Detailed Action
This is a Non-final action for application number 18/540,528 in response to an original application filed on 12/14/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 and 18 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/12/2025 and 07/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), [Figure 1F, UE 102], comprising:
one or more memories, [Figure 1F, UE 102 includes memories 130 and 132],
and one or more processors, [Figure 1F, UE 102 includes processor 118], coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information, [a UE is assumed to have a DRX configuration that is adapted by explicit signaling transmitted by the network. The DRX configuration may be provided to the UE via higher layer signaling; e.g. RRC, and may be based on the DRX-Config IE, (Murray et al., Paragraph 163)], indicating a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations, [perform dynamic switching of the active DRX configuration from a plurality of candidate configurations provided by the network, (Murray et al., Paragraph 163)],
and communicate in accordance with a selected DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations, [the transceiver 120 may include multiple transceivers for enabling the WTRU 102 to communicate via multiple RATs, for example NR and IEEE 802.11 or NR and E-UTRA, or to communicate with the same RAT via multiple beams to different RRHs, TRPs, RSUs, or nodes, (Murray et al., Paragraph 92)], wherein the selected DRX configuration is associated with one or more criteria comprising at least one of:
a buffer status threshold, [the UE may use the BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern or traffic type associated with the buffer being reported to the base station, (Murray et al., Paragraph 193)],
a delay status threshold, [Each logical channel could be configured with a delay tolerance. If data becomes available for transmission while within DRX and the next DRX cycle start is within the logical channels delay tolerance the SR may not be triggered or delayed, (Murray et al., Paragraph 211)],
a power consumption threshold,
or an active bandwidth part condition of the UE, [allowing a UE to be configured with multiple DRX configurations that are optimized for different types of services and can be dynamically activated/deactivated simultaneously with the activation of a suitable BWP can also provide additional power savings, (Murray et al., Paragraph 204)].
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria comprise the buffer status threshold, [the UE may use the BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern or traffic type associated with the buffer being reported to the base station, (Murray et al., Paragraph 193)].
Regarding claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a buffer status report, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration based on comparing the buffer status threshold and a buffer status indicated by the buffer status report, [the UE behavior may be adapted such that different DRX configuration parameter values may be applied to match the DRX behavior to the DL traffic pattern, (Murray et al., Paragraph 257)].
Regarding claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria comprise the delay status threshold, [Each logical channel could be configured with a delay tolerance. If data becomes available for transmission while within DRX and the next DRX cycle start is within the logical channels delay tolerance the SR may not be triggered or delayed, (Murray et al., Paragraph 211)].
Regarding claim 5, the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a delay status report, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration based on comparing the delay status threshold and a delay status indicated by the delay status report, [the UE behavior may be adapted such that different DRX configuration parameter values may be applied to match the DRX behavior to the DL traffic pattern, (Murray et al., Paragraph 257)].
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the selected DRX configuration is a deactivated DRX configuration in which a DRX cycle is deactivated in association with the delay status threshold being satisfied, [allowing a UE to be configured with multiple DRX configurations that are optimized for different types of services and can be dynamically activated/deactivated simultaneously with the activation of a suitable BWP can also provide additional power savings, (Murray et al., Paragraph 204)].
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication of the selected DRX configuration, [Murray et al., Figure 3, UE assistance information].
Regarding claim 11, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria comprise the active bandwidth part condition, wherein the active bandwidth part condition indicates that the selected DRX configuration is associated with an active bandwidth part of the UE, [allowing a UE to be configured with multiple DRX configurations that are optimized for different types of services and can be dynamically activated/deactivated simultaneously with the activation of a suitable BWP can also provide additional power savings, (Murray et al., Paragraph 204)].
Regarding claim 12, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signaling that indicates the active bandwidth part, [a DRX configuration may be configured for each BWP as shown in FIG. 6, thereby allowing a suitable DRX configuration to be activated implicitly when a BWP activated, (Murray et al., Paragraph 206)].
Regarding claim 13, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive a configuration of the one or more criteria, [The DRX configuration used for a given BWP may be configured via higher layer signaling; e.g. RRC, (Murray et al., Paragraph 206)].
Regarding claim 14, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to select the selected DRX configuration in accordance with the one or more criteria, [allowing a UE to be configured with multiple DRX configurations that are optimized for different types of services and can be dynamically activated/deactivated simultaneously with the activation of a suitable BWP can also provide additional power savings, (Murray et al., Paragraph 204)].
Regarding claim 15, the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to select the selected DRX configuration, are configured to cause the UE to select the selected DRX configuration in accordance with the one or more criteria and at least one of a logical channel or a quality of service flow, [Each logical channel could be configured with a delay tolerance. If data becomes available for transmission while within DRX and the next DRX cycle start is within the logical channels delay tolerance the SR may not be triggered or delayed, (Murray et al., Paragraph 211)].
