CTNF 18/541,129 CTNF 86175 DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 13 May 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-20 were previously pending; claims 1-6, 8-10, and 15-20 were canceled and claims 21-28 were added by the amendment; and thus, claims 7, 11-14, and 21-28 are now pending in the application. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 13 May 2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments The Applicant’s arguments, filed 07 April 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The Applicant’s first argument (pages 1-2 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that the prior art, Yoneda in particular, does not disclose the new limitations of independent claim 7. The argument alleges that the “exhaust port 10” of Yoneda “is not constituted by the second opening portion which is formed as the gap space between the cover member and the body frame”. However, the argument simply repeats the language of the claims without providing any explanation or evidence in support of this allegation. Figure 2 of Yoneda clearly shows the second opening portion provided between the two halves of the housing, i.e. between the cover member and the main body frame, and extending radially outward from the cylindrical portion of the housing, rendering this argument unpersuasive. Thus, the previous grounds of rejection in view of Yoneda and Iwai are maintained. The Applicant’s arguments, filed 13 May 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant’s second argument (pages 2-3 of the Remarks) alleges that the concern raised in the Advisory Action regarding potential new matter is invalid. The argument states that the “motor substrate” is a “motor sheet metal/support member” rather than a circuit board and, as such, only a single circuit board is recited in the new claims. While this disclosure does necessitate a revision to the interpretation of the claims, it does appear that the new claims are properly supported by the disclosure. As such, no new matter rejections have been made. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Disclosure 06-31 AIA The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 11, 14, 21-22, and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda et al. (US 2014/0127049 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yoneda”, in view of Iwai (US 2015/0295471 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Iwai” . Regarding claim 7 , Yoneda discloses an image forming apparatus for forming a toner image on a recording material (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0021-0023; neither the “image forming” language nor the recitation of its intended use imply any structure outside the motor structure recited in the body of the claim), the image forming apparatus comprising: a main body frame [81] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023); a motor substrate [6] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023-0025); a stator portion [3] provided on the motor substrate [11] (fig. 1; ¶ 0021, 0025); a rotor portion [2] mounted with a rotational shaft [23] and configured to rotate about the stator portion [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0021); and a cover member [82] provided on an outside of the rotor portion [2] with respect to a radial direction of the rotor portion [2] and an axial direction of the rotational shaft [23] and arranged to be fixed (fig. 1; ¶ 0023), wherein the motor substrate [11] is mounted on the main body frame [81] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023), PNG media_image1.png 448 692 media_image1.png Greyscale wherein a first opening portion [9] is formed on a central portion, in the radial direction, of a first portion of the cover member [82] opposing a part on which the rotational shaft [23] of the rotor portion [2] is mounted in the axial direction (fig. 1; ¶ 0023), wherein the rotor portion [2] includes a cylindrical outer surface [21b] coaxial with the rotational shaft [23] (fig. 1; ¶ 0021), wherein an air is sucked inside of the cover member [82] from an outside of the cover member [82] through the first opening portion [9] by rotation of the rotor portion [2] (fig. 1; ¶ 0028), and the air sucked is discharged to the outside of the cover member [82] through a second opening portion [10] formed on a position away from the first opening portion [9] in the axial direction (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0028; the “intake port 9” is located at the top of the housing, while the “exhaust port 10” extends to the bottom of the housing), PNG media_image2.png 428 512 media_image2.png Greyscale wherein the second opening portion [10] is formed as a gap space between the cover member [82] and the main body frame [81] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0023, 0028), and wherein the cover member [82] includes a protruding portion that protrudes radially outward relative to a cylindrical portion of the cover member [82] at a circumferential position corresponding to the second opening portion [10] such that the gap space forming the second opening portion [10] is secured (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0023, 0028; the bottom-left portion of the housing, in figure 2, protrudes radially outward to form the exhaust port). Yoneda does not disclose that no fan blade is provided at a radially outer side of the cylindrical outer surface [21b] of the rotor portion [2]. Iwai discloses an outer rotor type motor [104/105] comprising a stator portion [3] and a rotor portion [2] mounted with a rotational shaft [1] and configured to rotate about the stator portion [3] (fig. 18-19; ¶ 0153-0157, 0159-0162), wherein the rotor portion [2] includes a cylindrical outer surface [2b] coaxial with the rotational shaft [1] and no fan blade [60] is provided at a radially outer side of the cylindrical outer surface [2b] of the rotor portion [2] (fig. 18; ¶ 0154-0155). PNG media_image3.png 307 898 media_image3.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the fan blades of Yoneda separately from the rotor as taught by Iwai, in order to more effectively block radiant heat (¶ 0157 of Iwai). Further, it has been held that making a component separable, in this case for the purpose of blocking radiant heat, instead of the integral structure disclosed in the prior art would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Dulberg , 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Regarding claim 11 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses an image forming apparatus according to Claim 7, as stated above, wherein an end portion of the rotational shaft [23] on a side of the first opening portion [9] is positioned inside of the cover member [82] with respect to the axial direction (fig. 1; ¶ 0021). Regarding claim 14 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses an image forming apparatus according to Claim 7, as stated above, further comprising an outer cover [82] of the image forming apparatus configured to cover the main body frame [81], wherein