Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1 analysis for all claims:
In the instant case, claims 1-10 are directed to a process, claims 11-19 are directed to a machine and claim 20 is directed to a manufacture. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
the predictive process utilizing, at least in part, an extreme gradient boosting function, wherein the predictive process is trained to input properties and output prediction events through at least an iteration of a training phase of the extreme gradient boosting function; and; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation encompasses a Mathematical Concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculations).
generating, from the predictive process, a prediction event including a period of time, wherein the prediction event is indicative of a time to complete the digital request As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses analyzing a digital request and coming up a duration of time it takes to finish the request.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
Receiving, at a computing device, a digital request from an order management system of an entity; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
obtaining, by the computing device, a property of the digital request, wherein the property includes a time to complete the digital request; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
inputting, by the computing device, the property into the predictive process, which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
the computing device; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
Receiving … a digital request from an order management system of an entity; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
obtaining, by the computing device, a property of the digital request, wherein the property includes a time to complete the digital request; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
inputting, by the computing device, the property into the predictive process; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
the computing device; Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 2:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
wherein the property includes a queue position of the digital request.; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
wherein the property includes a queue position of the digital request.; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
wherein receiving the digital request further comprises receiving the digital request at the order management system of the entity from a smartphone of a user; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
wherein receiving the digital request further comprises receiving the digital request at the order management system of the entity from a smartphone of a user.; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 4:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
wherein the entity is a food service entity; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
wherein the entity is a food service entity; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 5:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
updating, by the predictive process, the prediction event based, at least in part, on the real-time condition.; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses using real time information to update the guess of how long the request will take.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
receiving, at the computing device, a real-time condition; and; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
receiving, at the computing device, a real-time condition; and; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 6:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
wherein the real-time condition includes at least traffic data; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
wherein the real-time condition includes at least traffic data; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 7:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
classifying, by a classifier, the digital request to a complexity category; and; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses analyzing how difficult the digital request is and putting it into a category.
generating, based at least in part by the complexity category, the prediction event.; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses using the category of how hard the request to predict how long it will take.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
There are no additional elements that individually or in combination integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
There are no additional elements individually or in combination that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 8:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
wherein the property includes at least one of the following: a time of day; a time of week; or a combination thereof.; which amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
wherein the property includes at least one of the following: a time of day; a time of week; or a combination thereof.; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 9:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
providing, at a first time, as input to the predictive process a first set of properties of the digital request; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a first prediction event for providing the digital request as of the first time; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
providing, at a second time, as input to the predictive process, a second set of properties of the digital request, wherein one or more properties in the second set of properties is different from one or more corresponding properties in the first set of properties; and; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a second prediction event for providing the digital request as of the second time. which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
providing, at a first time, as input to the predictive process a first set of properties of the digital request; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a first prediction event for providing the digital request as of the first time; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
providing, at a second time, as input to the predictive process, a second set of properties of the digital request, wherein one or more properties in the second set of properties is different from one or more corresponding properties in the first set of properties; and; This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a second prediction event for providing the digital request as of the second time. This limitation is directed to receiving input at an interface on a computing device, wherein the input comprises a dataset, an analysis for the dataset, and an output medium which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 10:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
making available the prediction event for displaying through a display device. Which amount amounts to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
making available the prediction event for displaying through a display device. These limitations also amount to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 11:
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 1 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
An order prediction system; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
a processor; and which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, the memory having instructions for the processor to; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
An order prediction system; Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
a processor; and Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, the memory having instructions for the processor to; Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 2 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 3 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 4 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 5 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 16:
Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 6 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 17:
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 7 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 8 other than additional elements and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 19:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
calculates a ranked list of properties of the digital request in order of impact on the prediction event; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses analyzing the different properties and ordering based on how much they affect the duration prediction.
This limitation could also encompasses a Mathematical Concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculations).
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
processor; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
processor; Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 20:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
predict a lead time for providing a new customer order associated with the food service entity; As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses analyzing the customer’s order and predicting how long it’ll take until the customer receives their order.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, upon execution by a processor, cause the processor to:; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive a set of properties for a plurality of historical customer orders associated with a food service entity,;
wherein the set of properties comprises a set of characteristics of a particular historical customer order of the plurality of historical customer orders, a set of real-time conditions relating to the historical customer order, and a lead time for providing the historical customer order; and; which amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
train a machine learning process, using the set of properties; which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, upon execution by a processor, cause the processor to; Computer elements are recited at a high-level of generality such and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive a set of properties for a plurality of historical customer orders associated with a food service entity,; which amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
wherein the set of properties comprises a set of characteristics of a particular historical customer order of the plurality of historical customer orders, a set of real-time conditions relating to the historical customer order, and a lead time for providing the historical customer order; and; As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
train a machine learning process, using the set of properties,; The machine learning model is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The training of the machine learning model is recited at a high-level of generality with no detail of the training process such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Berk et al. (US20210142274A1, hereinafter Berk) in view of Chen et al. (“XGBoost: A Scalable Tree Boosting System”, hereinafter Chen).
