DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN-2023230031817 filed on November 7, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 14, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fang et al. disclose a secondary battery (para. [0119]) comprising: a housing (housing 11) comprising an end wall (housing 11) and a side wall (housing 11) surrounding the end wall (Fig. 3), wherein an opening is formed on one side of the side wall (para. [0139] an opening formed at one end) facing away from the end wall (Fig. 3).
Fang et al. disclose the side wall (housing 11) comprises: a recessed portion (first restraint member 112) formed near the opening (see Fig. 4) and is recessed toward an interior of the housing (see Fig. 4), a body portion (housing 11) extending between the recessed portion and the end wall (housing 11) and a transition portion (housing 11) between the recessed portion and the body portion (see Fang et. al. Fig. 4 with annotations).
Fang et al. Fig. 4 with annotations
Fang et al. disclose an end cap (end cover 13) disposed on the opening side to seal the opening (see Fig. 3). Fang et al. disclose an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 12) disposed in the housing (see Fig. 4), wherein a first tab (tab 122) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (see Fig. 4).
Fang et al. disclose a current collecting component (current collecting member 14) comprising a current collector (current collecting member 14) and a housing connection portion (elastic portion 142), wherein the current collector is electrically connected to the first tab (para [0006]), and the housing connection portion (elastic portion 142) is disposed between the recessed portion (first restraint member 112) and the electrode assembly (electrode assembly 12, and see Fig. 6, 142 is between 112 and 12).
However, Fang et al. fail to disclose the housing connection portion is welded to the body portion and/or the transition portion.
Makino et al. disclose the housing connection portion (flange of electrode lead plate 6) is welded (para [0023]) to the body portion (cylindrical can 2).
Fang et al. and Makino et al. are analogous in the field of secondary battery design.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al. with the welding location taught by Makino et al. because welding here helps securing the current collecting component (electrode lead plate 6) in its position in the beading process and improves the electrical contact between the current collecting component (electrode lead plate 6) and the cylindrical can (Makino et al. para [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach the housing connection portion (Makino et al., electrode lead plate 6) comprises a bent portion (Makino et al., flange 6a) extending toward (Makino et al., Fig. 1) the recessed portion (Makino et al., beading groove 3). Similarly, Fang et al. discloses the housing connection portion (Fang et., elastic portion 142) comprises a bent portion (Fang et al., second bending portion 1422) extending toward (Fang et al., Fig. 6) the recessed portion (Fang et al., first restraint member 112). Makino et al. discloses the bent portion (Makino et al., flange 6a) abuts against (Makino et al., Fig. 1) and is welded to (Makino et al., para [0023]) the body portion (Makino et al., cylindrical can 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach the body portion (Fang et al., housing 11) has a constant cross-section structure (see Fang et al. Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, housing 11 is a cylindrical structure, a cylinder has a constant cross-section structure), and an included angle (see Fang et al. Fig 6 with annotations) is formed between the bent portion (Fang et al., second bending portion 1422) and the body portion (Fang et al., housing 11). In Fang et al. Fig. 6 with annotation below, second bending portion 1422 has a straight vertical section abutting against straight vertical section of housing 11, thus the included is 0°, which is within the claimed range of 0° to 60°. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Thus, the claim limitation is obvious.
Fang et al. Fig. 6 with annotations
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach the housing connection portion (Fang et al., para [0166], elastic portion 142), further comprises a flange portion (Fang et al., para [0166], first bending portion 1421), and the flange portion is connected (Fang et al., para [0166]) to the bent portion (Fang et al., para [0166], second bending portion 1422) and bent toward the interior of the housing (see Fang et al., Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach the recessed portion (Fang et al., Fig. 5, first restraint member 112) comprises a depressing portion (Fang et al., Fig. 5, first restraint member 112) bent toward the electrode assembly side on one side the recessed portion close to an axis of the secondary battery (see Fang et al., Fig. 5). Fang et al. teach that the current collecting member abuts against a side of the first restraint member facing the electrode assembly (para. [0052]). Thus, the claim limitation that the depressing portion at least partially abuts against the current collector is obvious.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach a plurality of housing connection portions (Fang et al., Fig. 7, elastic portion 142), and the plurality of housing connection portions are spaced apart on an outer periphery (see Fang et al., Fig. 7) of the current collector (Fang et al., Fig. 7, current collecting member 14).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach a battery assembly (Fang et al., Fig. 2, battery 100) comprising the secondary battery (Fang et al., Fig. 2, battery cell 10).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach an electronic device (Fang et al., Fig. 1, vehicle 1000) comprising the battery assembly (Fang et al., Fig. 1, battery 100).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Jung (US PG Pub. 2023/0231246 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. teach the housing connection portion (Fang et al., elastic portion 142) is disposed on an outer periphery (see Fang et al. Fig. 7) of the current collector (Fang et al., current collecting member 14).
