DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-30 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-42 of U.S. Patent No. 12374787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application is transparently found in US 12374787 with obvious wording variation. Please, the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18540420
US 12374787
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first device to: switch a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device, wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device; transmit, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch, the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device; receive, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication; and communicate with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam.
31. An apparatus for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first device to: adjust one or more operations for one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device according to a state change for the first device; transmit, to a second device after initiating a first adjustment of the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device, a state change request for one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device, wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communications between the first device and the second device, and wherein the state change request indicates that the first device initiated the first adjustment of the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device; receive, in response to the state change request, a response message that indicates a second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device, the second adjustment based at least in part on the state change request; and communicate with the second device based at least in part on the response message and the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: increase or decrease a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device.
32. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein, to adjust the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: increase or decrease a number of first antenna elements of the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device to be used to communicate with the second device.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: change a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device.
33. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein, to adjust the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: change a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device for communications with the second device.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated transmit power of the second device that is associated with transmissions to the first device.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein performing the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device comprises: updating a transmit power of the second device based at least in part on the state change request, the transmit power associated with transmissions to the first device, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device indicates the updated transmit power.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the communication between the first device and the second device.
18. The method of claim 14, wherein performing the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device comprises: updating a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for communication between the first device and the second device based at least in part on the state change request, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device indicates the updated MCS.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
19. The method of claim 14, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device is transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication is received via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device is transmitted via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a change of a metric associated with the communication between the first device and the second device.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a metric associated with the communications between the first device and the second device, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a change of the metric.
9. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the condition comprises the change of the metric exceeding a threshold.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the condition comprises the change of the metric exceeding a threshold.
10. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communications between the first device and the second device.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system.
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
14. An apparatus for wireless communication at a second device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the second device to: receive a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device, the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device; perform a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication; transmit, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam; and communicate based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam.
34. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to: receive a state change request for one or more second sets of antenna elements of a second device, wherein the state change request indicates that a first device initiated a first adjustment of one or more operations for one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device; perform a second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device, the second adjustment based at least in part on the state change request; transmit, in response to the state change request and based at least in part on the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements, a response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device; and communicate based at least in part on the response message and the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device.
15. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises an increase or decrease in a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device comprise an increased or decreased number of first antenna elements of the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device to be used for communicating with the second device.
16. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises a change of a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam to be used to communicate with the second device.
16. The method of claim 14, wherein the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device comprise a changed quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device for communicating with the second device.
17. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a transmit power of the second device based at least in part on the first indication, the transmit power associated with transmissions to the first device, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated transmit power.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein performing the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device comprises: updating a transmit power of the second device based at least in part on the state change request, the transmit power associated with transmissions to the first device, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device indicates the updated transmit power.
18. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for communication between the first device and the second device based at least in part on the first indication, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated MCS.
18. The method of claim 14, wherein performing the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device comprises: updating a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for communication between the first device and the second device based at least in part on the state change request, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device indicates the updated MCS.
19. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the second indication is transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
19. The method of claim 14, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device is transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
20. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the second indication is transmitted via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device is transmitted via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
21. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first indication is based at least in part on a condition associated with a metric associated with communication between the first device and the second device.
21. The method of claim 14, wherein the state change request is based at least in part on a condition associated with a metric associated with communication between the first device and the second device.
22. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the condition comprises a change of the metric exceeding a threshold.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the condition comprises a change of the metric exceeding a threshold.
23. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device.
23. The method of claim 21, wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device.
24. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device.
24. The method of claim 21, wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device.
25. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system.
25. The method of claim 14, wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system.
26. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
26. The method of claim 14, wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
27. A method for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: switching a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device, wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device; transmitting, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch, the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device; receiving, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication; and communicating with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam.
1. A method for wireless communications at a first device, comprising: adjusting one or more operations for one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device according to a state change for the first device; transmitting, to a second device after initiating a first adjustment of the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device, a state change request for one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device, wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communications between the first device and the second device, and wherein the state change request indicates that the first device initiated the first adjustment of the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device; receiving, in response to the state change request, a response message that indicates a second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device, the second adjustment based at least in part on the state change request; and communicating with the second device based at least in part on the response message and the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device.
28. The method of claim 27, the switching the first beam comprising: increasing or decreasing a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device comprises: increasing or decreasing a number of first antenna elements of the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device to be used for communicating with the second device.
29. The method of claim 27, the switching the first beam comprising: changing a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the one or more operations for the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device comprises: changing a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device for communicating with the second device.
30. A method for wireless communication at a second device, comprising: receiving a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device, the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device; performing a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication; transmitting, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam; and communicating based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam.
