DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al US 20190342556 in view of Henry US 20170357854.
Regarding claim 1, Agrawal et al teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, a first plurality of video segments that were generated by a plurality of video cameras associated with a premises and that were selected by one or more users (receive a request for a video segment captured by the particular camera of the plurality of cameras. (paragraph 0020);
determining, one or more characteristics associated with the first plurality of video segments (The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time) (paragraph 0020), wherein the characteristics comprise:
one or more characteristics associated with selection of the plurality of video segments, and one or more characteristics associated with content of the plurality of video segments (The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time) (paragraph 0020);
determining a quantity of occurrences of each of the one or more characteristics (during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (one or more characteristics) (paragraph 0044);
Agrawal et al fails to teach sorting, based on the determined quantities, a second plurality of video segments generated by one or more video cameras of the plurality of video cameras;
causing presentation of the sorted second plurality of video segments;
Henry teaches sorting, based on the determined quantities, a second plurality of video segments generated by one or more video cameras of the plurality of video cameras (the subset of video segments (second plurality of video segments) during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040) the sorted list shown in Fig. 4B; and
causing presentation of the sorted second plurality of video segments (the user can scroll or browse to a post or content item corresponding to the video, such that the post or content item is visible or viewable on the display element (e.g., display screen, touch display, etc.) of the user's computing device. (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: sorting, based on the determined quantities, a second plurality of video segments generated by one or more video cameras of the plurality of video cameras; causing presentation of the sorted second plurality of video segments.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 2, Agrawal et al teaches wherein the characteristics comprise one or more of: camera ID; part of day; categories of motion entities in the content; derivative categories of motion entities in the content; or audio categories (The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time) (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches wherein the causing presentation comprises causing arrangement of the second plurality of video segments based on the sorting (Henry: the object recognition module 204 can determine or recognize whether interesting entities, such as celebrities, are included in or depicted by the still frames for a given video segment. If the given video segments depicts (a face of) an entity that has at least a threshold likelihood of being interesting to a particular audience and/or in general, then the video segment selection module 202 can include the given video segment in the subset (paragraph 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: wherein the causing presentation comprises causing arrangement of the second plurality of video segments based on the sorting.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 6, Agrawal et al teaches in view of Henry teach wherein the sorting comprises: sorting the second plurality of video segments based on corresponding lengths of time, and wherein the method further comprises determining, for each characteristic of the one or more characteristics associated with the first plurality of video segments, a length of time of each video segment associated with the characteristic (Henry: the video playback module 110 can provide playback for each video segment in the subset in an order specified by the list. In this example, during playback, the video playback module 110 can cause the video segments in the subset to appear to be stitched or combined together based on the playback sequence (paragraph 0038). the subset of video segments, during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: wherein the sorting comprises: sorting the second plurality of video segments based on corresponding lengths of time, and wherein the method further comprises determining, for each characteristic of the one or more characteristics associated with the first plurality of video segments, a length of time of each video segment associated with the characteristic.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 7, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches comprising: removing, from the second plurality of video segments and prior to the causing presentation, duplicate, previously viewed, and/or low-relevancy video segments (Henry: the subset of video segments (second plurality of video segments) during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: comprising: removing, from the second plurality of video segments and prior to the causing presentation, duplicate, previously viewed, and/or low-relevancy video segments.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 8, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches wherein the second plurality of video segments comprises a video segment inventory, wherein the method further comprises sorting the video segment inventory, based on the first plurality of video segments (Agrawal et al: The computing device may identify, based on the date, the start time, the length, and the specified camera, stored data that is associated with the video segment and stored in a storage device (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 9, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches wherein the plurality of video cameras comprise video cameras of a security system for the premises (Agrawal et al: security cameras (fig 1 paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 17, Agrawal et al teaches A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device and based on user interactions with video segments of a plurality of video segments generated at a plurality of times by a plurality of cameras associated with a premises, relevancies of the plurality of video segments (When a user (e.g., security guard) requests to view a video segment the user sends a request. Accordingly, the computing device may receive a request for a video segment captured by the particular camera of the plurality of cameras. The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time) (paragraph 0020);
