Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 3/13/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10, of the remarks, filed on 3/13/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, that “The Office Action states that the terms "first signal," "second signal," "sleep operating mode," "awake operating mode," and "awake" are not clear. The Applicant has amended claims 1 and 15 to clarify these terms. Support for the amendments can be found throughout the Applicant's specification including in at least paragraphs [0013]- [0023] and [0061]-[0070]. For example, claims 1 and 15 now include that "the sleep operating mode is a low-power mode in which wireless transmissions are disabled or reduced" (see para. [0048]), "and wherein the awake operating mode is a mode in which the controller enables wireless transmissions and monitors the magnetic sensor circuit" (see paras. [0013] and [0048]). The Office Action further rejected claims 6, 7, 10, and 12 for claiming terms that were unclear, respectively, "another function" (see paras. [0018]-[0032]), and "asset device" (see paras. [0002], [0022], [0045], and [0079]). The Applicant has amended claims 6, 7, 10, and 12 to clarify the meaning of these terms.
Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10 (stated above), filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/27/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because, applicant has amended the claims which makes the limitation clear. Applicant has amended the limitation, "sleep operating mode," "awake operating mode," which makes the claim clear. Therefore, claims 1-20 still can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, has been withdrawn as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-14, filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12-13, of the remarks, filed on 3/13/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1, that “May fails to teach the claimed magnetic-field transition sequence and its required temporal relationship. Specifically, amended claim 1 requires a first signal indicating lack of presence of a magnetic field based on a magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit while the controller is in the sleep operating mode, followed by, in the awake operating mode, listening for a third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit, and receiving the third signal after the first signal. May's sensor transmissions reflect door-open/door-closed conditions for controlling a retractable step. May fails to disclose 1) a magnetic sensing system that is in a low-power mode at the time of a magnet-away "lack of presence of magnetic field" signal, 2) transitioning to an awake mode and reporting that transition to a remote server accessible via a wireless network, and 3) thereafter listening for and receives a magnet-return "detection" signal as claimed. Accordingly, May fails as an anticipatory reference (Remarks-Page 12).
Moreover, May does not disclose or suggest the claimed "remote server" signaling, particularly the required second signal "to a remote server indicating a transition from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode," where the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network. May is directed to a vehicle-based step control system in which a sensor transmits door-state information to a local vehicle receiver/controller, and the local vehicle receiver/controller actuates a retractable step and/or step light based on vehicle door open/close status. In May, the "receiver" is a local component of the vehicle system that directly controls vehicle hardware; it is not disclosed as a remote server accessible via a wireless network, nor is it described as receiving an indicator of a transition from a low-power sleep mode to an awake mode. Accordingly, May fails to disclose at least the claimed second signal to a remote server indicating the recited sleep-to-wake transition and the claimed remote server architecture accessible via a wireless network (Remarks-page 13).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-13, of the remarks, filed on 3/13/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/30//2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and the limitation, “a controller, coupled to the magnetic sensor circuit and to the wireless transceiver, and having a sleep operating mode and an awake operating mode, wherein the sleep operating mode is a low-power mode in which wireless transmissions are disabled or reduced. and wherein the awake operating mode is a mode in which the controller enables wireless transmissions and monitors the magnetic sensor circuit, storing executable instructions which, when executed, cause the controller to: receive a first signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field based on the magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit. wherein the first signal is received when the controller is in the sleep operating mode; in response to the first signal, switch from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode, send a second signal, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server indicating a transition of the reusable system is from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode, wherein in the awake operating mode of the controller listens for a third signal, the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit; receive the third signal, the third signal received after the first signal is received; and in response to the third signal, the controller performs a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying an update, wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network.” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/30//2025 has been withdrawn. Because of the amendment a new reference Schebel et al. (Hereinafter, “Schebel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050024207 A1) is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of independent claims 1 and 16. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1 in view of Schebel et al. (Hereinafter, “Schebel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050024207 A1), as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references as set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May in the US Patent Number US 8602431 B1 in view of Schebel et al. (Hereinafter, “Schebel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050024207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, May teaches a reusable system for magnetic sensing (a wireless signaling device located in or near a vehicle door to signal a vehicle step which is movable between a retracted or storage position and an extended position to provide a step to assist entry into the vehicle; Column 1 Line 31-36; FIG. 2 shows a detailed view of the wireless door transmitter; Column 3 Line 56-57) comprising:
