DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic Of Finland on 02/17/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FI20235192 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 10129064 B1) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
An apparatus, comprising:
at least one processing core and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core, cause the apparatus at least to:
determine a bit sequence; (Figure 3, label 302, col. 10, lines 18-27 – the interleaver interleaves the bits and may changes the order of bits.)
divide the bit sequence into fragments of bits; (Figure 3, label 304 – the mapper assigns the bits to different groups.)
map each fragment of bits to a different orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol; (col 10, lines 17-23 – the OFDM symbols can be generated by having a sequence mapped to a subset of the subcarriers (fragments))
encode the fragments using on-off keying or frequency shift keying; (col 18, lines 44-52– The use of on-off keying to transmit OFDM symbols)
manipulate the encoded fragments to obtain a cyclic signal for each OFDM symbol; (Col. 10, lines 60-65 – Use of cyclic prefix that may be appended to each OFDM symbol)
transmit a wakeup signal comprising the manipulated fragments. (col. 17, lines 50-55 – Transmission includes a wake-up packed to a low power wake-up radio. Col. 17, lines 55-62 – The signals may be based on on-off keying (OOK))
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
manipulate the encoded fragments by adding an extra bit to a beginning or an end of each fragment. (Figure 9A – a cyclic prefix is added to either of the beginning or end of the fragment L-SIG)
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the extra bit is one of the followings:
a copy of a bit in an opposite end of the fragment; (Figure 9B – the Cyclic prefix is a copy of the beginning of L-SIG)
or an inverse of a bit in an opposite end of the fragment. (only one option is required)
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
manipulate the encoded fragments by mapping one of an ON or OFF transition to be at a start or an end of a cyclic prefix field of each fragment. (col. 21, lines 1-7, figure 28b – PM values are used to determine whether the symbol should be generated. The Pm values represent the possible on or off transition at the end of a current fragment leading to the start of a new fragment.)
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
manipulate the encoded fragments by positioning each fragment after a cyclic prefix such that each fragment occupies a corresponding OFDM symbol; and (Figure 9A – The cyclic prefix is inserted after every L-SIG)
fill a remaining part of each OFDM symbol. (Figure 11 – The OFDM symbol has a signal tail)
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the remaining part of each OFDM symbol is filled with information with shorter ON/OFF duration than the fragments. (Figure 10 - The signal tail has a shorter time to transmit as it is made up of less bits than the OFDM symbol and each bit appears to have the same duration as the OFDM symbol).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the remaining part of each OFDM symbol is padded. (Figure 10 – the signal tail shows a padding of 0s)
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
manipulate the encoded fragments by cyclic shifting each fragment with a time shift equal to a duration of a cyclic prefix field and acquiring the cyclic prefix field by copying a last part of each fragment after said cyclic shifting. (col. 9, lines 13-23 – cyclic shifting with a time shift by stream parsing. figure 9A – copying a cyclic prefix by copying a last part of each fragment.)
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches:
An apparatus, comprising:
at least one processing core and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a wakeup signal comprising manipulated fragments; (Figure 1, label 112 – Wake up signal transmitted to base station which contains the fragments)
reconstruct said manipulated fragments; (figure 3, label 314 – the demapper reconstructs the fragments)
convert each fragment into bits; and (Figure 3, label 314 – the demapper recombines the fragments into bits)
combine said bits to reconstruct a bit sequence. (figure 3, label 314 – the deinterleaver is used to construct a bit sequence)
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
reconstruct said manipulated fragments by removing an extra bit from a beginning or an end of each fragment. (Figure 9B – the Cyclic prefix is a copy of the beginning of L-SIG. col. 9, lines 13-23 – The receiver may perform the inverse functions as the transmitter; removing a cyclic prefix)
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches:
11. The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
reconstruct said manipulated fragments by tolerating one of an ON or OFF transition at a start or an end of a cyclic prefix field of each fragment. (col. 21, lines 1-7, figure 28b – PM values are used to determine whether the symbol should be generated. The Pm values represent the possible on or off transition at the end of a current fragment leading to the start of a new fragment. Col. 9, lines 13-23 – The receiver may perform the inverse functions as the transmitter; recognizing the on or off transition as implemented by the transmitter)
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches:
12. The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
reconstruct said manipulated fragments by acquiring symbol synchronization and separating each fragment from a cyclic prefix and a remaining part with information with shorter ON/OFF duration than the fragments. (Figure 10 - The signal tail has a shorter time to transmit as it is made up of less bits than the OFDM symbol and each bit appears to have the same duration as the OFDM symbol. Col. 9, lines 13-23 – The receiver may perform the inverse functions as the transmitter; separating each fragment from a cyclic prefix and the signal tail)
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches:
13. The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
reconstruct said manipulated fragments by acquiring symbol synchronization and separating each fragment from a cyclic prefix and a remaining part with padding. (Figure 10 – the signal is padded, col. 9, lines 13-23 – the cyclic prefix is added. Co. 10, lines 13-23 – The receiver may perform the inverse functions as the transmitter; separating each fragment from the cyclic prefix and the padding)
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches:
14. The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processing core, the apparatus at least to:
reconstruct said manipulated fragments by acquiring symbol synchronization and removing a last part of each OFDM symbol, wherein the last part is equal to a length of a cyclic prefix; and (Figure 3, label 318 – The GI remover the cyclic prefix from the OFDM symbol.)
cyclic shifting each fragment with a time shift equal to a duration of a cyclic prefix field and acquiring the cyclic prefix field by copying a last part of each fragment after said cyclic shifting. (col. 9, lines 13-23 – The receiver may perform the inverse functions as the transmitter. Col. 9, lines 13-23 and figure 9a - the transmitter performs the cyclic shifting and copying a cyclic prefix after cyclic shifting)
Claim 15 is rejected as being a method of claim 9.
Claim 16 is rejected as being a method of claim 10.
Claim 17 is rejected as being a method of claim 11.
Claim 18 is rejected as being a method of claim 12.
Claim 19 is rejected as being a method of claim 13.
Claim 20 is rejected as being a method of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Yang et al. (US 20260012299 A1): A transmitter that sends a sequence using OOK modulation. The transmitted may use OFDM mapping. It contains an extra bit as a parity check.
Wei et al. (US 20260006553 A1): A receiver that obtains a wakeup signal. Wireless communications to the receiver can utilize OFDM with a cyclic prefix. The transmitted signal may be cyclic shifted and obtained by the receiver.
KO et al. (US 20150358102 A1): Method for transmitting and generating OFDM symbols using data fragments.
/RYAN ALEXANDER CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472