrode material) is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (i.e., measurement of an electrical signal while drilling) [MPEP § 2143(I) (B)]. Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
With the substituted graphene as the material of the sensing elements, the modified sensing elements 316/318 in Fig.3D of Scott become sensing elements made of graphene partially extended into the polycrystalline diamond of the diamond table 314. Thus, modified Scott teaches the polycrystalline diamond compact component comprising one or more graphene surfaces (graphene surfaces of the modified sensing elements made of graphene).
The limitations “configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field” is an inherent characteristic of the graphene surfaces. Since the prior art does disclose the sensing elements made of graphene comprising substantially the same elements or components as that of the applicant, it is contended that the graphene surfaces of the prior art are capable of performing the same functions as the graphene surfaces of the instant application. Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and thus, the claimed property (i.e. graphene surfaces configured to generate an electrical signal based on a combination of two or more of an applied pressure, an applied strain, an applied electrochemical potential, or an applied electromagnetic field), is necessarily present in the prior art material. The courts have held that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Regarding claim 18, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 17, and Scott teaches wherein the electrically conductive materials are coupled to an outer insulated ceramic layer (the electrical conductors 324, 326 may be surrounded by a dielectric material [e.g., a ceramic sheath] to electrically isolate the electrical conductors 324, 326 from the substrate 314 [para. 0051]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 17, and the limitation “wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials is configured to sense a change in the one or more graphene surfaces indicative of wear of the electrified polycrystalline diamond compact component” is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the disclosed electrical conductors are coupled with the sensing elements to provide the electrical signal during drilling, and various parameters (e.g., stress, pressure, temperature, resistivity, etc.) may be inferred from the change in the output (i.e., electrical signal) from the cutting element 300 as different loads are experienced during drilling. The electrical signal may be transmitted to a processor (not shown) that may be part of a data collection module [para. 0045, 0052 in Scott]. As outlined in the rejection of claim 17 above, the sensing element is modified to be made of graphene. Thus, the electrical conductors are configured to sense a change in the one or more graphene surfaces (the sensing element) indicative of wear of the electrified polycrystalline diamond compact component.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott, Graphenea, Albarakaty and Sumant, as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of DiGiovanni et al. (US20110266055A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials extend through the polycrystalline diamond compact (Scott teaches Fig.3D shows the electrical conductors 324/326 extend through the polycrystalline diamond compact 314 via the conduits 320, 322 formed therein [para. 0050-0051]) such that the one or more electrically conductive materials contact the one or more graphene surfaces (the electrical conductors 324, 326 contact the sensing elements 316, 318 as shown in Fig.3D [para. 0051 in Scott]; as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, the sensing elements are modified to be made of graphene).
Scott further teaches in some embodiments, the electrical conductors 324, 326 may be surrounded by a dielectric material [e.g., a ceramic sheath] to electrically isolate the electrical conductors 324, 326 from the substrate 314 [para. 0051].
Scott is silent to wherein the electrical conductors through the conduits 320/322 contact one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions of the polycrystalline diamond compact component 314.
DiGiovanni teaches apparatus and methods for detecting performance data in an earth-boring drill tool (title), and further teaches electrical conductors (each conductive element 235 and its encapsulation such as metals in Fig.2B [para.0041] together is deemed as an electrical conductor) extends through the polycrystalline diamond compact (diamond table 204 formed from PDC in Fig.2B [para. 0039]) such that the electrical conductors contact one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions and one or more conductive surfaces of sensing elements (The terminations 230 may operably couple to the port 240 with conductive elements 235 [e.g., electrical wiring, patterned metallization]. Conductive elements 235 may extend along the surface of the cutting element 200, or be at least partially buried [i.e., embedded] within the cutting element 200. Because of durability concerns it may be desirable to include encapsulation of the conductive elements 235, for example, metals [para. 0041; Fig.2B]; The thermistor sensors 210, conductive pathways 220, and terminations 230 may be at least partially embedded within the cutting surface 205 of cutting element 200. For example, Fig.2B shows the metal terminations 230 at least partially embedded within the cutting surface 205 of the cutting element 200 [para. 0040]; metal terminations 230 corresponding to the one or more conductive surfaces of sensing elements in modified Scott).
Given the teachings of DiGiovanni regarding encapsulation of the conductive elements 235 can be metals or ceramics [para. 0041], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the dielectric material (e.g., a ceramic sheath) in modified Scott with a metal material as the encapsulation of the electrical conductors, as taught by DiGiovanni, since DiGiovanni teaches metals would be suitable alternatives to ceramics for encapsulating the electrical conductors extending through the PDC diamond table to receive/transmit data signals from the sensing elements partially embedded in the diamond table [para. 0041-0042].
