DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 6/8/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding Claims 1, 13-15, and 22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1, 13-15, and 22, Applicant argues that the reference Zhang et al’116A does not disclose the required cover layer because the cover portions disclosed are merely shielding portions and do not disclose any differentiated design of the shielding portion. This is because the shielding portions are essentially optical shielding structures of the display panel, and the first and second shielding portions, which have the same structure, cannot constitute a cover layer having differentiated parameter designs. The examiner disagrees in that the cover layer, being an optical shielding structure of the display panel, still meets the claim limitation cover layer in the broadest reasonable interpretation. A shielding structure would be a type of cover layer structure.
Applicant further argues that Zhang et al’116A does not disclose the second cover portions overlap the plurality of data connection lines and the plurality of wiring segments because the second shielding portion is correspondingly arranged with a breaking, and the first breaking is a structure of the touch layer and is configured to isolate the touch electrodes rather than being located between a data connection line and a wiring segment. The examiner disagrees in that the claim language does not appear to specify exactly where or how the overlap occurs. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, along a direction directly perpendicular to a plane can be any direction perpendicular to any plane. Therefore, the overlap described still meets this limitation and was described in Zhang et al’116A as follows: wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane (along the first reference surface P1 [page 7, lines 1-5] Fig 1, Fig 2) of the display panel (100, 200 Fig 8), the first cover portions (151 Fig 2) overlap (when a plurality of first fracture 13 on the same first reference surface P1 of the orthographic projection overlap or partially overlap, due to the plurality of first fractures 13 corresponding to each of the first shielding part 15 can be irradiated to the first fracture 13 of the light reflected out [page 7, lines 1-5], overlap shown in Fig 2) the first breakings (13 Fig 1, Fig 2), respectively, and the second portions (152 Fig 2) overlap the plurality of data connection lines (12 Fig 2) and the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 2).
Moreover, Applicant argues that the reference Dong does not disclose the differentiated design of the shielding portion at the breaking location and non-breaking location, and that the different thickness of the color filter layer cited in Dong are not used for optimizing the overall display region of the display panel, so a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have a reason to alter the thickness of the cover layer in Zhang et al’116A. Although the arguments do indicate a reason for the difference in the thickness that goes beyond a dimensional optimization and is a functional improvement, the examiner disagrees in that, without using matter of design choice as a reason to optimize, another reason to modify Zhang et al’116A can still be to reduce the reflectivity of the corresponding area, even if the breaking is a structure of the touch layer, which would still have some positive effect on the optical or electrical performance of the device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
It is for these reasons that the prior art rejections of Claims 1, and 13-22 will be maintained.
However, in the interests of compact prosecution, the examiner notes that further description of the different parameter designs of the cover layer portions such that it shows how they are different than a shielding function would be helpful in overcoming the prior art of record. Additionally, the examiner notes that further description of how the overlap occurs that is different than the interpretation used in the non-final rejection would also be helpful in overcoming the prior art of record. The examiner is available for an interview at Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al’116A (CN 112328116A) in view of Dong (CN 115312571A).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang et al’116A discloses a display panel (display panel 200, and touch structure 100 [page 11, lines 1-10] Fig 8), having a display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) and a pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A), and comprising:
a plurality of data lines (touch drive electrodes 14 and 16 [page 9, lines 1-19] Fig 4A) arranged in the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A);
a first wiring layer (first conductive grid layer 1 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) arranged in the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) and comprising a plurality of data connection lines (first conductive wire 12 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1, Fig 4A) and a plurality of wiring segments (first sub conductive wire 121 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1),
wherein one data connection line (12) of the plurality of data connection lines (12) is connected to at least one data line (14, 16 Fig 4A) of the plurality of data lines (14, 16 Fig 4A) and is configured (electrically connected) to transmit a data voltage provided in the pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) to the at least one data line (14, 16, Fig 4A), and
one wiring segment (121 Fig 1) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1) is spaced apart from one data connection line (12 Fig 1) of the plurality of data connection lines (12 Fig 1) by one first breaking (first fracture 13 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) of first breakings (13 Fig 1); and
a cover layer (first shielding part 15 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) arranged at a side of the first wiring layer (1 Fig 1) facing toward a light-exiting direction (out of the page direction Fig 1, Fig 4A/vertical direction Fig 8) of the display panel (100, 200 Fig 8) and comprising first cover portions (first sub-shielding part 151 [page 7, lines 36-46] Fig 2) and second cover portions (second sub-shielding part 152 [page 7, lines 36-46] Fig 2),
wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane (along the first reference surface P1 [page 7, lines 1-5] Fig 1, Fig 2) of the display panel (100, 200 Fig 8), the first cover portions (151 Fig 2) overlap (when a plurality of first fracture 13 on the same first reference surface P1 of the orthographic projection overlap or partially overlap, due to the plurality of first fractures 13 corresponding to each of the first shielding part 15 can be irradiated to the first fracture 13 of the light reflected out [page 7, lines 1-5], overlap shown in Fig 2) the first breakings (13 Fig 1, Fig 2), respectively, and
the second portions (152 Fig 2) overlap the plurality of data connection lines (12 Fig 2) and the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 2).
