DEATILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that Bewel under 35 USC § 102 does not teach or suggest the amended claim language regarding “ axial offset”. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bewel under 35 USC § 103.
Regarding arguments on page 7 regarding the amended claim language suitably contributing over the art of art record (Bewel). Specifically, “the sleeve wall extends continuously around the cone receptable at least at the first and at the second region”. Bewel as shown in Figs 2-3 and 22 (new embodiment relied on for rejections below), shows a continuous sleeve at both regions under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bewel et al. US 20120239160 A1, herein referred to as Bewel.
RE. claim 1, Bewel discloses a modular (Summary of invention; Bewel teaches a modular system allowing stems, heads and shells to be interchangeable) trial implant system ([0004]; Fig 1, femoral trial system 100) comprising at least one first trial implant part (Fig 1, seven head members 104-116, and fifteen shell members 118-146; [0023]),
which is configured to releasably connect to at least one second trial implant (Fig 1, single stem 102), part and/or to at least one implant part to form at least one first trial joint implant part [0023],
wherein the at least one first trial implant part comprises a cone receptacle (Fig 2A/2B, cavity 230) for accommodating a connecting cone of the at least one second trial implant part and/or the at least one implant part ([0035]),
wherein the cone receptacle defines an implant longitudinal axis (annotated Fig 3A below),
wherein the at least one first trial implant part comprises at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A, first set of barbs 250 and grooves 310a) associated with one another ([0034]) and located at a first region along the implant longitudinal axis, at least two second latching elements (Fig 3A, second set of barbs 260 and groves 310b) associated with one another [0034] and located at a second region along the implant longitudinal axis,
wherein the at least one first trial implant part comprises a receiving sleeve (Fig 2A, projections 240;
form a sleeve in the receptacle) defining the cone receptacle (Fig 2A),
wherein the receiving sleeve comprises a sleeve wall that surrounds the implant longitudinal axis and delimits the cone receptacle (Fig 2A),
and wherein the sleeve wall extends continuously around the cone receptacle at least at the first region and at the least two second regoion (Fig 2A).
Yet, Bewel does not explicitly disclose the second region and second set of latches being, axially offset from the first region in the cone receptacle along the implant longitudinal axis for latchedy engaging behind differently long connecting cones of the at least one second trial implant part and/or the at least one implant part.
However, in another embodiment, Bewel also teaches the second region [and second set of latches] being (Fig 22, 106 and 1330), axially offset from the first region in the cone receptacle (Annotated Fig 3A above and Fig 22) along the implant longitudinal axis for latchedy engaging behind differently long connecting cones of the at least one second trial implant part and/or the at least one implant part (Fig 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention the base invention of Bewel to incorporate the second region and second set of latches being, axially offset from the first region in the cone receptacle along the implant longitudinal axis for latchedy engaging behind differently long connecting cones of the at least one second trial implant part and/or the at least one implant part, as taught and suggested by Bewel in order to prevent unwanted component mating (Bewel [0059].
RE. claim 2, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the sleeve wall (Annotated Fig 3A) extends continuously around the entire cone receptacle (Fig 3A).
RE. claim 3, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the cone receptacle comprises an insertion opening for inserting the connecting cone (Fig 8D, annular ring 850), and wherein the insertion opening is delimited by a circular ring-shaped (Fig 8d), uninterrupted insertion opening rim (Fig 8d).
RE. claim 4, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the cone (Fig 2A/2B, cavity 230) receptacle conically tapers toward a cone base and wherein the cone base extends transversely to the implant longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig 10).
RE. claim 5, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein at least one of: a) the at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A, first set of barbs 250 and grooves 310a) extend in a circumferential direction relative to the implant longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig 3A above); b) the at least two first latching elements are arranged or formed evenly distributed over a circumference of the sleeve wall; c) the at least two second latching elements (Fig 3A, second set of barbs 260 and grooves 310b) extend in the circumferential direction relative to the implant longitudinal axis (annotated Fig 3A above); and d) the at least two second latching elements are arranged or formed evenly distributed over a circumference of the sleeve wall (Fig 3A).
