The amendment filed 4/8/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 11, 13-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang (Pub. No.: US 20170195019 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200076553 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Shang and Wang.
In regard to Claim 1, Shang teaches A communication method, comprising: obtaining, by a first terminal apparatus (UE 1, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b), first information (performing, by the user terminal according to the transmitted pilot signals, channel estimation on a channel corresponding to an antenna port, Para. 53. The base station broadcasts antenna port configuration information to the user terminals, Para. 87), wherein the first information comprises information about a first resource (The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), first demodulation information (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57).
Shang teaches a first data stream (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and a second data stream (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) are carried on the first resource (the multi-user multiplexing method is applied to an LTE system. The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5).
Shang teaches the first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. FIG. 6-a is a schematic diagram of a mapping process of multiplexing a common signal by a base station. As a receive end, the UE 1, the UE 2, . . . , and the UE N separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches data of the second data stream is the data of the first terminal apparatus (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus (UE 1, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) based on demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the first data stream (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57), a signal received on the first resource (subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), to obtain the first data stream (the UE 1 separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus (UE 1, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) based on the first data stream (The common signal may be a master information block (MIB), Para. 121. The UE 1 separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the second data stream (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57), the signal received on the first resource (subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), to obtain the second data stream (the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang fails to teach second demodulation information, and second information, and Shang fails to teach the second information indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and although Shang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus based on demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the first data stream, Shang fails to teach demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus based on the second demodulation information, and although Shang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus based on the first data stream and demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the second data stream, Shang fails to teach demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus based on the second demodulation information.
Wang teaches second demodulation information (Step S506. The transmission point B sends the second demodulation reference signal to the reception point, and the reception point receives the second demodulation reference signal, Para. 177, FIG. 5), and second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (the second indication information is used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus (Step S505. The reception point demodulates, Para. 176, FIG. 5) based on the second demodulation information (Step S504. The reception point determines a time-frequency resource location of the first data based on the time-frequency resource location of the second demodulation reference signal, Para. 175, FIG. 5), to obtain the first data stream (Step S505. The reception point demodulates the first data, Para. 176, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches demodulating, by the first terminal apparatus (Step S508. The reception point demodulates, Para. 179, FIG. 5) based on the second demodulation information (Step S506. The transmission point B sends the second demodulation reference signal to the reception point), to obtain the second data stream (Step S508. The reception point demodulates the second data, Para. 179, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the second data stream.
Shang fails to teach the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information comprises a second indication field, the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information, the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Wang teaches the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) comprises a second indication field (the second indication information is used to indicate, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information (used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value (indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 6, Shang teaches A communication method, comprising: sending, by a first communication apparatus (base station, Para. 87), first information (performing, by the user terminal according to the transmitted pilot signals, channel estimation on a channel corresponding to an antenna port, Para. 53. The base station broadcasts antenna port configuration information to the user terminals, Para. 87) to a first terminal apparatus (UE 1, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b), wherein the first information comprises information about a first resource (The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), first demodulation information (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57).
Shang teaches a first data stream (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and a second data stream (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) are carried on the first resource (the multi-user multiplexing method is applied to an LTE system. The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5).
Shang teaches the first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. FIG. 6-a is a schematic diagram of a mapping process of multiplexing a common signal by a base station. As a receive end, the UE 1, the UE 2, . . . , and the UE N separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches data of the second data stream is the data of the first terminal apparatus (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches sending, by the first communication apparatus (base station, Para. 87), the first data stream (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and the second data stream (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) through the first resource (subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5).
Shang fails to teach second demodulation information, and second information, and Shang fails to teach the second information indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Wang teaches second demodulation information (Step S506. The transmission point B sends the second demodulation reference signal to the reception point, and the reception point receives the second demodulation reference signal, Para. 177, FIG. 5), and second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (the second indication information is used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the second data stream.
Shang fails to teach the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information comprises a second indication field, the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information, the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Wang teaches the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) comprises a second indication field (the second indication information is used to indicate, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information (used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value (indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 11, Shang teaches the first information is dedicated signaling of the first terminal apparatus (performing, by the user terminal according to the transmitted pilot signals, channel estimation on a channel corresponding to an antenna port, Para. 53. The base station broadcasts antenna port configuration information to the user terminals, Para. 87).
In regard to Claim 13, Shang teaches A first terminal apparatus (UE 1, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b), comprising: a processor (processor 1201, Para. 241, FIG. 12); and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor (The memory 1202 is configured to store data required by the processor during an execution process, Para. 242, FIG. 12), cause the first terminal apparatus to: obtain first information (performing, by the user terminal according to the transmitted pilot signals, channel estimation on a channel corresponding to an antenna port, Para. 53. The base station broadcasts antenna port configuration information to the user terminals, Para. 87), wherein the first information comprises information about a first resource (The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), first demodulation information (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57).