Zhang et al’116A does not disclose
wherein one of the first cover portions has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions.
Dong, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include display devices, discloses
wherein one of the first cover portions (color resistance 50 [page 15, lines 20-51] (left) Fig 15) has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions (color resistance 50 [page 15, lines 20-51] (right) Fig 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang et al’116A to include wherein one of the first cover portions has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions as taught by Dong in order to reduce the reflectivity of the corresponding area and improving the display quality of the product [page 1, lines 1-12] and because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to optimize the thickness of the cover portions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In Re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.04.IV(A). Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that reducing the reflectivity of the device in select areas would be advantageous in improving the quality and performance of the display device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
wherein one of the plurality of data connection lines (12: 14, 16 Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) comprises a first part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) extending along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and a second part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) extending along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) intersecting the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), and
the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) comprise at least one first-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) each extending along the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and at least one second-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) each extending along the second direction (vertical y direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A); and
wherein the at least one first-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is arranged in a same layer as the first part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), and one of the at least one first-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is aligned with the first part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) along the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A); and
the at least one second-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is arranged in a same layer as the second part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), and one of the at least one second-type wiring segment (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is aligned with the second part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) along the second direction (vertical y direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
wherein along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel (display panel 200, and touch structure 100 [page 11, lines 1-10] Fig 8 Zhang et al’116A), one of the first breakings (13 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) has at least one edge, and an included angle A formed between an extending direction of one of the at least one edge and an extending direction of one of the plurality of data lines (12 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) satisfy: 0°<A<90° (the examiner notes that his limitation appears to be satisfied in Fig 1 and Fig 14A of Zhang et al’116A in the same manner as Fig 2 of the instant application).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
wherein one of the plurality of data connection lines (12: 14, 16 Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) comprises a first part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) extending along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and a second part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) extending along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) intersecting the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A),
the first breakings (15 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) comprise a first-A breaking (15 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) located between the first part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and one of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and a first-B breaking (15 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) located between the second part (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and one of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), and
wherein along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel (display panel 200, and touch structure 100 [page 11, lines 1-10] Fig 8 Zhang et al’116A), at least one edge of the first-A breaking (15 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and at least one edge of the first-B breaking (15 shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) extend along different directions.