a magnetic sensor circuit [33] in Figure 2 (reed switch 33 as the magnetic sensor) for detecting a magnetic field (Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66);
a magnet [41] (Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60) in close proximity to the magnetic sensor circuit [33] (The magnet 41 is mounted in the door jamb 40 that comes in close proximity to the transmitter's magnetic sensor 33 when the door 42 is closed; Column 3 Line 61-64);
a wireless transceiver [20] (transmitter 20 as the transceiver) (FIG. 3 shows a block diagram of the code flow chart in the transmitter. Door transmitters incorporate a transceiver to facilitate message reception and transmission; Column 4 Line 14-16):
a controller (microcontroller), coupled to the magnetic sensor circuit [33] and to the wireless transceiver (Figure 2 shows a microcontroller coupled to the magnetic sensor circuit [33] and to the transmitter 20; FIG. 2 shows a detailed view of the wireless door transmitter. Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 56-60; FIG. 3 shows a block diagram of the code flow chart in the transmitter; Column 4 Line 14-15), and having a sleep operating mode [63] in Figure 3 (The transmitter 20 operates in a low power sleep mode until the magnetic sensor 33 senses a movement of the magnet 41. FIG. 3 shows a flow chart of the general operations within the microcontroller-transmitter 40; Column 4 Line 10-13),
wherein the sleep operating mode is a low-power mode in which wireless transmissions are disabled or reduced (The transmitter 20 operates in a low power sleep mode until the magnetic sensor 33 senses a movement of the magnet 41; Column 4 Line 10-13; Therefore, sleep operating is a low power mode; The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43. Since the sensing distance of the preferred reed switch sensor is limited, the detection of movement of the door is generally limited to motion when a door is just being opened and when the door latches shut; Column 4 Line 29-34; In the sleep operating mode door is open and therefore no or less wireless transmission as the sensing distance is limited. Therefore, wireless transmissions are disabled or reduced),
and wherein the awake operating mode is a mode in which the controller enables wireless transmissions and monitors the magnetic sensor circuit (FIG. 4 shows the wireless data transmission from a transmitter. The opening 71 of a door will change the status of the sensor and trigger 71 the microcontroller to awaken to send the message contents 73. The microcontroller will remain awake 72 until the door closes 79. The microcontroller will determine the status of the door sensor switch and turn on the transmitter to begin transmission of the signal The transmission of the data begins with a preamble 75 followed by a synchronization word 76. System address 77 and data words follow the synchronization word with the message terminated with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) 78; Column 4 Line 47-53; microcontroller determine the status of the sensor which is monitoring the sensor circuit),
storing executable instructions which, when executed, cause the controller [Figure 3] (The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43. Since the sensing distance of the preferred reed switch sensor is limited, the detection of movement of the door is generally limited to motion when a door is just being opened and when the door latches shut; Column 4 Line 28-34) to:
receive a first signal (sleep mode 63) from the magnetic sensor circuit [33] indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field [43] (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30; Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; Therefore opening and closing of the door depends on the presence or absence of the magnetic field);
wherein the first signal is received when the controller is in the sleep operating mode in response to the first signal [63] (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30),
in response to the first signal, switch from the sleep operating mode [63] of the controller to an awake operating mode [60] (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46),
send a second signal [60] in Figure 3, via the wireless transceiver, to a server (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64; Column 4 Line 35-40; Remote server is not a part of the system and therefore is not required by the claim. However, Figure 2 shows that the antenna 31 transmits signal 50 outside to a server) indicating a transition of the reusable system from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46),
wherein in the awake operating mode [60] of the controller listens for a third signal (reenter in sleep mode as the third signal) from the magnetic sensor circuit (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46);
the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30; Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46; third signal is the sleep mode where the magnetic field is present),
receive the third signal, the third signal received after the first signal is received (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46; Reenter sleep operating mode is after the first signal), and
in response to the third signal [62], the controller performs a function [39] (re-enter the sleep mode is the function as claim does not recite what is the function) (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46) including one or more of transmitting to the server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field (transmit signal outside is the remote server) (A battery 32 is included with the transmitter 20 along with an antenna 31 that transmits 50 a signal based upon the status of the sensor 33; Column 4 Line 8-10; However, Figure 2 shows that the antenna 31 transmits signal 50 outside to a server);
May teaches each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41 (Column 3 Line 57-60) and the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field.
However May fails to teach receive a first signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field based on the magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit and send a second signa, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server; the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit; a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying an update; wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network.
