DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimer filed 8/6/26 was disapproved for not including the Applicant information in its entirety (see 10/2/26). Also, the Copending application has since matured into patent US 12,706,099 B2 on 8/11/26. The Double Patenting rejection has been updated to include the patent number to which a subsequent disclaimer should reflect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1 and similar independent claims 8 and 15, Applicant argues that reference Sen involves separate encoding of different types of audio signals, but does not disclose encoding various types of input signals into spatially encoded signals in a single and common format because the separate encoding results in Sen are not spatially encoded in a specific HOA-type common spatial format (i.e. an Ambisonics type of audio signal) as recited in the present application (Arguments, pg. 12, fourth para – pg. 18. ln 2).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As provided in Applicant’s original disclosure (pg. 36, ln 23 – pg. 37, ln 5),
“The encoded audio signal in the specific spatial format can be the audio signal in the specific spatial format as mentioned above, such as FOA, HOA, MOA, etc., which will not be described in detail here. Therefore, for audio signals that may have at least one of a variety of different spatial representations, they can be spatially encoded to obtain encoded audio signals in specific spatial formats that can be used for playback in user application scenarios, that is, even though audio signals may contain different content formats/audio representations, audio signals in common spatial formats can be obtained through encoding. In some embodiments, the encoded audio signal may be added to the intermediate signal, for example, encoded into the intermediate signal. In another embodiment, the encoded audio signal can also be transmitted directly/transparently to the spatial decoder, without needing to be added to the intermediate signal. In this way, the audio signal encoding module can be compatible with various types of input signals to obtain encoded audio signals in a common space format, so that audio rendering processing can be performed efficiently”.
The claim language, reciting “a spatial encoding step of spatially encoding the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format”, does not call for encoding different types of audio signals to audio in a common spatial format nor that the specific audio content format cannot be the same as the common spatial format. Instead, the claim requires encoding an audio signal in a specific format into audio in a common format.
Sen discloses acquiring an immersive audio content 111 that includes different audio scenes (i.e., specific audio formats) including multi-channel audio, audio objects, Higher order ambisonics (HOA) and dialogue (fig. 1; para. [0024]; para. [0026]), i.e., acquiring “the audio signal” that include at least a HOA/ambisonics audio signal.
Sen also discloses the use of a hierarchical HOA spatial encoder 135 to spatially encode the HOA signal along with its metadata (i.e. parameters) into a HOA audio stream 184 that is used by a HOA baseline encoder 141 to encode the different audio scenes (i.e., specific audio formats) of channel/object audio stream 180, HOA audio stream 184, and stereo audio stream 186 into a common audio stream 191 (fig. 1; para. [0025]; para. [0031]-[0032]); para. [0035]. This common audio stream 191 is subsequently decoded to reconstruct/playback the immersive audio content 111 (para. [0035]), i.e. decoding to recover audio formats including the HOA/Ambisonics audio format signal.
Therefore, because Sen discloses spatially encoding at least the HOA in the immersive audio content audio signal based on the metadata of the audio signal in the HOA format to obtain a spatially encoded common audio signal from which the HOA signal is recoverable via reconstruction, Sen discloses limitation “a spatial encoding step of spatially encoding the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal”.
Sen nevertheless discloses the use of its object spatial encoder 131 to spatially encode object-based audio along with its metadata159 i.e., spatial attribute information into an ambisonics signal (fig. 1, elements 131, 135, 191; para. [0027]), corresponding to limitation “wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, spatially encoding the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal”.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that both Sen and additional reference Stein fail to disclose additional limitations, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Stein discloses encoding a spatial audio signal that includes one or more audio objects (Abstract), and where the audio objects include azimuth characteristics/information/attributes 29 and where the azimuth information provides the angular relation/path of audio objects 22 and 24 to a listener 101 (fig. 1B; para. [0027]-[0028]; para. [0077]), corresponding to limitation “wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener”.
Stein further discloses encoding spatial audio signal based on identified direction information (Abstract; para. [0024]), where the encoded spatial audio signal can include an ambisonics signal (para. [0083]), and where 1st order panning functions/spherical harmonics functions (that includes azimuth angle information) represent the ambisonics signal (para. [0035]), corresponding to spatially encoding Ambisonics signals that include (i.e., according to) azimuth angle information, and as a result, limitation “wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to a listener”.
