Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TW202039683A, (machine translation attached) in view of Pourjavadi et al, “Synthesis and super-swelling behavior of a novel protein-based superabsorbent hydrogel”, alone, or further in view of Bucevschi et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0147588.
TW’683 discloses a water absorbent resin composition comprising an acid group-containing monomer aqueous solution, wherein a neutralization rate of the acid group-containing monomer is not less than 45 mol percent, the pH value of the solution is less than or equal to 7, and further comprising a crosslinking agent and a thermal decomposition polymerization initiator and/or a redox polymerization initiator. See first full paragraph page 1. Suitable monomers include carboxylic acid monomers. See page 2, 13th full paragraph. The composition can further comprise a surface treatment agent. See page 4, 5th full paragraph.
TW ‘683 differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose adding hydrolyzed collagen to the composition in the claimed amount.
However, Pourjavadi teaches incorporating collagen into superabsorbent hydrogels formed from carboxylic acids improved the absorbency of the hydrogel. See conclusion, page 823.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated collagen into the superabsorbent composition of TW ‘683 and to have selected the most effective amount and molecular weight of the hydrolyzed collagen through the process of routine experimentation in order to optimize the absorbency of the superabsorbent.
Pourjavadi includes a single example with a range of hydrolyzed collagen in amounts of about 12-66%. However, Pourjavadi does not teach a particular range per se, with fixed end points. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had motivation and at least a reasonable expectation of success in trying lower amounts of hydrolyzed collagen because there is always a reason to use the least amount of any component which will still produce an acceptable result for reasons of economy. Additionally, if Pourjavadi alone would not provide a rationale for reducing the amount of hydrolyzed collagen, Bucevschi teaches adding collagen hydrolysate to a superabsorbent polymer in amounts of 4-6%. See claims 1 and 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed amounts of 4-6% of the hydrolyzed collagen, (collagen hydrolysate), as taught by Pourjavadi and Bucevschi, to the composition of TW’683 in order to improve the absorbency of the superabsorbent as taught by Pourjavadi.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TW202039683A, (machine translation attached) in view of Pourjavadi et al, “Synthesis and super-swelling behavior of a novel protein-based superabsorbent hydrogel” alone or in view of Bucevschi, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0231878.
TW ‘683 in view of Pourjavadi differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the source of the collagen is fish scales.
However, Wu discloses a method for making collagen from fish scales by subjecting the fish scales to protein hydrolase, (protease). See abstract, paragraphs 0028-0036 and example 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed collagen made from fish scales as taught by Wu in view of its ready availability and high purity. With regard to the particular protease used, it is noted that the particular process of extracting the collagen is a process limitation and therefore the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any process difference results in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. Additionally, since Wu teaches extracting the collagen from the fish scales by hydrolyzing with a protease, it would have been obvious to have selected from among known protease to extract the collagen from the fish scales.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that TW ‘683 in view of Pourjavadi does not teach the claimed amount of hydrolyzed collagen. However, as set forth above, one of ordinary skill would have had a motivation to see if smaller amounts of hydrolyzed collagen still produced the desired results, since Pourjavadi does not teach a range or end point and provides an example with about 12 percent hydrolyzed collagen. Additionally, if Pourjavadi does not sufficiently provide motivation to use lesser amounts, newly applied Bucevschi teaches employing hydrolyzed collagen, (collagen hydrolysate) in amounts of 4-6% relative to the superabsorbent polymer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789