DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is acknowledged. Specification The abstract is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required): The abstract contains only 48 words, which is less than the required minimum; appropriate correction is required. Applicant is reminded that the abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc. Claim Objections Claims 9 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 9 and 19 recite “SISO” , which is in an abbreviation form and which has not been followed by the full explanation of the term and needs to be clarified and defined within the claim. Examiner respectfully suggests including “Single Input Single Output” followed by “SISO” as disclosed in the specification of the instant application, Para. [0002]; Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balachandran et al. (US 20110064043 A1), hereinafter referenced as Balachandran, in view of Toda et al. (US 20100142441 A1), hereinafter referenced as Toda. Regarding claims 1 and 13, Balachandran teaches a method for optimizing uplink transmissions for a multi-antenna wireless device having multiple antennas ( Figs. 9-11, Para. [0008]-Balachandran discloses methods and apparatus for allocating time-frequency resources to mobile terminals in a wireless communications system in which time-frequency resources may be selectively used according to a first multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) transmission scheme or a second MIMO transmission scheme that differs from the first MIMO transmission scheme. Methods and apparatus for processing received data transmitted by an access point according to a MIMO scheme, such as a space-time coding scheme. Fig. 6, Para. [0064]-Balachandran discloses baseband and control processing circuit 540 further includes memory 630 (which may also be implemented, in full or in part, on a single ASIC, along with the processors 610 and other hardware 620, or with separate components), configured with program code for execution by processors 610. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) , the method comprising: identifying a zone for the multi-antenna wireless device based on the location (Para. [0074]-Balachandran discloses detecting an assigned time-frequency zone from a downlink allocation map transmitted by the access point, and comparing the assigned time-frequency zone to a pre-configured zone identifier corresponding to the restricted time-frequency zone and stored in memory of the mobile terminal. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) ; and selecting an uplink transmission mode for each of the multiple antennas of the multi-antenna wireless device based on the identified zone (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses selecting a preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone, and transmitting to the access point a MIMO mode request message identifying the preferred MIMO transmission mode ..., selecting the preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone may comprise estimating a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio for received signals based on the availability of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) . Balachandran fails to teach determining a location of the multi-antenna wireless device. However, Toda teaches determining a location of the multi-antenna wireless device (Fig. 3, Para. [0061]-Toda discloses the determination unit 104 determines whether the mobile station MS is located in the inner zone 11 or the outer zone 12, on the basis of a predetermined criterion. Specifically, the determination unit 104 determines whether the mobile station MS is located in the inner zone 11 or the outer zone 12, by using at least one of path loss, received signal strength (RSSI), a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), or an amount of interference which are estimated during communications with the mobile stations MS. Para. [0017]-Toda discloses setting an inner zone and an outer zone by dividing a cell formed by the base station into two; determining whether a mobile station is located in the inner zone or the outer zone, on the basis of a predetermined criterion) . Balachnadran and Toda are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on device location, with a motivation to determine a location of the multi-antenna wireless device, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claims 2 and 14, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 13 respectively, Balachandran further teaches selecting the uplink transmission mode to optimize uplink throughput for the muti-antenna wireless device (Para. [0081]-Balachandran discloses identifying one or more mobile terminals capable of selecting between two or more receiver modes for processing transmissions according to the first MIMO transmission scheme, and assigning each of the one or more dual-receiver-mode mobile terminals to the first and second groups by determining which of the first and second MIMO transmission schemes will support a higher data rate to each mobile terminal) . Regarding claim 3, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 1, Balachandran further teaches defining multiple zones within a cell (Figs. 7-8, Para. [0041-0044]-Balachandran discloses the index k in Equation (4) represents the k- th user in a cellular system … Dynamic switching is expected to be used among users in the same zone, although the specification does allow for the allocated bandwidth to be in a different zone) and defining an uplink transmission mode for each antenna based on the zone of the multi-antenna wireless device (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses selecting a preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone, and transmitting to the access point a MIMO mode request message identifying the preferred MIMO transmission mode ..., selecting the preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone may comprise estimating