Schebel teaches compact wireless sensors, and, particularly, for wireless security sensors for insertion within window and door frames as a means for detecting intrusion (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4),
wherein a first signal is received from the magnetic sensor circuit indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field based on the magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit (The complementary component also has a face that is nearly flush with the perimeter surface of the closure such that the two faces of the complementary components are facing each other when the closure is in the closed position relative to the frame. When the face of the component containing the sensor is in the closed position and aligned with the face of the component containing the magnet assembly, the reed switch of the sensor closes in the presence of the magnetic field between the sensor and the magnetic assembly. A microprocessor monitors the state of the reed switch. When the closure is in the open position, the magnetic field is removed, and the reed switch opens, which in turn sends a signal to a wireless transmitter; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-13; Thus, when the reed switch closes (i.e., the magnet assembly moves away from the reed switch), the interruption (e.g., the window being opened) is immediately detected. Since the microprocessor is "woken up" by the change of either state at its I/O port, low power consumption is achieved without any additional sampling; Paragraph [0061] Line 7-12), send a second signal, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server (receiver panel as the remote server) (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6) indicating a transition of the reusable system from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode (To accomplish the sampling function, the microprocessor is programmed to have a standby mode in which the microprocessor reduces current consumption from the power source (the coin cell battery), a monitoring mode (the monitoring of the state of the switch), and a transmit mode where the state of the switch is transmitted via the wireless transmitter/antenna to an alarm or external device (e.g., a receiving panel); Paragraph [0052] Line 1-8);
the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit (Oppositely situated from the sensor face 14 is the face 48 of the magnet assembly housing, which is embedded within the closure 62. When the magnet assembly 42 is brought into close proximity with the sensor unit 10, the magnetic field activates the switch to change state. Similarly, when the closure device (e.g., window) is opened relative to the frame, the switch cannot receive the magnetic signal and the switch changes state; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-8);
a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying an update (receiver panel as the remote server) (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; To accomplish the sampling function, the microprocessor is programmed to have a standby mode in which the microprocessor reduces current consumption from the power source (the coin cell battery), a monitoring mode (the monitoring of the state of the switch), and a transmit mode where the state of the switch is transmitted via the wireless transmitter/antenna to an alarm or external device (e.g., a receiving panel); Paragraph [0052] Line 1-8);
wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, to sample the switch state at select intervals, but allow the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, to provide negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, to provide the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May in view of Schebel, because Schebel teaches to send a second signal, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server indicating a transition of the reusable system is from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode wherein in the awake operating mode of the controller listens for a third signal provides continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, samples the switch state at select intervals, but allows the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, provides negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, provides the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, May teaches a reusable system, further comprising
receiving a fourth signal from the magnetic sensor circuit [33] indicating that the magnetic field is not detected proximate the magnetic sensor circuit [33] (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; Door closed means the magnetic field is detected proximate the magnetic sensor circuit).
Regarding claim 3, May teaches a reusable system of claim 2,
wherein the function includes causing transmission of a message to the remote server regarding a lack of detection of the magnetic field (The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages; Column 4 Line 24-27).
Regarding claim 4, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the reusable system includes at least one sensory output device [91] (receiver 91 as the sensory output device as it receives signal from the transmitter to output the signal) and wherein the additional function [35] includes causing output of a sensory signal from the sensory output device (Door transmitters incorporate a transceiver to facilitate message reception and transmission. Transmitter manufacturing does not include the installation of a system address. Address installation is accomplished after the battery 32 is installed in the transmitter 34. Upon battery installation 34 the transceiver goes into a receive mode 35 and searches for a valid 37 system address message 36 from the transmitter. When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38; Column 4 Line 15-23; FIG. 5 shows block diagram of the receiver unit and the step controller motors. Upon initial receiver power application during system installation the receiver transitions to a transmit mode to send the system address message to the door transmitters. The receiver enters the normal receive mode after the system address message has been transmitted for the initialization interval. After address installation the receiver 91 receives the wireless command 50 from an antenna 92 and communicates the decoded command to a microcontroller 90. The receiver interfaces to a controller that provides the signals necessary to raise and lower the step and to control the step lighting; Column 4 Line 65-67 & Column 5 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the sensory output device includes one or more of an audio output device, a light output device, or a vibratory output device [95] in Figure 5 (FIG. 5 shows block diagram of the receiver unit and the step controller motors. Upon initial receiver power application during system installation the receiver transitions to a transmit mode to send the system address message to the door transmitters. The receiver enters the normal receive mode after the system address message has been transmitted for the initialization interval. After address installation the receiver 91 receives the wireless command 50 from an antenna 92 and communicates the decoded command to a microcontroller 90. The receiver interfaces to a controller that provides the signals necessary to raise and lower the step and to control the step lighting; Column 4 Line 65-67 & Column 5 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the controller to:
receive a fourth signal, via the wireless transceiver from the remote server, to switch the awake operating mode to a selected operating mode wherein the selected operating mode includes at least one or more of a pair mode, a door detection mode, hopper switch detection mode, or a trailer connector detection mode, and in response to the fourth signal, the controller performs another function including at least one of transmit a further message to the remote server, output the sensory signal, initiate the pairing, request and apply configuration updates. (FIG. 4 shows the wireless data transmission from a transmitter. The opening 71 of a door will change the status of the sensor and trigger 71 the microcontroller to awaken to send the message contents 73. The microcontroller will remain awake 72 until the door closes 79. The microcontroller will determine the status of the door sensor switch and turn on the transmitter to begin transmission of the signal. The transmission of the data begins with a preamble 75 followed by a synchronization word 76. System address 77 and data words follow the synchronization word with the message terminated with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) 78. The system address word ranges from 10 to 255 to reduce the possibility that opening the door of a first vehicle will inadvertently extend the step of both the desired first vehicle and an undesirable second vehicle. The data also includes a status indicator of the door and the status of the door. After transmission 74, the transmitter will insert message gaps to allow the other door transmitters to transmit their message data; Column 4 Line 47-64).
