DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 10-11: the limitation “depending on the type of article” renders the claim indefinite because the scope of the claim is unclear as it would appear the support pin heights could change if the article changes.
Regarding claim 8, lines 1-2: the limitation “the first article” has a lack of antecedent basis rendering the claim indefinite. It appears claim 7 should depend on claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, line 3: the limitation “the second article” has a lack of antecedent basis rendering the claim indefinite. It appears claim 7 should depend on claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, line 5: the limitation “the third article” has a lack of antecedent basis rendering the claim indefinite. It appears claim 7 should depend on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguro (JP 2010126278) in view of Han (KR 20170000059).
Regarding claim 1, Oguro discloses an apparatus for transferring an article, the apparatus comprising:
a vehicle (3) moving along a moving rail (2) installed on a ceiling;
a main body (12) connected to the vehicle and providing an interior space in which an article is located;
a hoist module (24) provided in the main body, and for hoisting a belt (paragraph 0028 of translation) by winding or unwinding the belt;
a hand unit (4) fixed at one end of the belt and for gripping the article; and
a drop preventing member (28) provided in the main body, and for preventing the article from dropping during moving of the vehicle, wherein the drop preventing member includes support pins (35).
Regarding claim 2, Oguro also discloses a plate (28) on which the support pins are installed, and the support pins include: first support pins (35) supporting a first article.
Regarding claim 10, Oguro also discloses a third detection unit for detecting whether a gripper of the hand unit is gripping a flange of the article (paragraph 0005 and 0041 of translation).
Oguro does not disclose (claim 1) the support pins provided at different heights depending on types of article and (claim 2) second support pins for supporting a second article and a third article with a larger area than the first article, and the first support pins have lower heights than the second support pins.
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a drop preventing member (230, 280) provided in the main body, and for preventing the article from dropping, wherein the drop preventing member includes support pins (240, 290) provided at different heights depending on types of article (fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Han also teaches first support pins (241, 291) and second support pins (242, 292) for supporting a second article and a third article with a larger area than the first article, and the first support pins have lower heights than the second support pins (fig 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Oguro to include the support pins provided at different heights depending on types of article and second support pins for supporting a second article and a third article with a larger area than the first article, and the first support pins have lower heights than the second support pins as taught by Han in order to allow for articles of different sizes to be transported (paragraph 0010 of translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, Oguro is considered the closest prior art and discloses an apparatus for of transferring an article, the apparatus comprising:
a vehicle (3) moving along a moving rail (2) installed on a ceiling;
a main body (12) connected to the vehicle and providing an interior space in which an article is located;
a hoist module (24) provided in the main body, and for hoisting a belt (paragraph 0028 of translation) by winding or unwinding the belt;
a hand unit (4) fixed at one end of the belt and for gripping the article; and
a drop preventing member (28) provided in the main body, and for preventing the article from dropping during moving of the vehicle;
a first detection unit provided in the main body and for detecting an article (paragraph 0005, 0036 and 0041); and
wherein the drop preventing member includes:
a plate (28) positioned in a lower portion of the interior space by a driving unit (29);
first support pins (35) provided on the plate and supporting a first article.
Han teaches first support pins (241, 291) and second support pins (242, 292) provided on a plate (230, 280), supporting a second article and a third article with a larger area than the first article, and having higher heights than the first support pins (fig 2).
The primary reason for the allowance of claim 18 is the inclusion of a control unit for determining a type of article according to a detection signal of the first detection unit, the first detection unit detects the article at a home position where the article waits for a period of time before the hoist module seats the article on the drop preventing member in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KRC/Examiner, Art Unit 3651 4/2/2026
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651