However, Fang et al. in view of Makino et al. does not teach the housing connection portion comprises a groove that is recessed toward the electrode assembly side, the groove comprises a groove bottom wall and an outer groove wall and an inner groove wall connected to both sides of the groove bottom wall, the outer groove wall is connected to the bent portion, and the inner groove wall is connected to the current collector.
Jung discloses the housing connection portion (case welding portion 143) is disposed on an outer periphery (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) of the current collector (first current collector plate 140), the housing connection portion (case welding portion 143) comprises a groove (para. [0060], a corrugation) that is recessed toward the electrode assembly (electrode assembly 110) side (see Fig. 2 with annotations), the groove comprises a groove bottom wall and an outer groove wall and an inner groove wall connected to both sides of the groove bottom wall, the outer groove wall is connected to the bent portion, and the inner groove wall is connected to the current collector (see Fig. 2 with annotations).
Jung’s Fig. 2 with annotations
Fang et al., Makino et al. and Jung are analogous in the field of secondary battery design.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al. and Makino et al. by incorporating the groove structure on the housing connection portion taught by Jung to absorb deformation of the case and thereby reduce unintended deformation or distortion of other portions of the current collector plate, further improving structural stability of the secondary battery (Jung, para [0060]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Jung (US PG Pub. 2023/0231246 A1), further in view of Lai et al. (CN-116487784-A). See examiner provided machine translation for prior art discussion of CN-116487784-A.
Regarding claim 6 and 7, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 5.
However, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung fail to teach that, along a height direction of the secondary battery, orthographic projections of the current collector and the inner groove wall cover the first tab and the first tab comprises an indentation recessed toward one side facing away from the current collecting component, and the groove bottom wall of the groove abuts against the indentation.
Lai et al. discloses along a height direction of the secondary battery, orthographic projections of the current collector (current collecting plate 200) and the inner groove wall cover the first tab (positive pole tab 121) (see Lai et al. Fig. 2 with annotations). Lai et al. discloses the first tab (positive pole tab 121) comprises an indentation (tab curved portion) recessed toward one side facing away (see Lai et al. Fig. 2 with annotations) from the current collecting component (current collecting plate 200), and the groove bottom wall (side groove surface 233) of the groove abuts against the indentation (tab curved portion) (Lai et al. Claim 1 and claim 3).
Lai et al.’s Fig. 2 with annotations
Fang et al., Makino et al., Jung and Lai et al. are analogous in the field of battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al., Makino et al. and Jung by incorporating the tab structure taught by Lai et al. to ensure good contact between the tab and the current collector with a large contact area, thereby reducing the risk of internal short circuits and improving battery yield (Lai et al. para [0008]).
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Jung (US PG Pub. 2023/0231246 A1), and further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US PG Pub. 2002/0142211 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 5.
However, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung fail to teach that, an angle between the inner groove wall and the groove bottom wall is an obtuse angle.
Nakanishi et al. disclose that, an angle between the inner groove wall and the groove bottom wall is an obtuse angle (see Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15 with annotation below). The obtuse angle is formed by trapezoidal protrusions 121 of the current collector plate 120 (Nakanishi et al., para [0165]). This trapezoidal protrusion geometry provides a corresponding trapezoidal geometry for the groove of the current collecting component. Nakanishi et al. compare several protrusion shapes, including semicircular (Nakanishi et al. Fig. 13), V-shaped (Nakanishi et al. Fig. 14) and trapezoidal (Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15) with respect to battery power density (Nakanishi Table 10 and 11).
Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15 with annotation
Fang et al., Makino et al., Jung and Nakanishi et al. are analogous in the field of secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the groove of the current collector component of the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al., Makino et al. and Jung by incorporating the trapezoidal geometry taught by Nakanishi et al. because the trapezoidal protrusion has a greater area of contact than the circular-arc protrusion and V-shaped protrusion, thereby improving battery power density (Nakanishi et al. para [0190], Table 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 9 and 11, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 5.
However, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., and Jung fail to teach that, along a height direction of the secondary battery, a distance between a position where the bent portion abuts the body portion and the groove bottom wall is d, and 0.3mm ≤ d ≤ 2.5mm, and a distance between the current collector and the groove bottom wall is h2, and d ≥ 0.5 h2.