a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio for received signals based on the availability of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) . Regarding claim 4, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 3, Balachandran fails to teach defining each of the multiple zones based on a distance from a serving access node. However, Toda teaches defining each of the multiple zones based on a distance from a serving access node (Para. [0071]-Toda discloses using path loss model, a propagation distance that provides path loss corresponding to a beamforming gain calculated with the expression (1) is calculated back, and the calculated propagation distance is set as a zone size of the outer zone 12) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation to define zones based on a distance from a serving access node, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 5, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 3, Balachandran fails to teach identifying the zone for the multi-antenna wireless device based on a signal strength reported by the multi-antenna wireless device. However, Toda teaches identifying the zone for the multi-antenna wireless device based on a signal strength reported by the multi-antenna wireless device (Para. [0022]-Toda discloses detection as to whether each mobile station is located in the inner zone or the outer zone is made on the basis of at least one of the path loss, the received signal strength) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation to identify zones based on device signal strength, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 6, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 3, Balachandran further teaches identifying the zone for the multi-antenna wireless device based on a location reported by the multi-antenna wireless device (Para. [0067-0068]-Balachandran discloses receiving of a downlink allocation map, ... the mobile terminal determines whether the allocation corresponds to a space-time coded downlink signal ... the mobile terminal next determines whether the allocation is in a restricted zone. Equations 1-14, Para. [0037-0041]-Balachandran discloses the channel response matrix H includes complex channel coefficients for each of the antenna-to-antenna propagation paths. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) . Regarding claims 7 and 16, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 3 and the system of claim 13 respectively, Balachandran further teaches defining four zones (Para. [0057]-Balachandran discloses MAP region 843, and data region 836), an Alamouti -only zone 838, an additional MIMO zone 840 allocated to spatial multiplexing users and other users (labeled "SM and mixed user"), and one or more other zones. Para. [0036]-Balachandran discloses one or more additional zones 316 of various types; the beginning of each zone is indicated by so-called zone switch information elements in the DL-MAP) , each of the four zones correlated with a corresponding uplink transmission mode for the multiantenna wireless device (Para. [0053]-Balachandran discloses a particular zone is restricted to a certain MIMO mode, e.g., Alamouti -only, is indicated to mobile stations as part of the zone switch information element (in the OL-MAP). Fig. 10, Para. [0067-0068]-Balachandran discloses receiving of a downlink allocation map, which assigns the mobile terminal to demodulate signals in particular time-frequency resources in a particular zone … This allocation may have been made based on feedback from the mobile terminal, and/or based on a specific request for a particular MIMO mode ... If the downlink allocation is for a restricted zone (e.g., an Alamouti -only zone), then the receiver is configured instead for an advanced space-time coding processing mode) . Regarding claims 8 and 17, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 16 respectively, Balachandran further teaches the multi-antenna wireless device includes at least three transmission antennas (Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are defined for Mobile WiMAX; these transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations collectively known as Multi-Input Multi-Output (MIMO) modes. Para. [0077]-Balachandran discloses exemplary access point 1200 is illustrated in FIG. 12, and includes two (or more) antennas) . Regarding claim 9, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 1, Balachandran further teaches providing an uplink transmission mode correlated with the first zone including two component carrier uplink carrier aggregation (CA) with two layer single user multiple in multiple out (SU-MIMO) on a first time division duplexing (TDD) component carrier and one layer SISO on a frequency division duplexing (FDD) component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time- frequency zone. Para. [0082]-Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Balachandran fails to teach defining a first zone closest to a serving access node. However, Toda teaches defining a first zone closest to a serving access node (Fig. 11, Para. [0103]-Toda discloses in the adjacent cells (cell C1 to cell CN (N; an integer not less than 2)), periods of the inner zones are synchronized and periods of the outer zones are synchronized. Fig. 2, Para. [0060]-Toda discloses the zone setting unit 103 divides a cell formed by the base station BS into two zones, the inner zone 11 and the outer zone 12, and sets the inner zone 11 and outer zone 12 which are concentrically located. The zone setting unit 103 also performs setting of zone size of the inner zone 11 and of the outer zone 12 or the like. Fig. 2, Para. [0101]-Toda discloses configuration example of cell zone ..., cells that are adjacent to each other ... the inner zone of one of the cells ... the outer zone of the other one of the cells. ... the inner zone 11 of the cell C1 ... the outer zone 22 of the cell C2) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation for a zone closest to the serving access node, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 10, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 9, Balachandran further teaches the second zone having a correlated uplink transmission mode including three component carrier CA including one layer for each of two TDD component carriers and one layer on the FDD component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0082]-Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Balachandran fails to teach defining a second zone adjacent the first zone. However, Toda teaches defining a second zone adjacent the first zone (Fig. 11, Para. [0103]-Toda discloses in the adjacent cells (cell C1 to cell CN (N; an integer not less than 2)), periods of the inner zones are synchronized and periods of the outer zones are synchronized. Fig. 2, Para. [0060]-Toda discloses the zone setting unit 103 divides a cell formed by the base station BS into two zones, the inner zone 11 and the outer zone 12, and sets the inner zone 11 and outer zone 12 which are concentrically located. The zone setting unit 103 also performs setting of zone size of the inner zone 11 and of the outer zone 12 or the like. Fig. 2, Para. [0101]-Toda discloses configuration example of cell zone ..., cells that are adjacent to each other ... the inner zone of one of the cells ... the outer zone of the other one of the cells. ... the inner zone 11 of the cell C1 ... the outer zone 22 of the cell C2) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation for an adjacent zone, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 11, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 10, Balachandran further teaches the third zone having a correlated uplink transmission mode including transmit diversity to create one layer on the first TDD component carrier and one layer on the FDD component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0082]-Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Balachandran fails to teach defining a third zone adjacent the second zone. However, Toda teaches defining a third zone adjacent the second zone (Fig. 11, Para. [0103]-Toda discloses in the adjacent cells (cell C1 to cell CN (N; an integer not less than 2)), periods of the inner zones are synchronized and periods of the outer zones are synchronized. Fig. 2, Para. [0060]-Toda discloses the zone setting unit 103 divides a cell formed by the base station BS into two zones, the inner zone 11 and the outer zone 12, and sets the inner zone 11 and outer zone 12 which are concentrically located. The zone setting unit 103 also performs setting of zone size of the inner zone 11 and of the outer zone 12 or the like. Fig. 2, Para. [0101]-Toda discloses configuration example of cell zone ..., cells that are adjacent to each other ... the inner zone of one of the cells ... the outer zone of the other one of the cells. ... the inner zone 11 of the cell C1 ... the outer zone 22 of the cell C2) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation for an adjacent zone, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 12, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the method of claim 11, Balachandran further teaches the fourth zone having a correlated uplink transmission mode with transmit diversity to create one layer on the FDD component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0082]- Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Balachandran fails to teach defining a fourth zone adjacent the third zone. However, Toda teaches defining a fourth zone adjacent the third zone (Fig. 11, Para. [0103]-Toda discloses in the adjacent cells (cell C1 to cell CN (N; an integer not less than 2)), periods of the inner zones are synchronized and periods of the outer zones are synchronized. Fig. 2, Para. [0060]-Toda discloses the zone setting unit 103 divides a cell formed by the base station BS into two zones, the inner zone 11 and the outer zone 12, and sets the inner zone 11 and outer zone 12 which are concentrically located. The zone setting unit 103 also performs setting of zone size of the inner zone 11 and of the outer zone 12 or the like. Fig. 2, Para. [0101]-Toda discloses configuration example of cell zone ..., cells that are adjacent to each other ... the inner zone of one of the cells ... the outer zone of the other one of the cells. ... the inner zone 11 of the cell C1 ... the outer zone 22 of the cell C2) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation for an adjacent zone, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 15, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the system of claim 13, Balachandran further teaches defining multiple zones within a cell (Figs. 7-8, Para. [0041-0044]-Balachandran discloses the index k in Equation (4) represents the k- th user in a cellular system … Dynamic switching is expected to be used among users in the same zone, although the specification does allow for the allocated bandwidth to be in a different zone) and defining an uplink transmission mode for each antenna based on the zone of the multi-antenna wireless device (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses selecting a preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone, and transmitting to the access point a MIMO mode request message identifying the preferred MIMO transmission mode ..., selecting the preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone may comprise estimating a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio for received signals based on the availability of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) . Balachandran fails to teach each zone is defined based on a distance from a serving access node. However, Toda teaches each zone is defined based on a distance from a serving access node (Para. [0071]-Toda discloses using path loss model, a propagation distance that provides path loss corresponding to a beamforming gain calculated with the expression (1) is calculated