Regarding claim 7, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the controller to:
receive a new operating mode, via the wireless transceiver from the remote server wherein the new operating mode includes a configuration received from the remote server comprising at least one operating parameter or a mode identifier; and in response to receiving the new operating mode, switch the controller to the new operating mode and perform another function including at least one of transmit a further message to the remote server. output the sensory signal, initiate the pairing, request and apply configuration updates. (After the system address transmission interval the receiver listens to receive the messages 100 in Figure 6 and determines if the received signal parameters are valid 101. If the data is found to be invalid the microcontroller will not take any action and return to a listen state. Messages that are determined to be valid will be decoded to determine which door changed state 103 and will branch to either the driver 104 or passenger 107 door to determine the status of the door to command the controller to retract or extend 105, 106 the appropriate step. The two or four door transmitters, stores the message data, transmit the message data while the door is open until the five minute timeout elapses; Column 5 Line 18-29).
Regarding claim 8, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the third signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicates that the magnetic field is detected with respect to a door magnet coupled to a sliding door (FIG. 1 shows four wireless door sensors. A wireless car door sensor system eliminates the need to modify the vehicle wiring and simplify the installation of the power board is comprised of door sensors 21-24 installed on each door; Column 3 Line 48-51), and
the function (Figure 6) includes causing transmission of a message, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server regarding a position of the sliding door (After the system address transmission interval the receiver listens to receive the messages 100 and determines if the received signal parameters are valid 101. If the data is found to be invalid the microcontroller will not take any action and return to a listen state. Messages that are determined to be valid will be decoded to determine which door changed state 103 and will branch to either the driver 104 or passenger 107 door to determine the status of the door to command the controller to retract or extend 105, 106 the appropriate step. The two or four door transmitters, stores the message data, transmit the message data while the door is open until the five minute timeout elapses. If a door on either side of the vehicle is open the receiver asserts the proper signal to the controller to engage the appropriate step motor and lower the step. A message is sent at intervals of less than three (3) seconds. If a gap of transmission of more than three seconds 108, 109 is detected the associated door step will raise. A step will remain lowered until the receiver receives messages indicating that both doors on a vehicle side are closed. While time intervals of three seconds and five minutes are indicated the intervals can be shorter or longer. The transmission is sent at intervals because at the transmission frequency FCC requirement require that the burst of signal must be followed by a non-transmission period to allow other devices to operate at the same period. The transmission repeats at an interval to identify that it is desirable for the step to remain extended as long as the transmission is being periodically sent. The time period of three seconds is preferred but a time interval of between 1/2 second and five seconds works equivalently; Column 5 Line 18-46; Door retract can be the sliding door position of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the third signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicates that the magnetic field is detected with respect to a hopper switch (Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33; Column 3 Line 57-58), and
the function includes causing transmission of a message, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server regarding data of the hopper switch [33] (The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41. This figure and the description show and describe a preferred embodiment for orientation, location and placement. Other embodiments are also contemplated that will provide the equivalent result of signaling when a car door has been opened and closed. The method of securing the transmitter 20 and or the magnet 41 can be as simple as tucking the components under body panels to gluing, bonding or screwing the components to a vehicle; Column 3 Line 64-67 & Column 4 Line 1-7).
Regarding claim 10, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the third signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicates that the magnetic field is detected with respect to a trailer connector, and the function includes initiating pairing between the reusable system and an asset device (Claim 18. The retractable truck step with wireless door sensor according to claim 1 that does not utilize a wired connection between said at least one sensor and a controller);
wherein the asset is one or more of an asset tracking device attached to a container., a trailer, or a vehicle frame or a device configured to track a container, a trailer, or a vehicle frame (The method of securing the transmitter 20 and or the magnet 41 can be as simple as tucking the components under body panels to gluing, bonding or screwing the components to a vehicle; Column 4 Line 4-7).
Regarding claim 11, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the third signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicates an unknown magnetic field, and the function includes causing transmission of a message, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server regarding a threat (After the system address transmission interval the receiver listens to receive the messages 100 and determines if the received signal parameters are valid 101. If the data is found to be invalid the microcontroller will not take any action and return to a listen state. Messages that are determined to be valid will be decoded to determine which door changed state 103 and will branch to either the driver 104 or passenger 107 door to determine the status of the door to command the controller to retract or extend 105, 106 the appropriate step. The two or four door transmitters, stores the message data, transmit the message data while the door is open until the five minute timeout elapses. If a door on either side of the vehicle is open the receiver asserts the proper signal to the controller to engage the appropriate step motor and lower the step. A message is sent at intervals of less than three (3) seconds. If a gap of transmission of more than three seconds 108, 109 is detected the associated door step will raise; Column 5 Line 18-34).