Shang teaches a first data stream (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and a second data stream (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) are carried on the first resource (the multi-user multiplexing method is applied to an LTE system. The base station transmits a common signal in each subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5).
Shang teaches the first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus (a common signal that needs to be transmitted to the N user terminals, Para. 59, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. The base station transmits the common signal to the user terminals. A common signal generated by the base station may be sent to the N user terminals, Para. 120, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b. FIG. 6-a is a schematic diagram of a mapping process of multiplexing a common signal by a base station. As a receive end, the UE 1, the UE 2, . . . , and the UE N separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches data of the second data stream is the data of the first terminal apparatus (As a receive end, the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches demodulate, based on demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the first data stream (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57), a signal received on the first resource (subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), to obtain the first data stream (the UE 1 separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang teaches demodulate, based on the first data stream (The common signal may be a master information block (MIB), Para. 121. The UE 1 separately receive the common signal, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b) and demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the second data stream (demodulate the transmitted data streams according to a result of the channel estimation, Para. 57), the signal received on the first resource (subframe of a frame, Para. 135, FIG. 5), to obtain the second data stream (the UE 1 separately receive their respective data stream, Para. 137, FIGS. 6-a, 6-b).
Shang fails to teach second demodulation information, and second information, , and Shang fails to teach the second information indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and although Shang teaches demodulate, based on demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the first data stream, Shang fails to teach demodulate, based on the second demodulation information, and although Shang teaches demodulate, based on the first data stream and demodulation information that is in the first demodulation information and that is used to demodulate the second data stream, Shang fails to teach demodulate, based on the second demodulation information.
Wang teaches second demodulation information (Step S506. The transmission point B sends the second demodulation reference signal to the reception point, and the reception point receives the second demodulation reference signal, Para. 177, FIG. 5), and second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) indicates one or more of (1) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the first demodulation information and the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (the second indication information is used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches demodulate, based on the second demodulation information (Step S504. The reception point determines a time-frequency resource location of the first data based on the time-frequency resource location of the second demodulation reference signal, Para. 175, FIG. 5), to obtain the first data stream (Step S505. The reception point demodulates the first data, Para. 176, FIG. 5).
Wang teaches demodulate, based on the second demodulation information (Step S506. The transmission point B sends the second demodulation reference signal to the reception point), to obtain the second data stream (Step S508. The reception point demodulates the second data, Para. 179, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Shang in view of Wang teaches the second data stream.
Shang fails to teach the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information comprises a second indication field, the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information, the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Wang teaches the second information comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, or the second information (Step S502. The transmission point C sends second indication information, Para. 173, FIG. 5) comprises a second indication field (the second indication information is used to indicate, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information (used to indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value (indicate a time-frequency resource location of a second demodulation reference signal, Para. 173, FIG. 5), the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (second demodulation reference signal of second data, Para. 173, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Shang since Wang provides a technique for a base station to send multiple pieces of information for the demodulation of signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang to permit UE to receive demodulation information from base stations in addition to utilizing channel estimation for demodulating signals.
In regard to Claim 17, Shang teaches the first information is dedicated signaling of the first terminal apparatus (performing, by the user terminal according to the transmitted pilot signals, channel estimation on a channel corresponding to an antenna port, Para. 53. The base station broadcasts antenna port configuration information to the user terminals, Para. 87).
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-10, 15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang in view of Wang, and further in view of Noh et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200106500 A1), hereafter referred to as Noh.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first information.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource.
Noh teaches the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource (a step S1010 of allocating a first feedback resource located at a first time point and a second feedback resource located at a later time point than the first time point; and a step S1020 of transmitting information on the first feedback resource and information on the second feedback resource to at least one of a transmitting terminal for groupcast transmission and at least one receiving terminal belonging to a receiving terminal group of the groupcast transmission, Para. 111, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first communication apparatus.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach sending, by the first terminal apparatus by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of the signal received on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field, the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds.
Noh teaches sending, by the first terminal apparatus by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of the signal received on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field, the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds (in the second step S500 of the groupcast transmission, the feedback information may be transmitted through a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH, Para. 76, FIG. 4. The HARQ feedback information may include whether each receiving terminal has successfully demodulated the groupcast data received in the step S420, Para. 77, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first information.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource.
