DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that considering all claims would be no undue burden to the examiner. This is not found persuasive because the three inventions are independent and distinct as laid out in the restriction requirement. Each invention has a classification different from the others and the search and art rejections which apply to one invention do not apply to the others.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “are provided” is an implied phrase. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hundhausen 3,618,304.
Independent Claim 1: Hundhausen discloses a blade assembly, comprising:
a blade base (unnumbered, seen in annotated Fig. 2 below), a first boss (8) and a second boss (7) being arranged on a blade assembly surface (the bottom surface) of the blade base, a height of the first boss being a first height, and a height of the second boss being a second height (as seen in Fig. 2);
a first blade (4), provided with a first mounting hole matched with the first boss; and
a second blade (5), provided with a second mounting hole matched with the second boss;
wherein the first blade is mounted on the first boss, and the second blade is mounted on the second boss (as seen in Fig. 2), as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2, 5-6: Hundhausen further discloses wherein the first height (of 8) is greater than the second height (of 7, as seen in Fig. 2, boss 8 extends further than boss 7 from the blade base), as per claim 2;
wherein the second boss (7) is arranged between the first boss (8) and the blade base (seen above in annotated Fig. 2), as per claim 5;
wherein a projection profile of the first boss (8) on the blade base (seen above in annotated Fig. 2) is positioned in a projection profile of the second boss (7) on the blade base (as seen above, the profile of 8 is contained with the sleeve/profile of 7), as per claim 6;
PLEASE NOTE the rejection below, also under Hundhausen, has the first and second blades reversed relative to the above rejection in order to account for the positioning limitations of the blades in dependent claims 4 and 10.
Independent Claim 1: Hundhausen discloses a blade assembly, comprising:
a blade base (unnumbered, seen in annotated Fig. 2 below), a first boss (7) and a second boss (8) being arranged on a blade assembly surface (the underside) of the blade base, a height of the first boss being a first height, and a height of the second boss being a second height (as seen in Fig. 2);
a first blade (5), provided with a first mounting hole matched with the first boss; and
a second blade (4), provided with a second mounting hole matched with the second boss;
wherein the first blade is mounted on the first boss, and the second blade is mounted on the second boss (as seen in Fig. 2), as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 4, 10: Hundhausen further discloses wherein the first blade (5) is located on the second blade (4, as seen in Figs. 1-2), and the first blade and the second blade are dislocated from each other (as seen in Fig. 3, the blades are angularly offset from each other), as per claim 4;
wherein, an edge of the blade assembly surface (the underside of the blade base seen in Fig. 2 above) of the blade base is provided with at least one supporting boss (seen in annotated Fig. 2 above), and the first blade (5) is supported on a supporting surface of the supporting boss (as seen in Figs. 1-2), as per claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hundhausen.
Dependent Claim 3: The blade assembly is disclosed as applied above. However, Hundhausen fails to disclose wherein the first height is about 5-8mm, and the second height is about 2-4mm, as per claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first height of about 5-8mm and a second height of about 2-4mm, as per claim 3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Specifically, Lalonde 4,292,791 shows a similar blade assembly but fails to disclose the exact structure of connection of the blades to the blade base.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 March 21, 2026