Regarding claim 12, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the function includes causing transmission of a message, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server requesting an update, receive the update from the remote server, and in response to receiving the update, perform another function (A step will remain lowered until the receiver receives messages indicating that both doors on a vehicle side are closed. While time intervals of three seconds and five minutes are indicated the intervals can be shorter or longer. The transmission is sent at intervals because at the transmission frequency FCC requirement require that the burst of signal must be followed by a non-transmission period to allow other devices to operate at the same period. The transmission repeats at an interval to identify that it is desirable for the step to remain extended as long as the transmission is being periodically sent. The time period of three seconds is preferred but a time interval of between 1/2 second and five seconds works equivalently; Column 5 Line 34-46).
However May fails to teach perform another function including at least one of transmit a further message to the remote server, output the sensory signal, initiate the pairing, request and apply configuration updates.
Schebel teaches compact wireless sensors, and, particularly, for wireless security sensors for insertion within window and door frames as a means for detecting intrusion (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4),
perform another function including at least one of transmit a further message to the remote server, output the sensory signal, initiate the pairing, request and apply configuration updates (receiver panel as the remote server) (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, to sample the switch state at select intervals, but allow the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, to provide negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, to provide the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May in view of Schebel, because Schebel teaches to perform another function including at least one of transmit a further message to the remote server provides continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, samples the switch state at select intervals, but allows the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, provides negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, provides the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 13, May teaches a reusable system,
wherein the function includes initiating pairing between the reusable system and an asset device (After the system address transmission interval the receiver listens to receive the messages 100 and determines if the received signal parameters are valid 101. If the data is found to be invalid the microcontroller will not take any action and return to a listen state. Messages that are determined to be valid will be decoded to determine which door changed state 103 and will branch to either the driver 104 or passenger 107 door to determine the status of the door to command the controller to retract or extend 105, 106 the appropriate step. The two or four door transmitters, stores the message data, transmit the message data while the door is open until the five minute timeout elapses. If a door on either side of the vehicle is open the receiver asserts the proper signal to the controller to engage the appropriate step motor and lower the step. A message is sent at intervals of less than three (3) seconds. If a gap of transmission of more than three seconds 108, 109 is detected the associated door step will raise. A step will remain lowered until the receiver receives messages indicating that both doors on a vehicle side are closed. While time intervals of three seconds and five minutes are indicated the intervals can be shorter or longer. The transmission is sent at intervals because at the transmission frequency FCC requirement require that the burst of signal must be followed by a non-transmission period to allow other devices to operate at the same period. The transmission repeats at an interval to identify that it is desirable for the step to remain extended as long as the transmission is being periodically sent. The time period of three seconds is preferred but a time interval of between 1/2 second and five seconds works equivalently; Column 5 Line 18-46);
wherein the asset is one or more of an asset tracking device attached to a container, a trailer, a vehicle frame or a device configured to track a container, a trailer, a vehicle frame (The method of securing the transmitter 20 and or the magnet 41 can be as simple as tucking the components under body panels to gluing, bonding or screwing the components to a vehicle; Column 4 Line 4-7).
.
Regarding claim 14, May teaches a reusable system, wherein the reusable system includes a plurality of magnetic field sensors coupled to the magnetic sensor circuit (FIG. 1 shows four wireless door sensors. A wireless car door sensor system eliminates the need to modify the vehicle wiring and simplify the installation of the power board is comprised of door sensors 21-24 installed on each door; Column 3 Line 48-51), and
wherein the function includes the following:
receiving a plurality of magnetic fields from the plurality of magnetic field sensors (FIG. 2 shows a detailed view of the wireless door transmitter. Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41. The magnet 41 or the magnetic sensor 20 is mounted on the edge of each door 42 opposing the door jamb 40. The magnet 41 is mounted in the door jamb 40 that comes in close proximity to the transmitter's magnetic sensor 33 when the door 42 is closed. The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41. This figure and the description show and describe a preferred embodiment for orientation, location and placement. Other embodiments are also contemplated that will provide the equivalent result of signaling when a car door has been opened and closed. The method of securing the transmitter 20 and or the magnet 41 can be as simple as tucking the components under body panels to gluing, bonding or screwing the components to a vehicle; Column 3 Line 56-67);
determining an orientation of the reusable system based on the plurality of magnetic fields (FIG. 4 shows the wireless data transmission from a transmitter. The opening 71 of a door will change the status of the sensor and trigger 71 the microcontroller to awaken to send the message contents 73. The microcontroller will remain awake 72 until the door closes 79. The microcontroller will determine the status of the door sensor switch and turn on the transmitter to begin transmission of the signal. The transmission of the data begins with a preamble 75 followed by a synchronization word 76. System address 77 and data words follow the synchronization word with the message terminated with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) 78. The system address word ranges from 10 to 255 to reduce the possibility that opening the door of a first vehicle will inadvertently extend the step of both the desired first vehicle and an undesirable second vehicle. The data also includes a status indicator of the door and the status of the door. After transmission 74, the transmitter will insert message gaps to allow the other door transmitters to transmit their message data; Column 4 Line 47-64); and
in response to the determination of the orientation, send a fourth signal, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server, indicating the orientation of the reusable system (FIG. 5 shows block diagram of the receiver unit and the step controller motors. Upon initial receiver power application during system installation the receiver transitions to a transmit mode to send the system address message to the door transmitters. The receiver enters the normal receive mode after the system address message has been transmitted for the initialization interval. After address installation the receiver 91 receives the wireless command 50 from an antenna 92 and communicates the decoded command to a microcontroller 90. The receiver interfaces to a controller that provides the signals necessary to raise and lower the step and to control the step lighting. The receiver 91 is installed underneath the vehicle where it is wired to the controller and battery 96; Column 4 Line 65-67 & Column 5 Line 1-10).