14. A method for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a state change request for one or more second sets of antenna elements of a second device, wherein the state change request indicates that a first device initiated a first adjustment of one or more operations for one or more first sets of antenna elements of the first device; performing a second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device, the second adjustment based at least in part on the state change request; transmitting, in response to the state change request and based at least in part on the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements, a response message that indicates the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device; and communicating based at least in part on the response message and the second adjustment for the one or more second sets of antenna elements of the second device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by John Wilson et al. (US 20190313389, hereinafter “John”)
Regarding claim 1, John discloses, An apparatus for wireless communication at a first device (FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE as described herein), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory and processor are inherent feature for user equipment device) and configured to cause the first device to:
switch a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device (The base station may transmit, in a downlink shared data channel, a beam switch command to the UE, [0044]), wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device ([0044]-[0047] describes beam degradation due to blockage, noise interference. Further, [0105] describes the base station 205-a may determine that a status of an active communication beam is below an acceptable performance threshold. For example, the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold. Furthermore, [0121] and [0127] disclose, The base station 205-c may determine to transmit a beam switch signal to the UE 215-c on an active communication beam 220-a during TTI 520-a. );
transmit, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
receive, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, from the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicate with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling based on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
Regarding claim 2, John discloses,
wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: increase or decrease a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 3, John discloses,
wherein, to switch the first beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first device to: change a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0098]-[0101] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 4, John discloses,
wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated transmit power of the second device that is associated with transmissions to the first device ([0105], [0111] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations. Note: beam switching tied to power constraints.)
Regarding claim 5, John discloses,
wherein the second indication includes information that indicates an updated modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the communication between the first device and the second device ([0075] teaches HARQ and retransmission and [0182] teaches instructing the UE to subsequent transmission selection based on feedback. Note: MCS adjustment is implicit via HARQ/link adaptation).
Regarding claim 6, John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0095] teach PDCCH scheduling) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0096] teach PUCCH ACK/NACK).
Regarding claim 7, John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0047], [0095], [0155] teach beam switch commands in MAC-CE or DCI).
Regarding claim 8, John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a change of a metric associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0044], [0105], [0111] teach change of signal (i.e., degradation) between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 9, John discloses,
wherein the condition comprises the change of the metric exceeding a threshold ([0105], [0121] teach below acceptable performance threshold).
Regarding claim 10, John discloses,
wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0068], [0070], [0100] teach signal quality, spatial properties between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 11, John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device ([0105], [0111], [0121] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold (e.g., due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations), or the like).
Regarding claim 12, John discloses,
wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system ([0090]: The base station 205 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 220). Similarly, the UE 215 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 225).).
Regarding claim 13, John discloses,
wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([0056]: A UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a personal computer. [0062]: At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC).).
Regarding claim 14, John discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a second device (FIG. 12 shows a block diagram 1200 of a device 1205 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of aspects of a base station 105 as described herein.), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory and processor are inherent feature for user equipment device) and configured to cause the second device to:
receive a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
perform a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch);
transmit, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicate based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.).
Regarding claim 15, John discloses,
wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises an increase or decrease in a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 16, John discloses,
wherein the first switch of the first beam comprises a change of a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam to be used to communicate with the second device ([0098]-[0101] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 17, John discloses,
wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a transmit power of the second device based at least in part on the first indication, the transmit power associated with transmissions to the first device, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated transmit power ([0105], [0111] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations. Note: beam switching tied to power constraints.)
Regarding claim 18, John discloses,
wherein, to perform the second switch of the second beam, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second device to: update a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for communication between the first device and the second device based at least in part on the first indication, wherein the second indication includes information that indicates the updated MCS ([0075] teaches HARQ and retransmission and [0182] teaches instructing the UE to subsequent transmission selection based on feedback. Note: MCS adjustment is implicit via HARQ/link adaptation).
Regarding claim 19, John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0095] teach PDCCH scheduling) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0096] teach PUCCH ACK/NACK).
Regarding claim 20, John discloses,
wherein the second indication is received via one or more of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0047], [0095], [0155] teach beam switch commands in MAC-CE or DCI).
Regarding claim 21, John discloses,
wherein the first indication is based at least in part on a condition associated with a metric associated with communication between the first device and the second device ([0044], [0105], [0111] teach change of signal (i.e., degradation) between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 22, John discloses,
wherein the condition comprises the change of the metric exceeding a threshold ([0105], [0121] teach below acceptable performance threshold).
Regarding claim 23, John discloses,
wherein the metric comprises a signal quality associated with the communication between the first device and the second device ([0068], [0070], [0100] teach signal quality, spatial properties between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 24, John discloses,
wherein the condition is based at least in part on a thermal characteristic that satisfies a thermal performance threshold, a power characteristic, or both, of one or more of the first device or the second device ([0105], [0111], [0121] teach the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold (e.g., due to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limitations), or the like).
