DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 24, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 (Species A) in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are examined.
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2018/0076400 A1) in view of Shinozaki (WO 2021181766 A1, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
preparing a processing target including a first layer (¶ [0070] – flexible substrate 120), a second layer (¶ [0070] – lower mother substrate 110), and a third layer (¶ [0070] – sacrificial layer 111) located between the first layer and the second layer (¶ [0070] – 111 disposed on the edge of the lower mother substrate 110; FIG. 3B depicts 111 between 110 and 120); and
sequentially removing the first layer and the second layer (¶ [0068-0069] – 110 is removed (S125); ¶ [0077-0078] – 160 removed from 120 (S140); FIG. 2 depicts S125 is performed before S140) by irradiating a pulsed laser beam to the processing target (¶ [0063-0064] – 110 is irradiated with a laser (S120); ¶ [0073-0074] – bending area irradiated with a laser (S135)).
Jung does not disclose the third layer having an absorptance that is smaller than each of an absorptance of the first layer and an absorptance of the second layer.
Analogous art Shinozaki discloses using laser light to induce ablation processing based on multiphoton absorption process (¶ [0049]) and localized temperature rise in the resin, causing the resin to be removed from the composite material (¶ [0052]).
Shinozaki further discloses the third layer having an absorptance that is smaller (¶ [0053] –differences in light absorption rate of the resin forming the functional layer) than each of an absorptance of the first layer and an absorptance of the second layer (¶ [0052-0053] – localized temperature rise occurs due to infrared light absorption by the irradiated resin, causing the resin to be removed from composite material; resin removal method due to infrared light absorption of the resin irradiated with laser light).
Jung and Shinozaki disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to using a laser to remove layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the resin removal method due to light absorption of resin irradiated with laser light in Shinozaki to the irradiating and removal of the lower mother substrate and flexible substrate in Jung to remove resin from composite material (¶ [0052]) and cleave a composite material without causing cracks to form on the end face of a brittle material layer (¶ [0001])..
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the preparing the processing target comprises:
forming the third layer comprising a display panel (¶ [0075] – organic light emitting display device) including a display area (¶ [0075] – display area DA), a pad area (¶ [0075] – pad area PA) spaced apart from the display area (FIG. 3A-3B depicts DA spaced from PA), and a bending area (¶ [0075] – bending area BA) located between the display area and the pad area (¶ [0075] – bending area is disposed between the display area and the pad area; FIG. 3H depicts BA between DA and PA), and an adhesive layer (¶ [0033] – adhesive layer 162) on the display panel (¶ [0033] – supporting film of organic light emitting display device includes 162);
forming the first layer comprising a polarization layer (¶ [0095] – polarizing plate 170) on the third layer (¶ [0095-0096] – bonded on display unit 150, adhesive layer disposed on back surface of 170; FIG. 3P depicts 170 on 150 and above 111); and
forming the second layer comprising a lower protective film (¶ [0033] – supporting film 160) under the third layer (¶ [0033] – bonded to back of 120; FIG. 3F and 3H depict 160 under 120 and under 120).
Regarding claim 5, Jung discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the sequentially removing the first layer and the second layer comprises selectively removing only a portion of the polarization layer and a portion of the lower protective film which overlap the bending area of the display panel (FIG. 3H depicts only a portion of 170 and 140 overlap the bending area BA and FIG. 3I and 3P depicts a portion of BA removed) by using the pulsed laser beam (¶ [0063-0064] – 110 is irradiated with a laser (S120); ¶ [0073-0074] – bending area irradiated with a laser (S135)).
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses the method of claim 4, wherein
the display panel is formed on a substrate comprising polyimide (¶ [0050] – 120 formed of polyimide),
the adhesive layer is formed of a pressure-sensitive adhesive (as the adhesive layer bonds 170 to 150, a form of pressure is applied and meets “pressure-sensitive”)
the lower protective film is formed of polyethylene terephthalate (¶ [0033-0034] – protective film 161, 164 of 160 formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) films).
