DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Remarks of March 20, 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
The Remarks regarding the amendments to the Drawings are considered and the replacement sheets for Figs. 7 and 8 are accepted.
The Remarks regarding the amendments to the Specification are considered and the amendments are accepted.
The Remarks regarding the 103 rejections of the claims are considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 10 that neither of the cited references have the function “the driving control element 30, the first switch element 21, and the second switch element 23 may be manufactured as a semi-product. Moreover, in some embodiments, the first antenna body 11 and the second antenna body 2313 may be manufactured independently and then electrically connected with each other, and therefore the production of the smart antenna module 1 can be accelerated.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues on page 10 that Lee does not disclose “a third switch element and a fourth switch element”, and in regards to Kim “the switches 125, 126 do not used to switch the first antenna body 21 a and the second antenna 30”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In this regard, Kim (Figs. 2-3) teaches two switch elements (125, 126) electrically connected to an antenna body (21a – Fig. 3), and a driving control element (110 – Fig. 2) electrically connected to the two switch elements. Thus, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine Lee and Kim to disclose the limitation of two switches being electrically connected to a first antenna body and another two switches being electrically connected to a second antenna body, and a driving control element connected to all switches, which would allow each of the first antenna body and the second antenna body to operate in two different modes (see Kim, col. 8, lines 6-52).
Applicant further argues on page 10 that: “Kim discloses a communication apparatus for a vehicle, it is not suitable used "assembled on a portable electronic device"”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In this regard, the examiner notes that the underlying structure, components, and functions of a smart antenna module remain the same regardless of whether the antenna module is being used in a vehicle or in a portable electronic device. Moreover, a person skilled in the art would know what type of equivalent components to use so that the antenna module may be integrated within a portable electronic device.
Furthermore, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
Also, the factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 overcome the 103 rejection made and the rejection is withdrawn. Subsequently, the 103 rejections of its dependent claims are withdrawn, as well.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 1” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 1”;
Claim 12 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 3” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 3”;
Claim 13 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 4” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 4”;
Claim 14 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 5” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 5”;
Claim 15 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 6” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 6”;
Claim 18 (line 2): “a smart antenna module according to claim 9” should be amended to “the smart antenna module according to claim 9”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 9698857 B1, hereinafter Lee) in view of Kim et al. (US 11463121 B2, hereinafter Kim), Dalal et al. (US 20180308799 A1, hereinafter Dalal), and Welle et al. (US 12487323 B2, hereinafter Welle).
Regarding claim 1, Lee (Fig. 12; col. 10, lines 23-28, 47-54, 56-58) discloses a smart antenna module (1201) adapted to be assembled on a portable electronic device (1200), wherein the smart antenna module comprises:
a circuit board (inherent – it is well-known in the art that the RF circuitry (1240), the RF switches (1204 and 1214), and the ground plane (1208) are disposed on a circuit board);
a first antenna body (1202) connected to the circuit board;
a second antenna body (1212) separated from the first antenna body and electrically connected to the first antenna body via the circuit board;
a first switch element (1204) electrically connected to the first antenna body;
a second switch element (1214) electrically connected to the second antenna body;
a driving control element (1240) electrically connected to the first antenna body, the second antenna body, the first switch element, and the second switch element, wherein the driving
control element is electrically connected to a first feed-in point (1206) of the first antenna body and a second feed-in point (1216) of the second antenna body so as to receive a wireless signal (regarding receiving the wireless signal, Lee, col. 4, lines 34-37 specifies that RF circuitry may include receivers, which are inherently configured to receive wireless signals from antennas), and the driving control element is configured to transmit a control signal generated according to the wireless signal to control the first switch element and the second switch element to be turned on or turned off so as to switch a radiation pattern of the smart antenna module (e.g., see col. 10, lines 56-63),
wherein the driving control element (1240), the first switch element (1204) and the second switch element (1214) are assembled on the circuit board.
Lee does not disclose:
a flexible circuit board;
a plurality of bonding wires;
a first antenna body connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires;
a second antenna body separated from the first antenna body, connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires, and electrically connected to the first antenna body via the flexible circuit board;
a first switch element electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a second switch element electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a third switch element and a fourth switch element, wherein the third switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires, the fourth switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires, the driving control element is electrically connected to the third switch element and the fourth switch element, and the driving control element further controls the third switch element and the fourth switch element to be turned on or turned off,
wherein the driving control element, the first switch element, the second switch element the third switch element, and the fourth switch element are assembled on the flexible circuit board.
However, Kim (Figs. 2-3) teaches two switch elements (125, 126) electrically connected to an antenna body (21a – Fig. 3), and a driving control element (110 – Fig. 2) electrically connected to the two switch elements, and the driving control element controls each of the two switch elements to be turned on or turned off.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim to modify the antenna module of Lee by adding a third switch element and a fourth switch element, wherein the third switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body, the fourth switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body, the driving control element is electrically connected to the third switch element and the fourth switch element, and the driving control element further controls the third switch element and the fourth switch element to be turned on or turned off, wherein the driving control element, the first switch element, the second switch element the third switch element, and the fourth switch element are assembled on the circuit board. This modification would allow each of the first antenna body and the second antenna body to operate in two different modes (see Kim, col. 8, lines 6-52).
