DETAILED ACTION
Specification and Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification uses terms such as “optical heating part” and “power heating part” through the specification. The term “heating” appears to be a mistranslation as there is no disclosed heating in the applicant’s disclosure. The optical element as defined in claim 1 comprises “at least one camera and the light projector” while the power part comprises “a battery”. Applicant is advised to either point out and explain the presence of a heating element in the optical part and the power part or to remove the term “heating” from the disclosure.
Applicant is advised to make the same corrections to the drawings and submit replacement drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-3, 8-9 and 13 recite the limitations “optical heating part” and “power heating part”. The term “heating” appears to be a mistranslation as there is no disclosed heating in the applicant’s disclosure. The optical element as defined in claim 1 comprises “at least one camera and the light projector” while the power part comprises “a battery” which further show that no heating is claimed. Applicant is advised to either point out and explain the presence of a heating element in the optical part and the power part or to amend the claims by removing the term “heating”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OUYANG (US 2020/0169649 A1, hereinafter OUYANG).
Regarding claim 10, OUYNG discloses a method of charging a wireless scanner, comprising:
holding a scanner comprising a charging module on a cradle that generates an electromagnetic force (See Fig.15, discloses a wireless charging base 5 holding wireless scanner housing 1 comprising handle 2. The wireless charging base 5 comprising a wireless power transmission module 62 which generates an electromagnetic field to wirelessly charge the electronic device);
generating a current in a charging module that is separated from the cradle at a predetermined interval by the cradle (See Fig.15, discloses a wireless charging module 46 which receives wireless charging from a wireless power transmission module 62); and
charging a battery that is electrically connected to the charging module and that supplies power to the scanner through the generated current (Pars.141-142, discloses the power supply module 44 is charged via the wireless charging module 46 and Par.131 discloses the image acquisition module is charged via the master control unit 42).
Regarding claim 11, OUYANG discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, wherein the holding of the scanner comprises holding the scanner so that a bottom of the scanner comes into contact with the cradle and the charging module is adjacent to the cradle (See Fig.15, discloses the scanner 1 is held on the charging base 5 such that the wireless power transmission module 62 and the wireless charging module 46 are adjacent to transmit/receive wireless power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OUYANG (US 2020/0169649 A1, hereinafter OUYANG) in view of DACOSTA et al. (US 2022/0104706 A1, hereinafter DACOSTA).
Regarding claim 1, OUYANG discloses a wireless scanner comprising:
a scanner body having a plurality of parts disposed therein (See Fig.16, discloses a scanner comprising a handle 102. Fig.15 and Par.129 discloses a master control module 42 in the handle); and
a scanner tip coupled to one end of the scanner body and having a passage through which light passes therein (See 16, discloses a tip comprising a camera unit 31. Fig.9, discloses a plurality of LED lights 30 surrounding the cameras 32), wherein the scanner body comprises:
an optical heating part comprising at least one camera and a light projector (See Fig.9 and Pars.75 and 85, disclose cameras 32 surrounded by LED lights 30);
a power heating part that supplies power to at least one of the camera and the light projector (See Fig.15, Item#44 and Par.134, discloses a power supply module 44 which provides power to all modules in the dental endoscope. Par.141, discloses the wireless power supply module is charged via the wireless charging module 46 and Par.131 discloses the image acquisition module is charged via the master control unit 42. This implicitly indicates that power supply unit is an energy storage unit); and
at least one charging module configured to charge the power heating part by a current that is generated in a receiving circuit formed in the scanner body by a magnetic field generated from a transmitting circuit included in a cradle on which the scanner body is held (See Fig.15, discloses a wireless charging module 46 which receives wireless charging from a wireless power transmission module 62 and Pars.141-142, discloses the wireless power supply module is charged via the wireless charging module 46 and Par.131 discloses the image acquisition module is charged via the master control unit 42).
However, OUYANG does not explicitly disclose the power heating part comprising a battery or that charging is received via a receiving coil from a transmitting coil.
DACOSTA discloses a wireless imaging device comprising a battery which is wireless charged via inductive scheme comprising transmitting and receiving coil (See Pars.68 and 87, discloses the wireless imaging device comprises “an inductive battery charging system”. Inductive charging systems inherently include coils for transmitting and receiving wireless power).
OUYANG and DACOSTA are analogous art since they both deal with wireless imaging devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed OUYANG with the teachings of DACOSTA by using a battery as the power supply device and using inductive charging to charge the battery for the benefit of prolonging the operating time of the wireless scanner (by using a battery versus using a capacitor) and for providing a system with high wireless charging efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose wherein: the charging module is formed by being separated from the power heating part, and an interval between the charging module and the optical heating part is formed to be smaller than an interval between the charging module and the power heating.
However, the examiner explains that rearrangement of parts is an obvious design choice and that it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA by increasing the distance between the charging module and the power heating part for the benefit of protecting the battery against damage caused by overheating generating during wireless charging (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
Regarding claim 8, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a communication module for communicating with a physically separated device (See OUYANG, Fig.15, Item#41, discloses a wireless communication module), wherein the communication module is formed by being separated from a holding part of a user in the scanner body, and is formed by being separated from the charging module by at least one of the optical heating part and the power heating part (See OUYANG, Fig.15, discloses the wireless communication module is separated from charging module 46).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OUYANG in view of MANSOUR et al. (US 2021/0013738 A1, hereinafter MANSOUR).
