DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 12/09/2025 regarding claims 1-16 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9 have been amended, and claims 12-16 have been newly added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of one synchronization detection plate to detect light emitted from the first light-emitting element and light emitted from the second light-emitting element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitations of “the light-emitting element” in line 11, “the reflector” in line 13 and “the one synchronization detection element” in line 28 lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of “the color image forming apparatus” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “a plurality of fq lens” in lines 1-2 contains a grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “a plurality of light-emitting elements to irradiate the photoconductor with light” in line 8 is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification discloses that each of photoconductors 16K, 16M, 16C 16K is irradiated by one laser diode 28 (for example, [0040]-[0041]; FIG. 5).
Further regarding claim 1, the limitation of one synchronization detection plate to detect light emitted from the first light-emitting element and light emitted from the second light-emitting element in lines 17-21 is mentioned in paragraph [0139] in which is disclosed “the optical writing device emits light from the plurality of light-emitting elements to the synchronization detection element that is a single synchronization detection element. Other aspects in the specification disclose that each of the synchronization detection plate 41 detects light irradiated by one laser diode 28 (for example, [0082]-[0083]; FIG. 5).
Claims 2-16 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2003/0030718 A1) in view of Seki (US 2015/0042739 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda teaches an electrophotographic color image forming apparatus to develop an electrostatic latent image with a developer to form an image (the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive member 29 is then subjected to the sequential electrophotographic processes performed by the above-mentioned charging unit 30, the development unit 31, and the transfer unit 32 so that a color image made of four individual color images according to the color separated imaged information data is formed on a recording sheet P; [0053]; image forming apparatus 300 that has a common polygon mirror and four color-independent drums; [0101]; Figs 18-19), the apparatus comprising:
a photoconductor to bear the electrostatic latent image to be developed with the developer (photosensitive members 29Y, 29M, 29C, 29BK; FIG. 18); and
an optical writing device to expose the photoconductor (optical unit 320; Figs 18-19),
the optical writing device including:
a laser light source to irradiate the photoconductor with light (LD units 10Y, 10M, 10C 10BK; FIG. 19);
a light emission control element to control light emission of the laser light source (the image signal loaded with the output timing that the line gate signal/LGATE is low drives the LD driver 11 to turn on and off the LD unit 10; [0088]; the light amount P, which is to be emitted from the laser diode to write an image, is determined in the LD driver 11; [0093]; FIG. 17);
a deflector element that is a multifaceted reflector disposed on an emission light path of the light from the laser light source (polygon mirror 22; Figs 18-19), the reflector to be rotated by a signal inputted from an external device and deflect the light with which a surface of the reflector is irradiated to scan the photoconductor with the light in one direction (the polygon motor driver 18 controls the polygon motor 22a to rotate at a predetermined number of revolutions; [0064]; FIG. 17; the polygon motor driver 18 being external to the optical unit 20);
a plurality of mirrors, the plurality of mirrors including a first mirror and a second mirror (cylinder mirror 8MY and cylinder mirror 8BKC; FIG. 19);
a synchronization detection arrangement (sensor 7MY and sensor 7BKC; FIG. 19) to detect:
light emitted from the first light-emitting element and reflected by the deflector element and the first mirror (sensor 7MY; FIG. 19),
light emitted from the second light-emitting element and reflected by the second mirror (sensor 7BKC; FIG. 19), and
a write start timing of the electrostatic latent image with the light with which the photoconductor is irradiated (the optical unit 20 further includes a sensor 7 for detecting a light beam L1 at a position next to a start position of the image recording area in the main scanning direction D1 on the photosensitive member 29; [0060]; the above-mentioned sensors 7MY and 7BKC are the sensor for detecting the sync detect signals of the beams Y, M, C, and BK; [0109]; FIG. 19);
a memory that stores an execution condition for correcting a color shift between a plurality of colors and a color shift correction value for correcting the color shift (the controller 19 sends a signal to other components to govern the operations of the other components of the image recording controlling circuit 2 and includes an electronic circuit, which can be for example a memory 19a, for storing the predetermined correction data table; [0061]; circuit 219a; FIG. 17), the memory that stores a first light amount of the light-emitting element when the color shift is corrected (the image recording controlling circuit 2 is provided with a data table that stores a plurality of predetermined light amount values of the light source, determined in response to various conditions for the image forming, and a plurality of time shift amounts for an image recording position in response to the predetermined light amount values; [0057], [0100]); and