back, and the calculated propagation distance is set as a zone size of the outer zone 12) . Toda is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on cell zones, with a motivation to define zones based on a distance from a serving access node, and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 18, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches a wireless device comprising: three transmission antennas; at least one receiving antenna; and a processor executing instructions to perform operations (Figs. 9-11, Para. [0008]-Balachandran discloses methods and apparatus for allocating time-frequency resources to mobile terminals in a wireless communications system in which time-frequency resources may be selectively used according to a first multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) transmission scheme or a second MIMO transmission scheme that differs from the first MIMO transmission scheme. Methods and apparatus for processing received data transmitted by an access point according to a MIMO scheme, such as a space-time coding scheme. Fig. 6, Para. [0064]-Balachandran discloses baseband and control processing circuit 540 further includes memory 630 (which may also be implemented, in full or in part, on a single ASIC, along with the processors 610 and other hardware 620, or with separate components), configured with program code for execution by processors 610. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations) including; receiving an instruction to execute uplink transmissions based on one of four zones correlated with the wireless device location (Para. [0074]-Balachandran discloses detecting an assigned time-frequency zone from a downlink allocation map transmitted by the access point, and comparing the assigned time-frequency zone to a pre-configured zone identifier corresponding to the restricted time-frequency zone and stored in memory of the mobile terminal. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations. Para. [0057]-Balachandran discloses MAP region 843, and data region 836), an Alamouti -only zone 838, an additional MIMO zone 840 allocated to spatial multiplexing users and other users (labeled "SM and mixed user"), and one or more other zones. Para. [0036]-Balachandran discloses one or more additional zones 316 of various types; the beginning of each zone is indicated by so-called zone switch information elements in the DL-MAP) ; and performing an uplink transmission mode for each of the three transmission antennas of the wireless device based on the received instruction (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses selecting a preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone, and transmitting to the access point a MIMO mode request message identifying the preferred MIMO transmission mode ..., selecting the preferred MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone may comprise estimating a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio for received signals based on the availability of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations. Para. [0037]-Balachandran discloses transmission formats are defined for Mobile WiMAX; these transmission formats are selectively applied based on the signal processing capabilities of the base station and the mobile station, as well as on the number of antennas deployed at each radio. Among these transmission formats are included several multi-antenna configurations collectively known as Multi-Input Multi-Output (MIMO) modes. Para. [0077]-Balachandran discloses exemplary access point 1200 is illustrated in FIG. 12, and includes two (or more) antennas) . Balachandran fails to teach reporting information enabling identification of a location of the wireless device. However, Toda teaches reporting information enabling identification of a location of the wireless device (Fig. 3, Para. [0061]-Toda discloses the determination unit 104 determines whether the mobile station MS is located in the inner zone 11 or the outer zone 12, on the basis of a predetermined criterion. Specifically, the determination unit 104 determines whether the mobile station MS is located in the inner zone 11 or the outer zone 12, by using at least one of path loss, received signal strength (RSSI), a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), or an amount of interference which are estimated during communications with the mobile stations MS. Para. [0017]-Toda discloses setting an inner zone and an outer zone by dividing a cell formed by the base station into two; determining whether a mobile station is located in the inner zone or the outer zone, on the basis of a predetermined criterion) . Balachnadran and Toda are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication technology, dealing with a base station having plural antenna elements, and a radio communication method used in the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Balachandran to incorporate the teachings of Toda on device location, with a motivation to report information enabling identification of a location of the wireless device , and ensure allowing mobile stations to perform stable communications at a cell edge of the base station including multiple antenna elements, (Toda, Para. [0034]). Regarding claim 19, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the wireless device of claim 18, Balachandran further teaches performing uplink transmissions in a first zone closest to a serving access node by including two component carrier uplink carrier aggregation (CA) with two layer single user multiple in multiple out (SU-MIMO) on a first time division duplexing (TDD) component carrier and one layer SISO on a frequency division duplexing (FDD) component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0082]-Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Regarding claim 20, Balachandran in view of Toda, teaches the wireless device of claim 19, Balachandran further teaches performing uplink transmission in a fourth