DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/26/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The previous art rejections are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New analysis follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first deflection that defines a central longitudinal axis, the first deflection extension extending along the central longitudinal axis out from a first end of the wind distribution panel beyond the solar module with the central longitudinal axis disposed at an angle”. While the phrase “central longitudinal axis” is not explicitly found in the disclosure as originally filed, a person having ordinary skill in the art of solar module tracking would understand the concept. Specifically, the torque tube 14 illustrated in instant Figure 1 would be understood to extend along, and rotate around, a central axis. Paragraph [0024] of the instant specification recites a north-south longitudinal orientation, and paragraph [0034] discusses the wind distribution panel having two longitudinal sides. Therefore, while not limited to such an interpretation, “longitudinal” implies an orientation, and the torque tube would be understood to be oriented along a central longitudinal axis, which extends north and south.
Due to sharing its orientation with the torque tube, the deflection extensions 130, 132 also may be said to have a central longitudinal axis. A skilled artisan would understand this axis to extend into-out of the page in instant Figures 3 and 4, parallel to and displaced from a central longitudinal axis of the torque tube 14 and a central longitudinal axis of the wind distribution panel 126. The direction along which the first deflection extension extends, in the view of Figures 3 and 4, is substantially into-out of the page. The claim recites that the central longitudinal axis is disposed at an angle relative to the wind distribution panel. However, as best as can be understood from the disclosure, it is a surface of a deflection extension that is angled relative to an end of the wind distribution panel. The claim therefore does not have support in the disclosure as originally filed. Claims 2-7, 9-12 are also rejected based on their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 13 recites the same relationship between a central longitudinal axis of a first deflection extension and a wind distribution panel, and is therefore also rejected under 112(a). Claims 14-21 are also rejected based on their dependence from claim 13.
Claim 1-7 and 10-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above, certain newly amended language regarding the first deflection extension in claims 1 and 13 are not supported by the application as originally filed. Therefore the scope of the language is also indefinite. Claims 2-7, 9-12, and 14-21 are also rejected based on their respective dependence from claim 1 or 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 10, 13-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0315193 to Linderman.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 9, 10, and 21, Linderman teaches a solar module tracking apparatus comprising
A solar module 1901 (Fig. 19, ¶0080; also see 101 of Fig. 1) having a first side (facing element 1904 of in Fig. 19) that includes a plurality of photovoltaic cells (Fig. 1 shows analogous side 126, ¶0033) and a second side (Fig. 1 shows analogous side 127, obscured by 1910) that is opposite the first side (Fig. 1 shows analogous second side 127 of module 101), the solar module having a solar module length and a solar module width (Fig. 4 best shows the dimensions of an exemplary solar module 403, where the width extends roughly up-down in the frame of the Fig. and the length extends left-right, ¶0077-0079), the solar module length and the solar module width laying in a first plane
A wind distribution panel (including 1902, 1908 of Fig. 19) spaced apart from the second side of the solar module 1901 to define a plenum between the wind distribution panel and the solar module (Figs. 8, 9 shows an exemplary wind distribution panel including 812, 821 or 902, 906; the panel is explicitly included to introduce air between the solar module and the panel, ¶0091-0095), the wind distribution panel having a wind distribution panel length and a wind distribution panel width (Figs. 16, 19 best show the analogous length and width of a wind distribution panel, wherein the wind distribution panel length and width extend in similar directions as the solar module length and the solar module width), the wind distribution panel length and the wind distribution panel width laying in a second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 below, which identifies a specific length and width dimension), the second plane being different from the first plane (Marked-up Fig. 8 shows the projections of the first and second planes for that embodiment, where the first plane is parallel to but displaced from the second plane), wherein the wind distribution panel further comprises a first deflection extension (812 in Marked-up Fig. 8, 1908 in Fig. 19)
A torque tube (not shown in Fig. 19, 121 in Fig. 1, 801 in Fig. 8) that is configured to rotatably move the solar module and the wind distribution panel (¶0049, 0050).
As noted in the rejection under U.S.C. 112(a) above, the language further defining the first deflection extension is not supported by the instant disclosure, and the scope of the language therefore also cannot be determined. As best as can be determined, however, Linderman teaches a first deflection extension (labeled 812 in Marked-up Fig. 8 - Alternate directly below) extending out from a first end of the wind distribution panel beyond the solar module, with a plane parallel to the first deflection extension disposed at an angle ranging from 5 to 85 degrees relative to the wind distribution panel (MPEP §2125).
[AltContent: textbox (Alternate)]
Per claim 2, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 1. The first plane is parallel to the second plane at all rotation al positions of the torque tube (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above, ¶0063; other Figs. and text describe that the wind solar module and wind distribution panel are fixed with respect to the support structure).
Regarding claim 3, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 2. The wind distribution panel length is equal to the solar module length (Figs. 1, 16; MPEP §2125).
Regarding claim 4, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 3. Linderman clearly teaches that the wind distribution panel width is greater than the solar module width (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above).
Per claim 6, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 2. The reference is clear that the wind distribution panel is configured to direct wind into the plenum (Fig. 9). It is not explicitly stated that the wind directed into the plenum reduces a magnitude of wind-induced pressure load at the solar module. However it is expected that the structure necessarily teaches such a property. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Per claim 9, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 1. The first plane is parallel to the second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above, ¶0063; other Figs. and text describe that the wind solar module and wind distribution panel are fixed with respect to the support structure), and the first deflection extension (812 of Fig. 8, 902 of Fig. 9) is at least partially outside of the second plane.
