DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 24 “wherein the cable terminal extends in the extending direction” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the plug 10 extends in the extending direction Db and the inverter cable 20 are positioned along the longitudinal direction (see figs 3-4). Figures 3-4 show the cable terminals 20a extend along the longitudinal direction that each respective cable 20 extends along. It is unclear how the cable terminals extend along the extending direction of the plug 10. In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the cable terminal extends in the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 12, 14, 16 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al (CN111416466, “Liang”, using machine translation) in view of Yomo et al. (JP2004056924, “Yomo”, using machine translation) and Kawada et al. (JP6096147, “Kawada”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Liang discloses a terminal connection structure of a motor casing 1 configured to house an AC motor of a plurality of phases (figs 1-2, [0031], discloses motor is synchronous variable frequency motor which is inherently AC motor; has three power connection for motor indicating three phases), the terminal connection structure comprising:
a plurality of terminal blocks 4 located side by side to each other along a circumferential direction of the motor casing 1 (figs 1-2, [0031]) and including a plurality of terminal surfaces facing away from the motor casing 1 (figs 1-2 & below);
cables configured to connect the AC motor power ([0031]); and
a plurality of terminals that penetrate the terminal blocks 4 and are configured to electrically connect the cables to the phases of the AC motor (figs 1-2, [0031], terminal includes 3 & 31-33), wherein each of the terminals includes:
a plug 3 that protrudes from one of the terminal surface in an extending direction (figs 1-2 & below, extend both upward & downward from terminal surface); and
a cable mounting section 53 that positions one of the cables along a longitudinal direction which intersects the extending direction (figs 1-3 & below, [0042], fig 1 shows cables will enter to the left of 3 & 4 through a hole in housing),
wherein at least one terminal surface is offset in a perpendicular direction from a plane aligned with another terminal surface of the plurality of terminal surfaces (figs 2 & below, [0039]).
Liang discloses claim 1 except for:
inverter cables configured to connect the AC motor to an inverter;
the cable mounting section that positions one of the inverter cables along a longitudinal direction which intersects the extending direction; and
the plurality of the inverter cables extend from a plurality of cable mounting sections in longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point.
Yomo discloses inverter cables 21a-c configured to connect the AC motor 10 to an inverter (figs 2-3, [0018]); and
holding the inverter cables 21a-c with a holding portion 21 (fig 3) that holds the inverter cables together (fig 3).
Kawada discloses the plurality of the cables 22 extend from a plurality of cable mounting sections 21a in longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point (figs 2-3 & below, pg 2, underlined portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cables of Liang to:
be configured as inverter cables configured to connect the AC motor to an inverter, as disclosed by Yomo, in order to drive the motor, as taught by Yomo ([0018]);
configure the inverter cables to be held with a holding portion that holds the inverter cables together, as disclosed by Yomo, in order to hold the inverter cables together, as demonstrated by Yomo; and
extend from a plurality of cable mounting sections in longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point, as disclosed by Kawada, in order to direct the inverter cables to the holding portion, as demonstrated by Yomo.
Yomo shows the inverter cables 21a-c getting closer together as they enter the holding portion 21 (fig 3), so running the inverter cables from the cable mounting portions of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada to the holding portion of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada will result in the longitudinal directions demonstrated by Kawada.
Re claim 2, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the AC motor is a three-phase AC motor (fig 2), wherein the plurality of terminal surfaces includes a first terminal surface, a second terminal surface, and a third terminal surface (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the second terminal surface is located between the first terminal surface and the third terminal surface (figs 2 & above for claim 1), and
wherein the second terminal surface is offset in the perpendicular direction from a plane aligned with both the first terminal surface and the third terminal surface (figs 2 & above for claim 1, [0039], plane of claim 2 is the same as plane of claim 1).
Re claim 3, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the perpendicular direction corresponds to a radial direction of the motor casing 1 (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, radial direction along center of 2nd terminal).
Re claim 4 Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 3 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the plurality of terminal blocks 4 includes a first terminal block, a second terminal block and a third terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the second terminal block is located between the first terminal block and the third terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1), and protrudes away from both the first terminal block and the third terminal block in the radial direction (figs 2 & above for claim 1, where the radial direction is along the center of the 2nd terminal block).