The so modified Lee does not teach:
a flexible circuit board;
a plurality of bonding wires;
a first antenna body connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires;
a second antenna body separated from the first antenna body, connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires, and electrically connected to the first antenna body via the flexible circuit board;
a first switch element electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a second switch element electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a third switch element and a fourth switch element, wherein the third switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires, the fourth switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires, the driving control element is electrically connected to the third switch element and the fourth switch element, and the driving control element further controls the third switch element and the fourth switch element to be turned on or turned off,
wherein the driving control element, the first switch element, the second switch element the third switch element, and the fourth switch element are assembled on the flexible circuit board.
However, Dalal (Fig. 1; [0020], lines 1-9) teaches a flexible IC system (10) comprising various electronic components, such as microchips (14), a sensor (16), an antenna (20), and others assembled on a flexible circuit board (24).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna module of Lee by substituting the circuit board in Lee with the flexible circuit board in Dalal so that: a first antenna body is connected to the flexible circuit board; a second antenna body separated from the first antenna body is electrically connected to the first antenna body via the flexible circuit board; and the driving control element, the first switch element, the second switch element the third switch element, and the fourth switch element are assembled on the flexible circuit board. This modification would enable many useful configurations of the smart antenna module not otherwise possible – e.g., being able to bend or stretch (see Dalal, [0005], lines 1-12).
The so modified Lee does not teach:
a plurality of bonding wires;
a first antenna body connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires;
a second antenna body separated from the first antenna body, connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires;
a first switch element electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a second switch element electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires;
a third switch element and a fourth switch element, wherein the third switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires, the fourth switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires.
Welle (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 60-67 and col. 5, lines 1-20) teaches a plurality of bonding wires (108), a first antenna body (104) connected to a chip for generating and/or processing radio frequency signals (see col. 4, lines 63-65) via one of the bonding wires, and a second antenna body (105) separated from the first antenna body, connected to the chip via one of the bonding wires.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna module of Lee by adding a plurality of bonding wires as taught by Welle so that: a first antenna body is connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires; a second antenna body separated from the first antenna body is connected to the flexible circuit board via one of the bonding wires; a first switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires; a second switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires; the third switch element is electrically connected to the first antenna body via one of the bonding wires, and the fourth switch element is electrically connected to the second antenna body via one of the bonding wires. This modification would allow for the first antenna body and the second antenna body to be integrated in the smart antenna module together with the driving control element and the switch elements (see Welle, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
Lee (col. 3, lines 17-24) further teaches a frequency band of the wireless signal configured to be received by the first antenna body and the second antenna body is a Wi-Fi frequency band.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
Lee (col. 3, lines 17-24) further teaches a frequency band of the wireless signal configured to be received by the first antenna body and the second antenna body is a 4G frequency band (regarding 4G frequency band, the examiner notes that Long Term Evolution (LTE) frequency bands are 4G frequency bands).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 1.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 1. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 4 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 4.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 4. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which operates in a Wi-Fi frequency band as addressed in claim 4 and has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 6 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 6.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 6. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which operates in a 4G frequency band as addressed in claim 6 and has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 1.
Claims 3, 9, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Lee as applied to claim 1 in view of Black (US 20130028147 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach the limitation wherein the first switch element and the second switch element are diode elements or transistor elements.
Black (Fig. 3) teaches a switch element (312) connected to an antenna (315), wherein the switch element is a diode element.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna module of Lee, so that the first switch element and the second switch element are diode elements. This modification would provide an antenna module with a highly linear path for simultaneously transmitted signals in a wireless communications device (see Black, Abstract, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach the limitation wherein the third switch element and the fourth switch element are diode elements or transistor elements.
Black (Fig. 3) teaches a switch element (312) connected to an antenna (315), wherein the switch element is a diode element.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna module of Lee, so that the third switch element and the fourth switch element are diode elements or transistor elements. This modification would provide an antenna module with a highly linear path for simultaneously transmitted signals in a wireless communications device (see Black, Abstract, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lee as applied to claim 3 teaches the smart antenna module of claim 3.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 3.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 3. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Lee as applied to claim 9 teaches the smart antenna module of claim 9.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 9.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 9. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 9.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Lee as applied to claim 1 in view of Jeong et al. (US 20190103653 A1, hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lee teaches the smart antenna module of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Lee does not teach the limitation wherein a frequency band of the wireless signal configured to be received by the first antenna body and the second antenna body is a 5G frequency band.
Jeong (Fig. 2; [0070], lines 1-5) teaches an antenna module (202) comprising multiple antennas (231, 232) and RF circuit components (230, 244), wherein the antenna module operates in a 5G frequency band.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Jeong to modify the antenna module of Lee, so that a frequency band of the wireless signal configured to be received by the first antenna body and the second antenna body is a 5G frequency band. This modification would provide an antenna module operating in the desired frequency band.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Lee as applied to claim 5 teaches the smart antenna module of claim 5.
The modified Lee does not teach a portable electronic device, wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module according to claim 5.
However, in another embodiment, Lee (Fig. 11) teaches a portable electronic device (1100), wherein the portable electronic device is assembled with a smart antenna module (1101) (regarding portable electronic device, see Lee, col. 10, lines 10-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee by replacing the smart antenna module in the portable electronic device (1100) with the smart antenna module according to claim 5. This modification would provide a portable electronic device with a smart antenna module, which operates in a 5G frequency band as addressed in claim 5 has the benefits as listed in addressing claim 1.
Conclusion
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845