processing circuitry configured to correct the color shift by adjusting the write start timing from when the synchronization detection element detects light to when light emission control by the light emission control element according to image data is started (the present inventor has recognized that the delay in time of the signal produced by the optical sensor can be adjusted if the image recording controlling circuit 2 adjusts the signal /DETP produced by the optical sensor in a write start position correction unit 15 to produce a corrected signal /DDETP, so that the start position of the recording image on the photosensitive member is the same under various image forming conditions; [0059], [0061], [0065]-[0068]; [0073]; FIG. 17), and to correct a detection shift generated when a light amount of light incident on the synchronization detection element fluctuates (Figs 5-8),
the processing circuitry configured to calculate a detection shift correction value of the detection shift of the synchronization detection element, using the first light amount and a second light amount determined as a lighting condition of the light-emitting element, and add the detection shift correction value to the color shift correction value (when the light amount is increased relative to the reference light amount P0, the timing of the sync detect signal /DETP is moved up and the start position of the image writing is shifted towards the default start position of the image writing; on the contrary, when the light amount is decreased relative to the reference light amount P0, the timing of the sync detect signal /DETP is delayed and the start position of the image writing is shifted towards the end position of the image writing; [0068]; Figs 5-8; this procedure is performed for at least one color or for every color in a similar manner; [0069]; the shifts in the colors are considered as color shifts).
Further regarding claim 1, Maeda does not teach the laser light source includes a plurality of light-emitting elements; and
the one synchronization detection arrangement includes a synchronization detection plate.
Further regarding claim 1, Seki teaches a laser light source includes a plurality of light-emitting elements (the light source 201 includes N light emitting elements that each emit a laser beam; [0056]; FIG. 3A) for the purpose of realizing a higher image formation speed and higher resolution images; and
one synchronization detection arrangement includes a synchronization detection plate (the light-receiving surface 207a of the BD sensor 207 is a plate with an opening to receive laser beams; [0063]; FIG. 3C) for the purpose of simultaneously synchronizing plural light emitting elements.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the laser light source includes a plurality of light-emitting elements; and the one synchronization detection arrangement includes a synchronization detection plate, as taught by Seki, into Maeda for the purposes of realizing a higher image formation speed and higher resolution images and simultaneously synchronizing plural light emitting elements.
Regarding claim 4, Maeda teaches wherein the memory stores a correction table that associates a light amount of light emitted from the first light-emitting element with a change amount of the write start timing, and the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using a change amount of the write start timing associated with the second light amount in the correction table (the image recording controlling circuit 2 is provided with a data table that stores a plurality of predetermined light amount values of the light source, determined in response to various conditions for the image forming, and a plurality of time shift amounts for an image recording position in response to the predetermined light amount values; [0057], [0070]-[0073]; [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, Maeda teaches a plurality of fq lens (fq lens 23MY and fq lens 23BKC; FIG. 19),
wherein both of the light that is emitted from the first light-emitting element and reflected by the deflector element and the first mirror and the light that is emitted from the second light-emitting element and reflected by the deflector element and the second mirror do not pass through the plurality of fq lenses (lights reflected by cylinder mirror 8MY and cylinder mirror 8BKC do not pass through fq lens 23MY and fq lens 23BKC before reaching sensor 7MY and sensor 7BKC; FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 13, Maeda teaches a plurality of lenses, the plurality of lenses includes a first lens and a second lens (lens 7b of each of the optical units 20; Figs 2-4),
wherein the light reflected by the first mirror passes through the first lens corresponding to the first mirror (light reflected by the mirror 7a of each of the optical units 20 passes through the lens 7b; Figs 2-4), and
wherein the light reflected by the second mirror passes through the second lens corresponding to the second mirror (light reflected by the mirror 7a of each of the optical units 20 passes through the lens 7b; Figs 2-4). One of ordinary skill would have combined the different embodiment of Maeda for the purpose of focusing light after light is reflected by a simple flat mirror.