Re claim 5, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the plurality of terminal blocks 4 includes a first terminal block and a second terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the plurality of terminals includes a first terminal and a second terminal (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the first terminal includes a first plug 3 extending to penetrate the first terminal block 4 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, [0031]),
wherein the second terminal includes a second plug 3 extending to penetrate the second terminal block 4 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1), and
wherein the first plug 3 and the second plug 3 extend in parallel directions (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 9, Liang discloses a motor assembly comprising:
an AC motor having of a plurality of phases (figs 1-2, [0031], discloses motor is synchronous variable frequency motor which is inherently AC motor; has three power connection for motor indicating three phases),
a motor casing 1 that houses the AC motor (figs 1-2);
a plurality of terminal blocks 4 located side by side to each other on an outer circumferential surface of the motor casing (figs 1-2, [0031]); and
a plurality of terminals configured to electrically connect a plurality of electrical cables to the phases of the AC motor (figs 1-2, [0031], terminal includes 3 & 31-33; discloses cables connected to terminals & there are three terminals) and separately protrude from the terminal blocks 4 (figs 2 & above for claim 1, each 3 protrudes from terminal blocks 4),
wherein a center terminal block of the plurality of terminal blocks protrudes further away from the outer circumferential surface of the motor casing 1 in a radial direction compared to two adjacent terminal blocks 4 (figs 2, above for claim 1 & below, [0039]), and
a center terminal that protrudes from the center terminal block to position one electrical cable parallel to a rotation axis direction of the AC motor (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, 2nd terminal; fig 2 shows the center terminal is at the top center of the housing 1 & fig 1 shows a hole for the cable behind the terminals), and
two terminals that protrude from the two adjacent terminal blocks are configured to position two other electric cables (figs 2 & above for claim 1, 1st & 2nd terminals).
Liang discloses claim 9 except for the two terminals are configured to position two other electrical cables along longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point that appears to intersect the rotation axis direction when viewed from the radial direction.
Yomo discloses holding the electrical cables 21a-c with a holding portion 21 (fig 3) that holds the electrical cables together (fig 3).
Kawada discloses the center terminal 20 is configured to position one electrical cable 22 in a longitudinal direction (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1); and
two terminals 20 of the two adjacent terminal blocks 21 are configured to position two other electrical cables 22 along longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point that intersects the longitudinal direction of the electric cable position on the center terminal 20 (figs 2 & above for claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cables and terminals of Liang so:
the electrical cables are held with a holding portion that holds the electrical cables together, as disclosed by Yomo, in order to hold the inverter cables together, as demonstrated by Yomo; and
the two terminals of the two adjacent terminal blocks are configured to position two other electrical cables along longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point that intersects the longitudinal direction of the electric cable position on the center, as disclosed by Kawada, in order to direct the electrical cables to the holding portion, as demonstrated by Yomo.
Yomo shows the electrical cables 21a-c getting closer together as they enter the holding portion 21 (fig 3), so running the electrical cables from the terminals of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada to the holding portion of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada will result in the longitudinal directions demonstrated by Kawada.
It is pointed out that Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose the two terminals are configured to position two other electrical cables along longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point that appears to intersect the rotation axis direction when viewed from the radial direction, since Liang discloses the electrical cable connected to the center terminal is parallel to the rotation axis direction of the AC motor (figs 1-2); and Kawada discloses the two other cables 22 are positioned along longitudinal directions that converge toward a single point that intersects the longitudinal direction of the electrical cable positioned by the center terminal (fig 3).
Re claim 10, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the motor casing 1 comprises a first end portion and a second end portion opposite the first end portion in an axial direction (figs 1 & below), and
wherein the plurality of terminal blocks is located between the first end portion and the second end portion (figs 1 & below).
Liang discloses claim 10 except for:
a rotating shaft that is rotated by the AC motor; and
the axial direction is along the rotating shaft.
Kawada discloses a rotating shaft that is rotated by the AC motor (fig 2, stator rotates rotor 13 which rotates shaft); and
the axial direction is along the rotating shaft (fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the AC motor of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada with a rotating shaft that is rotated by the AC motor; and the axial direction is along the rotating shaft, as disclosed by Kawada, in order to provide means for rotationally supporting the rotor, as demonstrated by Kawada.