sorting, based on the determined one or more cameras and based on the determined one or more times, subsequent video segments generated by the plurality of cameras (computing device may identify, based on the date, the start time, the length, and the specified camera, stored data that is associated with the video segment and stored in a storage device. The computing device may retrieve the stored data from the storage device and determine that the stored data includes a subset of the video frames that were sent from the particular camera and excludes a remainder of the video frames (paragraph 0021); and
Agrawal et al fails to teach determining, based on the relevancies, one or more cameras, of the plurality of cameras, and one or more times, of the plurality of times;
generating, based on the sorted subsequent video segments, a presentation of at least a portion of the subsequent video segments;
Henry teaches determining, based on the relevancies, one or more cameras, of the plurality of cameras, and one or more times, of the plurality of times (the subset of video segments (second plurality of video segments) during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040);
generating, based on the sorted subsequent video segments, a presentation of at least a portion of the subsequent video segments (the user can scroll or browse to a post or content item corresponding to the video, such that the post or content item is visible or viewable on the display element (e.g., display screen, touch display, etc.) of the user's computing device. (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: determining, based on the relevancies, one or more cameras, of the plurality of cameras, and one or more times, of the plurality of times; generating, based on the sorted subsequent video segments, a presentation of at least a portion of the subsequent video segments;
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 18, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches comprising: determining, based on the relevancies, categories of motion entities in content of the video segments (Henry: the subset of video segments (second plurality of video segments) during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by (categories of motion) the security cameras (paragraph 0040); and sorting, based on the determined categories of motion entities, the subsequent video segments (Henry: the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: comprising: determining, based on the relevancies, categories of motion entities in content of the video segments; and sorting, based on the determined categories of motion entities, the subsequent video segments.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on user criteria.
Regarding claim 19, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches receiving user feedback for the presentation; and re-sorting, based on the user feedback, the subsequent video segments (Agrawal et al: then a user requests (feedback) to view a video segment the user sends a request. the computing device may receive a request for a video segment captured by the particular camera of the plurality of cameras. The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time). The computing device may identify, based on the date, the start time, the length, and the specified camera, stored data that is associated with the video segment and stored in a storage device. The computing device may retrieve the stored data from the storage device and determine that the stored data includes a subset of the video frames that were sent from the particular camera and excludes a remainder of the video frames (paragraph 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 20, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches wherein the presentation is a single presentation for all the at least a portion of the subsequent video segments (Agrawal et al: The computing device provides the reconstructed video segment (e.g., to a user that requested to view the video segment) (paragraph 0023).
Claim(s) 4, 10, 12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al US 20190342556 in view of Henry US 20170357854 further in view of Marlow et al US 20180359530.
Regarding claim 4, Agrawal et al in view of Henry teaches all of the limitations of claim 1,
Agrawal et al in view of Henry fails to teach wherein the sorting comprises: sorting the second plurality of video segments based on corresponding relevancy scores, and wherein the method further comprises: determining weights for the characteristics; and calculating, based on the weights and a scoring model, the corresponding relevancy scores.
Marlow et al teaches wherein the sorting comprises: sorting the second plurality of video segments based on corresponding relevancy scores, and wherein the method further comprises: determining weights for the characteristics; and calculating, based on the weights and a scoring model, the corresponding relevancy scores (Recorded video is analyzed and links are generated to access video segments based on the content's relevancy to a question in view of a confidence score. In an example implementation, the recorded video analysis includes locating questions in a message history from the recorded video and analyzing the video feed and/or audio feed to identify segments that include relevant responses from the presenter. The identified segments undergo further processing to develop an ordered list (e.g., ranking) based on a confidence score. The confidence score is weight according to context factors (paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al in view of Henry to include: wherein the sorting comprises: sorting the second plurality of video segments based on corresponding relevancy scores, and wherein the method further comprises: determining weights for the characteristics; and calculating, based on the weights and a scoring model, the corresponding relevancy scores.
