DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of amendments/arguments filed on 02/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This application is a CON of 17/710,742 filed on 03/31/2022 now PAT 11,868,843 which is a CON of 16/208,170 filed on 12/03/2018 now PAT 11,308,298 which is a CON of 15/681,956 filed on 08/21/2017 now PAT 10,146,976 which is a CIP of 15/075,650 filed on 03/21/2016 now PAT 9,740,790 which is a CIP of 14/266,423 filed on 04/30/2014 now PAT 9,292,811 which is a CON of 13/690,097 filed on 11/30/2012 ABN which has PRO 61/605,366 filed on 03/01/2012.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann (US 2008/0290541) in view of Catoen et al. (US 2011/0106285).
Re Claims 1, 11-12, 15 and 17: Baumann teaches intelligent manifold and injection molding machine, which includes a near field communication or RFID transmitter {herein using RF transmitter} disposed on an exterior surface of a tool {herein the examiner interprets the molding machine system 10 as the tool} (see ¶ 27+), wherein the tool is a hot runner {herein hot runner 54} (see ¶ 19+); a tool database including tool information (see ¶ 33-43+), and display tool information that is in the tool database (¶ 10+).
With regards to Claim 11: Baumann also teaches a tag {herein memory device 81 may be secured to one or more sides of the hot runner manifold 54, and the memory device 81 may be a P-tag} positioned on an exterior surface of a tool (31+).
Baumann fails to specifically teach a handheld communication device that is operable to receive a signal from the near field communication transmitter, communicate with the tool database.
Catoen et al. teaches system use in performance of injection molding operations, which includes a handheld communication device {herein handheld workstation 70} that is operable to receive a signal from the near field communication transmitter (see fig.# 7; ¶ 36-42+, 55+, 86+).
In view of Catoen et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Baumann a handheld communication device that is operable to receive a signal from the near field communication transmitter so as to enable the operator to wirelessly receive and transmit data from and/or onto the attached memory device on the tool. Such modification would be beneficial by enabling wireless communication between the mobile device and attached sensor either through a closed proximity, using the NFC means, or a specified radius from the tool using RFID means.
Re Claims 2, 14 and 18: Baumann as modified by Catoen et al. teaches device and method, wherein the system further comprises one of a device, a machine, a controller, a machine, a fixture, an apparatus that is used in making goods or products {herein the injection molding machine system 10 produces one or more parts …} (¶ 20+).
Re Claim 4: Baumann as modified by Catoen et al. teaches device and method, wherein the handheld communication device is configured to automatically obtain real-time connection with the tool through a predefined frequency in response to the handheld device and tool being within a predefined distance (¶ 46+).
Re Claims 5, 9, 16 and 20: Baumann as modified by Catoen et al. teaches device and method, wherein the tool information includes at least one of: tooling detail, image of the tool, tool information, tool set-up {herein the data may be related to set-up and/or steady-state operating instructions/parameters for the machine controller 80}, tool status, data ownership, date manufactured, tool serial number, unique tool identifying number, tool design detail, parameters, business metrics, history, repair hours, maintenance, maintenance action {herein maintenance data}, preventative maintenance reminder, problems, defects, out of tolerance, tool location, replacement notification, contract, project identification, license, lien information, special operating instructions, warranty, authenticity, photograph, visuals, video, guideline, wiring diagram, cycle counter, sample parts, spare parts, parts list, date counted, stock count, annual usage, last price, vendor information, order information, order view, company, project, production, file, or part number (see ¶ 35-38+ & claim 12).
Re Claim 8: Baumann as modified by Catoen et al. teaches device and method, wherein the handheld communication device includes a user interface screen, the screen is configured to allow a user to input, display or access tool information (¶ 10+, 22+).
Re Claim 19: Baumann as modified by Catoen et al. teaches device and method, wherein the tooling system further includes a controller 80 for operating the system (¶ 19+).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann (US 2008/0290541) as modified by Catoen et al. (US 2011/0106285) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schoner et al. (US 2014/0035726).
The teachings of Baumann et al. have been discussed.
Re Claim 3: Baumann fails to specifically teach a near field communication transmitter disposed on an exterior surface of a tool.
Re Claim 10: Baumann fails to disclose that the communication device is further configured to display a tool location from one of: a global positioning system (GPS) or cellular triangulation
Schoner et al. teaches entity tracking, which includes a near field communication transmitter disposed on an exterior surface of a tool, wherein the communication device is further configured to display a tool location from one of: a global positioning system (GPS) or cellular triangulation, and a global positioning system (GPS)/GNSS (¶ 4+, 26-36+, 96+).
In view of Schoner et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Baumann a near field communication transmitter disposed on an exterior surface of a tool and a global positioning system (GPS) so as to enable wireless data transfer between the tool and a reading device. Such modification would be beneficial by automatically communicating stored information including location on and of the tool using well-known interrogation scheme such as Bluetooth, RF and NFC without the handheld reading device being in the vicinity of the tool.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann (US 2008/0290541) as modified by Catoen et al. (US 2011/0106285) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heine et al. (US 2014/0062699).
The teachings of Baumann have been discussed above. Baumann also teaches maintenance performed and/or due on the various components of the injection molding machine system 10 (see ¶ 38+).
Baumann fails to specifically that the handheld communication device is configured to provide real-time notifications, wherein the handheld communication device is configured to provide a messaging service to transfer messages to other devices.
Heine et al. teaches system and method for tracking usage of items at a work site, wherein the handheld communication device is configured to provide real-time notifications, wherein the handheld communication device is configured to provide a messaging service to transfer messages to other devices (¶ 47+)
In view of Heine et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Baumann that the handheld communication device is configured to provide real-time notifications, wherein the handheld communication device is configured to provide a messaging service to transfer messages to other devices so as to communicate pertinent information to the user interface with regards to managing parts on the machine system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(DE 202020005967 U1) teaches a system.
Newman et al. (US 2015/0174803) teaches methods of forming overmolded articles.
Wang (CN 212602969 U) teaches intelligent injection moulding machine system.
Bazzo (US 2018/0354177) teaches apparatus for injection moulding of plastic materials.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876