Re claim 12, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the center terminal block comprises a center terminal surface (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the two adjacent terminal blocks 4 comprises a first adjacent terminal block including a first adjacent terminal surface (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, 1st = 1st adj.) and a second adjacent terminal block including a second adjacent terminal surface (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, 3rd = 2nd adj.),
wherein the center terminal includes a center plug 3 extending to penetrate the center terminal surface (figs 2 & above for claim 1),
wherein the two adjacent terminals comprise a first adjacent terminal including a first adjacent plug 3 extending to penetrate the first adjacent terminal surface (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, [0031]), a second adjacent terminal including a second adjacent plug 3 extending to penetrate the second adjacent terminal surface (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1, [0031]),
wherein the center plug 3, the first adjacent plug 3 and the second adjacent plug 3 extend in parallel directions (figs 1-2 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 14, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 12 as discussed above. Liang further discloses a stator of the AC motor (fig 1, [0031]); and
a plurality of bus bars 21 separately connected to the phases of the AC motor (figs 1-2, [0031] & [0042]), and arranged along an outer periphery of the stator (fig 1),
wherein the plurality of bus bars 21 comprises a center bus bar including a center terminal connection section connected to the center plug 3 (figs 1-2, [0042], discloses three connections resulting in three bus bars 21; terminal connection section end of 21 connected to 3), a first adjacent bus bar including a first adjacent terminal connection section connected to the first adjacent plug 3 3 (figs 1-2, [0042], terminal connection section end of 21 connected to 3) and a second adjacent bus bar 21 including a second adjacent terminal connection section connected to the second plug (figs 1-2, [0042], terminal connection section end of 21 connected to 3), and
wherein the center terminal connection section, the first adjacent terminal connection section and the second adjacent terminal connection section are spaced apart along the outer periphery of the stator (figs 1-2, as understood by location of 1st to 3rd plugs 3).
Re claim 16, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the center terminal block 4 has a side surface that partially faces one of the two terminal protruding from one of the two adjacent terminal blocks (figs 2 & below).
Re claim 23, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses each of the inverter cables 22 include a cable terminal 22a (Kawada, figs 2-3, underlined portion) which connects to an upper contact section of the plug 3 (Liang, figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, [0042], upper contact section portion of 3 w/ 53), and wherein the cable terminal is covered by the cable mounting section (Liang, figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, [0042], cable terminal will be between thin nut, flat washer & spring washer; and spring washer).
Re claim 24, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 23 as discussed above and further discloses the cable terminal 22a extends in the extending direction (as best understood by examiner the cable terminal extends in the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable; Kawada, fig 3).
Re claim 25, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the AC motor is a three-phase AC motor (figs 1-2, has three power connection for motor indicating three phases),
wherein the plurality of terminal blocks 4 includes a center terminal block 4, a first adjacent terminal block 4 and a second adjacent terminal block 4 (figs 2 & above for claim 1, 2nd terminal block=center; 1st terminal block=1st adj.; 3rd terminal block=2nd adj.),
wherein the center terminal block is located between the first adjacent terminal block and the second adjacent terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1), and
wherein the center terminal block protrudes further away from an outer circumferential surface of the motor casing 1 in a radial direction compared to both the first adjacent terminal block and the second adjacent terminal block (figs 2, above for claim 1 & above for claim 9).
Re claim 26, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 25 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the plurality of terminals includes a center terminal that penetrates the center terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1, 2nd terminal=center), a first adjacent terminal that penetrates the first adjacent terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1, 1st terminal=1st adj.), and a second adjacent terminal that penetrates the second adjacent terminal block (figs 2 & above for claim 1, 3rd terminal=2nd adj.), and
wherein the center terminal block includes a first side surface facing the cable mounting section of the first adjacent terminal (figs 2, above for claim 1 & below), and a second side surface facing the cable mounting section of the second adjacent terminal (figs 2, above for claim 1 & below).
Re claim 27, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 26 as discussed above and further discloses the first side surface is along the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable which is positioned by the cable mounting section of the first adjacent terminal (Liang, figs 1-2 & above for claims 1 & 26; Kawada discloses longitudinal direction; since longitudinal direction runs through cable mounting section), and
wherein the second side surface is along the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable which is positioned by the cable mounting section of the second adjacent terminal (Liang, figs 1-2 & above for claims 1 & 26; Kawada discloses longitudinal direction; since longitudinal direction runs through cable mounting section the 1st & 2nd sides run along the respective longitudinal directions).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada and in further view of Kuribayashi et al. (US20050001494, “Kuribayashi”).
Re claim 28, Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada disclose claim 25 as discussed above. Liang further discloses the plurality of terminals includes a center terminal that penetrates the center terminal block 4 (figs 2 & above for claim 1), and an adjacent terminal that penetrates the first adjacent terminal block 4 (figs 2 & above for claim 1), wherein the center terminal block includes a side surface facing the cable mounting section of the adjacent terminal (figs 2 & above for claims 1 & 26).
Liang is silent with respect to the side surface is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable positioned by the cable mounting section of the center terminal.