Regarding claim 14, Maeda teaches a plurality of lenses, the plurality of lenses includes a first lens and a second lens (lens 7b of each of the optical units 20; Figs 2-4),
wherein the light reflected by the first mirror passes through the first lens corresponding to the first mirror (light reflected by the mirror 7a of each of the optical units 20 passes through the lens 7b; Figs 2-4), and
wherein the light reflected by the second mirror passes through the second lens corresponding to the second mirror (light reflected by the mirror 7a of each of the optical units 20 passes through the lens 7b; Figs 2-4). One of ordinary skill would have combined the different embodiment of Maeda for the purpose of focusing light after light is reflected by a simple flat mirror.
Regarding claim 15, Maeda teaches wherein the first mirror is disposed on an opposite side to the first light-emitting element with respect to the deflector element (cylinder mirror 8MY is disposed on an opposite side to the LD units 10M and 10Y with respect to the polygon mirror 22; FIG. 19), and
the second mirror is disposed on a same side as the second light-emitting element with respect to the deflector element (cylinder mirror 8BKC is disposed on a same side to the LD units 10BK and 10C with respect to the polygon mirror 22; FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 16, Maeda teaches wherein the first mirror is disposed on an opposite side to the first light-emitting element with respect to the deflector element (cylinder mirror 8MY is disposed on an opposite side to the LD units 10M and 10Y with respect to the polygon mirror 22; FIG. 19), and
the second mirror is disposed on a same side as the second light-emitting element with respect to the deflector element (cylinder mirror 8BKC is disposed on a same side to the LD units 10BK and 10C with respect to the polygon mirror 22; FIG. 19).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2003/0030718 A1) as modified by Seki (US 2015/0042739 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuta (US 2015/0002598 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the light emission control element controls a light amount of the first light-emitting element to be constant while light reflected from one end to the other end of one surface of the deflection element scans the photoconductor in one direction.
Further regarding claim 2, Furuta teaches a light emission control element controls a light amount of a first light-emitting element to be constant while light reflected from one end to the other end of one surface of a deflection element scans a photoconductor in one direction (the optical scanning apparatuses 104Y, 104M, 104C, and 104Bk can adjust the density characteristic of the image to be formed, by adjusting the light power of the light beams emitted from the light source such that the densities of the toner images of respective colors detected by the density detection sensor 120 become a predetermined value; [0044]; Figs 1-2, 5; for a constant density over a scan line in one direction, the light power would be constant from one end to the other end of a surface of a polygon mirror 204) for the purpose of writing a latent image line having a constant density.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the light emission control element controls a light amount of the first light-emitting element to be constant while light reflected from one end to the other end of one surface of the deflection element scans the photoconductor in one direction, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of writing a latent image line having a constant density.
Regarding claim 3, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the optical writing device emits light from the plurality of light-emitting elements to the one synchronization detection element.
Further regarding claim 3, Furuta teaches an optical writing device emits light from the plurality of light-emitting elements to a synchronization detection element (the light source 201 includes N light emitting elements that each emit a laser beam; [0051]; Figs 3A-3C) for the purpose of printing at high resolution and at high speed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the optical writing device emits light from the plurality of light-emitting elements to the one synchronization detection element, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of printing at high resolution and at high speed.
Regarding claim 5, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using a detection shift correction curve of a polynomial for determining a change amount of the write start timing, and the memory stores a coefficient of the polynomial.
Further regarding claim 5, Furuta teaches a processing circuitry calculates a detection shift correction value, using a detection shift correction curve of a polynomial for determining a change amount of a write start timing, and a memory stores a coefficient of the polynomial (the coefficient K is a coefficient for performing weighting on the amount of change from the reference value for the detection time interval of laser beams by the BD sensor 207, and the coefficient K can be determined according to the characteristics of the optical system; [0096]-[0101]; the coefficient K may be stored in memory 406; FIG. 4) for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using a detection shift correction curve of a polynomial for determining a change amount of the write start timing, and the memory stores a coefficient of the polynomial, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
Regarding claim 6, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the one synchronization detection element has a slit to limit an incident light path of light from the first light-emitting element.
Further regarding claim 6, Furuta teaches a synchronization detection element has a slit to limit an incident light path of light from a first light-emitting element (light-receiving surface 207a has D3xD4 opening; FIG. 3C) for the purpose of allowing only one light-emitting element of a plurality of light-emitting elements to be detected at any one time.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the synchronization detection element has a slit to limit an incident light path of light from the light-emitting element, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of allowing only one light-emitting element of a plurality of light-emitting elements to be detected at any one time.