Regarding claim 15, May teaches a computer-implemented method for switching operating modes of a device coupled a controller (Figure 3) [30] (transmitter 30 as the controller controls the magnetic sensor 33) (Figure 2 shows a controller [30] coupled to the magnetic sensor circuit [33] and to the communications module [31]; FIG. 2 shows a detailed view of the wireless door transmitter. Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 56-60; FIG. 3 shows a block diagram of the code flow chart in the transmitter; Column 4 Line 14-15) and a wireless transceiver [20] based on a first signal (The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43. Since the sensing distance of the preferred reed switch sensor is limited, the detection of movement of the door is generally limited to motion when a door is just being opened and when the door latches shut; Column 4 Line 28-34) from a magnetic sensor circuit [33] (Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66) (a wireless signaling device located in or near a vehicle door to signal a vehicle step which is movable between a retracted or storage position and an extended position to provide a step to assist entry into the vehicle; Column 1 Line 31-36; FIG. 2 shows a detailed view of the wireless door transmitter; Column 3 Line 56-57; FIG. 3 shows a flow chart of the general operations within the microcontroller-transmitter 40; Column 4 Line 12-13; A microcontroller unit (MCU) is essentially a small computer on a single chip. It is designed to manage specific tasks within an embedded system without requiring a complex operating system; The following are key components of a microcontroller: Central processing unit (CPU): Memory; https://www.ibm.com/think/topics/microcontroller ), the method comprising:
receive a first signal (sleep mode 63) from the magnetic sensor circuit [33] indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field [43] (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30; Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; Therefore opening and closing of the door depends on the presence or absence of the magnetic field);
wherein the first signal is received when the controller is in the sleep operating mode in response to the first signal [63] (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30),
in response to the first signal, switch from the sleep operating mode [63] of the controller to an awake operating mode [60] (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46),
send a second signal [60] in Figure 3, via the wireless transceiver, to a server (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64; Column 4 Line 35-40; Remote server is not a part of the system and therefore is not required by the claim. However, Figure 2 shows that the antenna 31 transmits signal 50 outside to a server) indicating a transition of the reusable system from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46),
wherein in the awake operating mode [60] of the controller listens for a third signal (reenter in sleep mode as the third signal) from the magnetic sensor circuit (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46);
the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field (When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38. The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages. The transmitter transitions to a low power sleep mode 63 after system address installation. The transmitter operates in a low power sleep mode until a door is moved 43; Column 4 Line 22-30; Each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41; Column 3 Line 57-60; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46; third signal is the sleep mode where the magnetic field is present),
receiving the third signal, the third signal received after the first signal is received (The opening and closing of the door 43 changes the status of the sensor and wakes up 60 the microcontroller from sleep. After the microcontroller wakes up 60 it will detect the status of the door 61 and determine if the door is opened 62. If the door is opened 43 the microcontroller will initiate the transmission of door open messages 64. If the door is now closed the microcontroller will cease open door message transmissions. After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 35-46; Reenter sleep operating mode is after the first signal), and
in response to the third signal [62], the controller performs a function [39] (re-enter the sleep mode is the function as claim does not recite what is the function) (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46) including one or more of transmitting to the server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field (transmit signal outside is the remote server) (A battery 32 is included with the transmitter 20 along with an antenna 31 that transmits 50 a signal based upon the status of the sensor 33; Column 4 Line 8-10; However, Figure 2 shows that the antenna 31 transmits signal 50 outside to a server);
May teaches each door sensor 20 consist of transmitter 30 coupled with reed switch 33 having contacts that are effected by the presence or absence of a magnetic field caused by a magnet 41 (Column 3 Line 57-60) and the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field.
However May fails to teach receive a first signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field based on the magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit and send a second signa, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server; the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit; a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying an update; wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network.
