DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 2/23/2026 with respect to the pending claims in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the new limitations added to claims 1, 8 and 15. See the rejection below of claims 1, 8 and 15 for relevant citations found in English and Fish disclosing the newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over English et al., (US 8,542,611), (hereinafter, English) in view of Fish et al., (US 9,462,444), (hereinafter, Fish).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, English discloses a user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising:
a radio transceiver; and a processor communicatively coupled to the radio transceiver (= VoIP client 102 is capable of communicating with other VoIP clients over network 104, see col. 2, lines 30-31) and configured to:
receive a command to place a wireless voice call to an emergency service
(= VoIP client 102 initiated an emergency call, see col, 2, lines 54-57);
in response to receiving the command, initiate the wireless voice call to the emergency service at an emergency phone number using the radio transceiver
(= a user of client 102 may indicate that client 102 should initiate the emergency call by dialing an emergency phone number such as 911, see col. 2, line 65-col. 3, line 3).
English explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“detect that a connection has been established between the user equipment and a Public-Safety Answering Point (PSAP), wherein the PSAP is responsible for dispatching emergency services; determine a geolocation of the user equipment; and
in response to detecting that the connection has been established between the user equipment and the PSAP, transmit the geolocation of the user equipment to the PSAP.”
However, Fish, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitation of:
“detect that a connection has been established between the user equipment and a Public-Safety Answering Point (PSAP), wherein the PSAP is responsible for dispatching emergency services (= wearable device 12a receives a command via the network from system 14 to contact a PSAP based on the location of user 16a, see col. 8, lines 61-66; and device 12a contacts the selected PSAP 19 over the network, see col. 9, lines 20-22);
determine a geolocation of the user equipment (= device 12a obtains datasets, where one of the datasets is position/location, see col. 5, line 63-col. 6, line 9);
establishing a direct data connection with a computer associated with an emergency services dispatcher at the PSAP (= see col. 9, lines 20-67) and
in response to detecting that the connection has been established between the user equipment and the PSAP, transmit, over the direct data connection the geolocation of the user equipment to the computer associated with the emergency services dispatcher at the PSAP.”(= device 12a transmits the location of user 16a to the PSAP 19, see col. 9, lines 24-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Fish with English for the benefit of achieving an emergency communication system that permits a wearable device worn by a user to automatically contact and transmit user state information to a PSAP.
Regarding claims 3,10 and 17 as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15, English explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment/method non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment in response to detecting that the connection has been established between the user equipment and the PSAP.
However, Fish, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment in response to detecting that the connection has been established between the user equipment and the PSAP (= device 12a obtains datasets, where one of the datasets is position/location, see col. 5, line 63-col. 6, line 9; device 12a transmits the location of user 16a to the PSAP 19, see col. 9, lines 24-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Fish with English for the benefit of achieving an emergency communication system that permits a wearable device worn by a user to automatically contact and transmit user state information to a PSAP.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18 as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15 English explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment by performing radio location with one or more radio towers.
However, Fish, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment by performing radio location with one or more radio towers (= cellular module 46 is configured to communicate with and receive position data from an aGPS receiver 52 see col. 5, lines 26-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Fish with English for the benefit of achieving an emergency communication system that permits a wearable device worn by a user to automatically contact and transmit user state information to a PSAP.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19 as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15, English further disclose that the user equipment/method/, non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: a Wi-Fi transceiver configured to exchange data with one or more Wi-Fi access points; and wherein the processor is further configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment by performing Wi-Fi positioning using the one or more Wi-Fi access points (see, col. 3, lines 36-43 and col. 4, lines 41-58).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15, English further disclose that the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: a Global Positioning System (GPS) device configured to determine GPS coordinates; and wherein the processor is further configured to determine the geolocation of the user equipment by determining the GPS coordinates of the user equipment using the GPS device (see, col. 3, lines 36-43 and col. 4, lines 41-58).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, as mentioned in claims 1 and 8, English further discloses the user equipment/method, wherein the emergency service comprises the 9-1-1 emergency service (see, col. 2, lines 36-37).
4. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over English and Fish in view of Michaelis et al., (US 8,965,326), (hereinafter, Michaelis).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1, 8 and 15 the combination of English and Fish explicitly fails to disclose further disclose the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is further configured to: after transmitting the geolocation of the user equipment to the PSAP, periodically update the geolocation to reflect a more recent geolocation of the user equipment; and transmit an updated geolocation to the PSAP after performing each update.
However, Michaelis, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the user equipment/method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processor is further configured to: after transmitting the geolocation of the user equipment to the PSAP, periodically update the geolocation to reflect a more recent geolocation of the user equipment; and transmit an updated geolocation to the PSAP after performing each update (see, col. 5, lines 17-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Michaelis with English and Fish for the benefit of achieving an emergency communication system that includes dynamically updating of location information for a moving target during 9-1-1 call.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.