DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/540299 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 12/14/23
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1,16 and 20 states, …at least one TCI state identifier indicating at least one TCI state indicated by a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; …. It is unclear what is meant by TCI state indicated by a downlink-or-joint TCI state list….. This leaves one of ordinary skill in the art wondering if the downlink-or-joint TCI state has a combined special meaning, a downlink TCI state or joint TCI state or some other meaning. The specification discloses, The downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter may comprise a downlink-or-joint TCI state parameter (e.g., a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter, such as dl-OrJointTCI-StateToAddModList in FIG. 20C) indicating one or more TCI states. The wireless device may receive and/or measure and/or assess the one or more reference signals based on at least one TCI state, among the one or more TCI states indicated and/or configured by the downlink-or-joint TCI state parameter, identified and/or indicated by the at least one TCI state index and/or identifier. Each TCI state index of the at least one TCI state index and/or identifier may indicate and/or identify a respective TCI state of the at least one TCI state.. (see paragraph [0201]) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over DA Muruganathan et al. (WO2022024079A) in view of NPL- 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116bis Electronic R2-2201921
Regarding claim 1, Muruganathan teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters of a cell, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise: a list of a periodic trigger state configurations for a periodic channel state information (CSI) reporting; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0034] explains …. For aperiodic CSI reporting, a list of trigger states (given by the higher layer parameters CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList). Fig.5 , 12) and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration parameter that comprises a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state reference parameter indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) of a reference cell; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) receiving downlink control information (DCI) comprising a CSI request field, wherein the CSI request field indicates an a periodic trigger state configuration of the list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the a periodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one TCI state identifier indicating at least one TCI state indicated by a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027],[0034], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) and a resource set parameter indicating one or more reference signals; (see Muruganathan paragraph[0032]-[0034], [0098]…. an example of a higher layer parameter that enables a User Equipment (UE) to receive aperiodic CSI-RS using the TCI state activated for a scheduling Control Resource Set (CORESET)..) receiving, based on the at least one TCI state indicated by the at least one TCI state identifier, the one or more reference signals; (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) and transmitting a CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more reference signals. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0034] explains… For aperiodic CSI reporting, a list of trigger states (given by the higher layer parameters CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList). As shown in Figure 5, each CSI-AperiodicTriggerState in CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList contains a list of associated CSI-ReportConfigs given by CSI-AssociatedReportConfiglnfo. Each such CSI-AssociatedReportConfiglnfo provides the following… qcl-info - a list of reference TCI-States for providing QCL source and QCL type for each NZP CSI-RS in resourceSet for channel measurement. Note that the field qcl-info is mandatory present if the NZP CSI-RS resources in the associated resourceSet are aperiodic. If the CSI-RS resources in the associated resourceSet are not aperiodic, then the qcl-info field is absent. Also see paragraphs [0051]-[0053],[0128],[0145]-[0147])
While it can be understood Muruganathan explains TC state identifier as explained above
However to further clarify this limitation analogous art 3GPP section 3.4 page 30 explains…The CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList IE is used to configure the UE with a list of aperiodic trigger states. Each codepoint of the DCI field "CSI request" is associated… page 34 explains….In addition the detail of TCI state per resource within resource set should be configured by RRC signaling i.e. the qcl into should not be absent. In case unified TCI state is extended based on current TCI state, current qcl-info can be reused, whose TCI state id actually refers to one joint/DL TCI state. In case aperiodic CSI RS need follow beam indication in DCI, then these TCI state ids can be absent. So we think current wording of the IE should be fine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve configuration of UL/DL/joint TCI transmission (see section 3.1)
Regarding claim 2, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches where in each TCI state identifier of the at least one TCI state identifier indicates a respective TCI state of the at least one TCI state, and wherein the CSI report comprises each radio link quality, of the one or more radio link qualities, of a respective reference signal of the one or more reference signals. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling; see 3GPP section 3.3 page 34)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more second configuration parameters of the reference cell, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters comprise: a second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations for aperiodic CSI reporting associated with the reference cell; and a PDSCH configuration parameter, of the reference cell, that comprises the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; receiving second DCI comprising a second CSI request field, wherein the second CSI request field indicates a second aperiodic trigger state configuration in the second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the second aperiodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one second TCI state identifier indicating at least one second TCI state indicated by the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; and a second resource set parameter indicating one or more second reference signals; receiving, based on the at least one second TCI state indicated by the at least one second TCI state identifier, the one or more second reference signals; and transmitting a second CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more second reference signals.(see paragraphs [0053],[0058], [0069],[0075],[0080],[0127] explains second aperiodic csi-rs….)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more second configuration parameters of a second cell, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters comprise: a second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations for aperiodic CSI reporting associated with the second cell; and a PDSCH configuration parameter, of the second cell, that comprises a TCI state list parameter of the second cell and does not comprise a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter; receiving second DCI comprising a second CSI request field, wherein the second CSI request field indicates a second aperiodic trigger state configuration in the second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the second aperiodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one second TCI state identifier indicating at least one second TCI state indicated by the TCI state list parameter of the second cell; and a second resource set parameter indicating one or more second reference signals; receiving, based on the at least one second TCI state indicated by the at least one second TCI state identifier, the one or more second reference signals; and transmitting a second CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more second reference signals. .