RE. claim 6, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein at least one of: a) the at least two first latching elements define a first latching element plane and the first latching element plane extends transversely to the implant longitudinal axis; b) the at least two second latching elements define a second latching element plane and the second latching element plane extends transversely to the implant longitudinal axis; c) the at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A, first set of barbs 250 and grooves 310a) are configured in the form of first latching projections pointing toward the implant longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig 3A); and d) the at least two second latching elements are configured in the form of second latching projections pointing in the direction toward the implant longitudinal axis.
RE. claim 7, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A, first set of barbs 250 and grooves 310a) and the at least two second (Fig 22, 1310 and 520) latching elements are arranged or formed offset ([0038]) from one another in a circumferential direction in such a way that ([0038] Bewel teaches implant engagement offset that would have latching elements off set as claimed; Elements circumferentially arranged as seen in Fig 3A), in the circumferential direction, each at least two first latching element is arranged or formed between two second latching elements and each at least two second latching element is arranged or formed between of the at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A and Fig 22).
RE. claim 8, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein at least one of:
a) two of the at least two first latching elements are provided and arranged or formed diametrically opposed to one another relative to the implant longitudinal axis (Fig 3A and 22);
b) two of the at least two second latching elements (Fig 22, 1310 and 520) are provided and arranged or formed diametrically opposed to one another relative to the implant longitudinal axis (Fig 3A and 22).
RE. claim 9, Bewel discloses wherein the at least two first latching elements (Fig 3A, first set of barbs 250 and grooves 310a) extend over a first circumferential angle relative to the implant longitudinal axis (Fig 3A), wherein the at least two second latching elements extend over a second circumferential angle relative to the implant longitudinal axis (Fig 3A), and wherein the first circumferential angle is greater than the second circumferential angle (Fig 3A).
RE. claim 10, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the cone receptacle defines an inner wall surface (annotated Fig 3A), wherein a first portion that is hollow-cylindrical relative to the implant longitudinal axis is formed on the inner wall surface (Fig 3A), and wherein the at least two first latching elements are formed on the first hollow-cylindrical portion (Fig 3A).
RE. claim 11, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein a groove (Fig 3A, grooves 310a and 310b) extends circumferentially relative to the implant longitudinal axis and is arranged or formed on the cone receptacle (Fig 3A), and wherein the groove is arranged or formed between the at least two first latching elements and the at least two second latching elements (Fig 3A).
RE. claim 12, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the sleeve wall (Annotated Fig 4 below) comprises a first sleeve portion and an adjoining second sleeve portion (Annotated Fig 4 below), wherein the cone receptacle tapers (Annotated Fig 4; cavity tapers) from the second sleeve portion toward the first sleeve portion (Fig 4), wherein the at least two first latching elements and the at least two second latching elements (Fig 22) are arranged or formed exclusively on the second sleeve portion (Fig 3A and Fig 22), and wherein a first wall thickness of the first sleeve portion is greater than a second wall thickness of the second sleeve portion (Annotated Fig 4).
RE. claim 13, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the at least one first trial implant part is made of a plastic ([0026]).
RE. claim 14, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches further comprising at least one second trial implant part or at least one implant part and wherein the at least one second trial implant part or the at least one implant part comprises a connecting cone that is insertable into the cone receptacle (Fig 1, top of element 102).
RE. claim 15, Bewel discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein at least one of: a) the at least one first trial implant part has a spherical or ball-shaped trial joint head (Fig 1, 118); b) the modular trial implant system comprises at least one artificial trial joint with a first trial joint implant part and a second trial joint implant part that cooperates with said first trial joint implant part in a jointed manner; and c) the at least one first trial implant part and/or the at least one second trial implant part or the implant part comprise a one-piece configuration (Fig 1, 102).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700