Jung does not disclose:
the polarization layer is formed of polyvinyl alcohol.
Shinozaki discloses main body of the layer include a laminated film consisting of multiple layers, such as polyimide and polyethylene terephthalate, and adhesives interposed between layers(¶ [0037-0038]).
Shinozaki further discloses:
the polarization layer (¶ [0038] – polarizing film) is formed of polyvinyl alcohol (¶ [0037] – polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)).
Jung and Shinozaki disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to using a laser to remove layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the polyvinyl alcohol in Shinozaki to the polarizing plate in Jung to cleave a composite material without causing cracks to form on the end face of a brittle material layer (¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Jung discloses the method of claim 1.
Jung does not disclose wherein the pulsed laser beam has a pulse width of nanosecond scale or less.
Shinozaki further discloses wherein the pulsed laser beam has a pulse width of nanosecond scale or less (¶ [0062] – pulse width of the laser is preferably 100 picoseconds or less).
Jung and Shinozaki disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to using a laser to remove layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the pulse laser width of 100 picoseconds in Shinozaki to the irradiation in Jung to cleave a composite material without causing cracks to form on the end face of a brittle material layer (¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Jung does not explicitly disclose:
each of the absorptance of the first layer and the absorptance of the second layer is greater than or equal to about 5 percent, and
the absorptance of the third layer is less than or equal to about 0.5 percent.
However, Shinozaki discloses resin removal that is based on the principle of local temperature rise due to infrared light absorption of the resin irradiated with laser light, it is possible to roughly estimate the energy input require to form the first processing groove (removal of resin) based on the thickness of the functional layer and differences in the light absorption rate of the resin forming the functional layer (¶ [0053]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would desire to have a greater absorptance of the resin to remove it and leave the remaining substrate.
Modified Jung discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not explicitly disclose each of the absorptance of the first layer and the absorptance of the second layer is greater than or equal to about 5 percent, and the absorptance of the third layer is less than or equal to about 0.5 percent. As the percent absorptance of the layers/resin and corresponding removal are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the material composition of the resin and wavelength of the irradiating laser, with said matching of wavelength to the absorptance of the material increases the percent absorptance, the percent absorbance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed percent absorptance cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the percent absorptance in the method of Shinozaki to obtain the desired percent absorptance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2018/0076400 A1) in view of Shinozaki (WO 2021181766 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Yamazaki (US 2021/0090879 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Jung discloses the method of claim 1.
Jung does not disclose wherein the preparing the processing target comprises:
preparing the third layer comprising a glass; and
forming the first layer and the second layer each comprising a colored ink on upper and lower portions of the third layer.
Shinozaki further discloses preparing the third layer comprising a glass (¶ [0062] – brittle material forming the brittle material layer is glass).
Jung and Shinozaki disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to using a laser to remove layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the brittle material of glass in Shinozaki to the sacrificial layer in Jung to cleave a composite material without causing cracks to form on the end face of a brittle material layer (¶ [0001]).
Shinozaki does not disclose
forming the first layer and the second layer each comprising a colored ink on upper and lower portions of the third layer.
Analogous art Yamazaki discloses a resin layer having a color and removed with a wet etching apparatus, ashing using oxygen plasma, or the like (¶ [0134]).
Yamazaki further discloses forming the first layer and the second layer each comprising a colored ink (¶ [0135] – step of removing resin layer which is colored) on upper and lower portions of the third layer.
Jung and Yamazaki disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to using a laser to remove layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the colored resin layer in Shinozaki to the lower mother substrate and flexible substrate in modified Jung to provide a peeling method and a manufacturing method of a display device each having a low cost and high mass productivity (¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the sequentially removing the first layer and the second layer comprises selectively removing a portion of the colored ink of the first layer and the second layer (¶ [0135] – step of removing resin layer which is colored) by using the pulsed laser beam (¶ [0134] - ashing using oxygen plasma, or the like).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754