Also, in response to Applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the references Sen and Stein because Sen describes converting some (fig. 1, elements 160, 170, 152, 184) of the audio objects into HOA, before encoding of the “some” of the audio objects by a HOA spatial encoder 135 (fig. 1, elements 160, 170, 152, 164), while Stein discloses(Abstract, fig. 5; para. [0034]; para. [0083]) encoding both audio objects and HOA (Argument, pg. 19-20), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because it would have resulted in differentiating between nearfield and far field sources while rendering spatial audio signal that includes depth characteristics (Stein, para. [0008]-[0009]) since Sen discloses encoding both “some” of the converted audio objects (by HOA spatial encoder 135 to produce encoded data 184) as well as the remaining audio objects (by Object spatial encoder 131 to produce encoded data 180) into eventual common audio 191 (Sen, fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Copending Application
(US 12,706,099 B2)
Instant Application
(18/541,132)
1. An audio rendering system, comprising:
an audio information processing module configured to acquire relevant parameters of an audio signal in a specific audio content format based on metadata associated with the audio signal in the specific audio content format, wherein the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprises at least one of an object-based audio representation signal, a scene-based audio representation signal, or a channel-based audio representation signal;
an audio signal spatial encoding module configured to spatially encode the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal,
wherein the audio signal spatial encoding module is further configured to in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising the object-based audio representation signal, spatially encode the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal, wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity and nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener; and
an audio signal decoding module configured to spatially decode the encoded audio signal to obtain a decoded audio signal for audio rendering.
1, An audio processing method for audio rendering, comprising:
an acquisition step of acquiring an audio signal in a specific audio content format and relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format, wherein the relevant parameters are acquired based on metadata associated with the audio signal in the specific audio content format; and
a spatial encoding step of spatially encoding the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal,
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, spatially encoding the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal, and wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener
wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to a listener
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20 of Patent US 12,706,099 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference Stein (US 2022/0345813 A1) discloses “wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to a listener”
(fig. 1A-1B; fig. 5; Abstract; para. [0006]; para. [0024]; para. [0034]-para. [0035]; para. [0041]; para. [0048]; para. [0063]; para. [0082]-[0083])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to implement the teachings of Stein, because such combination would have resulted in differentiating between nearfield and far field sources while rendering spatial audio signal that include depth characteristics (Stein, para. [0008]-[0009]).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein, the spatial encoding unit further configured to …” as recited in the claim should be “wherein, the spatial encoding unit is further configured to “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen et al US - 2023/0360661 A1 (“Sen”) in view of Stein - US 2022/0345813 A1 (“Stein”)
Per claim 1, Sen discloses an audio encoding method for audio rendering, comprising:
an acquisition step of acquiring an audio signal in a specific audio content format and relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format, wherein the relevant parameters are acquired based on metadata associated with the audio signal in the specific audio content format (The immersive audio content 111 may include various immersive audio input formats, also referred to as sound field representations, such as multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue, and the like…., para. [0024]; Audio scenes of the immersive audio content 111 may be represented by a number of channels/objects 150, HOA 154, and dialogue 158, accompanied by channel/object metadata 151, HOA metadata 155, and dialogue metadata 159, respectively. Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA to aid a renderer …, para. [0026], multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue as different specific audio content formats, metadata as including relevant parameters); and
a spatial encoding step of spatially encoding the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal (fig. 1, elements 135, 184, 185, 1941, 191; It is understood that the HOA may also include first-order ambisonics (FOA)…., para. [0024]; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA …, para. [0025]; In one aspect, the HOA metadata 155 may provide information to guide the HOA priority decision module 125 in determining the HOA priority ranking 166…., para. [0031]; A hierarchical HOA spatial encoder 135 may spatially encode the HOA …, para. [0032]; A baseline encoder 141 may encode the channel/object audio stream 180, HOA audio stream 184, and stereo audio stream 186 into an audio stream 191 based on the target bitrate 190…., para. [0035]; para. [0045], encoding audio of different formats 111 including HOA format into audio stream 191 for subsequent reconstruction/playback as implying obtaining a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format),
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, spatially encoding the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal (fig. 1, elements 131,135; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels …, para. [0025]; para. [0027]-[0033]), and
Sen does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener or wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to a listener
However, these features are taught by Stein:
wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener (Abstract; fig. 1A-1B; para. [0006]; para. [0026]; FIG. 1A includes a first diagram 100A that shows a location of an audio object 22 relative to a reference position 101. The reference position 101 can be a location of a listener …, para. [0027]; the audio object 22 can have an associated height characteristic 23, and associated projection characteristic 25, such as onto a ground plane, an associated elevation characteristic 27, and an associated azimuth characteristic 29…., para. [0028]; para. [0068]; para. [0077]; para. [0081]-[0082]);
wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to a listener (fig. 1A-1B; fig. 5; Abstract; para. [0006]; para. [0024]; para. [0034]; Consider the set of 1st order (e.g., B-Format) panning equations … X=S*cos(θ)*cos(ϕ) …, para. [0035]; para. [0041]; para. [0048]; para. [0063]; para. [0082]; step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506 … The encoded spatial audio signal can be, for example, an ambisonics signal that includes audio information quantized at different depths. In an example, step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506. The encoded spatial audio signal can therefore include information about an azimuth …, para. [0083], 1st order panning functions representing ambisonics signal as spherical harmonics functions, panning functions/spherical harmonics as including azimuth angle information, spatial encoding of ambisonics signal that includes azimuth angle information as encoding based on azimuth information of the spatial propagation path)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Stein with the method of Sen in arriving at the missing features of Sen, because such combination would have resulted in differentiating between nearfield and far field sources while rendering spatial audio signal that include depth characteristics (Stein, para. [0008]-[0009]).
Per claim 2, Sen in view of Stein discloses the method of claim 1,
Sen discloses wherein the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprises at least one of a scene- based audio representation signal, or a channel-based audio representation signal (The immersive audio content 111 may include various immersive audio input formats, also referred to as sound field representations, such as multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue …, para. [0024]), or
wherein the Ambisonics type of audio signal comprises at least one of First Order Ambisonics (FOA), Higher Order Ambisonics (HOA) or Mixed-Order Ambisonics (MOA).
Per claim 5, Sen in view of Stein discloses the method of claim 1,
Sen discloses: wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, acquiring a reverberation relevant signal of the object-based audio signal based on reverberation parameters in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal, or,
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises, in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising a scene-based audio representation signal, weighting the scene-based audio representation signal based on weight information in the relevant parameters of the scene-based audio representation signal, or,
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises, in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising a scene-based audio representation signal, performing a sound field rotation operation on the scene-based audio representation signal based on the rotation information indicated in the relevant parameters of the scene-based audio representation signal, or,
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises, in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising a specific type of channel signal in the channel-based audio representation signal, converting the specific type of channel signal into an object-based audio representation signal and then encoding it, or,
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises, in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising a specific type of channel signal in the channel-based audio representation signal, splitting the specific type of channel signal into audio elements by channel and converting them into metadata for encoding (fig. 1; In one aspect, the priority ranking 162 may be determined based on the spatial saliency of the channels and objects, such as the position, direction, movement, density, etc., of the channels/objects 150. For example, channels/objects with greater movement near the perceived position of the dominant sound may be more spatially salient and thus may be ranked higher than channels/objects with less movement away from the perceived position of the dominant sound…., para. [0026], channel prioritization as requiring splitting/separation).
Per claim 6, Sen in view of Stein discloses the method of claim 1,
Sen discloses: wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal further comprises at least one of azimuth information of each audio element in the audio representation signal in the coordinate system, distance information of each audio element, or relative azimuth information of a sound source related to the audio signal relative to a listener, or,
in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format being a scene- based audio representation signal, the relevant parameters comprise rotation information related to the audio signal, wherein the rotation information related to the audio signal comprises at least one of rotation information of the audio signal or rotation information of a listener of the audio signal, or,
in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format being a specific type of channel signal in a channel-based audio signal, the relevant parameters comprise metadata that is obtained by splitting an audio representation of the specific type of channel signal into audio elements by channel and then performing conversion (fig. 1; In one aspect, the priority ranking 162 may be determined based on the spatial saliency of the channels and objects, such as the position, direction, movement, density, etc., of the channels/objects 150. For example, channels/objects with greater movement near the perceived position of the dominant sound may be more spatially salient and thus may be ranked higher than channels/objects with less movement away from the perceived position of the dominant sound…., para. [0026], channel prioritization as requiring splitting/separation)
Stein discloses: wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal further comprises at least one of azimuth information of each audio element in the audio representation signal in the coordinate system, distance information of each audio element, or relative azimuth information of a sound source related to the audio signal relative to a listener (para. [0006]; para. [0068]; para, [0081]-[0082])
Per claim 7, Sen in view of Stein discloses the method of claim 1,
Sen discloses wherein the audio signal in the specific audio content format is parsed from an input audio signal in a spatial audio exchange format (fig. 1; The immersive audio content 111 may include various immersive audio input formats, also referred to as sound field representations, such as multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue, and the like.…, para. [0024]).