Regarding claim 12, OUYANG discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, However, OUYANG does not disclose further comprising: before the generating of the current, determining, by a controller of the scanner, whether a current has been generated in the charging module; and
controlling, by the controller, an operation of the scanner based on whether the current has been generated in the charging module.
MANSOUR discloses a device controller for an electronic device, the device controller detects that the device is receiving wireless charging and deactivates device functions (See Pars.15 and 18, discloses the wearable device 104 or the mobile device 102 may detect that it is receiving a charge wirelessly, and automatically turn off haptic feedback or other aspects of device functionality when the wearable device 104 or the mobile device 102 is placed on the wireless charger 106).
OUYANG and MANSOUR are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG with the teachings of MANSOUR by detecting the wireless scanner is receiving wireless charging and deactivating the device operations for the benefit of preserving battery life since the device cannot be used while charging.
Regarding claim 13, OUYANG and MANSOUR disclose the method of claim 12 as discussed above, wherein the controlling of the operation of the scanner comprises deactivating, by the controller, an operation of an optical heating part comprising at least one camera and a light projector when determining that the current has been generated in the charging module (See MANSOUR discloses deactivating device functions when the device is receiving wireless charging).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OUYANG in view of DACOSTA and in further view of TOYA et al. (US 2009/0267559 A1, hereinafter TOYA).
Regarding claim 3, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the charging module is disposed within an internal space of the scanner body (See OUYANG, Fig.15, Item#46).
However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose the charging module is disposed on a lower side than the optical heating part and the power heating part.
TOYA discloses a wireless charging system comprising a wireless power receiving device comprising a charging module disposed on a lower side of the circuitry and energy storage device (See Figs.4 and 13, disclose the charging coil 51 is placed lower than the battery 54 and the circuit board 73).
OUYANG, DACOSTA and TOYA are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA with the teachings of TOYA by placing the charging module on a lower side than the optical heating part and the power heating part for the benefit of improving the charging efficiency by reducing the distance between the power transmitting module in the cradle and the charging module in the wireless scanner.
Regarding claim 4, OUYANG and DACOSTA Disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose wherein the charging module is formed in a shape corresponding to an external surface of the scanner body.
TOYA discloses a wireless charging system comprising a wireless power receiving device comprising a charging module formed in a shape corresponding to an external surface of the scanner body (See Fig.3 discloses a wireless charge receiving coil 51 conforming to curved bottom surface 13 of the wireless power receiving device).
OUYANG, DACOSTA and TOYA are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA with the teachings of TOYA such that the charging module corresponds to an external surface of the scanner body for the benefit of allowing the coil to be the closest to the transmitting coil of the charging cradle.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OUYANG in view of DACOSTA and in further view of JACKSON et al. (US 11,670,962 B2, hereinafter JACKSON).
Regarding claim 5, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose further comprising at least one slot that is upward depressed and formed at a bottom of the scanner body, wherein the charging module is formed in a shape corresponding to at least one surface of the slot.
JACKSON discloses a wireless charging system comprising complementary protrusions (shape corresponding to at least one surface of the slot) and recesses (slot that is upward depressed) (See Col.7, lines 60-37).
OUYANG, DACOSTA and JACKSON are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA with the teachings of JACKSON by placing complementary recess and protrusion on the wireless scanner and the charging module for the benefit of improving and simplifying alignment between the charging module and the wireless scanner.
Regarding claim 6, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose wherein the scanner body further comprises a magnetic unit that is formed at a bottom of the scanner body and that provides magnetism so that the scanner body is held on the cradle.
JACKSON discloses a wireless charging system comprising alignment magnets (See Col.7, lines 60-37).
OUYANG, DACOSTA and JACKSON are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA with the teachings of JACKSON by placing magnets on the wireless scanner and the charging module for the benefit of improving and simplifying alignment between the charging module and the wireless scanner.
Regarding claim 7, OUYANG, DACOSTA and JACKSON disclose the wireless scanner of claim 6 as discussed above, wherein the scanner body further comprises an electromagnetic shielding unit for preventing electromagnetic interference between the magnetic unit and the charging module (See Col.27, lines 30-34, disclose using shields).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OUYANG in view of DACOSTA and in further view of MANSOUR.
Regarding claim 9, OUYANG and DACOSTA disclose the wireless scanner of claim 1 as discussed above, However, OUYANG and DACOSTA do not disclose further comprising a controller configured to determine whether a current has been generated in the charging module, wherein the controller deactivates an operation of the optical heating part when determining that the current has been generated in the charging module.
MANSOUR discloses a device controller for an electronic device, the device controller detects that the device is receiving wireless charging and deactivates device functions (See Pars.15 and 18, discloses the wearable device 104 or the mobile device 102 may detect that it is receiving a charge wirelessly, and automatically turn off haptic feedback or other aspects of device functionality when the wearable device 104 or the mobile device 102 is placed on the wireless charger 106).
OUYANG, DACOSTA and MANSOUR are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by OUYANG and DACOSTA with the teachings of MANSOUR by detecting the wireless scanner is receiving wireless charging and deactivating the device operations including the optical heating part for the benefit of preserving battery life since the device cannot be used while charging.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859