DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/28/2026. Claims 1-5, 8-22 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response with respect to claim(s) filed 4/28 has been fully considered. In view of the amendment, claims 1-5, 8-15 are allowable over the prior art of record; but the arguments regarding claims 16-22 are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment as set forth below in this official communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K M et al. (2025/0030795).
Regarding claim 16:
K M discloses a system and method for an apparatus (figures; abstract; para 129,135) comprising:
one or more processors (para 24, 88-90; figures); and a memory (para 69,84, 88, 93) communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (para 24,84,86,91,96), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
analyzing first audio data provided via a first device and second audio data provided via a second device during a call session between the first device and the second device (para 4,11,12 [telephonic conversations]; figures; para 46, {Caller A may engage in a telephonic conversation with a Caller B}; para 47; para 49-55 [voice data]; para 46,49,54; para 49 {during a telephonic conversation}; para 88);
identifying an intent of a first user of the first device is associated with soliciting sensitive information from a second user of the second device (para 47 {detecting and/or flagging data within a conversation that is deemed to be sensitive or confidential…caller asks for information…}; para 51; figs; para 52-58; para 54 {extracting an intent from text data…}; para 113-116,128); and
modifying the first audio data and/or the second audio data in response to failing to verify the identity of the first user via the authentication process (para 10 [intersect]; para 45,47,64; see figures; para 63 {intersecting the voice data may include preventing a transmission of the voice data… involve pausing the voice data stream, muting the microphone on the user's device, replacing the sensitive segment of the audio with an obscuring sound}; and see throughout the disclosure).
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching attempting to verify an identity of the first user via an authentication process in response to identifying the intent of the first user is associated with soliciting sensitive information from the second user.
However, K M further discloses, identification and prevention of sensitive information exposure that serve as a form of authentication to identify an individual, unauthorized disclosure could lead to security breaches such as unauthorized system access or data theft (see para 45, and throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention from teachings of K M that the prevention of sensitive information exposure unauthorized disclosure is obviously preventing unauthorized and unauthentic access to the sensitive information by modifying the data in order to prevent unauthorized exposure of personally identifiable information that could lead to privacy breaches, identity theft, or financial fraud.
Regarding claim 17:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein transmitting third audio data to the second device in response to identifying the intent of the first user is associated with soliciting sensitive information from the second user (para 2 {Voice phishing, also known as “vishing,” is a malicious activity ..disclosing their sensitive information over the phone}; see figures; para 42 {…with the intention to illicitly procure sensitive details… fraudulent activities}; para 65; para 73 {generating a risk warning … form of an audible alert, a visual signal}; para 120; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 18:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above and receiving the first audio data provided via the first device for forwarding to the second device; and receiving the second audio data provided via the second device for forwarding to the first device (para 46 {Caller A may engage in a telephonic conversation with a Caller B}; para 46-49,54 [caller B, and receiver is related to second device and audio data]; para 49 {data transferred between a customer service representative (caller) and a customer (receiver)… during a telephonic conversation}; and throughout).
Regarding claim 19:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above and receiving the first audio data provided via the first device in parallel with the second device; and receiving the second audio data provided via the second device in parallel with the first device (para 46 {Caller A may engage in a telephonic conversation with a Caller B}, in phone call real-time data is essentially provided in parallel; and see throughout).
Regarding claim 20:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above and comprising the second device, wherein the second device comprises the one or more processors and the memory (para 46,49 [second device is B]; para 24,88-91 [processor, memory]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K M et al. (2025/0030795) in view of Dziuk et al. (US 12,126,765)
Regarding claim 21:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that attempting to verify the identity of the first user via the authentication process by analyzing a voice of the first user.
However, Dziuk in the same field of endeavor discloses a system for call authentication where attempting to verify the identity of the first user via the authentication process by analyzing a voice of the first user (column 3 lines 1-5 {should be able to quickly tell if the caller is their spouse based on the sound of their voice}, and lines 45-60; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Dziuk in K M in order to improve caller authentication and authorization (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 22:
K M discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that attempting to verify the identity of the first user via the authentication process by determining an identification of the first device.
However, Dziuk in the same field of endeavor discloses a system for call authentication where attempting to verify the identity of the first user via the authentication process by determining an identification of the first device (column 6 lines 4-9 {identity of a caller based on information automatically determined about the caller, such as their phone number and/or caller ID information…}; and figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Dziuk in K M in order to improve caller authentication and authorization (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 8-15 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2023/0066915) discloses a system and method for obfuscation of a section of audio based on context of the audio.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631