(see paragraphs [0053],[0058], [0069],[0075],[0080],[0127] explains second aperiodic csi-rs….)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 4, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the TCI state list parameter of the second cell comprises a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the second cell, and wherein the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter comprises a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell. (See paragraphs [0037],[0047], [0058],[0069],[0075],[0132] explains TCI with downlink)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the DCI is configured to trigger transmission of an aperiodic CSI report, wherein the one or more reference signals are associated with the cell.(See paragraphs [0037],[0038] explains also paragraphs [0123]-[0125],[0144],[0145] explains DCI triggers aperiodic CSI)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration parameter does not comprise a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the cell based on the unified TCI state reference parameter being present in the PDSCH configuration parameter. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Regarding claim 8, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration parameter does not comprise a TCI state list parameter based on the PDSCH configuration parameter comprising a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter, and wherein the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter comprises the unified TCI state reference parameter. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Regarding claim 9, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the unified TCI state reference parameter comprises: a cell index identifying the reference cell; and a BWP index identifying the reference BWP. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP section 3.6 explains BWP index and reference signal)
Regarding claim 10, Muruganathan teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters of a cell, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise: a list of aperiodic trigger state configurations for aperiodic channel state information (CSI) reporting; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0034] explains …. For aperiodic CSI reporting, a list of trigger states (given by the higher layer parameters CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList) and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration parameter that comprises a downlink-or-joint transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state list parameter indicating one or more TCI states; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) receiving downlink control information (DCI) comprising a CSI request field, wherein the CSI request field indicates an aperiodic trigger state configuration in the list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the aperiodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one TCI state identifier indicating at least one TCI state among the one or more TCI states indicated by the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) and a resource set parameter indicating one or more reference signals; (see Muruganathan paragraph[0032]-[0034], [0098]…. an example of a higher layer parameter that enables a User Equipment (UE) to receive aperiodic CSI-RS using the TCI state activated for a scheduling Control Resource Set (CORESET)..) receiving, based on the at least one TCI state indicated by the at least one TCI state identifier, the one or more reference signals; and transmitting a CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more reference signals. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0034] explains… For aperiodic CSI reporting, a list of trigger states (given by the higher layer parameters CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList). As shown in Figure 5, each CSI-AperiodicTriggerState in CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList contains a list of associated CSI-ReportConfigs given by CSI-AssociatedReportConfiglnfo. Each such CSI-AssociatedReportConfiglnfo provides the following… qcl-info - a list of reference TCI-States for providing QCL source and QCL type for each NZP CSI-RS in resourceSet for channel measurement. Note that the field qcl-info is mandatory present if the NZP CSI-RS resources in the associated resourceSet are aperiodic. If the CSI-RS resources in the associated resourceSet are not aperiodic, then the qcl-info field is absent. Also see paragraphs [0051]-[0053],[0128],[0145]-[0147])
While it can be understood Muruganathan explains TC state identifier as explained above
However to further clarify this limitation analogous art 3GPP section 3.4 page 30 explains…The CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList IE is used to configure the UE with a list of aperiodic trigger states. Each codepoint of the DCI field "CSI request" is associated… page 34 explains….In addition the detail of TCI state per resource within resource set should be configured by RRC signaling i.e. the qcl into should not be absent. In case unified TCI state is extended based on current TCI state, current qcl-info can be reused, whose TCI state id actually refers to one joint/DL TCI state. In case aperiodic CSI RS need follow beam indication in DCI, then these TCI state ids can be absent. So we think current wording of the IE should be fine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan with 3GPP . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve configuration of UL/DL/joint TCI transmission (see 3.1)
Regarding claim 11, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more second configuration parameters of a second cell, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters comprise: a second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations for aperiodic CSI reporting associated with the second cell; and a PDSCH configuration parameter, of the second cell, that comprises a unified TCI state reference parameter indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) of a reference cell, wherein the cell is the reference cell; receiving second DCI comprising a second CSI request field, wherein the second CSI request field indicates a second aperiodic trigger state configuration in the second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the second aperiodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one second TCI state identifier indicating at least one second TCI state indicated by the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter; and a second resource set parameter indicating one or more second reference signals; receiving, based on the at least one second TCI state indicated by the at least one second TCI state identifier, the one or more second reference signals; and transmitting a second CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more second reference signals. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling; see 3GPP section 3.3 page 34)