the outer cover [82] forms the cover member [82] (fig. 1; ¶ 0023). Regarding claim 21 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above, further comprising a printed circuit board [11] mounted to the stator portion [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0025). Regarding claim 22 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 21, as stated above, wherein the cover member [82] is attached to the printed circuit board [11] (fig. 1; ¶ 0025-0026; the board is mounted to the stator [3] which is in turn mounted to the substrate [6] of the main body frame [81] which is in turn attached to the cover member [82]). Regarding claim 24 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 21, as stated above, wherein the printed circuit board [11] is supported on the stator portion [3] (fig. 1; ¶ 0025-0026). Regarding claim 25 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above, wherein the stator portion [3] is fixed to the motor substrate [6] (fig. 1; ¶ 0024). Regarding claim 26 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above. Yoneda does not disclose that the motor substrate [6] is fixed to the main body frame [81] by at least one fastener (Yoneda discloses the two as integrally formed components). Iwai discloses the outer rotor type motor [104/105], as stated above, wherein the motor substrate [11] is fixed to the main body frame [50] by at least one fastener [11b] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0053-0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the motor substrate and main body frame of Yoneda as separate components fixed by a fastener as taught by Iwai, in order to simplify manufacturing by allowing each part to be formed by press-worked metal sheets (¶ 0054 of Iwai). Further, it has been held that making a component separable, instead of the integral structure disclosed in the prior art, would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Dulberg , 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Regarding claim 27 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 26, as stated above, wherein the printed circuit board [11] includes at least one through hole, and wherein the at least one fastener [34] passes through the at least one through hole (fig. 1; ¶ 0025). Regarding claim 28 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above, wherein the protruding portion extends over only a part of a circumference of the cover member [82] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0023, 0028; the bottom-left portion of the housing, in figure 2, protrudes radially outward to form the exhaust port) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda and Iwai as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Gödeke et al. (US 2011/0076167 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Godeke” . Regarding claim 12 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses an image forming apparatus according to Claim 7, as stated above. Yoneda does not disclose that, as viewed in the axial direction, an area of the first opening portion [9] is 5% or more and 50% or less of an area of the rotor portion [2]. Godeke discloses a motor comprising a rotor portion [4c] and a cover member [11] having a first opening portion [4e] formed therein (fig. 11; ¶ 0005, 0079); wherein, as viewed in the axial direction, an area of the first opening portion [4e] is 5% or more and 50% or less of an area of the rotor portion [4c] (¶ 0005; a ratio, of the “area of the inlet opening” to the “area of the rotor magnet”, of “0.5” corresponds to the first opening portion area being 50% of the rotor portion area). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first opening area of Yoneda having an area half that of the rotor portion as taught by Godeke, in order to provide the electric motor with an extremely simple construction, good sealing of the media being delivered thereto, as well as high performance and energy-efficiency (¶ 0002-0004 of Godeke) . PNG media_image4.png 423 486 media_image4.png Greyscale 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda and Iwai as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Yan et al. (US 2022/0060087 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yan” . Regarding claim 13 , Yoneda, in view of Iwai, discloses an image forming apparatus according to Claim 7, as stated above. Yoneda does not disclose that a helical rib toward the first opening portion [9] is provided in an inner surface of the first portion of the cover member [82]. Yan discloses a motor comprising a cover member [2-3] with a first opening portion [30] provided therein (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0140), wherein a helical rib [26] toward the first opening portion [30] is provided in an inner surface of the first portion of the cover member [2-3] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0159-0160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cover member of Yoneda having a helical rib on its inner surface as taught by Yan, in order to guide airflow through the motor thereby reducing losses (¶ 0161 of Yan), i.e. improving efficiency . PNG media_image5.png 416 727 media_image5.png Greyscale Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 23 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 23 , and all claims dependent thereon, the prior art does not disclose, inter alia, the image forming apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the cover member includes a plurality of hook portions, and wherein the cover member is attached to the printed circuit board by engagement of the plurality of hook portions with the printed circuit board . While the prior art discloses connecting housing components and circuit boards through various means, including clips and hooks attached via holes and recesses, it does not disclose this type of connection structures in the same way as in any of the applied references. Further, no evidence has been found showing the obviousness of incorporating such connection means into said applied references. Thus, the prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations recited above . 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Citation of Relevant Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art: Hatakeyama et al. (US 2021/0091641 A1) discloses a motor comprising a cover member having helical ribs on its inner surface. Hayamitsu (US 2019/0191948 A1) discloses a motor comprising helical ribs on its inner surface. Kubota et al. (US 5,510,827) discloses an image forming apparatus for forming a toner image on a recording material comprising a motor provided with a cooling airflow. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Andrews whose telephone number is (571)270-7554. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday, 8:30am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oluseye Iwarere can be reached at 571-270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Michael Andrews/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/541,129 Page 13 Art Unit: 2834