Claim 1:
Berk teaches:
A method of event prediction using a predictive process, the method comprising:
Berk [0049] In various embodiments, the delivery platform may determine the estimated time arrival (ETA) of delivery of the order to the customer once the order has been placed.
EN: this reads on a method of food delivery event prediction
receiving, at a computing device, a digital request from an order management system of an entity;
Berk [0050] With reference to FIG. 2, shown is an example timeline 200 of delivery events associated with real-time on-demand delivery of perishable goods, in accordance with one or more embodiments. Timeline 200 depicts the various events that occur when an order is placed by a customer on a merchant timeline 210 and a courier timeline 211.
EN: order placed by customer reads on a digital request
[0050] In various embodiments, the events in timeline 200 may be tracked via transmission between a server system and a client devices associated with one or more couriers, merchants, and/or customers, which may be further described with reference to FIG. 3.
EN: Fig 2 and 3 describe the order management system
[0052] The order placement 214 event may occur when the order is received at the merchant device.
EN: the merchant device receives the digital request
obtaining, by the computing device, a property of the digital request, wherein the property includes a time to complete the digital request;
Berk [0065] In various embodiments, the functions of the network data exchange server may include routing real-time, on-demand, delivery of perishable goods, and/or predicting and dynamically updating estimated time of arrivals (ETAs) for such deliveries.
[0074] In some embodiments, updates to the order may be received at 403. In some embodiments, order updates may include addition or removal of various items in the order, cancellation of the order, changes in delivery location, etc. In some embodiments, updates to the order may be factored into the predicted ETA of order delivery.
[0093] At 506, delivery parameters corresponding to the order are received. Delivery parameters may include various factors or measurements that may affect the length of time between one or more tracked events. In various embodiments, delivery parameters may include time, date, traffic, weather, historical courier performance, and size of markets. Delivery parameters may further include the number of orders received, the number of items in an order, the type of dishes in an order, the sub-total of an order, the historical restaurant data. In various embodiments, various other parameters may be implemented in the predictive event model.
EN: this describes the obtaining of properties
inputting, by the computing device, the property into the predictive process, the predictive process utilizing, at least in part, an … gradient boosting function, wherein the predictive process is trained to input properties and output prediction events through at least an iteration of a training phase of the … gradient boosting function; and
Berk [0013] In the training mode, the programmable device is configured to pass a dataset into the predictive model. The dataset includes a series of successive training events with corresponding known time durations between events. In the training mode, the programmable device is further configured to train the predictive model to accurately and dynamically output predicted delivery durations. Training the predictive model may include inputting different combinations of events and time durations, and comparing actual time of arrivals (ATAs) with generated delivery duration predictions to allow for the predictive model to automatically and iteratively adjust weighted factors in the predictive model.
[0059] In other embodiments, the predictive event model may be a gradient boosted machine or gradient boosted decision tree.
EN: these passages read on the training of the predictive gradient boosted model
[0108] In some embodiments, a predicted ETA may be generated for each event on timelines 210 and 211.
[0165] When operating in the inference mode 960, a first event 963 is passed into the predictive model at operation 961. The first event 963 may include a first timestamp. The first event 963 may be any one of various events previously described with reference to FIG. 2. The first timestamp may correspond to a first ATA for the first event 963. Once input into the various computational layers of the predictive model, a first predicted delivery duration is automatically generated based on trained weighted factors at operation 965.
EN: predicted ETA for multiple events included order delivery, order ready event, and arrival at merchant event (Fig 6 boxes 603, 605, and 607) reads on output prediction events
generating, from the predictive process, a prediction event including a period of time, wherein the prediction event is indicative of a time to complete the digital request.
Berk [0165] When operating in the inference mode 960, a first event 963 is passed into the predictive model at operation 961. The first event 963 may include a first timestamp. The first event 963 may be any one of various events previously described with reference to FIG. 2. The first timestamp may correspond to a first ATA for the first event 963. Once input into the various computational layers of the predictive model, a first predicted delivery duration is automatically generated based on trained weighted factors at operation 965. As previously described, the first predicted delivery duration (PDD) may correspond to the estimated time for the order to be delivered, such as at order delivery 232.