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang et al’116A discloses a display device display device 300 [page 11, lines 1-10] Fig 8), comprising: a display panel (display panel 200, and touch structure 100 [page 11, lines 1-10] Fig 8), having a display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) and a pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A), and comprising:
a plurality of data lines (touch drive electrodes 14 and 16 [page 9, lines 1-19] Fig 4A) arranged in the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A);
a first wiring layer (first conductive grid layer 1 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) arranged in the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) and comprising a plurality of data connection lines (first conductive wire 12 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1, Fig 4A) and a plurality of wiring segments (first sub conductive wire 121 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1),
wherein one data connection line (12) of the plurality of data connection lines (12) is connected to at least one data line (14, 16 Fig 4A) of the plurality of data lines (14, 16 Fig 4A) and is configured (electrically connected) to transmit a data voltage provided in the pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A) to the at least one data line (14, 16, Fig 4A), and
one wiring segment (121 Fig 1) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1) is spaced apart from one data connection line (12 Fig 1) of the plurality of data connection lines (12 Fig 1) by one first breaking (first fracture 13 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) of first breakings (13 Fig 1);
a cover layer (first shielding part 15 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1) arranged at a side of the first wiring layer (1 Fig 1) facing toward a light-exiting direction (out of the page direction Fig 1, Fig 4A/vertical direction Fig 8) of the display panel (100, 200 Fig 8) and comprising first cover portions (first sub-shielding part 151 [page 7, lines 36-46] Fig 2) and second cover portions (second sub-shielding part 152 [page 7, lines 36-46] Fig 2),
wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane (along the first reference surface P1 [page 7, lines 1-5] Fig 1, Fig 2) of the display panel (100, 200 Fig 8), the first cover portions (151 Fig 2) overlap (when a plurality of first fracture 13 on the same first reference surface P1 of the orthographic projection overlap or partially overlap, due to the plurality of first fractures 13 corresponding to each of the first shielding part 15 can be irradiated to the first fracture 13 of the light reflected out [page 7, lines 1-5], overlap shown in Fig 2) the first breakings (13 Fig 1, Fig 2), respectively, and
the second portions (152 Fig 2) overlap the plurality of data connection lines (12 Fig 2) and the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 2).
Zhang et al’116A does not disclose
wherein one of the first cover portions has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions.
Dong, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include display devices, discloses
wherein one of the first cover portions (color resistance 50 [page 15, lines 20-51] (left) Fig 15) has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions (color resistance 50 [page 15, lines 20-51] (right) Fig 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang et al’116A to include wherein one of the first cover portions has a thickness smaller than a thickness of one of the second cover portions as taught by Dong in order to reduce the reflectivity of the corresponding area and improving the display quality of the product [page 1, lines 1-12] and because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to optimize the thickness of the cover portions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In Re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.04.IV(A). Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that reducing the reflectivity of the device in select areas would be advantageous in improving the quality and performance of the display device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al’116A (CN 112328116A) in view of Dong (CN 115312571A), and in further view of Kang et al (US 2018/0122837).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Zhang et al and Dong discloses the limitation of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al and Dong does not directly disclose
further comprising: a light-emitting element layer arranged between the first wiring layer and the cover layer and comprising a light-emitting region and a non-light-emitting region,
wherein one of the first breakings is arranged in the light-emitting region; and
along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, the cover layer overlaps the non-light-emitting region and does not overlap the light-emitting region.
Kang et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include light emitting devices, discloses
a light-emitting element layer (light emitting layer EL [0088] Fig 3 and Fig 4) comprising a light-emitting region (middle region, shown in Fig 3) and a non-light-emitting region (region of black matrix 151, shown in Fig 3); and
along the direction perpendicular (horizontal x direction Fig 3) to the plane of the display panel, the cover layer (cover layer 140 [0121], and black matrix 151 [0130] Fig 3) overlaps the non-light-emitting region (region of black matrix 151, shown in Fig 3) and does not overlap the light-emitting region (middle region, shown in Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Dong to include further comprising: a light-emitting element layer arranged between the first wiring layer and the cover layer and comprising a light-emitting region and a non-light-emitting region, wherein one of the first breakings is arranged in the light-emitting region; and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, the cover layer overlaps the non-light-emitting region and does not overlap the light-emitting region as taught by Kang et al in order to protect the pixel and the light emitting device provided on the substrate [0130]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that protecting the pixel and the light emitting device provided on the substrate would be advantageous in optimizing the functional capability of the device and improving the reliability and durability of the device which would improve the overall performance of the device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
The combination of Zhang et al, Dong, and Kang et al now discloses
further comprising: a light-emitting element layer (EL Fig 3 and Fig 4 Kang et al) arranged between the first wiring layer (first conductive grid layer 1 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) and the cover layer (first shielding part 15 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A), and
wherein one of the first breakings (first fracture 13 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) is arranged in the light-emitting region (middle region, shown in Fig 3, Kang et al).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitation of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose
further comprising: a color filter layer arranged at a side of the first wiring layer facing toward the light-exiting direction of the display panel,
wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color filter, wherein the black matrix is reused as the cover layer.
