DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: module in claims 10, 11, 15, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “assigned to” in claims 1-4, 9, 14, 17, and 20 is used by the claim to mean “connected to,” while the accepted meaning is “allocation or designation”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 5-8, 10-13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 ultimately depend from claims 1-4, 9, 14, and/or 17 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klein et al DE 102019114803 (English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Klein et al discloses an electric drive axle 1 for a vehicle (see FIG. 1), having an electric motor 2, a gearbox 20, a differential 17 with two output shafts (18, 19) and a separating clutch 3, the input side of which is coupled to one of the output shafts of the differential and the output side of which is assigned to one of two drive shafts of the drive axle, characterized in that a mechanical oil pump is provided (see paragraph [0015]), which is coupled to one of the two drive shafts by means of a shifting clutch. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 2, Klein et al discloses a drive axle wherein the oil pump is assigned to the drive shaft directly coupled to the differential. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 3, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump is assigned to the drive shaft coupled to the differential by way of the separating clutch. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 4, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump is assigned to the separating clutch. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 5, Klein et al discloses wherein the shifting clutch is integrated in the separating clutch. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 6, Klein et al discloses wherein the shifting clutch is coupled to the separating clutch in such a way that the oil pump is coupled to the drive shaft when the separating clutch is in the open position, and vice versa. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 7, Klein et al discloses wherein a synchronization mechanism is provided, which - when opening the separating clutch equalizes the rotating speed of an input side and an output side of the shifting clutch. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 8, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an inlet which inducts from an oil sump of the gearbox. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 9, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an outlet which is connected to an oil outlet in the gearbox that is assigned to the differential. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 10, Klein et al discloses wherein the module has a gearbox and an oil pump which is coupled to the gearbox in such a manner that it has a delivery capacity only when the gearbox does not transmit drive power. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 11, Klein et al discloses wherein said module comprises a separating clutch and two drive shafts, wherein a shifting clutch is provided by way of which the oil pump can be coupled to one of the drive shafts. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 12, Klein et al discloses wherein the shifting clutch is coupled to the separating clutch in such a way that the oil pump is coupled to the drive shaft when the separating clutch is in the open position, and vice versa. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 13, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an inlet which inducts from an oil sump of the gearbox. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 14, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an outlet which is connected to an oil outlet in the gearbox that is assigned to the differential. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 15, Klein et al discloses wherein the module has a gearbox and an oil pump which is coupled to the gearbox in such a manner that it has a delivery capacity only when the gearbox does not transmit drive power. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 16, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an inlet which inducts from an oil sump of the gearbox. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 17, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an outlet which is connected to an oil outlet in the gearbox that is assigned to the differential. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 18, Klein et al discloses wherein the module has a gearbox and an oil pump which is coupled to the gearbox in such a manner that it has a delivery capacity only when the gearbox does not transmit drive power. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 19, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an inlet which inducts from an oil sump of the gearbox. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Regarding claim 20, Klein et al discloses wherein the oil pump has an outlet which is connected to an oil outlet in the gearbox that is assigned to the differential. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0006]-[0016], [0019], and [0020].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747