EN: PDD reads on period of time that indicates when the digital request is completed
Berk teaches gradient boosting algorithm, but does not explicitly teach an extreme gradient one. However Chen teaches:
extreme gradient boosting function
Chen [pg 792 col 2] The results are shown in Table 3. Both XGBoost and scikit-learn give better performance than R’s GBM, while XGBoost runs more than 10x faster than scikit-learn.
EN: XGBoost reads on extreme gradient boosting function
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of predicting delivery order duration events of Berk with XGBoost of Chen in order to have better scalability and a faster running system.
Chen [pg 785 col 2] The most important factor behind the success of XGBoost is its scalability in all scenarios. The system runs more than ten times faster than existing popular solutions on a single machine and scales to billions of examples in distributed or memory-limited settings.
Claim 3:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Berk teaches:
wherein receiving the digital request further comprises receiving the digital request at the order management system of the entity from a smartphone of a user.
Berk [0070] In some implementations, the client devices 302-308 can be computing devices such as laptop or desktop computers, smartphones, personal digital assistants, portable media players, tablet computers, or other appropriate computing devices that can be used to communicate with an electronic social network.
Claim 4:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Berk further teaches:
wherein the entity is a food service entity.
Berk [0045] When the customer orders the food through the delivery platform, the order is prepared at a provider site, where a delivery associate will then pick up the order and deliver the order from the provider site to the customer.
[0046] As shown in FIG. 1, system 100 includes providers 100, 112, 114, and 116. According to various examples, a provider may be a merchant that prepares perishable goods such as food at a restaurant. Other such merchants may be any combination of one or more of the following: restaurants, bars, cafes, or other vendor of food or beverages, such as a hotel. Such venues may also be referred to herein as HORECA (Hotel/Restaurant/Cafe) which is a term or abbreviation used to describe entities in the food service industry.
EN: the orders are made to merchants which include different entities in the food service industry
Claim 5:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
receiving, at the computing device, a real-time condition; and
Bert [0077] In some embodiments, the location of the courier may be tracked and updated in real time. In some embodiments, the location of the courier may be tracked via the courier device, such as by using real-time GPS coordinates. In some embodiments, the location of the courier may be additionally tracked using proximity beacons.
EN: real time location coordinates are received
updating, by the predictive process, the prediction event based, at least in part, on the real-time condition.
Bert [0074] In some embodiments, updates to the order may be received at 403. In some embodiments, order updates may include addition or removal of various items in the order, cancellation of the order, changes in delivery location, etc. In some embodiments, updates to the order may be factored into the predicted ETA of order delivery. In some embodiments, a confirmation of delivery may be received from the customer device at 405.
EN: according to Fig. 4A, event updates are received and the predicted ETA is updated
[0065] In various embodiments, the functions of the network data exchange server may include routing real-time, on-demand, delivery of perishable goods, and/or predicting and dynamically updating estimated time of arrivals (ETAs) for such deliveries.
EN: real time updates are used for dynamically updated the ETA
Claim 6:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
wherein the real-time condition includes at least traffic data.
Bert [0096] In some embodiments, traffic data is updated in real-time, or constantly updated in near real-time.
Claim 7:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
classifying, by a classifier, the digital request to a complexity category; and
Bert [0098] In some embodiments, the size of markets may correspond to the number of individuals in a certain market who are potential customers, couriers, and/or merchants of a product or service. As used herein, the term market may be used to mean either a particular merchant, or a group of merchants associated with a particular product type. However, in some embodiments, the term market may refer to the total customers, couriers, and/or merchants in a given area that is part of the on-demand delivery platform. The predictive event model may identify particular market sizes as correlated with certain differences in times for order preparation or delivery. The size of markets may also correspond to new and more mature markets. For example, a newer market may be correlated with longer order preparation times, while more mature markets may be correlated with faster order preparation times.
EN: identifying a particular market size reads on classifying into a complexity category as if it’s a new market then it will take longer and be more complex
generating, based at least in part by the complexity category, the prediction event.
Bert [0098] The predictive event model may identify particular market sizes as correlated with certain differences in times for order preparation or delivery.
EN: market sizes help predict ETA as a an estimated longer prep time / actual longer prep time leads to a later ETA
Claim 8:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
wherein the property includes at least one of the following: a time of day; a time of week; or a combination thereof.