Kang et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include light emitting devices, discloses
wherein the color filter layer (cover layer 140 [0121], color filter layer 152 and black matrix 151 [0130] Fig 3) comprises a black matrix (151) and a color filter (152), wherein the black matrix (151) is reused (the examiner notes that 151 is can be considered part of the cover layer in the broadest reasonable interpretation of cover layer, and is considered to be used and reused as part of the cover layer) as the cover layer (140, 151, 152).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong to include further comprising: a color filter layer arranged at a side of the first wiring layer facing toward the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color filter, wherein the black matrix is reused as the cover layer as taught by Kang et al in order to protect the pixel and the light emitting device provided on the substrate [0130]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having a cover layer the includes a black matrix and color filter would be advantageous in optimizing the functional capability of the device, i.e. color filter, and improving the reliability and durability of the device, i.e. black matrix, which would improve the overall performance of the device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al’116A (CN 112328116A) in view of Dong (CN 115312571A), and in further view of Zhang et al’658 (WO 2017/143658).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not directly disclose
further comprising: a plurality of touch electrodes arranged at a side of the first wiring layer facing toward the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes is reused as the cover layer.
Zhang et al’658, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include light emitting devices, discloses
further comprising: a plurality of touch electrodes (touch electrode layer 112 [page 5, lines 16-47] Fig 1A) facing toward the light-exiting direction (vertical direction Fig A/B) of the display panel.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong include wherein a plurality of touch electrodes arranged at a side of the first wiring layer facing toward the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes is reused as the cover layer as taught by Zang et al’658 in order to avoid peeling caused by the deflation problem in a high temperature environment [page 3, lines 1-8]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having the touch electrodes reused as the cover layer would be advantageous in utilizing efficient use of space which would be advantageous in cost effectiveness during the manufacturing process (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
The combination of Zhang et al’116A, Dong, and Zhang et al’658 now discloses
further comprising: a plurality of touch electrodes (touch electrode layer 112 [page 5, lines 16-47] Fig 1A Zhang et al ‘658) arranged at a side of the first wiring layer (first conductive grid layer 1 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) facing toward the light-exiting direction (vertical y direction) of the display panel, wherein at least one of the plurality of touch electrodes (112 Fig 1A Zhang et al’658) is reused as the cover layer (112 Fig 1A Zhang et al’658).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2:
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
wherein the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) comprises a first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and a second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A),
wherein the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is located at a side of the second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) close to the pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A);
the plurality of data connection lines (touch drive electrodes 14 and 16 [page 9, lines 1-19] Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), the first breakings (first fracture 13 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A), and at least one wiring segment (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) are arranged in the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A); and
at least another one wiring segment (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) is arranged in the second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A);
wherein the second cover portions (second sub-shielding part 152 [page 7, lines 36-46] Fig 2 Zhang et al’116A) comprise a first portion (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) arranged in the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A),
wherein along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel (100 and 200 Zhang et al’116A), the first portion (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) overlaps one of the plurality of data connection lines (touch drive electrodes 14 and 16 [page 9, lines 1-19] Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) arranged in the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), and
overlaps one the at least one wiring segment (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) arranged in the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A).
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 2 is the inclusion of
wherein the thickness of the one of the first cover portions is smaller than a thickness of the first portion.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “wherein the thickness of the one of the first cover portions is smaller than a thickness of the first portion” and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 3 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 2.
Claim 4 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 3.
Claim 5 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 3.
Claim 6 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 2.
Claim 7 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 6.
Claim 8 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 6.
Claim 9 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 2.
