DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein at least a part of the speed reducer room is received in the electric motor room in an axial direction of the rotary shaft” (Claim 1 – see below 35 USC 112 rejection) “wherein a power cable connected to the electric motor and/or a fluid pump (Claim 2 – see below 35 USC 112 rejection both combined option not shown) must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Motor and Speed Reducer Housing with Cooling for an Electric Vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: “are different from each other" (line 12) which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: “wherein at least a part of the speed reducer room is received in the electric motor room in an axial direction of the rotary shaft " (line 13-14) which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitations: "a space is defined by a part of the electric motor room, the part of the electric motor room overlapping with at least the part of the speed reducer room as viewed in a radial direction of the rotary shaft,” (line 2-4) which is of unclear antecedent basis and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 include limitations linked by the phrase "and/or." This renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear if the combination of limitations is required or optional. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: “a second electric motor in addition to the electric motor as a first electric motor; and a second speed reducer in addition to the speed reducer as a first speed reducer " (line 2-5) which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tominaga (US 11,585,352 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Tominaga discloses: A driving apparatus for an electric vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), the driving apparatus comprising: an electric motor (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 2) including a rotary shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 4) and a rotor (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 2a) that is rotatably supported by the rotary shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11);
a speed reducer (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 3) configured to reduce a speed of rotation of the rotary shaft of the electric motor and to output the rotation of the rotary shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11); and
a housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 10) that houses the electric motor and the speed reducer (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), wherein the housing is partitioned by a partition wall (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 14) into an electric motor room in which the electric motor is housed (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 11) and a speed reducer room in which the speed reducer is housed (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 12), wherein a first refrigerant used in the electric motor room (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 24) and a second refrigerant used in the speed reducer room (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 23) are different from each other (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), and wherein at least a part of the speed reducer room is received in the electric motor room in an axial direction of the rotary shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tominaga, and further in view of Yu (US 10,511,210 B2).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Tominaga discloses wherein a space is defined by a part of the electric motor room (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 24+25), wherein a power cable connected to the electric motor and/or a fluid pump configured to supply the first refrigerant into the electric motor room is provided in the space (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 24+25)
Tominaga fails to explicitly teach wherein a space is defined by a part of the electric motor room, the part of the electric motor room overlapping with at least the part of the speed reducer room as viewed in a radial direction of the rotary shaft, and wherein a power cable connected to the electric motor and/or a fluid pump configured to supply the first refrigerant into the electric motor room is provided in the space.
However, Yu teaches a similar driving apparatus for an electric vehicle (See, e.g., Yu: Fig.1-6) wherein a space is defined by a part of the electric motor room (See, e.g., Yu: Fig.1-6, 1+2+20), the part of the electric motor room overlapping with at least the part of the speed reducer room as viewed in a radial direction of the rotary shaft (See, e.g., Yu: Fig.1-6, 1+3), and wherein a power cable connected to the electric motor and/or a fluid pump (See, e.g., Yu: Fig.1-6, 9) configured to supply the first refrigerant into the electric motor room is provided in the space (See, e.g., Yu: Fig.1-6, 9).
Yu teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle design to provide the fluid pump in a space connected to the motor housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Tominaga modified with the fluid pump in a space connected to the motor housing such as taught by Yu, for the purpose of conveniently allocating weight properly in the vehicle for balancing purposes and also providing the motor as close as possible, beneficially allowing the manufacturer to save money on wiring/piping and associated equipment to connect the two components, and additionally presenting a neat and concise visual appearance when mounted on the vehicle. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: a second electric motor in addition to the electric motor as a first electric motor; and a second speed reducer in addition to the speed reducer as a first speed reducer, wherein the first and second electric motors are housed in the electric motor room, and are located in respective positions that are symmetrical to each other with respect to a widthwise center line of the electric motor room, wherein the first and second speed reducers are housed in the speed reducer room, and are located in respective positions that are symmetrical to each other with respect to the widthwise center line, wherein each of the first and second speed reducers includes: an input shaft connected in series to a corresponding one of the first and second electric motors; a counter shaft disposed in parallel to the input shaft; an output shaft disposed perpendicular to the counter shaft, and a pair of reduction gears which are disposed between the counter shaft and the output shaft and which consist of hypoid gears, as claimed in Claim 3 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613