Per claim 10, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 9. The wind distribution panel further comprises a second deflection extension (821 of Fig. 8, 906 of Fig. 9) that extends out from the second end of the wind distribution panel and extends out beyond the solar module, the second end of the wind distribution panel being opposite the first end of the wind distribution panel.
Per claim 21, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 1. The plane of the wind distribution panel intersects the first plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 – Alternate above).
Regarding claims 13-18, Linderman teaches a solar module apparatus comprising
A solar module 1901 (Fig. 19, ¶0080; also see 101 of Fig. 1) having a first side (facing element 1904 of in Fig. 19) that includes a plurality of photovoltaic cells (Fig. 1 shows analogous side 126, ¶0033) and a second side (Fig. 1 shows analogous side 127, obscured by 1910) that is opposite the first side (Fig. 1 shows analogous second side 127 of module 101), the solar module having a solar module length and a solar module width (Fig. 4 best shows the dimensions of an exemplary solar module 403, where the width extends roughly up-down in the frame of the Fig. and the length extends left-right, ¶0077-0079), the solar module length and the solar module width laying in a first plane
A wind distribution panel (including 1902, 1908 of Fig. 19) spaced apart from the second side of the solar module 1901 to define a plenum between the wind distribution panel and the solar module (Figs. 8, 9 shows an exemplary wind distribution panel including 812, 821 or 902, 906; the panel is explicitly included to introduce air between the solar module and the panel, ¶0091-0095), the wind distribution panel having a wind distribution panel length and a wind distribution panel width (Figs. 16, 19 best show the analogous length and width of a wind distribution panel, wherein the wind distribution panel length and width extend in similar directions as the solar module length and the solar module width), the wind distribution panel length and the wind distribution panel width laying in a second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above, which identifies a specific length and width dimension), the second plane being different from the first plane (Marked-up Fig. 8 shows the projections of the first and second planes for that embodiment, where the first plane is parallel to but displaced from the second plane), wherein the wind distribution panel further comprises a first deflection extension (812 in Marked-up Fig. 8, 1908 in Fig. 19).
As noted in the rejection under U.S.C. 112(a) above, the language further defining the first deflection extension is not supported by the instant disclosure, and the scope of the language therefore also cannot be determined. As best as can be determined, however, Linderman teaches a first deflection extension (labeled 812 in Marked-up Fig. 8 – Alternate above) extending out from a first end of the wind distribution panel beyond the solar module, with a plane parallel to the first deflection extension disposed at an angle ranging from 5 to 85 degrees relative to the wind distribution panel (MPEP §2125).
Per claim 14, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 13. The first plane is parallel to the second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above, ¶0063; other Figs. and text describe that the wind solar module and wind distribution panel are fixed with respect to the support structure).
Per claim 15, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 14. The wind distribution panel length is equal to the solar module length (Figs. 1, 16; MPEP §2125) and the wind distribution panel width is greater than the solar module width (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above).
Per claim 16, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 14. The reference is clear that the wind distribution panel is configured to direct wind into the plenum (Fig. 9). It is not explicitly stated that the wind directed into the plenum reduces a magnitude of wind-induced pressure load at the solar module. However it is expected that the structure necessarily teaches such a property. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Per claim 17, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 13. The wind distribution panel further comprises a second deflection extension (821 of Fig. 8, 906 of Fig. 9) that extends out from the second end of the wind distribution panel and extends out beyond the solar module, the second end of the wind distribution panel being opposite the first end of the wind distribution panel.
Per claim 18, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 17. The first plane is parallel to the second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above, ¶0063; other Figs. and text describe that the wind solar module and wind distribution panel are fixed with respect to the support structure), and each of the first deflection extension (812 of Fig. 8, 902 of Fig. 9) and the second deflection extension (821 of Fig. 8, 906 of Fig. 9) is at least partially outside of the second plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linderman as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 7, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 6. Linderman specifically teaches that the solar module (“receiver” in the text) and the wind distribution panel (a part of the “airflow accelerator”) are spaced apart from each other by an air gap to define the plenum (¶0058, 0063). While Linderman does not specifically teach the magnitude of the spacing, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to vary the spacing (discussed in the text as the positioning of the air flow accelerator) to optimize the air flow through the plenum (Fig. 9, ¶0039, 0040, 0047, 0056, 0092, 0094).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linderman as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 11, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 10. The second deflection extension is at least partially outside of the second plane (see Marked-up Fig. 8 above). While Linderman does not explicitly recite that the first deflection extension and the second deflection extension are symmetrical about the wind distribution panel, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to vary respective size of the extensions and angles of the extensions (discussed in the text as the size and positioning of the air flow accelerator) to optimize the air flow through the plenum (Figs. 9, 11, ¶0039, 0040, 0047, 0056, 0092, 0094, 0096-0109).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
As such, a symmetrical distribution of the first deflection extension and second deflection extension about the wind distribution panel is an obvious result of such optimization.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linderman as applied to claim 18 above.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Linderman teaches the limitations of claim 18. While Linderman does not explicitly recite that the first deflection extension and the second deflection extension are symmetrical about the wind distribution panel, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to vary respective size of the extensions and angles of the extensions (discussed in the text as the size and positioning of the air flow accelerator) to optimize the air flow through the plenum (Fig. 9, 11, ¶0039, 0040, 0047, 0056, 0092, 0094, 0096-0109).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
As such, the limitations recited in claim 20 regarding the angles of the first and second deflection extension with respect to the wind distribution panel are obvious results of such optimization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9,203,343.
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726