Noh teaches the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource (a step S1010 of allocating a first feedback resource located at a first time point and a second feedback resource located at a later time point than the first time point; and a step S1020 of transmitting information on the first feedback resource and information on the second feedback resource to at least one of a transmitting terminal for groupcast transmission and at least one receiving terminal belonging to a receiving terminal group of the groupcast transmission, Para. 111, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first communication apparatus.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach receiving, by the first communication apparatus by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of a signal received by the first terminal apparatus on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field, the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds.
Noh teaches receiving, by the first communication apparatus by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of a signal received by the first terminal apparatus on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field, the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds (in the second step S500 of the groupcast transmission, the feedback information may be transmitted through a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH, Para. 76, FIG. 4. The HARQ feedback information may include whether each receiving terminal has successfully demodulated the groupcast data received in the step S420, Para. 77, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first communication apparatus.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the first resource further carries a third data stream of the second terminal apparatus, and the communication method further comprises: sending, by the first communication apparatus, third information to the second terminal apparatus, wherein the third information comprises the information about the first resource, third demodulation information, fourth demodulation information, and fourth information, the first data stream and the third data stream are carried on the first resource, and data of the third data stream is the data of the second terminal apparatus, and the fourth information indicates one or more of (1) that one of the third demodulation information and the fourth demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the third demodulation information and the fourth demodulation information is used to demodulate the third data stream; and sending, by the first communication apparatus, the second data stream through the first resource.
Noh teaches the first resource further carries a third data stream of the second terminal apparatus, and the communication method further comprises: sending, by the first communication apparatus, third information to the second terminal apparatus, wherein the third information comprises the information about the first resource, third demodulation information, fourth demodulation information, and fourth information, the first data stream and the third data stream are carried on the first resource, and data of the third data stream is the data of the second terminal apparatus, and the fourth information indicates one or more of (1) that one of the third demodulation information and the fourth demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream or (2) that one of the third demodulation information and the fourth demodulation information is used to demodulate the third data stream; and sending, by the first communication apparatus, the second data stream through the first resource (in the second step S500 of the groupcast transmission, the feedback information may be transmitted through a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH, Para. 76, FIG. 4. The HARQ feedback information may include whether each receiving terminal has successfully demodulated the groupcast data received in the step S420, Para. 77, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first information.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource.
Noh teaches the first information further comprises information about a feedback resource (a step S1010 of allocating a first feedback resource located at a first time point and a second feedback resource located at a later time point than the first time point; and a step S1020 of transmitting information on the first feedback resource and information on the second feedback resource to at least one of a transmitting terminal for groupcast transmission and at least one receiving terminal belonging to a receiving terminal group of the groupcast transmission, Para. 111, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first terminal apparatus.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the first terminal apparatus is further caused to: send, by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of the signal received on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field; and when a value of the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds.
Noh teaches the first terminal apparatus is further caused to: send, by way of the feedback resource, feedback information of the signal received on the first resource, wherein the feedback information comprises a third indication field; and when a value of the third indication field includes a fifth value, a sixth value or a seventh value, the fifth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream fails, the sixth value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream fails, and the seventh value indicates demodulation of the first data stream succeeds and demodulation of the second data stream succeeds (in the second step S500 of the groupcast transmission, the feedback information may be transmitted through a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH, Para. 76, FIG. 4. The HARQ feedback information may include whether each receiving terminal has successfully demodulated the groupcast data received in the step S420, Para. 77, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the second information.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the second information comprises a first indication field and a second indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Noh teaches the second information comprises a first indication field and a second indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (a step S1010 of allocating a first feedback resource located at a first time point and a second feedback resource located at a later time point than the first time point; and a step S1020 of transmitting information on the first feedback resource and information on the second feedback resource to at least one of a transmitting terminal for groupcast transmission and at least one receiving terminal belonging to a receiving terminal group of the groupcast transmission, Para. 111, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the second information.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach the second information comprises a first indication field and a second indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information, the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream.
Noh teaches the second information comprises a first indication field and a second indication field, the first indication field is associated with the first demodulation information, the first indication field includes a first value or a second value, the first value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the second value indicates the first demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream, and the second indication field is associated with the second demodulation information, the second indication field includes a third value or a fourth value, the third value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the first data stream, and the fourth value indicates the second demodulation information is used to demodulate the second data stream (a step S1010 of allocating a first feedback resource located at a first time point and a second feedback resource located at a later time point than the first time point; and a step S1020 of transmitting information on the first feedback resource and information on the second feedback resource to at least one of a transmitting terminal for groupcast transmission and at least one receiving terminal belonging to a receiving terminal group of the groupcast transmission, Para. 111, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Noh provides a technique for a configuring feedback resources and transmitting information on the feedback resources to wireless devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit a base station to inform user terminals of feedback resources with which the base station can utilize the feedback from the user terminals to improve wireless communications.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang in view of Wang, and further in view of Nammi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160006539 A1), hereafter referred to as Noh.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first data stream.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream.