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to select the selected DRX configuration, are configured to cause the UE to select the selected DRX configuration in accordance with two or more of the buffer status threshold, the delay status threshold, the power consumption threshold, or the active bandwidth part condition, [using different DRX cycles for each DRX configuration is not precluded. Nor is using a CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion that is outside the active BWP, (Murray et al., Paragraph 205)].
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to communicate using the selected DRX configuration, are configured to cause the UE to monitor for a physical downlink control channel in accordance with at least one of an on duration, an inactivity timer, or a cycle length defined by the selected DRX configuration, [PDCCH or GC-PDCCH, is not precluded. In this example, the DRX configurations are shown to have the same DRX cycle; and the CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion is shown to be in the active BWP. However, using different DRX cycles for each DRX configuration is not precluded. Nor is using a CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion that is outside the active BWP, (Murray et al., Paragraph 205)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793 A1) in view of Song et al. (EP 4539555 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Murray et al. teaches that a UE is assumed to have a DRX configuration that is adapted by explicit signaling transmitted by the network. The DRX configuration may be provided to the UE via higher layer signaling; e.g. RRC, and may be based on the DRX-Config IE, (Murray et al., Paragraph 163),
Murray et al. fails to explicitly teach that the one or more criteria comprise the power consumption threshold,
Song et al. teaches that the configuration message may include but not limited to the following key information elements: selection of configured XR-specific use case, e.g., the DRX cycle configuration parameters optimization, thresholds to be used for converting the power consumption metric to a power consumption level and / or the QoS metric to a QoS level, (Song et al., Paragraph 137, Page 12),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Song et al. by including that that the one or more criteria comprise the power consumption threshold, (Song et al., Paragraph 137, Page 12), in order to optimize DRX cycle configuration, for example for XR specific traffic, under QoS requirements and /or to meet a target power saving objective, (Song et al., Paragraph 5, Page 2),
Regarding claim 9, the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the power consumption threshold is a transmit power threshold of the UE, [Song et al., Figure 8, Step # 801].
Regarding claim 10, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a communication at a transmit power, wherein, to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected DRX configuration based on comparing the transmit power threshold and the transmit power, [using the power savings signal/channel to adapt the DRX behavior to match the traffic pattern, (Murray et al., Paragraph 176)].
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2025/034832 A1).
Regarding claim 18, an apparatus for wireless communication at an UE, [Figure 1F, UE 102], comprising: one or more memories, [Figure 1F, UE 102 includes memories 130 and 132], and one or more processors, [Figure 1F, UE 102 includes processor 118], coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information, [a UE is assumed to have a DRX configuration that is adapted by explicit signaling transmitted by the network. The DRX configuration may be provided to the UE via higher layer signaling; e.g. RRC, and may be based on the DRX-Config IE, (Murray et al., Paragraph 163)],
and communicate in accordance with a selected SSS or SSSG configuration of the plurality of SSS or SSSG configurations, [the transceiver 120 may include multiple transceivers for enabling the WTRU 102 to communicate via multiple RATs, for example NR and IEEE 802.11 or NR and E-UTRA, or to communicate with the same RAT via multiple beams to different RRHs, TRPs, RSUs, or nodes, (Murray et al., Paragraph 92)], wherein the selected SSS or SSSG configuration is associated with one or more criteria comprising at least one of:
a buffer status threshold, [the UE may use the BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern or traffic type associated with the buffer being reported to the base station, (Murray et al., Paragraph 193)],
a delay status threshold, [Each logical channel could be configured with a delay tolerance. If data becomes available for transmission while within DRX and the next DRX cycle start is within the logical channels delay tolerance the SR may not be triggered or delayed, (Murray et al., Paragraph 211)],
a power consumption threshold,
a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration condition, [The DRX configuration used for a given BWP may be configured via higher layer signaling; e.g. RRC, (Murray et al., Paragraph 206)],
or an active bandwidth part condition of the UE, [allowing a UE to be configured with multiple DRX configurations that are optimized for different types of services and can be dynamically activated/deactivated simultaneously with the activation of a suitable BWP can also provide additional power savings, (Murray et al., Paragraph 204)],
Murray et al. fails to explicitly teach that the configuration indicating a plurality of search space set (SSS) or SSS group (SSSG) configurations,
Zhou et al. teaches that The base station may transmit, to the UE, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets, (Zhou et al., Paragraph 216),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Song et al. by including that the configuration indicating a plurality of search space set (SSS) or SSS group (SSSG) configurations, (Zhou et al., Paragraph 216), in order to improve resource utilization efficiency, (Zhou et al., Paragraph 292).
Regarding claim 19, the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to communicate in accordance with the selected SSS or SSSG configuration, are configured to cause the UE to monitor for a physical downlink control channel in one or more search spaces defined by the selected SSS or SSSG configuration, [PDCCH or GC-PDCCH, is not precluded. In this example, the DRX configurations are shown to have the same DRX cycle; and the CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion is shown to be in the active BWP. However, using different DRX cycles for each DRX configuration is not precluded. Nor is using a CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion that is outside the active BWP, (Murray et al., Paragraph 205)].
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SHUKRI TAHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478