DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 and 22-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John Wilson et al. (US 20190313389, hereinafter “John”) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20200067590, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, John discloses, An apparatus for wireless communication at a first device (FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE as described herein), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory and processor are inherent feature for user equipment device) and configured to cause the first device to:
switch a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device (The base station may transmit, in a downlink shared data channel, a beam switch command to the UE, [0044]), wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device ([0044]-[0047] describes beam degradation due to blockage, noise interference. Further, [0105] describes the base station 205-a may determine that a status of an active communication beam is below an acceptable performance threshold. For example, the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold. Furthermore, [0121] and [0127] disclose, The base station 205-c may determine to transmit a beam switch signal to the UE 215-c on an active communication beam 220-a during TTI 520-a. );
transmit, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
receive, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, from the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicate with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling based on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
However, John does not explicitly disclose, wherein the state change for the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein the state change for the first device (If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures [0084]; In response to the signal strength drop being detected in the directional reception alone, the process flow 1000 can include triggering the P-3 beam management procedure as the beam management procedure for a UE Rx beam refinement, wherein the another beam management procedure comprises a P-2 beam management procedure [0132]) is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device (beam forming can be used at both the TRP side (e.g., eNB/gNB) and the UE side. Beam management is used to acquire and maintain TRP and UE beams for communication. For downlink, the beam management procedures include: P-1, P-2 and P-3. In particular, the P-1 beam management procedure is to obtain the initial TRP Tx beam and UE Rx beam [0025]; The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures, [0084]), the condition satisfied by a metric (the UE determining a decrease in a quality of the BPL. This can be indicated when the beam or reference beam drops below a quality threshold for a signal to noise ratio or other power indication, power signal measure, or other indication of signal quality (e.g., an RSRP, RSSI, SNR, or the like), [0128]-[0132]) measured by the first device (At 1006, the process flow continues with generating a trigger of a beam management procedure separately and independently from another beam management procedure based on the decrease, [0128]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify John by specifically providing wherein the state change for the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device, as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling transmissions for beamforming systems based on beam management procedure triggering and signaling delivery in fall-back mode [0002].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: increase or decrease a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: change a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0084] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated transmit power of the second device that is associated with transmissions to the first device ([0105], [0111] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations. Note: beam switching tied to power constraints.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the communication between the first device and the second device ([0075] teaches HARQ and retransmission and [0182] teaches instructing the UE to subsequent transmission selection based on feedback. Note: MCS adjustment is implicit via HARQ/link adaptation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0095] teach PDCCH scheduling) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0096] teach PUCCH ACK/NACK).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0047], [0095], [0155] teach beam switch commands in MAC-CE or DCI).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a change of a metric associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0044], [0105], [0111] teach change of signal (i.e., degradation) between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Wang discloses,
wherein the condition comprises satisfaction of a threshold by the change of the metric ([0084]: The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0068], [0070], [0100] teach signal quality, spatial properties between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device ([0105], [0111], [0121] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold (e.g., due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations), or the like).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system ([0090]: The base station 205 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 220). Similarly, the UE 215 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 225).)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further John discloses,
wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([0056]: A UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a personal computer. [0062]: At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC).).
Regarding claim 14, John discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a second device (FIG. 12 shows a block diagram 1200 of a device 1205 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of aspects of a base station 105 as described herein.), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory and processor are inherent feature for user equipment device) and configured to cause the second device to:
receive a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
perform a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch);
transmit, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicate based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.).
However, John does not explicitly disclose, wherein initiating first switch of the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein initiating first switch of the the first device (If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures [0084]; In response to the signal strength drop being detected in the directional reception alone, the process flow 1000 can include triggering the P-3 beam management procedure as the beam management procedure for a UE Rx beam refinement, wherein the another beam management procedure comprises a P-2 beam management procedure [0132]) is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device (beam forming can be used at both the TRP side (e.g., eNB/gNB) and the UE side. Beam management is used to acquire and maintain TRP and UE beams for communication. For downlink, the beam management procedures include: P-1, P-2 and P-3. In particular, the P-1 beam management procedure is to obtain the initial TRP Tx beam and UE Rx beam [0025]; The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures, [0084]), the condition satisfied by a metric (the UE determining a decrease in a quality of the BPL. This can be indicated when the beam or reference beam drops below a quality threshold for a signal to noise ratio or other power indication, power signal measure, or other indication of signal quality (e.g., an RSRP, RSSI, SNR, or the like), [0128]-[0132]) measured by the first device (At 1006, the process flow continues with generating a trigger of a beam management procedure separately and independently from another beam management procedure based on the decrease, [0128]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify John by specifically providing wherein initiating first switch of the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device, as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling transmissions for beamforming systems based on beam management procedure triggering and signaling delivery in fall-back mode [0002].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises an increase or decrease in a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises a change of a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam to be used to communicate with the second device ([0098]-[0101] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a transmit power of the second device based at least in part on the first indication, the transmit power associated with transmissions to the first device, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated transmit power ([0105], [0111] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations. Note: beam switching tied to power constraints.)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for communication between the first device and the second device based at least in part on the first indication, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated MCS ([0075] teaches HARQ and retransmission and [0182] teaches instructing the UE to subsequent transmission selection based on feedback. Note: MCS adjustment is implicit via HARQ/link adaptation).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0095] teach PDCCH scheduling) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0096] teach PUCCH ACK/NACK).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0047], [0095], [0155] teach beam switch commands in MAC-CE or DCI).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), in addition Wang discloses,
wherein the condition comprises satisfaction of a threshold by the change of the metric ([0084]: The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0068], [0070], [0100] teach signal quality, spatial properties between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device ([0105], [0111], [0121] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold (e.g., due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations), or the like).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system ([0090]: The base station 205 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 220). Similarly, the UE 215 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 225).).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([0056]: A UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a personal computer. [0062]: At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC).).