Schebel teaches compact wireless sensors, and, particularly, for wireless security sensors for insertion within window and door frames as a means for detecting intrusion (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4),
wherein a first signal is received from the magnetic sensor circuit indicating a lack of presence of the magnetic field based on the magnet being moved away from the magnetic sensor circuit (The complementary component also has a face that is nearly flush with the perimeter surface of the closure such that the two faces of the complementary components are facing each other when the closure is in the closed position relative to the frame. When the face of the component containing the sensor is in the closed position and aligned with the face of the component containing the magnet assembly, the reed switch of the sensor closes in the presence of the magnetic field between the sensor and the magnetic assembly. A microprocessor monitors the state of the reed switch. When the closure is in the open position, the magnetic field is removed, and the reed switch opens, which in turn sends a signal to a wireless transmitter; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-13; Thus, when the reed switch closes (i.e., the magnet assembly moves away from the reed switch), the interruption (e.g., the window being opened) is immediately detected. Since the microprocessor is "woken up" by the change of either state at its I/O port, low power consumption is achieved without any additional sampling; Paragraph [0061] Line 7-12), send a second signal, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server (receiver panel as the remote server) (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6) indicating a transition of the reusable system from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode (To accomplish the sampling function, the microprocessor is programmed to have a standby mode in which the microprocessor reduces current consumption from the power source (the coin cell battery), a monitoring mode (the monitoring of the state of the switch), and a transmit mode where the state of the switch is transmitted via the wireless transmitter/antenna to an alarm or external device (e.g., a receiving panel); Paragraph [0052] Line 1-8);
the third signal indicating detection of the magnetic field after the magnet is moved back into proximity of the magnetic sensor circuit (Oppositely situated from the sensor face 14 is the face 48 of the magnet assembly housing, which is embedded within the closure 62. When the magnet assembly 42 is brought into close proximity with the sensor unit 10, the magnetic field activates the switch to change state. Similarly, when the closure device (e.g., window) is opened relative to the frame, the switch cannot receive the magnetic signal and the switch changes state; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-8);
a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying an update (receiver panel as the remote server) (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; To accomplish the sampling function, the microprocessor is programmed to have a standby mode in which the microprocessor reduces current consumption from the power source (the coin cell battery), a monitoring mode (the monitoring of the state of the switch), and a transmit mode where the state of the switch is transmitted via the wireless transmitter/antenna to an alarm or external device (e.g., a receiving panel); Paragraph [0052] Line 1-8);
wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network (Antenna 36 (illustrated in FIG. 1 and also in FIG. 7) is used to transmit wireless signals from transmitter 30 to an external receiving panel or other receptor (not shown). The receiver panel is typically a function of a manufacturer's protocols, such as those provided by Ademco, ITI, Linear, and DSC; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, to sample the switch state at select intervals, but allow the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, to provide negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, to provide the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May in view of Schebel, because Schebel teaches to send a second signal, via the wireless transceiver, to a remote server indicating a transition of the reusable system is from the sleep operating mode to the awake operating mode wherein in the awake operating mode of the controller listens for a third signal provides continuous monitoring, in order to conserve the battery power, samples the switch state at select intervals, but allows the microprocessor to sleep or be nearly idle during non-sampling periods, provides negligible the power draw on the battery during the idle period, provides the smaller size coin cell battery's life is extended several fold over the anticipated life of the battery during continuous monitoring (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, May teaches a method, further comprising
receiving a fourth signal from the magnetic sensor circuit [33] indicating that the magnetic field is not detected proximate the magnetic sensor circuit [33] (After the opened 64 command has been transmitted the microcontroller will repeat gapped open door messages until either the door is closed or a five minute time out period 62 is reached after which the microcontroller will re-enter the sleep mode; Column 4 Line 42-46; The effective range of most reed switches 33 is one inch or less and is based upon the strength of the magnetic field that is created or coupled by the magnet 41; Column 3 Line 64-66; Door closed means the magnetic field is detected proximate the magnetic sensor circuit).
Regarding claim 17, May teaches a method,
wherein the function includes causing transmission of a message to the remote server regarding detection of the magnetic field (The transceiver will then enter into a standby mode 39. Subsequent to address message reception the system address parameter is automatically installed in the transmitter software to be used for the "door open" transmitted messages; Column 4 Line 24-27).
