DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group II claims in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are cancelled as being drawn to a nonelected Group I and III claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, Chinese Publication No. CN110002904A (hereinafter referred to as Zhou) in view of Deng et al., Chinese Publication No. CN105367010A (hereinafter referred to as Deng).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10-13 Zhou discloses a formulation for preparing acidic soil improving agent by coal gangue, comprising the following components with the following parts by weight: 20 parts of coal gangue, limestone or phosphorus gypsum 15~20 parts, auxiliary agent 1~2 parts. Zhou further discloses a preparation method for using coal gangue to prepare acid soil modifying agent, comprising the following steps, S1 the raw material testing, S2: raw material crushing, S3 mixing, S4 mixing, S5, molding of S6, heat-activated, S7 quenching, S8: drying, S9: crushing. acid soil modifying agent of the invention, the coal gangue waste is changed into treasure, and powder composed of coal gangue under the action of high temperature, to form the mesoporous and microporous, improve the soil structure, increase retention and aeration of the soil, and high activity of acid soil modifying agent, activating substance under the effect of water to form alkaline substance, so in the alkaline substance and an acidic substance in the soil, so as to restore the acid soil ecological system (see Abstract).
Zhou further discloses in paragraph 0047, that the mixture formed in S5 is heated and activated. In this embodiment, a tunnel kiln is used for heating. During heating, the temperature rise rate is 3℃/min. After reaching a holding temperature of 800℃, it is held for 1 hour. High-temperature holding ensures sufficient thermal activation of the powder. Through thermal activation, the crystal structure of the powder is destroyed, turning it into an amorphous active material. Furthermore, the carbon in the coal gangue reacts with oxygen in the air during high-temperature calcination to generate carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide. Also, in paragraph 0051, the acidic soil conditioner in this embodiment is activated by high-temperature thermal treatment and then introduced into the soil. The activated acidic soil conditioner hydrolyzes under the action of water, and the active aluminum oxide, active calcium oxide, active iron oxide and active silicon oxide combine with hydroxide ions in the water to form aluminum hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, iron hydroxide and silicon hydroxide.
Zhou discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the coal gangue comprising adhesive as a production raw material as recited in claim 6.
Deng discloses a hardening agent for a road. The hardening agent is prepared from, by weight, 10-15% of cement, 1-5% of lime, 2-3% of fly ash, 2-3% of gypsum, 1-2% of coal gangue, 1-2% of zeolite, 3-15% of sulfonated oil, 1-2% of phosphate, 1-2% of caustic alkali, 1-2% of potassium permanganate, 2-4% of sodium chloride, 2-4% of sodium carbonate, 2-3% of calcium carbonate, 2-3% of silicon powder, 1-2% of asphalt, 5-10% of sodium silicate, 1-2% of polyacrylamide, 1-2% of polyacrylic acid, 1-2% of magnesium sulfate, 1-2% of calcium carbonate, 7-10% of tar, 0.1-1% of epoxy resin, 0.6-1% of aniline furfural, 0.3-1% of calcium acrylate and 0.5-2% of carboxymethyl cellulose. The invention discloses a roadbed hardening method. The hardening agent for the road is adopted for hardening (as recited in claim 6) (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the raw materials of Deng in the process steps of Zhou as it is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771