Bert [0095] For example, certain dates may fall on holidays that are historically known to be busy days. Thus, certain holidays may be correlated with increased traffic or increased number of orders placed. Additionally, certain times of the day may be associated with heavier traffic, such as during rush hours. In some embodiments, the time of day is a parameter that is continuously updated in real-time and input into the predictive event model.
EN: this reads a time of day as a property that is used to update the ETA/PDD
Claim 9:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Berk further teaches:
providing, at a first time, as input to the predictive process a first set of properties of the digital request;
Berk [0093] At 506, delivery parameters corresponding to the order are received. Delivery parameters may include various factors or measurements that may affect the length of time between one or more tracked events. In various embodiments, delivery parameters may include time, date, traffic, weather, historical courier performance, and size of markets. Delivery parameters may further include the number of orders received, the number of items in an order, the type of dishes in an order, the sub-total of an order, the historical restaurant data. In various embodiments, various other parameters may be implemented in the predictive event model.
[0072] Various customers, merchants, and couriers may transmit information related to one or more orders to the servers 312 or 314 via corresponding client devices. As previously described, such information may include order information, payment information, activity updates, timestamps, location information, or other appropriate electronic information. The system may then utilize this information to calculate the ETA of the delivery of the order, as well as dynamically updating the ETA when updated timestamps are received.
EN: these read on the information that will be input into the predictive model used for calculating the ETA
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a first prediction event for providing the digital request as of the first time;
Berk [0089] At 504, the timestamp is input into a corresponding predictive event model. In some embodiments, a neural network is implemented to generate an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for a particular order.
[0091] In some embodiments, the ETA for a particular order may correspond to a time duration, or Predicted Delivery Duration (“PDD”) for the order. For example, the predicted delivery duration may be determined from a predicted ETA timestamp for an ordered paired event 222 and a predicted ETA timestamp for the order delivery event 232, both of which may be based off of a received ATA timestamp for an order created even 212-B.
EN: this describes the method of predicting for the ETA using a first timestamp
providing, at a second time, as input to the predictive process, a second set of properties of the digital request, wherein one or more properties in the second set of properties is different from one or more corresponding properties in the first set of properties; and
Berk [0166] In some embodiments, subsequent delivery events may be input into the predictive model to update the ETA estimates and predictive delivery duration. For example, a second event 969 may be passed into the predictive model at operation 967. The second event 969 may include a second timestamp. The second event 967 may be any one of various events previously described with reference to FIG. 2. For example, the second event 967 may be the subsequent delivery event to the first event 963. The second timestamp may correspond to a second ATA for the second event. Once input into the various computational layers of the predictive model, the first predicted delivery duration is automatically adjusted to form a second predicted delivery duration at operation 971.
EN: this describes the method of predicting for the ETA using a second timestamp which reads on second event with a group of properties
receiving, as output from the predictive process, a second prediction event for providing the digital request as of the second time.
Berk [0166] Once input into the various computational layers of the predictive model, the first predicted delivery duration is automatically adjusted to form a second predicted delivery duration at operation 971.
EN: the second predicted ETA/PDD is the first predicted for ETA/PDD is updated using the 2nd event
Claim 10:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
making available the prediction event for displaying through a display device.
Bert [0074] In some embodiments, updates to the order may be received at 403. In some embodiments, order updates may include addition or removal of various items in the order, cancellation of the order, changes in delivery location, etc. In some embodiments, updates to the order may be factored into the predicted ETA of order delivery. In some embodiments, a confirmation of delivery may be received from the customer device at 405.
EN: according to Fig. 4A, event updates are received and the predicted ETA is updated
[0108] In some embodiments, a predicted ETA may be generated for each event on timelines 210 and 211. In some embodiments, the predicted ETAs for one or more events may be transmitted to various client devices, such as customer devices, merchant devices, and courier devices.
EN: predicted ETA reds on prediction event; transmitted to the devices reads on making available on display devices
Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 3 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 4 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 5 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 16:
Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 6 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 17:
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 7 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 8 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 19:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, and Bert further teaches:
wherein the processor further calculates a ranked list of properties of the digital request in order of impact on the prediction event.
Bert [0038] In some embodiments, real-time status updates of events corresponding to a delivery may be provided as input into the predictive event model to refine ETA computations. Furthermore, various parameters may be received in real-time and input as weighted factors to continually update the ETA.
EN: weighted factors read on ranked list of properties as weighted factors directed related to the ETA; the larger the weight of the factor the high the impact it would have on the impact of the prediction event
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Berk et al. (US20210142274A1, hereinafter Berk) in view of Koke et al. (US 20120078673 A1, hereinafter Koke).
