DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-11, 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10-14, recites the limitation “at least a first mask having a first outer contour, the helmet shell and the first mask forming a first type of helmet; and a second mask having a second outer contour, the helmet shell and the second mask forming a second type of helmet”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear, whether, applicant is referring as a Markush claims which recites a list of alternatively useable members and/or the applicant is referring to the at least a first mask having a first outer contour; the helmet shell and the first mask forming a first type of helmet; and a second mask having a second outer contour; the helmet shell and the second mask forming a second type of helmet.
Furthermore, the term “the second type of helmet having different application than the first type of helmet”, it is unclear how different is considered to be different? For the purpose of examination and as best understood, the examiner is interpreted to mean that “at least a first mask having a first outer contour; the helmet shell and the first mask forming a first type of helmet; and a second mask having a second outer contour; the helmet shell and the second mask forming a second type of helmet.”
Claims 4-11, 15-24 are dependent of claim 1 and are likewise indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouchard Fortin et al. (2018/0295926—hereinafter, Bouchard).
Regarding claim 1, Bouchard discloses a helmet (fig.1) comprising: a helmet shell (102) for receiving a head of a wearer of the helmet, the helmet shell including: a crown portion (the structure of element 102), a jaw shield portion integrally connected to the crown portion, and an aperture edge (see the annotated fig.2A below) formed by the crown portion and the jaw shield portion, a front aperture being defined by the aperture edge (the shields can be adapted to substantially close the opening 114 to effectively protect the wearer, fig.2A, 8); and a mask (120 and/or goggle, par [0054]) selectively connected to the helmet shell, the mask being disposed in the front aperture, the mask being chosen from a family of masks (120 and/or goggle, par [0054]);
the family of masks including at least a first mask (element 120 having an outer contour) having a first outer contour; the helmet shell and the first mask forming a first type of helmet (fig.1). But Bouchard does not disclose a second mask having a second outer contour; both the first and second outer contour being sized and shaped to conform to a contact the aperture edge of the helmet shell. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a second mask having a second outer contour as claimed and both the first and second outer contour being sized and shaped to conform to a contact the aperture edge of the helmet shell, such modification would be considered a mere of duplication in part involved routine skill in the art; furthermore, the first and second masks are configured to conform and contact the aperture edge of the helmet shell.
Furthermore, Bouchard does not disclose the first type of helmet is using for a first application and the second type of helmet is using for a second application is different than the first application. However, it would have been obvious matter design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that first helmet type can be using for under wet condition and the second helmet type can be using for dry condition, that involved routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Bouchard dose not disclose a third mask of the family of masks, the third mask being selectively connectable to the helmet shell, a third outer contour of the third mask conforming to the aperture edge, the helmet shell and the third mask connected thereto forming a third helmet type, the third helmet type having a different application than the first type of helmet and the second type of helmet.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a third mask having third outer contour as claimed and the third outer contour being sized and shaped to conform to a contact the aperture edge of the helmet shell, such modification would be considered a mere of duplication in part involved routine skill in the art.
Bouchard does not disclose the third helmet type having different application than the first type of helmet and the second type of helmet.
However, it would have been obvious matter design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that first helmet type can be using for under wet condition and the second helmet type can be using for dry condition and the third helmet type can be using for high speed driving, that involved routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, Bouchard discloses wherein the first outer contour and the second outer contour are identical (in claim 1, the second mask is duplication of the first mask therefore the first outer contour is identical with one another).
Regarding claim 24, Bouchard discloses wherein: the first outer contour contacts the aperture edge of the helmet shell along an entirety of the first outer contour when the first mask is connected to the helmet shell; and the second outer contour contacts the aperture edge of the helmet shell along an entirety of the second outer contour when the second mask is connected to the helmet shell (in claim 1, the second mask is duplication of the first mask therefore the first outer contour is identical with one another; and the outer contour of first mask 120 is corresponding to the inner surface 122(aperture edge) of the helmet).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11, 15-20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-11, 15-20-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Timothy K Trieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732