DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues at the first full paragraph on page 8 of Remarks that paragraph 0121 of Ryu et al. appears to disclose that the TXOP is only acquired for data frame 1020 and is not related to the block ACK frame 1030. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner invites the Applicant to refer to paragraph 0105 of Ryu et al. where it describes that the first NAV 950 and the second NAV 960 is configured by considering up to a time resource for the data frame 920 and the ACK frame that are transmitted after RTS frame 900/the CTS frame 910. Similarly, paragraph 0119 of Ryu et al. also discloses that the first NAV 1060 and the second NAV 1070 is configured by considering up to a time resource for the data frame 1020 of the A-MPDU format and the ACK frame that are transmitted after RTS frame 1000/the CTS framed 1010.
Therefore, it should be clear to the Applicant that the TXOP is also related to the block ACK frame 1030.
Furthermore, the Applicant states that the limitations from the original claim 3 require that the retransmission period starts when the first electronic device receives the first acknowledgement information from the second device. The Applicant argues that Figure 10 of Ryu et al. shows that the STA receives the block ACK frame 1030 from the AP before the retransmission data frame 1040 begins. These two events are separated by a short interframe symbol (SIFS) as described in paragraph 0126.
Essentially, claim simply requires the retransmission period starts when or after receiving of the first acknowledgment information. The Applicant also admits that Ryu et al. in fact teaches or suggests the retransmission data frame 1040 starts when or after receiving of the first acknowledgement information frame 1030. Therefore, this teaching of Ryu et al. reads on the argued features. It is also noted that even though Ryu et al. does teach or suggest the SIFS period between the two events, this teaching does not preclude the teachings of claim language.
Lastly, the Applicant argues at the last paragraph of page 8 of Remarks that claim 6 requires that the retransmission period comprises at least two interframe spaces, and the Examiner equated the SIFS on either side of the block ACK 1030 to be two interframe spaces, but did not explain how these could be considered to be seen as being within the retransmission period.
As discussed above, paragraph 0119 of Ryu et al. discloses that the first NAV 1060 and the second NAV 1070 is configured by considering up to a time resource for the data frame 1020 of the A-MPDU format and the ACK frame that are transmitted after RTS frame 1000/the CTS framed 1010. Furthermore, it is noted that the update NAV portion of NAV 1070 is the retransmission period that includes the two SIFS before and after the retransmission block data 1040.
Based on the discussion above, it should be clear to the Applicant that Ryu et al. still reads on the amended claims. Thus, previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 14-15, and 17-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (hereinafter “Ryu”, US 2016/0380727).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 21, Ryu discloses a data retransmission method for a first electronic device, a first electronic device (i.e., Source or AP as shown in Fig. 10 and as described in paragraph 0118), and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
sending a data frame to a second electronic device (i.e., the Source/AP transmits data frame 1020 to Destination/STA as shown in Fig. 10 and as described in paragraph 0120) and receiving an acknowledgement frame from the second electronic device within a transmission opportunity (TXOP) duration (i.e., the AP receives the block ACK frame 1030 from the STA within the TXOP as described in paragraphs 0065, and 0122-0123. The TXOP for the A-MPDU format retransmission data frame 1040 and a block ACK 1050 for the A-MPDU format retransmission data frame is acquired based on the duration field of the retransmission request block ACK 1030 as described in paragraphs 0131-0132), wherein the acknowledgement frame comprises first acknowledgement information (i.e., the block ACK frame 1030 indicating some MPDUs which are unsuccessfully decoded as described in paragraphs 0122-0123); and
retransmitting information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device in the retransmission period (i.e., the block ACK 1030 is used to indicate a retransmission request for the unsuccessfully decoded as described in paragraphs 0123-0126) based on the first acknowledgement information indicating that at least a part of the data in the data frame needs to be retransmitted (i.e., the block ACK 1030 indicates a retransmission request frame as described in paragraphs 0124-0125), and indicating a retransmission period required to complete the retransmission (i.e., the retransmission request block ACK 1030 includes a duration field for the retransmission of data frame 1020 as described in paragraphs 0131-0132);
wherein the transmission opportunity duration ends when the first electronic device completes receiving the first acknowledgement information from the second electronic device (i.e., the first NAV 1060 and the second NAV 1070 is configured by considering up to a time resource for the data frame 1020 of the A-MPDU format and the ACK frame that are transmitted after RTS frame 1000/the CTS framed 1010 as described in paragraph 0119), and the retransmission period starts when the first electronic device receives the first acknowledgement information from the second electronic device (i.e., when the retransmission request block ACK 1030 is received at the Source/AP as shown in Fig. 10 and as described in paragraph 0065).
With further regard to claim 14, the first electronic device (i.e., Source/AP 1400 as shown in Fig. 14), comprising: a memory (i.e., memory 1420) and one or more processors (i.e., processor 1410), wherein the memory is configured to store instruction for execution by the one or more processors (i.e., software stored in memory as described in paragraph 0180).
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 22, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the transmission opportunity duration is adjacent to the retransmission period (i.e., a block ACK mechanism is introduced to simultaneously make a response to a plurality of frames at the receiving side at the time of transmitting the plurality of frames during a TXOP period by obtaining a transmission opportunity in IEEE 802.11e as described in paragraph 0065. In other words, the TXOP (i.e., transmission of data frame 1020 and the block ACK 1030) is adjacent to the retransmission data frame 1040 as shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claims 4, 17 and 23, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the information related to the at least the part of the data comprises at least the at least the part of the data or a redundancy version of the at least the part of the data (i.e., the block ACK 1030 is used to indicate the retransmission of MPDU#2 and MPDU#4 as described in paragraphs 0122-0124, and 0131-0132).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein retransmitting information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device in the retransmission period comprises:
sending the information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device following a start of the retransmission period and after at least one interframe space (i.e., the retransmission data frame 1040, and the SIFS as shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claims 6, 19 and 25, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the retransmission period comprises:
a duration required for the first electronic device to send information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device (i.e., a time resource for the data frame 1020 to be transmitted from the Source/AP to the Destination/STA as shown in Fig. 10, and as described in paragraphs 0119-0122);
a duration required for the second electronic device to send second acknowledgement information to the first electronic device based on the information that is related to the at least the part of the data from the first electronic device (i.e., a duration for the block ACK 1030 to be transmitted to the AP acknowledging of the received message as described in paragraphs 0124-0126); and
at least two interframe spaces (i.e., 2 SIFS periods before and after the block ACK 1040 as shown in Fig. 10, and updated NAV portion of 1070).
Regarding claims 7, 20 and 26, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the first acknowledgement information is comprised in a first block acknowledgement (BA) frame that complies with an IEEE 802.11 standard (i.e., the block ACK 1030 as shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the retransmission period is comprised in a duration field of the first block acknowledgement frame (i.e., a duration field is part of the block ACK 1030 as described in paragraphs 0131-0132).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the first block acknowledgement frame comprises indication information used to specify the at least the part of the data, or indication information used to specify the redundancy version (RV) of the at least the part of the data (i.e. the block ACK 1030 is used to indicate the retransmission of MPDU#2 and MPDU#4 as described in paragraphs 0122-0124, and 0131-0132).
Regarding claims 18 and 24, Ryu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the instructions further cause the first device to send the information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device, following a start of the retransmission period and after at least one interframe space, in order to transmit the information related to the at least the part of the data to the second electronic device in the retransmission period (i.e., the retransmission data frame 1040, and the SIFS as shown in Fig. 10).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644