With the substituted encapsulation material of the electrical conductors, each combined metal encapsulation and electrical conductor is deemed as one electrically conductive material. Thus, the modified one or more electrically conductive materials also contact one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions and the sensing elements for receiving/transmitting data signals from the sensing elements.
Regarding claim 20, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the one or more electrically conductive materials extend through the polycrystalline diamond compact component (Scott teaches Fig.3D shows the electrical conductors 324/326 extend through the polycrystalline diamond compact 314 via the conduits 320, 322 formed therein [para. 0050-0051]) contacting the one or more graphene surfaces (the electrical conductors 324, 326 contact the sensing elements 316, 318 as shown in Fig.3D [para. 0051 in Scott]; as outlined in the rejection of claim 17 above, the sensing elements are modified to be made of graphene).
Scott further teaches in some embodiments, the electrical conductors 324, 326 may be surrounded by a dielectric material [e.g., a ceramic sheath] to electrically isolate the electrical conductors 324, 326 from the substrate 314 [para. 0051].
Scott is silent to wherein the electrical conductors extended through the conduits 320/322 contact the polycrystalline diamond compact component.
DiGiovanni teaches apparatus and methods for detecting performance data in an earth-boring drill tool (title), and further teaches electrical conductors (each conductive element 235 and its encapsulation such as metals in Fig.2B [para.0041] together is deemed as an electrical conductor) extends through the polycrystalline diamond compact (diamond table 204 formed from PDC in Fig.2B [para. 0039]) such that the electrical conductors contact one or more polycrystalline diamond compact portions and one or more conductive surfaces of sensing elements (The terminations 230 may operably couple to the port 240 with conductive elements 235 [e.g., electrical wiring, patterned metallization]. Conductive elements 235 may extend along the surface of the cutting element 200, or be at least partially buried [i.e., embedded] within the cutting element 200. Because of durability concerns it may be desirable to include encapsulation of the conductive elements 235, for example, metals [para. 0041; Fig.2B]; The thermistor sensors 210, conductive pathways 220, and terminations 230 may be at least partially embedded within the cutting surface 205 of cutting element 200. For example, Fig.2B shows the metal terminations 230 at least partially embedded within the cutting surface 205 of the cutting element 200 [para. 0040]; metal terminations 230 corresponding to the one or more conductive surfaces of sensing elements in modified Scott).
Given the teachings of DiGiovanni regarding encapsulation of the conductive elements 235 can be metals or ceramics [para. 0041], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the dielectric material (e.g., a ceramic sheath) in modified Scott with a metal material as the encapsulation of the electrical conductors, as taught by DiGiovanni, since DiGiovanni teaches metals would be suitable alternatives to ceramics for encapsulating the electrical conductors extending through the PDC diamond table to receive/transmit data signals from the sensing elements partially embedded in the diamond table [para. 0041-0042].
With the substituted encapsulation material of the electrical conductors, each combined metal encapsulation and electrical conductor is deemed as one electrically conductive material. Thus, the modified one or more electrically conductive materials contact the polycrystalline diamond compact component and the one of more graphene surfaces of the sensing elements for receiving/transmitting data signals from the sensing elements.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott, Graphenea, Albarakaty and Sumant, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saini et al. (US20170107768A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 1, and is silent to comprising a bushing, a bearing, or both, that includes the one or more graphene surfaces.
Scott further teaches diagnostic information related to a drill bit and certain components of the drill bit may be linked to the durability, performance, and the potential failure of the drill bit. A number of sensors and measurement systems may record information near the earth-boring drill bit [para. 0004]. “drill bit” means and includes any type of bit or tool used for drilling during the formation or enlargement of a wellbore in subterranean formations and includes, for example, fixed cutter bits, rotary drill bits, percussion bits, core bits, eccentric bits, bi-center bits, reamers, mills, drag bits, roller cone bits, hybrid bits and other drilling bits and tools known in the art [para. 0024].
Saini teaches Fig.6 shows a rolling cutter assembly 600 may be employed in the drill bit 100 of Fig.1A. The assembly 600 may further include a generally cylindrical rolling cutter 606 configured to be disposed within the cutter pocket 118. The rolling cutter 606 may be similar in some respects to the cutter 116 of FIG. 1B, such as including the substrate 120 and the diamond table 124 attached to the substrate 124. The assembly 600 may further include a bearing element 610 arranged within the cutter pocket 118 at the bottom end 602 b. During operation of the drill bit that houses the rolling cutter 606 (e.g., the drill bit 100 of FIG. 1A), the second end 608 b of the rolling cutter 606 (e.g., the substrate 120) may be configured to engage the bearing element 610 as the rolling cutter 606 rotates. The bearing element 610 may include a substrate 612 (similar to the substrate 120) and a diamond table 614 (similar to the diamond table 124) may be attached to the substrate 612 using a multilayer joint 616 (similar to either of the multilayer joints 202, 302 of FIGS. 2 and 3). Accordingly, the bearing element 610 may be characterized and otherwise referred to herein as “a polycrystalline diamond compact.” [para. 0043-0047]. With the bearing element 610, however, friction between the cutter pocket 118 and the second end 608 b of the rolling cutter 606 may be dramatically reduced, thereby also decreasing the amount of heat generated during drilling [para. 0049].
