DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11 and 15 in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim language specifies “preferably” as a modifier. Are the limitations following “preferably” being positively claimed or not. This lack of clarity renders the scope of the claim indefinite. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “attaching means”. Claim 4 recites the limitation “mechanical means. Claim 10 recites the limitations “fixing means” and “leveling means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Entreprise Villain (FR 124186) in view of Leconte (U.S. 6,640,507).
In re Claim 1 and 3, Entreprise teaches the prefab panel with a frame structure with a first and a second horizontal profiles (4,5,15,16). First and a second vertical profiles (2,3,12,13) connect the first and the second horizontal profiles at profile fixing points where they meet at corners. The first and second horizontal profiles and the first and second vertical profiles have a matching shiplap design, as is shown in Figures 3 and 4. Entreprise teaches brackets (6) attachable to the first and second vertical profiles so as to connect the frame structure to a floor slab (B) of the building, for supporting the prefab panel and façade loads. (Figures 1-3)
The limitations “to connect the frame structure to a floor slab of the building, for supporting the prefab panel and façade loads” and “to allow clamping fit of the outer cladding” functional language directed to the intended use of the product and is afforded only limited weight in the claim. The product is capable of performing the function.
Entreprise teaches that the panels held in frames formed by the framework (page 1, Column 1) but does not disclose that the panel outer cladding is made of plasterboard attached to the frame structure and attaching means for attaching the outer cladding to the frame structure.
Leconte teaches a panel attached to a building with a plasterboard cladding (30) that is mounted to a supporting frame (13,14,15,16) with an attaching means such as screws or fasteners (Column 3, Lines 43-49; Figure1-8)
It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to mount a plasterboard cladding panel taught by Leconte to the frame taught by Entreprise in for reasons of aesthetics and to provide a measure of acoustic insulation. In holding the frame together, the shiplap design of the profiles would allow the intended use for a clamping fit of the outer cladding.
In re Claim 2, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed. Leconte also teaches connecting plate (8), interspersed between the brackets (6) and the floor slab (B). The limitation “for connecting the frame structure to the floor slab” is functional language directed to the intended use of the product and is afforded only limited weight in the claim. The product is capable of performing the function.
In re Claim 4, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed but does not specifically teach how the horizontal and vertical profiles are fixed together at their fixing points to form the frame. However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of a mechanical means fasteners like screws or glue to join the horizontal and vertical profiles together to form a frame is well known in the art and the examiner takes official notice of it.
In re Claim 5-7, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed. Entreprise teaches joint sealing elements (14) outwardly attached to at least one of the horizontal profiles and / or at least one of the vertical profiles, the joint sealing elements (14) preferably being self-adhesive, and comprising a peel-off protective sheet. While not specifically disclosed that this sealing element extends along the whole perimeter of the panel, this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date as this would assure a solid seal around the entire perimeter of the frame joint.
The limitations “for providing airtightness and watertightness” functional language directed to the intended use of the product and is afforded only limited weight in the claim. The product is capable of performing the function.
Entreprise does not teach the seal is a self-adhesive foam material with a peel off sheet. However, foam seals with peel off material are well known in the art and the examiner takes official notice that such seals are well known and conventional for The are effective seals at joints.
In re Claim 8, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed. Entreprise. Leconte also teaches a thermal insulator(20) housed at a rear portion of the frame structure (13,14,15,16), opposite a front part thereof comprising the outer cladding (30). (Figure1-8)
In re Claim 9, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed but does not teach a third vertical profile first and the second vertical profile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have a third vertical profile, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. This third profile would structurally reinforce the frame and panel.
In re Claim 15, Entreprise modified by Leconte has been previously discussed. Entreprise teaches a plurality of the prefab panels (1) coupled to each other and to a building structure (B) of a building. (Figures 1-3) In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record fails to teach or adequately suggest a prefab panel with the combination of characteristics specified in the independent claim. Of particular note are the requirement that the brackets of are metallic plates with a shorter second portion with a vertical slot, for allocating a curved upper part of the connecting plate, as well as fixing means, for fixing the connecting plate to the slot, and also levelling means, for levelling the connecting plate in height. There is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant's invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633