DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao, CN1122065656.
Regarding instant Claim 1, Xiao discloses a buffering device for a filter bottle (Abstract; filter core seat for automatically sealing water), the buffering device disposed on a body of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; see filter bottle 2 with filter core seat 3, wherein said filter core seat serves as valve seat 31 disposed on body of filter bottle 2) and comprising:
a sidewall (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; see side wall of filter core 3);
a top being moveable up and down sidewall of the buffering device (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 5; Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; filter core seat 3 moves up and down via compression springs 16 and 34 along with seat/sealing pad 15);
a bottom (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; bottom of filter core 3); and
a chamber formed between the sidewall, the bottom and the top of the buffering device without communicating with the interior of the filter bottle, and communicating with an exterior via an air gap for air exchange (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; see entire chamber/system in Figure 2; also end cover 37 seals air gap that is otherwise provided [see insertion, implying cover is opened for maintenance or manufacture).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device has an elastic element in a middle of the chamber; and
the elastic element has two ends respectively abutted against the top and the bottom of the buffering device (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; first compression spring 16; see fist and third sealing pads 15 and 37).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 2, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device has a middle column in a middle of the chamber (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; see valve core 12);
the middle column is rigidly connected to the top of the buffering device (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; top of valve seat 31 is clamped to filter bottle 2, thusly core 12 is rigidly fixed); and
a reciprocating relative motion is formed between the middle column and the bottom of the buffering deice (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; first compression spring 16 provides motion).
Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 3, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering deivce has a through hole disposed on the bottom of the buffering device (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; end cover 37 seals air gap/through hole);
the middle column is inserted through the through hole (Paragraph [0033]; see insertable direction with respect to the end cover 37); and
the air gap is formed between the middle column and the through hole (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; see location of end cover 37).
Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 4, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device has
an elastic element disposed in the middle of the chamber (Figure 1; Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; first compression spring 16); and
a protruding mount disposed on the bottom for positioning the elastic element (Figure 2; Paragraph [0033]; protruding mount in third sealing pad 36 and second compression spring 34 leading to end cover 37); and
the through hole is disposed on the protruding mount (Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see location of end cover 37).
Regarding instant Claim 6, Claim 2, upon which Claim 6 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the elastic element is a spring (Figure 1; Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; first compression spring 16).
Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 5, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the elastic element is a spring (Figure 1; Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; first compression spring 16).
Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 1, upon which Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the top of the buffering device is a piston (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 5; Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; filter core seat 3 moves as a piston with compression springs 16 and 34); and
the piston is disposed above the chamber and has an outer flange closely contacted with the sidewall of the buffering device (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; filter cover core 13 serves as outer flange).
Regarding instant Claim 9, Claim 8, upon which Claim 9 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device has a sealing assembly disposed at a contacting position between the piston and the sidewall of the buffering device (Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; seal at least formed at filter cover core as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding instant Claim 10, Claim 1, upon which Claim 10 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 11, Claim 2, upon which Claim 11 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 12, Claim 3, upon which Claim 12 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 13, Claim 4, upon which Claim 13 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 14, Claim 5, upon which Claim 14 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 15, Claim 6, upon which Claim 15 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 7, upon which Claim 16 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 8, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Claim 9, upon which Claim 18 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein
a volume of the chamber in the buffering device is calculated based on a volume of the filter bottle (Figure 1; shape and configuration of device, which would include volumes, is considered in Figure 1 at least for handling purposes); and
the buffering device is configured to be in contact with a liquid inside the filter bottle (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 5; Paragraph [0033]; see inlet/outlet 33/34; filter bottle 2 for filtration).
Regarding instant Claim 19, Claim 10, upon which Claim 19 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 20, Claim 11, upon which Claim 20 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 21, Claim 12, upon which Claim 21 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 22, Claim 13, upon which Claim 22 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 23, Claim 14, upon which Claim 23 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 24, Claim 15, upon which Claim 24 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 25, Claim 16, upon which Claim 25 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 26, Claim 17, upon which Claim 26 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Regarding instant Claim 27, Claim 18, upon which Claim 27 is dependent, has been rejected above. Xiao further discloses wherein the buffering device is disposed on a bottom of the filter bottle (Figure 1; Paragraph [0030]; see position of filter core 3 with respect to filter bottle 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carter et al. (US Pat Pub. 2011/0198279) discloses a filter mechanism for a water bottle with similar structure to that of the buffering device for filter bottle (Figure 2A; Figure 5A; Paragraph [0050]). The filter mechanism is on the top of the bottle and inserted within said bottle, so no grounds of rejection can be made.
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 02/05/2026