zone furthers from the serving access node with transmit diversity to create one layer on the FDD component carrier (Para. [0075]-Balachandran discloses MIMO transmission mode based at least in part on the presence of the restricted time-frequency zone. Para. [0082]-Balachandran discloses allocated time-frequency resources are uplink time-frequency resources, the method may further comprise processing signals received in the first pre-determined time-frequency zone according to a first receiver processing mode. Para. [0035]-Balachandran discloses 10 MHz carrier consisting of 864 used subcarriers and 160 guard subcarriers in a single OFDMA symbol is divided into 48 subchannels. The subchannel definition is identical for the downlink and uplink directions in a band AMC zone - (See also Para. [0003]). Para. [0007]-Balachandran discloses WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 Alamouti space-time coding scheme, which represents a single-stream MIMO transmission. In addition, WiMAX supports a 2.times.2 spatial multiplexing mode, which represents a two-stream MIMO transmission. Para. [0062]-Balachandran discloses Mobile terminal 500 is equipped with two (or more) antennas 550, enabling the receiver to process spatially multiplexed signals (e.g. 2.times.2) as well as Alamouti -coded signals. Mobile terminal 500 includes a conventional duplexer/switch 510 (a frequency duplexer is used in systems using frequency-division duplexing; a switch used for time-division duplexing systems). Para. [0029]-Balachandran discloses frame structures for Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployments of the OFDMA PHY layer ... a PUSC zone, the 10 MHz downlink signal is divided into subchannels composed of 28 subcarriers in frequency spanning a slot of 2 OFDMA symbols. Each OFDMA symbol has 840 used subcarriers (composed of data and pilots), as well as 184 guard subcarriers. Each downlink subchannel reserves 4 of 28 subcarriers for pilot symbols. The downlink PUSC zone contains 30 subchannels) . Conclusion Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure. Barabell et al. (US 20160037550 A1) -discloses Using the signature vectors of the active UEs, RF zones can be created within the cell. Each RF zone represents a physical zone in which UEs have similar signature vectors such that, if these UEs are served on the same resource block, the interference among these UEs will exceed a predetermined threshold. In some implementations, each active UE belongs to one and only one RF zone. UEs in different RF zones may be assigned to be served using the same resource block. The total number of RF zones to be created can be predetermined, e.g., based on predicted needs, or determined dynamically based on real-time needs. For example, there can be J times n RF zones for a cell, where n is a positive integer and J is the number of RUs. In some implementations, each RF zone has an area that is smaller than the total coverage provided by a single RU. For example, when a cell has 16 RUs, there can be 128 RF zones…. …Fig. 1-5 Jin et al. (US 20090086855 A1) -discloses (in Para. [0017]) BS {Base station} 110 may use the CINR that the MS (Mobile Station) 120(1) computed to adjust one or more modulation and/or coding parameters associated with future wireless transmissions to the MS 120(1), such as estimating effective CINR values, selection of modulation and coding modes or parameters, and selection of transmission modes among a plurality of transmissions modes including, for example, space time code (STC), multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO), selection of Partial Usage of Subchannels (PUSC) or Adaptive Modulation and Coding (AMC) zones transmission modes (e.g., in a WiMAX communication system), calculating the beamforming weights for uplink transmission, adjusting preceding parameters for downlink transmission. …. …Fig. 1-5 Yun et al. (US 20120134440 A1) -discloses method of operation of a transmitting node in an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) communication system is provided. The method includes generating a frame including a plurality of physical layer zones, each of the plurality of physical layer zones applying different Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) sizes and different pilot patterns; and transmitting the frame.… …Fig. 1-5 Kim et al. (US 20140233525 A1) -discloses method for a base station to transmit a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) for a control channel in a wireless communication system is disclosed. The method includes transmitting a DMRS for an Enhanced-Physical Downlink Control Channel (E-PDCCH) to a user equipment, wherein a DMRS sequence corresponding to the transmitted DMRS is formed using an initial sequence calculated based on a virtual cell ID…. …Fig. 1-5 Chung et al. (US 20120014349 A1) -discloses method and to an apparatus for transmitting an SRS in a multi-antenna system. The method comprises the steps of: acquiring specific information for discriminating a first antenna group and a second antenna group from among a plurality of antennas, wherein said first antenna group includes one or more antennas which are set to a turned-on state to perform communication with a base station, and said second antenna group includes one or more other antennas which are set to a turned-off state; transmitting an SRS to the base station if a predetermined condition is satisfied, under the condition that the second antenna group is set to the turned-off state; and setting the second antenna group to a turned-off state after the transmission of the SRS…. …Fig. 1-5 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5377 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday: 07:30am - 05:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s SPE, NICHOLAS A. JENSEN can be reached on (571) 270-5443. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2472 /NICHOLAS A JENSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472