Per claim 8, Sen discloses an audio processing device for audio rendering, comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire an audio signal in a specific audio content format and relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format, wherein the relevant parameters are acquired based on metadata associated with the audio signal in the specific audio content format (The immersive audio content 111 may include various immersive audio input formats, also referred to as sound field representations, such as multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue, and the like…., para. [0024]; Audio scenes of the immersive audio content 111 may be represented by a number of channels/objects 150, HOA 154, and dialogue 158, accompanied by channel/object metadata 151, HOA metadata 155, and dialogue metadata 159, respectively. Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA to aid a renderer …, para. [0026], multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue as different specific audio content formats, metadata as including relevant parameters); and
a spatial encoding unit configured to spatially encode the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal (fig. 1, elements 135, 184, 185, 1941, 191; It is understood that the HOA may also include first-order ambisonics (FOA)…., para. [0024]; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA …, para. [0025]; In one aspect, the HOA metadata 155 may provide information to guide the HOA priority decision module 125 in determining the HOA priority ranking 166…., para. [0031]; A hierarchical HOA spatial encoder 135 may spatially encode the HOA …, para. [0032]; A baseline encoder 141 may encode the channel/object audio stream 180, HOA audio stream 184, and stereo audio stream 186 into an audio stream 191 based on the target bitrate 190…., para. [0035]; para. [0045], encoding audio of different formats 111 including HOA format into audio stream 191 for subsequent reconstruction/playback as implying obtaining a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format),
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, spatially encoding the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal (fig. 1, elements 131,135; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels …, para. [0025]; para. [0027]-[0033]), and
Sen does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener or wherein, the spatial encoding unit further configured to perform spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or wherein the spatial encoding unit is further configured to encode the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to the listener
However, these features are taught by Stein;
wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener (Abstract; fig. 1A-1B; para. [0006]; para. [0026]; FIG. 1A includes a first diagram 100A that shows a location of an audio object 22 relative to a reference position 101. The reference position 101 can be a location of a listener …, para. [0027]; the audio object 22 can have an associated height characteristic 23, and associated projection characteristic 25, such as onto a ground plane, an associated elevation characteristic 27, and an associated azimuth characteristic 29…., para. [0028]; para. [0068]; para. [0077]; para. [0081]-[0082]),
wherein, the spatial encoding unit further configured to perform spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or wherein the spatial encoding unit is further configured to encode the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to the listener (fig. 1A-1B; fig. 5; Abstract; para. [0006]; para. [0024]; para. [0034]; Consider the set of 1st order (e.g., B-Format) panning equations … X=S*cos(θ)*cos(ϕ) …, para. [0035]; para. [0041]; para. [0048]; para. [0063]; para. [0082]; step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506 … The encoded spatial audio signal can be, for example, an ambisonics signal that includes audio information quantized at different depths. In an example, step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506. The encoded spatial audio signal can therefore include information about an azimuth …, para. [0083], 1st order panning functions representing ambisonics signal as spherical harmonics functions, panning functions/spherical harmonics as including azimuth angle information, spatial encoding of ambisonics signal that includes azimuth angle information as encoding based on azimuth information of the spatial propagation path)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Stein with the device of Sen in arriving at the missing features of Sen, because such combination would have resulted in differentiating between nearfield and far field sources while rendering spatial audio signal that include depth characteristics (Stein, para. [0008]-[0009])
Per claim 9, Sen in view of Stein discloses the audio processing device of claim 8,
Encoder claim 8 and method claim 2 are related as Encoder and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 9 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 2.