Claim 2:
The combination of Berk and Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, does not explicitly teach a queue position. However Koke teaches:
wherein the property includes a queue position of the digital request.
Koke [0076] Items inserted in the queue may be single or double linked, as deemed appropriate by the implementer. The queue manager 230 finds the position in the queue where the new order should be placed, based on the estimated fulfillment time and the desired completion time.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of predicting delivery order duration events using extreme gradient boosting of Berk and Chen with the method of managing orders using a queueing position of Koke in order to fulfill orders more personalized to customer’s requests.
Koke [0025] The present invention describes a queueing and management system, which fulfills orders in the order in which they are needed, rather than when they are placed. This queueing and management system uses desired completion time to generate the queue of orders. In addition, the queueing and management system utilizes various indications of desired completion time in determining the queue order. The processing of orders is based on at what time the order is actually needed or desired by the customer.
EN: by using a queue the system can determine which order the deliveries will be completed in based on a timeframe requested by the client
Claim 12:
Claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations for claim 2 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Berk.
Claim 20:
Bert teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, upon execution by a processor, cause the processor to:
Berk [0065] In some embodiments, server systems 312 and 314 include one or more processors and memory. The processors of server system 312 and 314 execute computer instructions (e.g., network computer program code) stored in the memory to perform functions of a network data exchange server. In various embodiments, the functions of the network data exchange server may include routing real-time, on-demand, delivery of perishable goods, and/or predicting and dynamically updating estimated time of arrivals (ETAs) for such deliveries.
receive a set of properties for a plurality of historical customer orders associated with a food service entity, wherein the set of properties comprises a set of characteristics of a particular historical customer order of the plurality of historical customer orders, a set of real-time conditions relating to the historical customer order, and a lead time for providing the historical customer order; and
Bert [0161] When operating in the training mode 910, a dataset 913 is passed into the predictive model at operation 911. In some embodiments, the dataset 913 includes a series of successive events with corresponding known time durations between events. In some embodiments, the successive events in the dataset 913 may be referred to as training events. In some embodiments, the successive events may include one or more of the events described with reference to FIG. 2. For example, a first training event of the successive events includes a placement of the order at a merchant by a customer, a second training event of the successive events includes confirmation of receipt of the order by the merchant, a third training event of the successive events includes confirmation of completion of the order by the merchant, a fourth training event of the successive events includes pickup of the order by a courier, and a fifth training event of the successive events includes completion of delivery of the order to the customer.
EN: this describes the training using a dataset of historical events including one event that is when the customer has placed the order and one event that is the time of when the order gets to the customer which reads on historical customer orders; the time between first and fifth training events reads on the lead time for the historical order; the other events in between read on the real time events/conditions that are included; the known time durations at the end reads on the lead time which is received at the predictive model
train a machine learning process, using the set of properties, to predict a lead time for providing a new customer order associated with the food service entity.
Bert [0090] In various embodiments, the ETA for a particular order comprises an estimated timestamp corresponding to the delivery event 232 for the order.
EN: delivery event 232 is when it is delivered to the customer according to Fig 2; this passage describes that one of the ETA being predicted by the model for when the food is delivered to the customer
[0161] When operating in the training mode 910, a dataset 913 is passed into the predictive model at operation 911. In some embodiments, the dataset 913 includes a series of successive events with corresponding known time durations between events. In some embodiments, the successive events in the dataset 913 may be referred to as training events. In some embodiments, the successive events may include one or more of the events described with reference to FIG. 2. For example, a first training event of the successive events includes a placement of the order at a merchant by a customer, a second training event of the successive events includes confirmation of receipt of the order by the merchant, a third training event of the successive events includes confirmation of completion of the order by the merchant, a fourth training event of the successive events includes pickup of the order by a courier, and a fifth training event of the successive events includes completion of delivery of the order to the customer.
[0165] When operating in the inference mode 960, a first event 963 is passed into the predictive model at operation 961. The first event 963 may include a first timestamp. The first event 963 may be any one of various events previously described with reference to FIG. 2. The first timestamp may correspond to a first ATA for the first event 963. Once input into the various computational layers of the predictive model, a first predicted delivery duration is automatically generated based on trained weighted factors at operation 965. As previously described, the first predicted delivery duration (PDD) may correspond to the estimated time for the order to be delivered, such as at order delivery 232.
EN: this passage describes the training of the model in order to predict a new delivery time for a new order; in Fig 9A. it is shown that the method has a training mode and an inference mode; in the training mode it is when the historical data is used and in the inference mode is when new ETA’s are predicted
Conclusion
/JIAHE NIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128