Regarding claim 25, John discloses,
wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system and the second device is a network entity in the wireless communications system ([0090]: The base station 205 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 220). Similarly, the UE 215 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions (e.g., beamformed communication beams 225).).
Regarding claim 26, John discloses,
wherein one or more of the first device or the second device is one of a network entity, a customer premises equipment (CPE), a relay device, a router, a repeater, or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([0056]: A UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a personal computer. [0062]: At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC).).
Regarding claim 27, John discloses, A method for wireless communication at a first device (FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE as described herein), comprising:
switching a first beam of the first device according to a state change for the first device (The base station may transmit, in a downlink shared data channel, a beam switch command to the UE, [0044]), wherein the state change is based at least in part on a condition associated with communication between the first device and a second device ([0044]-[0047] describes beam degradation due to blockage, noise interference. Further, [0105] describes the base station 205-a may determine that a status of an active communication beam is below an acceptable performance threshold. For example, the active communication beam may degrade due to blocking or fading, an available transmit power for the active communication beam may be below a threshold. Furthermore, [0121] and [0127] disclose, The base station 205-c may determine to transmit a beam switch signal to the UE 215-c on an active communication beam 220-a during TTI 520-a. );
transmitting, to the second device after initiation of a first switch of the first beam, a first indication that the first device initiated the first switch ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device based at least in part on the state change for the first device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
receiving, in response to the first indication, a second indication of a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicating with the second device based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
Regarding claim 28, John discloses,
increasing or decreasing a number of antenna elements corresponding to the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0067], [0068], [0073] teach antenna arrays and beaming weights which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. Note: switching beams inherently changes active antenna elements).
Regarding claim 29, John discloses,
changing a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration associated with the first beam and to be used to communicate with the second device ([0098]-[0101] teach TCI and QCL relationship, which indicate a QCL parameter (e.g., spatial properties, delay spread, Doppler effect) and relationships between antenna ports to UE 215).
Regarding claim 30, John discloses,
A method for wireless communication at a second device (FIG. 12 shows a block diagram 1200 of a device 1205 that supports uplink control channel beam switch procedure in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of aspects of a base station 105 as described herein.), comprising:
receiving a first indication that a first device initiated a first switch of a first beam of the first device ([0006] discloses UE transmit ACK/NACK indicating decoding success. Further, [0071] describes UE transmits acknowledgment feedback after switching. Furthermore, ([0096], [0106], [0139] teaches UE transmits acknowledgment feedback. Note: ACK/NACK explicitly indicates beam switch status, satisfying “first indication”)), the first indication associated with a second beam of the second device ([0096] teaches ACK transmitted on new uplink control beam. [0098]-[0101] teach beam switch associated with TCI/QCL state. Therefore, indication is beam-associated);
performing a second switch of the second beam, the second switch based at least in part on the first indication ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch);
transmitting, in response to the first indication and based at least in part on the second switch for the second beam, a second indication of the second switch for the second beam ([0026] teaches base station transmit transmission based on which beam was used. [0071] teaches base station transmit subsequent transmission to UE. [0109] teaches subsequent transmission continue over the new beam. Furthermore, [0182] teaches determination lead to either data transmission or second beam switch command. Therefore, form the UE’s perspective a second indication in the form of a schedule data transmission on the new beam or reissued beam switch command. This reception confirms and corresponds to the second device’s beam switch); and
communicating based at least in part on the second indication and the second switch of the second beam ([0109], [0124] teach communication continue using new beams. [0182] teach data transmission or control signaling base on bam usage. [0141]-[0142] teach UE communicates after receiving network response.)
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20140241446: A mobile wireless device may dynamically alter a downlink MIMO function by switching it on and off, or switching between different downlink MIMO configurations, such as 2.times.MIMO and 4.times.MIMO. Still further, a mobile device having greater than two antennas may dynamically select a subset of the antennas to be used to receive a MIMO transmission, and further, enable a mobile device to request a subset of antennas at a base station to be used for the MIMO transmission.
US 20220150717: Embodiments of the present disclosure provide an antenna device and a base station comprising the same. The antenna device may comprise an antenna array with a radiation pattern including a main lobe and a back lobe; and a first reflector able to be configured to reflect a first part of energy of the back lobe to at least one direction different from a direction of the main lobe.
US 20230039595: A method, network node and wireless device (WD) for New Radio (NR)-WD antenna calibration for Long Term Evolution (LTE)-NR radio-shared systems are disclosed. According to one aspect, a method in a network node configured to communicate with first wireless devices according to a first radio access technology and to communicate with second wireless devices according to a second radio access technology is provided.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641