DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the stand-by power source comprises any one of a generator and a grid network onboard the marine vessel, and a stand-alone power storage device associated with the TRU". It is unclear if the combination is any one of a generator, a grid network, and/or power storage device, or if the intent is always inclusive of the stand-alone power storage device, in addition to one or both of the generator or grid network. The meaning of the term is not clear from the claims or specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates et al, US Patent Pub US 20150338858 A1 (hereinafter Bates) in view of Saenz et al, US Patent Pub US 20130271290 A1 (hereinafter Saenz).
Claim 1
Bates teaches a system for automatically switching from a first power mode to a second power mode of a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) (Bates, para 34 – Modifying TRU control parameters to control power usage/”switch from a first mode to a second mode”.), the system comprising: a processor communicably coupled to a memory storing instructions executable by the processor and configured to: activate a geo-fencing mode of the TRU operating in the first power mode, wherein the activation of the geo-fencing mode triggers a continuous and automatic determination of geo-location coordinates of the TRU (Bates, para 27, 33-34, 40 – Dynamic/”continuous and automatic” updating of the location system/”active geo-fencing mode” while being powered by an internal combustion engine by the controller/”processor and memory”.); automatically switch from the first power mode to the second power mode for the TRU based on a positive determination (Bates, para 40 - The TRU controller can switch the operation modes when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.), wherein the first power mode corresponds to a combustion-driven power source (Bates, para 45 - Power take-off directly from tractor engine/”combustion driven power source”.) and the second power mode corresponds to a stand-by power source. (Bates, para 21 – A second power source that is a battery/”stand-by power source”.)
But Bates fails to specify determine if the TRU is on board a marine vessel in a first geographical region responsive to the activation of the geo-fencing mode.
However Saenz teaches determine if the TRU is on board a marine vessel in a first geographical region responsive to the activation of the geo-fencing mode. (Saenz, para 60 – Determining if the refrigeration unit is on board a ship/”marine vessel”.)
Bates and Saenz are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to transport refrigeration unit systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above transport refrigeration unit system, as taught by Bates, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Saenz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide communication and control of a TRU through the entire transit time by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Saenz (para 10).
This rejection also applies to claims 12 and 20.
Claim 2
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches determine the geo-location coordinates of the TRU based on a first set of data received from a geo-positioning server in communication with the system; and determine whether the geo-location coordinates indicate a location of the TRU within the first geographical region. (Bates, para 40 - The TRU controller determines the geo-location coordinates of the TRU to determine if the operation modes need to be switched when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.)
This rejection also applies to claim 13.
Claim 3
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Saenz further teaches the first set of data comprises global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the TRU and geo-fencing metadata associated with the first geographical region. (Saenz, para 62, 66 – GPS coordinates of the TRU and positioning data/metadata associated with the geographical position/region.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above transport refrigeration unit system, as taught by Bates and Saenz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Saenz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide communication and control of a TRU through the entire transit time by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Saenz (para 10).
Claim 4
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches determine whether the geo-fencing mode is activated or not during the operation of the TRU in the first power mode. (Bates, para 40 – Switching/activating the operation modes when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.)
Claim 5
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches activates the geo-fencing mode of the TRU in response to a user input. (Bates, para 14 - The geographic region(s) can be predefined/activated based on customer desire/”user input”.)
Claim 6
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches activates the geo-fencing mode of the TRU in response to an automatic determination of whether the TRU is within the first geographical region. (Bates, para 14 – The geo fencing is activated based on if the TRS is operating within a predefined geographic region.)
This rejection also applies to claim 15.
Claim 7
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches the stand-by power source comprises any one of a generator and a grid network onboard the marine vessel, and a stand-alone power storage device associated with the TRU. (Bates, para 19-21 - The transport refrigeration unit includes a generator and a battery/”stand alone power storage”.)
Claim 8
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Saenz further teaches display on a display device information associated with a current mode of operation of the TRU, wherein the current mode of operation corresponds to one of the first power mode or the second power mode. (Saenz, para 31 – Displaying the conditions/power mode of the TRU on a mobile device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above transport refrigeration unit system, as taught by Bates and Saenz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Saenz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide communication and control of a TRU through the entire transit time by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Saenz (para 10).
This rejection also applies to claim 16.
Claim 9
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Saenz further teaches provide one or more of an audio annunciator output and a visual annunciator output when the processor automatically switches from the first power mode to the second power mode for the TRU. (Saenz, para 31 – Displaying/”visual annunciator” the conditions/power mode of the TRU on a mobile device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above transport refrigeration unit system, as taught by Bates and Saenz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Saenz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide communication and control of a TRU through the entire transit time by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Saenz (para 10).
This rejection also applies to claim 17.
Claim 10
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches determine if the TRU is outside of the first geographical region; and automatically switch from the second power mode to the first power mode for the TRU based at least in part on the determination that the TRU is outside of the first geographical region. (Bates, para 40 - The TRU controller determines the geo-location coordinates of the TRU to determine if the operation modes need to be switched when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.)
This rejection also applies to claim 18.
Claim 11
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches automatically switch from the second power mode to the first power mode for the TRU based at least in part on the determination that the combustion-driven power source is connected to the TRU subsequent to a positive determination that the TRU is outside of the first geographical region. (Bates, para 40 - The TRU controller determines the geo-location coordinates of the TRU to determine if the operation modes need to be switched when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.)
This rejection also applies to claim 19.
Claim 14
The combination of Bates and Saenz teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Bates and Saenz further teaches wherein the method further comprising determining, by the geo-fencing activation engine, whether the geo-fencing mode is activated or not during the operation of the TRU in the first power mode. (Bates, para 40 – Switching/activating the operation modes when the TRU is in different geo-fence zones.)
Saenz further teaches the first set of data comprises global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the TRU and geo-fencing metadata associated with the first geographical region. (Saenz, para 62, 66 – GPS coordinates of the TRU and positioning data/metadata associated with the geographical position/region.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above transport refrigeration unit system, as taught by Bates and Saenz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Saenz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide communication and control of a TRU through the entire transit time by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Saenz (para 10).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adetola et al, US Patent Pub US 20190283541 A1 relates to claims regarding a system for managing power in a transport refrigeration unit, visual interface, predetermined geographic mission locations, GPS, dynamic location updating, and a TRU battery and a TRU engine.
Sanders et al, US Patent Pub US 20120000212 A1 relates to claims regarding a transport refrigeration system with a geographic location system.
Adetola et al, US Patent Pub US 20190283530 A1 relates to claims regarding managing power in a transport refrigeration unit, predetermined geographic mission locations, GPS, dynamic location updating, and a TRU battery and a TRU engine.
Crilly, US Patent Pub US 20100274604 A1 relates to claims regarding a system for position based tracking of operation of a transport refrigeration unit, GPS location systems, and power sources including diesel power and on standby electric power.
Conclusion
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119