Claim 10:
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
wherein the display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) comprises a first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) and a second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A),
wherein the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) is located at a side of the second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A) close to the pad region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A);
the plurality of data connection lines (touch drive electrodes 14 and 16 [page 9, lines 1-19] Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A), the first breakings (first fracture 13 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A), and at least one wiring segment (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) are arranged in the first display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A); and
at least another one wiring segment (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) of the plurality of wiring segments (121 Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) is arranged in the second display region (shown in annotated Fig 4A Zhang et al’116A).
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 10 is the inclusion of
wherein the second cover portions comprise at least one third portion and a fourth portion, wherein the at least one third portion is arranged in the second display region; and
along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, one of the at least one third portion overlaps one of the at least another one wiring segment located in the second display region;
the fourth portion is arranged in the first display region and the second display region; and
along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, the fourth portion overlaps one of the plurality of data connection lines that is located in the first display region and overlaps one of the at least one wiring segment that is located in the first display region, and
the fourth portion overlaps the at least another one wiring segment located in the second display region, and
wherein the fourth portion and at least one first cover portion of the first cover portions have a same thickness, and one of the at least one third portion has a thickness greater than the thickness of the one of the first cover portions.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “wherein the second cover portions comprise at least one third portion and a fourth portion” in a manner that corresponds to the third portion 25 and the fourth portion 26 as shown in Fig 23 of the instant application and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 11 would be allowable based on its dependence on Claim 10.
Claim 12:
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong further discloses
the first wiring layer (first conductive grid layer 1 [page 6, lines 1-5] Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A) is a meshed layer (shown in Fig 1 Zhang et al’116A).
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 12 is the inclusion of
wherein the first wiring layer comprises a plurality of apertures, and wherein the cover layer further comprises a plurality of fourth cover portions respectively overlapping the plurality of apertures along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, wherein one fourth cover portion of the plurality of fourth cover portions and one first cover portion of the first cover portions have a same thickness.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “wherein the first wiring layer comprises a plurality of apertures, and wherein the cover layer further comprises a plurality of fourth cover portions respectively overlapping the plurality of apertures along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel, wherein one fourth cover portion of the plurality of fourth cover portions and one first cover portion of the first cover portions have a same thickness” and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 16:
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above.
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 16 is the inclusion of
further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, a fourth metal layer, and a fifth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and one of the plurality of data connection lines comprises a part extending along a first direction and arranged in the fourth metal layer, and another part extending along a second direction and arranged in the fifth metal layer, the first direction intersecting the second direction.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, a fourth metal layer, and a fifth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and one of the plurality of data connection lines comprises a part extending along a first direction and arranged in the fourth metal layer, and another part extending along a second direction and arranged in the fifth metal layer, the first direction intersecting the second direction” and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 17:
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above.
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 17 is the inclusion of
further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, and a fifth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and the plurality of data connection lines are arranged in the fifth metal layer.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, and a fifth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and the plurality of data connection lines are arranged in the fifth metal layer” and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 18:
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above.
The reason for the indication of allowability of Claim 18 is the inclusion of
further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, and a fourth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and each of the plurality of data connection lines comprises a first part extending along a same direction as the plurality of data lines and arranged in the third metal layer, and a second part extending along a direction intersecting an extending direction of the plurality of data lines and arranged in the fourth metal layer.
Specifically, the combination of Zhang et al’116A and Dong does not disclose “further comprising: a first metal layer, a second metal layer, a third metal layer, and a fourth metal layer that are sequentially stacked along the light-exiting direction of the display panel, wherein the plurality of data lines are arranged in the third metal layer, and each of the plurality of data connection lines comprises a first part extending along a same direction as the plurality of data lines and arranged in the third metal layer, and a second part extending along a direction intersecting an extending direction of the plurality of data lines and arranged in the fourth metal layer” and it does not appear that it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this alteration in the event that another secondary reference that discloses this limitation were to be found.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Related Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shin et al (US 2010/0232162) which discloses a display apparatus [0005], and Park et al (US 2019/0088906) which discloses a display device [0002].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.P.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812