Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claims 1-3 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a transmitter configured to transmit”, and “a controller configured to control” in Claim 1, “a receiver configured to receive”, and “a controller configured to perform” in Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160044744 A1) in view of Futaki et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220086704 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Lee and Futaki.
In regard to Claim 1, Lee teaches A master node (MeNB, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16) configured to connected to a secondary node (SeNB requests SCG modification, Para. 92, 167, FIG. 11a) associated with a secondary cell group (The SCG modification procedure is initiated by the SeNB and used to perform configuration changes of the SCG within the same SeNB, Para. 91, FIG. 11a. Configured SCG SCells in the SeNB, Para. 166, FIG. 16) and a communication apparatus (UE, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16), the master node comprising: a transmitter (The apparatus shown in FIG. 5 can be a eNB, Para. 59, FIG. 5. The transceiver (135), Para. 62, FIG. 5) configured to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message to the communication apparatus (the MeNB sends the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE including the new radio resource configuration of SCG according to the SCG-Configuration (S1103a), Para. 93, FIG. 11a. The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches a controller (processor (110), Para. 62, FIG. 5) configured to control, based on transmission of the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell group (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16), the communication apparatus to perform deactivation of the secondary cell group (If the new PSCell different from the PSCell is added by the SCG change procedure, the UE deactivates the PSCell and all SCells except a new PSCell in the secondary BS (S1609). For the SeNB in which the old PSCell is included, the UE deactivates all configured SCG SCells, Para. 173, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches, wherein the controller (processor (110), Para. 62, FIG. 5) is configured to control, based on transmission of the RRC message including information indicating change of a primary secondary cell (The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16) of the secondary cell group (the UE is configured with SCG SCells and PSCell for each SeNB (S1601), Para. 167, FIG. 16), the communication apparatus to perform activation of the primary secondary cell (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16) and a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (If the new configuration requires synchronisation towards the SeNB, the UE performs the Random Access procedure (S1109a), Para. 95, FIG. 11a. PSCell in SCG can be changed with the SCG Modification procedure. The SeNB can decide whether the Random Access procedure is required, Para. 98, FIGS. 11a, 16).
Although Lee provides an implicit teaching, Lee fails to explicitly teach perform a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell.
Futaki teaches perform a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (The UE 3 initiates access (i.e., random access procedure) to the target PSCell (step 610), Para. 71, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Lee since Futaki provides a technique for a UE to initate a random access procedure to a target PSCell after receiving a RRC Reconfiguration message, which can be introduced into the system of Lee to ensure random access in a new PSCell is performed by a UE after receiving a RRC reconfiguration message indicating the new PSCell.
In regard to Claim 2, Lee teaches A communication apparatus (UE, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16) configured to connected to a secondary node (SeNB requests SCG modification, Para. 92, 167, FIG. 11a) associated with a secondary cell group (The SCG modification procedure is initiated by the SeNB and used to perform configuration changes of the SCG within the same SeNB, Para. 91, FIG. 11a. Configured SCG SCells in the SeNB, Para. 166, FIG. 16) and a master node (MeNB, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16), the communication apparatus comprising: a receiver (FIG. 5 may represent a UE. The transceiver (135), Para. 61, FIG. 5) configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message (the MeNB sends the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE including the new radio resource configuration of SCG according to the SCG-Configuration (S1103a), Para. 93, FIG. 11a. The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches a controller (processor (110), Para. 61, FIG. 5) configured to perform deactivation of the secondary cell group (If the new PSCell different from the PSCell is added by the SCG change procedure, the UE deactivates the PSCell and all SCells except a new PSCell in the secondary BS (S1609). For the SeNB in which the old PSCell is included, the UE deactivates all configured SCG SCells, Para. 173, FIG. 16) based on reception of the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell group (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches, wherein the controller (processor (110), Para. 61, FIG. 5) is configured to perform activation of a primary secondary cell (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16) and a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (If the new configuration requires synchronisation towards the SeNB, the UE performs the Random Access procedure (S1109a), Para. 95, FIG. 11a. PSCell in SCG can be changed with the SCG Modification procedure. The SeNB can decide whether the Random Access procedure is required, Para. 98, FIGS. 11a, 16) based on reception of the RRC message including information indicating change of the primary secondary cell (The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16) of the secondary cell group (the UE is configured with SCG SCells and PSCell for each SeNB (S1601), Para. 167, FIG. 16).
Although Lee provides an implicit teaching, Lee fails to explicitly teach perform a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell.
