DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first occurrence of ‘. . . of the plurality . . .’ should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first occurrence of ‘. . . of the plurality . . .’ should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 4, the forward facing surface is recited; however, claim 1 requires a first forward facing surface and a second forward facing surface. It is unclear as to which forward facing surface is being referred to. For this reason, claim 4 is considered indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 4 will be interpreted as second forward facing surface.
With respect to claim 11, the forward facing surface is recited; however, claim 8 requires a first forward facing surface and a second forward facing surface. It is unclear as to which forward facing surface is being referred to. For this reason, claim 11 is considered indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 4 will be interpreted as second forward facing surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 5658755.
Regarding claim 1, JP 5658755 discloses a club head having a body extending from the first body end 220 to a second body end 222. The body includes a top portion 216, bottom portion 218, left side portion 222, right side portion 220, and forward face 212. The forward face is bounded by the top portion, bottom portion, left side portion, and right side portion. The forward face includes a first forward surface portion, a leading edge 227, and a second forward facing surface. The first forward facing surface includes a plurality of grooves and the leading edge is positioned proximate to the bottom portion of the body. The second forward facing surface is bounded by the first forward facing surface, the top portion, left side portion, and bottom portion. The second forward facing surface includes a plurality of channels 130 extending from the left side portion to an area proximate the first forward facing surface (See Figure 24 and 25). An opposing rearward surface extends between the top and bottom portions of the body and define a trailing edge proximate the bottom of the body (See Figures 27 and 28). JP 5658755 further discloses a hosel 209 connected to the body at a first body end and extending in a direction away from the bottom portion. Grooves inherently impart spin onto the golf ball. Further, being that channels are form in the forward face, it would inherently direct air flow around the forward face (See MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 2, JP 5658755 discloses the bottom portion having a sole extending between the leading and trailing edges. The sole also has a center portion, a first end proximate the hosel, and a second end positioned between the center portion and the left side portion (See Figures 24 and 25).
Regarding claim 4, JP 5658755 discloses the channels positioned approximately in a corner of the second forward facing surface (See Figures 24 and 25).
Regarding claim 5, JP 5658755 discloses the grooves spaced apart from the channels (See Figures 24 and 25).
Regarding claim 8, see the above regarding claim 1. In addition, the top portion, bottom portion, left side, and right side form a body perimeter.
Regarding claim 9, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, see the above regarding claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5658755 in view of Mertens (USPN 6093113).
Regarding claim 3, JP 5658755 shows the bottom of the club head having a radius of curvature which inherently gives it an angle but does not disclose the angle. Mertens disclose a club head having a bottom portion wherein the bottom portion has angles C and D of 10 degrees on the first end surface and second end surface (See Figure 2 and Column 5, lines 10 through 26). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have angles of 10 degrees at the bottom portion, as taught by Mertens, in order to reduce the ground contact of the club head.
Regarding claim 10, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claim 3.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5658755 in view of Bowden (USPN 1787415).
Regarding claim 7, JP 5658755 does not disclose the hosel having a vertex. Bowden disclose a club head having a hosel with a vertex and two opposing sides with first ends that meet each other at the vertex and second ends that are spaced apart from each other. Bowden shows the vertex facing the target and the second ends extending toward the rearward face surface of the body (See Figure 1-3). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the hosel of the above construction, as taught by Bowden, in order to minimize air resistance.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, see the above regarding claim 7.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5658755 in view of Sasse (USPN 4413825).
Regarding claim 6, JP 5658755 does not disclose a second forward facing surface extending in a plane different from the first forward facing surface. Sasse discloses a club head having a first forward facing surface and second forward facing surface wherein the planes are different and intersect each other (See Figure 1 and Abstract). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a second forward facing surface in a different plane than the first forward facing surface, as taught by Sasse, in order to impart sidespin to the golf ball.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, see the above regarding claim 6.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711