Regarding claim 18, May teaches a method,
wherein the device includes at least one sensory output device [91] (receiver 91 as the sensory output device as it receives signal from the transmitter to output the signal) in Figure 5 and wherein the additional function [35] includes causing output of a sensory signal from the sensory output device (Door transmitters incorporate a transceiver to facilitate message reception and transmission. Transmitter manufacturing does not include the installation of a system address. Address installation is accomplished after the battery 32 is installed in the transmitter 34. Upon battery installation 34 the transceiver goes into a receive mode 35 and searches for a valid 37 system address message 36 from the transmitter. When the transceiver receives a valid system address message 37 the transceiver will store the first or new system address 38; Column 4 Line 15-23; FIG. 5 shows block diagram of the receiver unit and the step controller motors. Upon initial receiver power application during system installation the receiver transitions to a transmit mode to send the system address message to the door transmitters. The receiver enters the normal receive mode after the system address message has been transmitted for the initialization interval. After address installation the receiver 91 receives the wireless command 50 from an antenna 92 and communicates the decoded command to a microcontroller 90. The receiver interfaces to a controller that provides the signals necessary to raise and lower the step and to control the step lighting; Column 4 Line 65-67 & Column 5 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 19, May teaches a method,
wherein the sensory output device includes one or more of an audio output device, a light output device, or a vibratory output device [95] in Figure 5 (FIG. 5 shows block diagram of the receiver unit and the step controller motors. Upon initial receiver power application during system installation the receiver transitions to a transmit mode to send the system address message to the door transmitters. The receiver enters the normal receive mode after the system address message has been transmitted for the initialization interval. After address installation the receiver 91 receives the wireless command 50 from an antenna 92 and communicates the decoded command to a microcontroller 90. The receiver interfaces to a controller that provides the signals necessary to raise and lower the step and to control the step lighting; Column 4 Line 65-67 & Column 5 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 20, May teaches a method,
wherein the third signal from the magnetic sensor circuit indicates that the magnetic field is detected with respect to a door magnet coupled to a sliding door (FIG. 1 shows four wireless door sensors. A wireless car door sensor system eliminates the need to modify the vehicle wiring and simplify the installation of the power board is comprised of door sensors 21-24 installed on each door; Column 3 Line 48-51), and
the function (Figure 6) includes causing transmission of a message, via the wireless transceiver, to the remote server regarding a position of the sliding door (After the system address transmission interval the receiver listens to receive the messages 100 and determines if the received signal parameters are valid 101. If the data is found to be invalid the microcontroller will not take any action and return to a listen state. Messages that are determined to be valid will be decoded to determine which door changed state 103 and will branch to either the driver 104 or passenger 107 door to determine the status of the door to command the controller to retract or extend 105, 106 the appropriate step. The two or four door transmitters, stores the message data, transmit the message data while the door is open until the five minute timeout elapses. If a door on either side of the vehicle is open the receiver asserts the proper signal to the controller to engage the appropriate step motor and lower the step. A message is sent at intervals of less than three (3) seconds. If a gap of transmission of more than three seconds 108, 109 is detected the associated door step will raise. A step will remain lowered until the receiver receives messages indicating that both doors on a vehicle side are closed. While time intervals of three seconds and five minutes are indicated the intervals can be shorter or longer. The transmission is sent at intervals because at the transmission frequency FCC requirement require that the burst of signal must be followed by a non-transmission period to allow other devices to operate at the same period. The transmission repeats at an interval to identify that it is desirable for the step to remain extended as long as the transmission is being periodically sent. The time period of three seconds is preferred but a time interval of between 1/2 second and five seconds works equivalently; Column 5 Line 18-46; Door retract can be the sliding door position of the vehicle and vehicle door can be sliding door).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alford (US 20190391213 A1) discloses, “MAGNETIC FIELD MEASUREMENT SYSTEMS AND METHODS OF MAKING AND USING- [0002] The present disclosure is directed to the area of magnetic field measurement systems using optical magnetometers. The present disclosure is also directed to magnetic field measurement systems that modify an ambient magnetic field or target signal sources. [0042] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of components of one embodiment of a magnetic field measurement system 140. The system 140 can include a computing device 150 or any other similar device that includes a processor 152 and a memory 154, a display 156, an input device 158, an array of magnetometers 160, one or more magnetic field generators 162, and, optionally, one or more sensors 164. The system 140 and its use and operation will be described herein with respect to the measurement of neural signals arising from signal sources in the brain as an example. It will be understood, however, that the system can be adapted and used to measure other neural signals, other biological signals, as well as non-biological signals. [0043] The computing device 150 can be a computer, tablet, mobile device, or any other suitable device for processing information. The computing device 150 can be local to the user or can include components that are non-local to the user including one or both of the processor 152 or memory 154 (or portions thereof). For example, in at least some embodiments, the user may operate a terminal that is connected to a non-local computing device. In other embodiments, the memory 154 can be non-local to the user. [0044] The computing device 150 can utilize any suitable processor 152 including one or more hardware processors that may be local to the user or non-local to the user or other components of the computing device- However Alford does not disclose in response to the third signal, the controller performs a function including one or more of transmitting to the remote server a message regarding detection of the
magnetic field, outputting a sensory signal, initiating pairing. or requesting and applying
an update; wherein the remote server is remote from the reusable system and accessible via a wireless network.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858