Regarding claim 12, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more second configuration parameters of a second cell, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters comprise: a second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations for aperiodic CSI reporting associated with the second cell; and a PDSCH configuration parameter, of the second cell, that comprises a TCI state list parameter of the second cell and does not comprise a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter; receiving second DCI comprising a second CSI request field, wherein the second CSI request field indicates a second aperiodic trigger state configuration in the second list of aperiodic trigger state configurations, and wherein the second aperiodic trigger state configuration comprises: at least one second TCI state identifier indicating at least one second TCI state indicated by the TCI state list parameter of the second cell; and a second resource set parameter indicating one or more second reference signals; receiving, based on the at least one second TCI state indicated by the at least one second TCI state identifier, the one or more second reference signals; and transmitting a second CSI report indicating one or more radio link qualities of the one or more second reference signals. (see paragraphs [0053],[0058], [0069],[0075],[0080],[0127] explains second aperiodic csi-rs….)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 12, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the TCI state list parameter of the second cell comprises a TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the second cell, and wherein the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter comprises a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the cell. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0037],[0047], [0058],[0069],[0075],[0132] explains TCI with downlink)
Regarding claim 14, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration parameter does not comprise a TCI state list parameter based on the PDSCH configuration parameter comprising the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Regarding claim 15, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter comprise either a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the cell or a unified TCI state reference parameter indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) of a reference cell. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Regarding claim 16, Muruganathan teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters of a cell, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration parameter that comprises a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state reference parameter indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) of a reference cell; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) and a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration comprising: a reference signal index indicating a reference signal; (see Muruganathan paragraph [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored) and a TCI state identifier indicating a TCI state indicated by a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; (see Muruganathan paragraph[0032]-[0034], [0098]…. an example of a higher layer parameter that enables a User Equipment (UE) to receive aperiodic CSI-RS using the TCI state activated for a scheduling Control Resource Set (CORESET)..) and receiving, based on the TCI state indicated by the TCI state identifier, the reference signal. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling. The single list of TCI states in this case are configured as part of for example the PDSCH-Config or the BWP-UplinkDedicated information elements….. when receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS, the UE applies the QCL assumption (i.e., the TCI state) used for the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest control ResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored; Also see paragraphs [0051]-[0053],[0128],[0145]-[0147]))
While it can be understood Muruganathan explains TC state identifier as explained above
However to further clarify this limitation analogous art 3GPP section 3.4 page 30 explains…The CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList IE is used to configure the UE with a list of aperiodic trigger states. Each codepoint of the DCI field "CSI request" is associated… page 34 explains….In addition the detail of TCI state per resource within resource set should be configured by RRC signaling i.e. the qcl into should not be absent. In case unified TCI state is extended based on current TCI state, current qcl-info can be reused, whose TCI state id actually refers to one joint/DL TCI state. In case aperiodic CSI RS need follow beam indication in DCI, then these TCI state ids can be absent. So we think current wording of the IE should be fine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan with 3GPP . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve configuration of UL/DL/joint TCI transmission (see 3.1)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting one or more CSI reports indicating one or more radio link qualities of the reference signal. (see Muruganathan paragraphs [0027], [0038] explains …. In another case, the same list of TCI states is used for DL and UL, hence the UE is configured with a single list of TCI states which can be used for both UL and DL scheduling; see 3GPP section 3.3 page 34)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more second configuration parameters of the reference cell, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters comprise: a PDSCH configuration parameter, of the reference cell, that comprises the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; and a second CSI-RS resource configuration comprising: a second reference signal index indicating a second reference signal; and a second TCI state identifier indicating a second TCI state indicated by the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter of the reference BWP of the reference cell; and receiving, based on the second TCI state indicated by the second TCI state identifier, the second reference signal; and transmitting one or more CSI reports indicating one or more radio link qualities of the second reference signal. (see paragraphs [0053],[0058], [0069],[0075],[0080],[0127] explains second csi-rs….)
Regarding claim 19, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration parameter does not comprise a downlink-or-joint TCI state addition-or-modification parameter of the cell based on the unified TCI state reference parameter being present in the PDSCH configuration parameter. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Regarding claim 20, the modified Muruganathan taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Muruganathan further teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration parameter does not comprise a TCI state addition-or-modification parameter based on the PDSCH configuration parameter comprising a downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter, and wherein the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter comprises the unified TCI state reference parameter. (See Muruganathan paragraphs [0019],[0025], [0027],[0038],[0159] explains TCI state with cell and coresetpool index BWP; 3GPP page 8 explains For joint unified TCI state operation every other Tn would be set to 0. Q1. Which option companies prefer? Option 1 Separate TCI state lists for joint/DL and UL in PDSCHConfig and UL BWP,…page 21 explains… As the parameter is to be configured only for serving cells that are configured with unified TCI state the placing per cell group does not seem that clean. The remaining options are per serving cell, or per BWP either in BWP-DownlinkCommor or in PDSCH-Config. There seems to be consensus in keeping the BAT in PDSCHConfig and clarifying in the field description that it should have same value for all servingcells with given SCS. In this way, it is also natural that it is configured only with serving cells configurted with unified TCI state. …page 71 explains RAN2 assumes that unified TCI state related parameters for DL and Joint is implemented iin IE PDSCH-Config )
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478