Nammi teaches a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream (Determining whether or not to transmit dedicated (scheduled) pilots to the UE 100, Para. 151. Configure one or more radio parameters, for example the maximum transmit power for common signals, such as the pilot transmission power, Para. 153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nammi with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Nammi provides a technique for utilizing both dedicated pilots and pilots of common signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit common signals to incorporate pilots that are different from pilots of UE.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first data stream.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream.
Nammi teaches a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream (Determining whether or not to transmit dedicated (scheduled) pilots to the UE 100, Para. 151. Configure one or more radio parameters, for example the maximum transmit power for common signals, such as the pilot transmission power, Para. 153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nammi with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Nammi provides a technique for utilizing both dedicated pilots and pilots of common signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit common signals to incorporate pilots that are different from pilots of UE.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Shang in view of Wang teaches the first data stream.
Shang in view of Wang fails to teach a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream.
Nammi teaches a pilot of a signal corresponding to the first data stream is different from a pilot of a signal corresponding to the second data stream (Determining whether or not to transmit dedicated (scheduled) pilots to the UE 100, Para. 151. Configure one or more radio parameters, for example the maximum transmit power for common signals, such as the pilot transmission power, Para. 153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nammi with the teachings of Shang in view of Wang since Nammi provides a technique for utilizing both dedicated pilots and pilots of common signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Shang in view of Wang to permit common signals to incorporate pilots that are different from pilots of UE.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Neither Shang nor Wang, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests "the first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and, data of a second terminal apparatus," as claimed. This argument is not persuasive. Shang teaches in Para. 137 and FIG. 6-b: “As a receive end, the UE 1, the UE 2, . . . , and the UE N separately receive the common signal and their respective data stream, scheduling information, and pilot signal from the time-frequency resources” (emphasis added). FIG. 6-b shows that UE 1 receives a common signal, and UE 2 receives the same common signal. This indicates that a common signal of Shang includes data intended for reception by UE 1, and the common signal also includes data intended for reception by UE 2. As a result, a common signal of Shang (first data stream) that includes data intended for reception by UE 1 (comprises data of the first terminal apparatus) and also includes data intended for reception by UE 2 (and data of a second terminal apparatus), is substantively the same as a first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus of Claim 1. No limitation of Claim 1 precludes such an interpretation. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying aspects of how a first data stream comprises data of the first communication terminal apparatus and data of a second communication terminal apparatus of Claim 1, which are not taught by Shang and Wang, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that One of ordinary skill would recognize that the signals discussed in Shang are broadcast signals intended for all UEs in a cell, not "a common stream comprising data for multiple terminal apparatuses" as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. The examiner notes that Shang does not confine a common signal to being only a broadcast signal. In any case, a common signal in FIG. 6-b of Shang includes data intended for reception by UE 1 and also includes data intended for reception by UE 2, and is substantively the same as a first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus of Claim 1. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying aspects of a first data stream of Claim 1 that preclude broadcast signals, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Pages 10-11 of the Remarks present the argument that Additionally, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the common signal (PSS, SSS, MIB, SIB) in Shang is broadcast information transmitted by a base station that does not comprise "data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus," as claimed. This argument is not persuasive. Shang teaches in Para. 121: “Specifically, the common signal may be a primary synchronization signal (PSS), or may be a secondary synchronization signal (SSS). The common signal may be a master information block (MIB) carried on a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), or may be a system information block (SIB) carried on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Alternatively, the common signal may refer to a paging (Paging) message carried on a PDSCH, or may include SIB scheduling information and paging scheduling information that are carried on a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel). Alternatively, the common signal may refer to a signal carried on a physical HARQ indicator channel (PHICH) and a physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH)” (emphasis added). This shows that a common signal of Shang is not confined to being only PSS, SSS, MIB, or SIB. In addition, the examiner notes that a common signal of Shang can be a signal carried on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or carried on a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel), or carried on a physical HARQ indicator channel (PHICH) and a physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH), and that signals carried these channels are not confined to broadcast transmissions.
Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that Shang separately transmits individual data streams to each user terminal (s1, s2, ... Sn), where "si is a data stream that needs to be transmitted by the base station to the ith user terminal of the N user terminals." (see Shang, para. [0009]). These individual data streams do not comprise data of a first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus. This argument misapprehends the rejection of Claim 1, and is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 presents only a common signal of Shang, which includes data intended for reception by UE 1 and also includes data intended for reception by UE 2, as teaching a first data stream comprises data of the first terminal apparatus and data of a second terminal apparatus of Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
5-30-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477