Regarding claim 7, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using the polynomial that is different for each of the plurality of light-emitting elements that irradiate the synchronization detection element with light.
Further regarding claim 7, Furuta teaches the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using the polynomial that is different for each of light-emitting elements that irradiate the synchronization detection element with light (equations 1-4; [0089]-[0098]) for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, using the polynomial that is different for each of light-emitting elements that irradiate the synchronization detection element with light, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
Regarding claim 8, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the processing circuitry calculates, as the detection shift correction value, a value obtained by subtracting a first detection shift correction amount determined according to the first light amount from a second detection shift correction amount determined according to the second light amount.
Further regarding claim 8, Furuta teaches a processing circuitry calculates, as a detection shift correction value, a value obtained by subtracting a first detection shift correction amount determined according to a first light amount from a second detection shift correction amount determined according to a second light amount (equations 1-4; [0089]-[0098]; FIG. 9) for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry calculates, as the detection shift correction value, a value obtained by subtracting a first detection shift correction amount determined according to the first light amount from a second detection shift correction amount determined according to the second light amount, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
Regarding claim 9, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the memory stores a correction table that associates a ratio obtained by dividing a light amount emitted from the first light-emitting element by a reference light amount with a change amount of the write start timing, and the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, based on a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing the second light amount by the reference light amount in the correction table.
Further regarding claim 9, Furuta teaches a memory stores a correction table that associates a ratio obtained by dividing a light amount emitted from a light-emitting element by a reference light amount with a change amount of the write start timing, and a processing circuitry calculates a detection shift correction value, based on a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing a second light amount by the reference light amount in the correction table (target light power value in % is associated with a ratio of the power values, 100% being the reference light amount; FIG. 9; equations 1-4 calculates change amount; [0089]-[0098]) for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the memory stores a correction table that associates a ratio obtained by dividing a light amount emitted from the first light-emitting element by a reference light amount with a change amount of the write start timing, and the processing circuitry calculates the detection shift correction value, based on a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing the second light amount by the reference light amount in the correction table, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
Regarding claim 10, Maeda as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the memory stores the reference light amount, and the processing circuitry reads the reference light amount from the memory in a case of calculating the detection shift correction value, and calculates the detection shift correction value by subtracting a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing the first light amount by the reference light amount from the change amount associated with the ratio obtained by dividing the second light amount by the reference light amount.
Further regarding claim 10, Furuta teaches the memory stores the reference light amount, and the processing circuitry reads the reference light amount from the memory in a case of calculating the detection shift correction value, and calculates the detection shift correction value by subtracting a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing the first light amount by the reference light amount from the change amount associated with the ratio obtained by dividing the second light amount by the reference light amount (target light power value in % is associated with a ratio of the power values, 100% being the reference light amount; FIG. 9; equations 1-4 calculates by subtracting a change amount; [0089]-[0098]) for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the memory stores the reference light amount, and the processing circuitry reads the reference light amount from the memory in a case of calculating the detection shift correction value, and calculates the detection shift correction value by subtracting a change amount of the write start timing associated with a ratio obtained by dividing the first light amount by the reference light amount from the change amount associated with the ratio obtained by dividing the second light amount by the reference light amount, as taught by Furuta, into Maeda as modified by Seki for the purpose of correcting the timing of a plurality of light emitting elements in a light emitting unit for a color.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2003/0030718 A1) as modified by Seki (US 2015/0042739 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda (US 2004/0095454 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Maeda ‘718 as modified by Seki does not teach wherein the processing circuitry skips updating the first light amount stored in the memory when color matching fails.
Further regarding claim 11, Maeda ‘454 teaches a processing circuitry skips updating a first light amount stored in the memory when color matching fails (when the pattern is not detectible in step S1603, compensation data is not updated in memory 700; FIG. 35; [0234]) for the purpose of updating compensation data only when the color patterns are aligned.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry skips updating the first light amount stored in the memory when color matching fails, as taught by Maeda ‘454, into Maeda ‘718 as modified by Seki for the purpose of updating compensation data only when the color patterns are aligned.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13 February 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853