DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grellou (FR 361387) in view of Wetzels et al (20120301654).
In regards to Claim 1, Grellou teaches a method for making a braided medical device (tire, could be used on a wheel chair), the method comprising:
positioning a ring-shaped insert (Detail B) inside a braided structure (Figure 2); and
processing the braided structure to form the braided medical device (Figure 2 shows the braid being formed).
While Grellou essentially teaches the invention as detailed, it fails to specifically teach the structure of the insert. Wetzels, however, teaches that when forming similar devices, it is well known to use a frangible insert which can be later be removed (reshapeable polystyrene foam, Paragraph 43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a frangible insert, so as to make removal easier after production.
It is noted that Wetzels discusses Grellou in Paragraphs 5 and 20.
In regards to Claim 2, Wetzels teaches the frangible insert comprises an annular configuration that is configured to form a void in a center of the medical device (Figure 1 shows the space which would be a void).
In regards to Claim 5, Wetzels teaches the frangible insert is configured to constrain and define an inner shape of the structure during processing (Figure 1 shows the structure contacts the insert).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grellou and Wetzels et al, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Helland (2978023).
In regards to Claim 7, while the combination of Grellou and Wetzels essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, including crushing the frangible insert into multiple pieces (Paragraph 43; polystyrene foam, reshapeable), it fails to specifically teach washing the multiple pieces out of the braided medical device with water. Helland, however, teaches that using water to wash out multiple pieces from a structure is well known (Column 3, lines 25-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used water as taught by Helland, so as to dislodge pieces which remain in an easier manner. Spraying water to clean a surface is well known, and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been more than capable of doing this as taught.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grellou and Wetzels et al, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Renke (20190000608).
In regards to Claim 8, while the combination of Grellou and Wetzels essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, including using a frangible insert, it fails to specifically using a frangible insert capable of being dissolved with water. Renke, however, teaches than when considering frangible inserts, gypsum is a well known material to utilize (Paragraphs 153, 155). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized gypsum as the insert material, so as to provide a harder surface for the braid to formed. The ordinarily skilled artisan would understand gypsum to be a stronger material than polystyrene foam, and would appreciate the ability to improve the strength of the insert while also providing for a more environmentally friendly waste product. In regards to removal with water, Renke teaches in paragraph 155 that when using a gypsum insert, removal is performed with water.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732