Futaki teaches perform a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (The UE 3 initiates access (i.e., random access procedure) to the target PSCell (step 610), Para. 71, FIG. 6) based on reception of the RRC message (In step 606, the MN 1 performs an RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration procedure. The MN 1 may transmit to the UE 3 via the MCG SRB an RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration message, Para. 70, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Lee since Futaki provides a technique for a UE to initate a random access procedure to a target PSCell after receiving a RRC Reconfiguration message, which can be introduced into the system of Lee to ensure random access in a new PSCell is performed by a UE after receiving a RRC reconfiguration message indicating the new PSCell.
In regard to Claim 3, Lee teaches A communication method executed by a communication apparatus (UE, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16) configured to connected to a secondary node (SeNB requests SCG modification, Para. 92, 167, FIG. 11a) associated with a secondary cell group (The SCG modification procedure is initiated by the SeNB and used to perform configuration changes of the SCG within the same SeNB, Para. 91, FIG. 11a. Configured SCG SCells in the SeNB, Para. 166, FIG. 16) and a master node (MeNB, Para. 93, 167, FIGS. 11a, 16), the communication method comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message (the MeNB sends the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE including the new radio resource configuration of SCG according to the SCG-Configuration (S1103a), Para. 93, FIG. 11a. The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches performing deactivation of the secondary cell group (If the new PSCell different from the PSCell is added by the SCG change procedure, the UE deactivates the PSCell and all SCells except a new PSCell in the secondary BS (S1609). For the SeNB in which the old PSCell is included, the UE deactivates all configured SCG SCells, Para. 173, FIG. 16) based on reception of the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell group (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16).
Lee teaches performing activation of a primary secondary cell (The RRC reconfiguration message includes at least one of i) an indication of the new PSCell; ii) an indication of changing from the PSCell to the new PSCell; iii) an indication of releasing of the PSCell and addition of the new PSCell, Para. 170, FIG. 16) and a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (If the new configuration requires synchronisation towards the SeNB, the UE performs the Random Access procedure (S1109a), Para. 95, FIG. 11a. PSCell in SCG can be changed with the SCG Modification procedure. The SeNB can decide whether the Random Access procedure is required, Para. 98, FIGS. 11a, 16) based on reception of the RRC message including information indicating change of the primary secondary cell (The UE receives a RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PSCell change procedure (S1603), Para. 168, FIG. 16) of the secondary cell group (the UE is configured with SCG SCells and PSCell for each SeNB (S1601), Para. 167, FIG. 16).
Although Lee provides an implicit teaching, Lee fails to explicitly teach performing a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell.
Futaki teaches performing a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (The UE 3 initiates access (i.e., random access procedure) to the target PSCell (step 610), Para. 71, FIG. 6) based on reception of the RRC message (In step 606, the MN 1 performs an RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration procedure. The MN 1 may transmit to the UE 3 via the MCG SRB an RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration message, Para. 70, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Lee since Futaki provides a technique for a UE to initate a random access procedure to a target PSCell after receiving a RRC Reconfiguration message, which can be introduced into the system of Lee to ensure random access in a new PSCell is performed by a UE after receiving a RRC reconfiguration message indicating the new PSCell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230232494 A1) teaches the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell group (referring to FIG. 3A, the second RRC reconfiguration message comprises an first indication indicating the SCG is deactivated, Para. 119, FIG. 3A), perform activation of the primary secondary cell (referring to FIG. 3A, the terminal device 130 receives 306 a second RRC reconfiguration message for configuring the PScell of the SCG from the second network device 120, Para. 119, FIG. 3A) and a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (the terminal device 130 initiates RA procedure o the target PSCell, Para. 125, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 130 performs a RA procedure for the PScell via the enabled transmission, Para. 126, FIG. 3A).
Tsuboi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190313309 A1) teaches teaches the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the secondary cell group (in a case that the configuration of the secondary cell group included in the RRC connection reconfiguration message is configured to be released, the terminal apparatus 2 may deactivate SCells other than the PSCell in the SCells of the secondary cell group, Para. 142, FIG. 11), perform activation of the primary secondary cell (the terminal apparatus 2 may start synchronization of the downlink in the target PSCell (third cell), Para. 145, FIG. 11) and a random access procedure in the primary secondary cell (Then, the terminal apparatus 2 initiates the random access procedure to transmit the uplink data, and transmits the random access preamble. The third base station apparatus 3 that has received the random access preamble detects a shift in a transmission timing of the terminal apparatus 2, Para. 147, FIG. 11).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
12-19-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477