Kuribayashi discloses the side surface is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the cable 7 positioned by the cable mounting section 30 of the center terminal (figs 3, 5, 9 & below, [0034], employing fig 9 for rejection but has similar structure as figs 3 & 5, except for 25; surface of wall 25 indicated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the side surface of Liang in view of Yomo and Kawada so the side surface is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the inverter cable positioned by the cable mounting section of the center terminal, as disclosed by Kuribayashi, in order to prevent movement of the inverter cable terminals during fastening, as taught by Kuribayashi ({0044]).
Although Kuribayashi shows the cable extending away from each other, one in the art would be able to configure the wall 25 in an angled manner to match the cable extensions disclosed by Kawada using routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 15, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The main reason for indicating claim 6 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The terminal connection structure according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of terminals 5 includes:
a plug mounting section 11 made of resin, located on an outer periphery of the plug 10, and filling in a gap between the plug 10 and the terminal block 8, and
wherein the plug mounting section 11 includes:
a tubular main body 11a located between the plug 10 and the terminal block 8; and
a plate-like locking portion 11b protruding from the outer periphery of the main body 11a, facing the terminal surface 9 and fixed on the terminal surface 9.
The closest prior art Liang et al (CN111416466) does not disclose the above limitations.
Liang disclosed a plug mounting section with a tubular main body portion (OA mailed 9/3/25, pg 6), but does not disclose a plate-like locking portion protruding from the outer periphery of the main body, facing the terminal surface and fixed on the terminal surface.
The main reason for indicating claim 15 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The motor assembly according to claim 14,
wherein the center terminal surface 9B is offset in a perpendicular direction Db from a plane aligned with the first adjacent terminal surface 9A and the second adjacent terminal surface 9C, wherein both of the first adjacent terminal surface and the second adjacent terminal surface are located on the plane,
wherein a reference plane S passes through a rotation axis L of the AC motor and is perpendicular to the parallel direction Dd of the center plug,
wherein a height Hb of the center terminal surface 9B from the reference plane S is greater than a height Ha of the first adjacent terminal surface 9A from the reference plane S, and the height Hb of the center terminal surface 9B is greater than a height Ha of the second adjacent terminal surface 9C from the reference plane S,
wherein an offset distance Ld between the center terminal surface 9B and the first adjacent terminal surface 9A is substantially equal to an offset distance (Hd-Hc) between a height Hd of the center terminal connection section 41 from the reference plane S and a height Hc of the first adjacent terminal connection section 41 from the reference plane S,
wherein an offset distance Ld between the center terminal surface 9B and the second adjacent terminal surface 9C is substantially equal to an offset distance (Hd-Hc) between a height Hd of the center terminal connection section 41 from the reference plane S and a height Hc of the second adjacent terminal connection section 41 from the reference plane S, and
wherein the center plug 10, the first adjacent plug 10 and the second adjacent plug 10 have approximately equal lengths.”
The closest prior art Liang et al (CN111416466) does not disclose the above limitations.
Liang the heights between the terminal surfaces and the plane or reference plane (OA mailed 9/3/25, pgs 4 & 9, annotated fig of claims 1 & 13 & annotated figs below) , but does not disclose an offset distance between the center terminal surface and the first adjacent terminal surface 9A is substantially equal to an offset distance between a height of the center terminal connection section from the reference plane and a height of the first adjacent terminal connection section from the reference plane,
wherein an offset distance between the center terminal surface and the second adjacent terminal surface is substantially equal to an offset distance between a height of the center terminal connection section from the reference plane and a height of the second adjacent terminal connection section from the reference plane.
The main reason for indicating claim 21 and its dependent claim 22 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The motor assembly of claim 9, wherein the center terminal 5B includes:
a plug 10 that protrudes from a terminal surface 9B of the center terminal block 8B in an extending direction Db;
a cable mounting section 14B that positions the electrical cable 20B along a longitudinal direction Da which intersects the extending direction Db; and
a plug mounting section 11 connecting the cable mounting section 14B and the plug 10, and
wherein the plug mounting section 11 includes a tubular main body 11a, which partially surrounds the plug 10 and is partially inserted into an assembling hole 81 formed in the center terminal block 8B (figs 3-4).
The closest prior art Liang et al (CN111416466) does not disclose the above limitations.
Liang disclosed the cable mounting section (annotated fig above for claim 1), plug 3 (figs 2 & above for claim 1) and a plug mounting section with a tubular main body portion (OA mailed 9/3/25, pg 6), but does not disclose the plug mounting section connecting the cable mounting section and the plug and is partially inserted into an assembling hole 81 formed in the center terminal block.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834