DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO 2015/144883 (“COENGRACHT”).
Regarding claim 23, COENGRACHT teaches a multiport for making optical connections (FIG. 19), comprising: a shell (815) extending between a first end and a second end positioned opposite the first end in a longitudinal direction (the enclosure of pg. 15, lines 18-33; FIG. 19), the shell defining a cavity (853) of the multiport; an input port (853); a connection port comprising: an optical connector opening (814) extending from an outer surface of the multiport toward the cavity of the multiport; and a connection port passageway (along axis 866); and one or more optical fibers (pg. 18, lines 1-29) disposed within the cavity of the multiport and routed from one or more connection ports of the plurality of connection ports toward the input port (FIG. 19; at 854); a first mounting feature adjacent to the first end of the multiport (868), the first mounting feature comprising a mounting tab; and a second mounting feature (854) adjacent to the second end of the multiport, the second mounting feature comprising a through hole (858) (FIG. 19).
COENGRACHT does not teach a plurality of connection ports. Such a modification appears to merely involve duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to duplicate the connection port of COENGRACHT as set forth in the instant claim. The motivation would have been to utilize the multiport with multiple optical signals.
Regarding claim 24, COENGRACHT teaches that the connection port is disposed on the first end of the shell (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 25, COENGRACHT teaches that the input port is configured to receive to a fiber optic connector or an input tether (820).
Regarding claim 26, COENGRACHT teaches that for the connection port, the optical connector opening defines at least a portion of the connection port passageway (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 27, COENGRACHT teaches that for the connection port, the optical connector opening defines the connection port passageway (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 28, COENGRACHT teaches an optical splitter disposed within the cavity of the multiport, wherein the one or more optical fibers are routed toward the input port through the optical splitter (pg. 5, line 31 – pg. 6, line 15).
Regarding claim 29, COENGRACHT teaches that the connection port is a portion of the shell (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 30, COENGRACHT teaches that the connection port is formed as a molded portion of the shell (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 31, COENGRACHT teaches that the shell comprises a first piece and a second piece; and each of the plurality of connection ports is formed as a molded portion of the first piece of the shell (FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 32, COENGRACHT teaches that the first mounting feature is integral with the second piece of the shell (FIG. 11; pg. 14, lines 23-29).
Regarding claim 33, COENGRACHT teaches that the connection port is disposed on the first end of the shell (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 34, COENGRACHT teaches that the first mounting feature is integral with the second piece of the shell (FIG. 11; pg. 14, lines 23-29).
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COENGRACHT in view of US 2005/0271338 (“LIVINGSTON”).
COENGRACHT renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 23. COENGRACHT does not teach marking indicia for identifying each of the plurality of connection ports, wherein the marking indicia comprises text or color-coding on the shell. LIVINGSTON teaches marking indicia for identifying each of a plurality of connection ports, wherein the marking indicia comprises text or color-coding (pars. [0007], [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to include marking indicia in the multiport of COENGRACHT, as taught by LIVINGSTON. The motivation would have been to provide identification for each of the plurality of connection ports.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-22, 38, and 39 are allowed.
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole and as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the plurality of connection ports comprises a port width density of at least one connection port per 20 millimeters of width of the multiport.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874