Regarding claim 27, John discloses, A method for wireless communication at a first device (FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE as described herein), comprising:
switching a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device (The base station may transmit, in a downlink shared data channel, a beam switch command to the UE, [0044]), wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device ([0044]-[0047] describes beam degradation due to blockage, noise interference. Further, [0105] describes the base station 205-a may determine that a status of an active communication beam is below an acceptable performance threshold. For example, the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold. Furthermore, [0121] and [0127] disclose, The base station 205-c may determine to transmit a beam switch signal to the UE 215-c on an active communication beam 220-a during TTI 520-a. );
transmitting, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
receiving, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicating with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
However, John does not explicitly disclose, wherein the state change for the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein the state change for the first device (If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures [0084]; In response to the signal strength drop being detected in the directional reception alone, the process flow 1000 can include triggering the P-3 beam management procedure as the beam management procedure for a UE Rx beam refinement, wherein the another beam management procedure comprises a P-2 beam management procedure [0132]) is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device (beam forming can be used at both the TRP side (e.g., eNB/gNB) and the UE side. Beam management is used to acquire and maintain TRP and UE beams for communication. For downlink, the beam management procedures include: P-1, P-2 and P-3. In particular, the P-1 beam management procedure is to obtain the initial TRP Tx beam and UE Rx beam [0025]; The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures, [0084]), the condition satisfied by a metric (the UE determining a decrease in a quality of the BPL. This can be indicated when the beam or reference beam drops below a quality threshold for a signal to noise ratio or other power indication, power signal measure, or other indication of signal quality (e.g., an RSRP, RSSI, SNR, or the like), [0128]-[0132]) measured by the first device (At 1006, the process flow continues with generating a trigger of a beam management procedure separately and independently from another beam management procedure based on the decrease, [0128]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify John by specifically providing wherein the state change for the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device, as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling transmissions for beamforming systems based on beam management procedure triggering and signaling delivery in fall-back mode [0002].
Regarding claim 28, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
increasing or decreasing a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further John discloses,
changing a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0098]-[0101] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 30, John discloses,
A method for wireless communication at a second device (FIG. 12 shows a block diagram 1200 of a device 1205 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of aspects of a base station 105 as described herein.), comprising:
receiving a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
performing a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch);
transmitting, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicating based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
However, John does not explicitly disclose, wherein initiating first switch of the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein initiating first switch of the the first device (If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures [0084]; In response to the signal strength drop being detected in the directional reception alone, the process flow 1000 can include triggering the P-3 beam management procedure as the beam management procedure for a UE Rx beam refinement, wherein the another beam management procedure comprises a P-2 beam management procedure [0132]) is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device (beam forming can be used at both the TRP side (e.g., eNB/gNB) and the UE side. Beam management is used to acquire and maintain TRP and UE beams for communication. For downlink, the beam management procedures include: P-1, P-2 and P-3. In particular, the P-1 beam management procedure is to obtain the initial TRP Tx beam and UE Rx beam [0025]; The UE 400 can determine whether the signal strength or BPL quality from both omni reception and directional reception drops below a quality threshold. If the UE determines a drop below the quality threshold, then it can determine/declare that the TRP Tx beam has become bad, and in response, trigger at least the P-2 beam management procedure alone or with other procedures. If the UE 400 finds the signal strength from directional reception drops, but the one from omni reception does not satisfy drop in the threshold or does not change much, the UE 400 determines/declares that the UE Rx beam is the result of the beam pair failure or fall-back mode of operation and then can trigger the P3 beam management procedure to be performed separately/independently without other beam management procedures being triggered or with other beam management procedures, [0084]), the condition satisfied by a metric (the UE determining a decrease in a quality of the BPL. This can be indicated when the beam or reference beam drops below a quality threshold for a signal to noise ratio or other power indication, power signal measure, or other indication of signal quality (e.g., an RSRP, RSSI, SNR, or the like), [0128]-[0132]) measured by the first device (At 1006, the process flow continues with generating a trigger of a beam management procedure separately and independently from another beam management procedure based on the decrease, [0128]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify John by specifically providing wherein initiating first switch of the first device is performed in response to satisfaction of a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device, the condition satisfied by a metric measured by the first device, as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling transmissions for beamforming systems based on beam management procedure triggering and signaling delivery in fall-back mode [0002].
Regarding claim 31, the combination of John and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 30), further John discloses,
increasing or decreasing a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20140241446: A mobile wireless device may dynamically alter a downlink MIMO function by switching it on and off, or switching between different downlink MIMO configurations, such as 2.times.MIMO and 4.times.MIMO. Still further, a mobile device having greater than two antennas may dynamically select a subset of the antennas to be used to receive a MIMO transmission, and further, enable a mobile device to request a subset of antennas at a base station to be used for the MIMO transmission.
US 20220150717: Embodiments of the present disclosure provide an antenna device and a base station comprising the same. The antenna device may comprise an antenna array with a radiation pattern including a main lobe and a back lobe; and a first reflector able to be configured to reflect a first part of energy of the back lobe to at least one direction different from a direction of the main lobe.
US 20230039595: A method, network node and wireless device (WD) for New Radio (NR)-WD antenna calibration for Long Term Evolution (LTE)-NR radio-shared systems are disclosed. According to one aspect, a method in a network node configured to communicate with first wireless devices according to a first radio access technology and to communicate with second wireless devices according to a second radio access technology is provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641