Nakanishi et al. disclose that along a height direction of the secondary battery, S = 1 mm is the wall thickness of the protrusion, T = 1.0 mm as thickness of the current collector plate, and H = 1.2 mm is furrow depth of the protrusion (para [0169]) (see Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15 with annotation). Accordingly, a distance d between a position where the bent portion abuts the body portion and the groove bottom wall, and d = H + S = 1.2 + 1 = 2.2 mm, which lies inside the claimed range of 0.3mm ≤ d ≤ 2.5mm. Accordingly, a distance h2 between the current collector and the groove bottom wall, and h2 = H + S - T = 1.2 + 1 – 1 = 1.2 mm. Thus, 0.5h2 = 0.6 mm, and d = 2.2 mm satisfies the claim limitation d ≥ 0.5h2.
Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15 with annotation
Fang et al., Makino et al., Jung and Nakanishi et al. are analogous in the field of secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al., Makino et al. and Jung by incorporating the groove dimensions taught by Nakanishi et al. because Nakanishi et al. teach that the disclosed dimensional parameters improve battery power density (para [0175] and Table 10).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Jung (US PG Pub. 2023/0231246 A1), further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US PG Pub. 2002/0142211 A1), and further in view of Lim et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0271403 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al., Jung, and Nakanishi et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 5 and teach the furrow width, B, is 0.8 mm to 1.6 mm (see Nakanishi et al. Fig. 15 with annotation and Table 10). Modifying the furrow width, B, would affect the width of groove W1 of the current collecting component.
However, the combination of Fang et al., Makino et al. and Jung fail to disclose the radial depth of the recessed portion W2, and W1 ≤ 0.7W2.
Lim et al. disclose the radial depth (press-fitting depth PD) of the recessed portion (beading portion 21) is up to 10 mm (para [0265]). The press-fitting depth PD corresponds to the radial depth W2 of the recessed portion. Lim et al. disclose that varying the beading portion press-fitting depth PD in order to permit the current collector to be closely positioned in relative to the beading portion (Lim et al., para [0264]).
Fang et al. disclose the objective is to maintain the recessed portion in abutting contact with the current collector (Fang et al., para [0235]).
Fang et al., Makino et al., Jung, Nakanishi et al. and Lim et al. are analogous in the field of secondary batteries.
The prior arts therefore recognize the respective dimensions correspond to the width of the groove W1 and the radial depth of the recessed portion W2 as result effective variables affecting the positioning of the recessed portion relative to the current collector. It would require routine experimentation to determine the optimum value of a result effective variable, such as the width of the groove W1 and the radial depth of the recessed portion W2, in the absence of a showing of criticality in the claimed variables W1 and W2 of claim 10. Thus, claim 10 is rendered obvious. See MPEP 2144.05 II B.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Lim et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0271403 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. fail to teach the claimed height distance of the recessed portion.
Lim et al. disclose the recessed portion (beading portion 21) comprises a first side wall on one side of the recessed portion facing away from the opening (see Fig. 13d); one side of the first side wall facing away from a center of the opening is connected (see Fig. 13d) to the transition portion (battery housing 20). Lim et al. teach a sizing process of the battery housing 20, which is a compression process for reducing the height of the beading portion 21 (para [0250]), and the sizing is 1 mm (column 2 of Fig. 13e). The sizing process optimization of the beading portion total height affects the claimed distance h1 of the recessed portion because h1 is a distance between a position where the first side wall connects the transition portion and a position where the depressing portion abuts the current collector. Thus, determining an optimum value of h1 would have involved routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality in the claimed distance of claim 13. See MPEP 2144.05 II B.
Fang et al., Makino et al. and Lim et al. are analogous in the field of secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al. in view of Makino et al. to incorporate the sizing of the recessed portion taught by Lim et al. because reducing a height of the beading portion 21 of the battery housing alleviates the vertically bending under pressure problem of the current collector (para [0250]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0122619A1), in view of Makino et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0344749 A1), further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US PG Pub. 2002/0142211 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Fang et al. and Makino et al. fail to teach the current collector comprises a lead-out portion on one side the current collector facing away from the electrode assembly, and the lead-out portion is electrically connected to the end cap.
Nakanishi et al. teach the current collector (Nakanishi et al., collector plate 3) comprises a lead-out portion (Nakanishi et al., lead portion 33) on one side the current collector facing away from the electrode assembly (Nakanishi et al., Fig. 1), and the lead-out portion (Nakanishi et al., lead portion 33) is electrically connected (Nakanishi et al., para [0110]) to the end cap (Nakanishi et al., terminal assembly 4).
Fang et al., Makino et al. and Nakanishi et al. are analogous in the field of secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery structure taught by Fang et al. and Makino et al. by incorporating the lead out portion on the current collecting component taught by Nakanishi et al. because this arrangement makes it possible to deliver the power generated by the electrode unit to the terminal assemblies (Nakanishi et al., para [0110]).
Conclusion
/T.T.T./
THU T TRANExaminer, Art Unit 1788
08/26/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788