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on importance to the user
Regarding claim 10, Agrawal et al teaches A method comprising:
creating, by a computing device and for a plurality of video cameras associated with a premises (receive a request for a video segment captured by the particular camera of the plurality of cameras. (paragraph 0020), a video segment inventory, wherein the video segment inventory comprises video segments generated by the plurality of video cameras within one or more designated time frames (receive a request for a video segment captured by the particular camera of the plurality of cameras. (paragraph 0020). The computing device may identify, based on the date, the start time, the length, and the specified camera, stored data that is associated with the video segment and stored in a storage device (paragraph 0021);
Agrawal et al fails to teach determining one or more characteristics associated with each of the video segments, wherein the one or more characteristics are determined based at least on content of the video segments and how the video segments are selected by a user
Henry teaches determining one or more characteristics associated with each of the video segments, wherein the one or more characteristics are determined based at least on content of the video segments and how the video segments are selected by a user (the subset of video segments (second plurality of video segments) during time periods (e.g., midnight to 6:00 AM) where many people are not expected to pass by the security cameras, the storage algorithm may compare adjacent frames (or frames occurring within a particular time interval) and discard those frames that differ from the first frame by less than a predetermined amount (paragraph 0040). the user can scroll or browse to a post or content item corresponding to the video, such that the post or content item is visible or viewable on the display element (e.g., display screen, touch display, etc.) of the user's computing device. (paragraph 0040);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al to include: determining one or more characteristics associated with each of the video segments, wherein the one or more characteristics are determined based at least on content of the video segments and how the video segments are selected by a user
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on importance to the user
Agrawal et al in view of Henry fails to teach assigning, based on the determined characteristics, a relevancy score to each video segment; and sorting the video segment inventory for presentation based on assigned relevancy scores;
Marlow teaches assigning, based on the determined characteristics, a relevancy score to each video segment; and sorting the video segment inventory for presentation based on assigned relevancy scores (Recorded video is analyzed and links are generated to access video segments based on the content's relevancy to a question in view of a confidence score. In an example implementation, the recorded video analysis includes locating questions in a message history from the recorded video and analyzing the video feed and/or audio feed to identify segments that include relevant responses from the presenter. The identified segments undergo further processing to develop an ordered list (e.g., ranking) based on a confidence score. The confidence score is weight according to context factors (paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al in view of Henry to include: assigning, based on the determined characteristics, a relevancy score to each video segment; and sorting the video segment inventory for presentation based on assigned relevancy scores
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on importance to the user
Regarding claim 12, Agrawal et al in view of Henry further in view of Marlow et al teaches wherein the characteristics comprise one or more of: camera ID; part of day; categories of motion entities in the content; derivative categories of motion entities in the content; or audio categories (Agrawal et al: The request specifies the particular camera, a date, a start time, and a length of the video segment (or an end time) (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 15, Agrawal et al in view of Henry further in view of Marlow et al teaches causing presentation of at least a portion of the sorted video segment inventory, via a user interface, wherein the causing presentation comprises:
arranging, based on the relevancy scores assigned to a plurality of video segments of the at least the portion of the sorted video segment inventory, the plurality of video segments (Marlow et al: Recorded video is analyzed and links are generated to access video segments based on the content's relevancy to a question in view of a confidence score (paragraph 0030); and
adjusting, based on user input changing the arrangement, one or more of the relevancy scores assigned to the plurality of video segments (Marlow et al: The identified segments undergo further processing to develop an ordered list (e.g., ranking) based on a confidence score. The confidence score is weight according to context factors (paragraph 0030)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agrawal et al in view of Henry to include: causing presentation of at least a portion of the sorted video segment inventory, via a user interface, wherein the causing presentation comprises:
arranging, based on the relevancy scores assigned to a plurality of video segments of the at least the portion of the sorted video segment inventory, the plurality of video segments; adjusting, based on user input changing the arrangement, one or more of the relevancy scores assigned to the plurality of video segments
The reason of doing so would be to organize video segments based on importance to the user
Regarding claim 16, Agrawal et al in view of Henry further in view of Marlow et al teaches wherein the plurality of video cameras comprise video cameras of a security system for the premises (Agrawal et al: security cameras (fig 1 paragraph 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2683
Michael Burleson
November 15, 2025
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/ SPE, Art Unit 2681 11/17/2025