Given the teachings of Scott regarding a number of sensors for recording/measuring diagnostic information related to a drill bit and certain components of the drill bit, and the drill bit includes rotary dill bits; and the teachings of Saini regarding a rolling cutter assembly 600 may be employed in the drill bit wherein the assembly 600 comprises a bearing element, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drill bit in modified Scott to a rotary drill bit comprising a PCD bearing, as taught by Saini, since it would dramatically reduce the friction between the cutter pocket and the second end of the rolling cutter, thereby also decreasing the amount of heat generated during drilling [para. 0049 in Saini].
Since Scott teaches diagnostic information related to a drill bit and certain components of the drill bit may be linked to the durability, performance, and the potential failure of the drill bit; and as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Scott teaches sensing elements made of graphene arranged on a component of the drill bit (the cutting element 300), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PCD bearing by including one or more sensing elements made of graphene, since it would allow to record diagnostic information related to the bearing of the drill bit that may be linked to the durability, performance, and the potential failure of the drill bit [para. 0004 in Scott]. Furthermore, one skilled in the art could have applied the same technique (one or more sensing elements made of graphene to measure diagnostic information of the cutting element of the drill bit, as taught by modified Scott) in the same way to other components such as the PCD bearing of the drill bit, yielding predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott, Graphenea, Albarakaty, Sumant and Saini, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Isenhour et al. (US20140014866A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Scott teaches the system of claim 7, and is silent to comprising a sealing component configured to generate the electrical signal.
Scott further teaches as the earth-boring drill bit 100 is rotated, drilling fluid is pumped to the face 112 of the bit body 110 through the longitudinal bore 140 and the internal fluid passageways (not shown). Rotation of the earth-boring drill bit 100 causes the cutting elements 154 to scrape across and shear away the surface of the underlying formation. The formation cuttings mix with, and are suspended within, the drilling fluid and pass through the junk slots 152 and the annular space between the wellbore hole and the drill string to the surface of the earth formation [para. 0033]. Nozzle inserts (not shown) also may be provided at the face 112 of the bit body 110 within the internal fluid passageways [para. 0031].
Isenhour teaches a rotary valve 100 (abstract, Fig.1 and [para. 0022]) comprising bearing surface 120 which is a polycrystalline diamond compact (PDC) [para. 0025]. For example, if valve 100 is used in a drill string for down-hole drilling, the diameter of stator 115 would be equal to the inner diameter of the body of the drill string [para. 0026]. In the preferred embodiment, rotor 110 is forced against stator 115 by the pressure of the fluid flowing through valve 100 . The pressure of the fluid preferably maintains the valve seat, providing the necessary seals between bearing surface 120 and ring bearing surface 125a [para. 0030]. Thus, Isenhour teaches a sealing component (rotary valve) for down-hole drilling which is also a polycrystalline diamond compact component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in modified Scott to provide a rotary valve, as taught by Isenhour, since it would allow for controlling the flow of a fluid for down-hole drilling [para. 0009 and 0026 in Isenhour].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PCD sealing component by including one or more sensing elements made of graphene, since it would allow to record diagnostic information related to the sealing component while drilling [para. 0004 in Scott]. Furthermore, one skilled in the art could have applied the same technique (one or more sensing elements made of graphene to measure diagnostic information of the cutting element of the drill bit, as taught by modified Scott) in the same way to other components such as the PCD sealing component used in down-hole drilling, yielding predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
As outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, the graphene surfaces configured to generate the electrical signal. Thus, the sealing component having the graphene surfaces of the sensing elements is also configured to generate the electrical signal.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen (US20120312598A1) teaches a cutting element for an earth-boring drilling tool includes an ultrasonic transducer configured to transmit a data signal to a data acquisition unit. Leuchtenberg et al. (US20190162042A1) teaches a seal assembly includes a wear sensor embedded in the tubular body of the seal, wherein the wear sensor emits an alert signal when the inner surface of the seal has been worn away by a first preset amount. Marya et al. (US20210321521A1) teaches a thermally induced graphene sensing circuitry on intelligent valve, actuators and pressure sealing applications.
/SHIZHI QIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1795