Per claim 12, Sen in view of Stein discloses the audio processing device of claim 8,
Encoder claim 12 and method claim 5 are related as Encoder and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 12 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 5.
Per claim 13, Sen in view of Stein discloses the audio processing device of claim 8,
Encoder claim 13 and method claim 6 are related as Encoder and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 13 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 6.
Per claim 14, Sen in view of Stein discloses the audio processing device of claim 8,
Encoder claim 14 and method claim 7 are related as Encoder and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 14 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 7.
Per claim 15, Sen discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising:
a memory (para. [0053]-[0054]), and
a processor coupled to the memory (para. [0053]-[0054]);
the processor is configured to execute the following steps: an acquisition step of acquiring an audio signal in a specific audio content format and relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format, wherein the relevant parameters are acquired based on metadata associated with the audio signal in the specific audio content format (The immersive audio content 111 may include various immersive audio input formats, also referred to as sound field representations, such as multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue, and the like…., para. [0024]; Audio scenes of the immersive audio content 111 may be represented by a number of channels/objects 150, HOA 154, and dialogue 158, accompanied by channel/object metadata 151, HOA metadata 155, and dialogue metadata 159, respectively. Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA to aid a renderer …, para. [0026], multi-channel audio, audio objects, HOA, dialogue as different specific audio content formats, metadata as including relevant parameters); and
a spatial encoding step of spatially encoding the audio signal in the specific audio content format based on the relevant parameters of the audio signal in the specific audio content format to obtain a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format, wherein the spatially encoded audio signal is an Ambisonics type of audio signal (fig. 1, elements 135, 184, 185, 1941, 191; It is understood that the HOA may also include first-order ambisonics (FOA)…., para. [0024]; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels, or locations, sizes, direction, or spatial image parameters of the associated objects or HOA …, para. [0025]; In one aspect, the HOA metadata 155 may provide information to guide the HOA priority decision module 125 in determining the HOA priority ranking 166…., para. [0031]; A hierarchical HOA spatial encoder 135 may spatially encode the HOA …, para. [0032]; A baseline encoder 141 may encode the channel/object audio stream 180, HOA audio stream 184, and stereo audio stream 186 into an audio stream 191 based on the target bitrate 190…., para. [0035]; para. [0045], encoding audio of different formats 111 including HOA format into audio stream 191 for subsequent reconstruction/playback as implying obtaining a spatially encoded audio signal in a common spatial format),
wherein the spatial encoding step further comprises in response to the audio signal in the specific audio content format comprising an object-based audio representation signal, spatially encoding the object-based audio representation signal based on spatial attribute information in the relevant parameters of the object-based audio representation signal (fig. 1, elements 131,135; Metadata may be used to describe properties of the associated sound field such as the layout configuration or directional parameters of the associated channels …, para. [0025]; para. [0027]-[0033]),
Sen does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener or wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to the listener
However, this feature is taught by Stein:
wherein the spatial attribute information of the object-based audio representation signal comprises information related to a spatial propagation path of a sound object of the audio representation signal to a listener, which comprises at least one of propagation duration, propagation distance, azimuth information, path energy intensity or nodes along the way of the spatial propagation path of the sound object to the listener (Abstract; fig. 1A-1B; para. [0006]; para. [0026]; FIG. 1A includes a first diagram 100A that shows a location of an audio object 22 relative to a reference position 101. The reference position 101 can be a location of a listener …, para. [0027]; the audio object 22 can have an associated height characteristic 23, and associated projection characteristic 25, such as onto a ground plane, an associated elevation characteristic 27, and an associated azimuth characteristic 29…., para. [0028]; para. [0068]; para. [0077]; para. [0081]-[0082]),
wherein, the spatial encoding step further comprises performing spatial encoding of the audio signal according to at least one of a filtering function that filters the audio signal based on the path energy intensity of the spatial propagation path of a sound object in the audio signal to a listener or a spherical harmonic function based on the azimuth information of the spatial propagation path, or the spatial encoding step further comprises encoding the audio signal by adopting at least one of a near-field compensation function or a diffusion function based on the length of a spatial propagation path of the sound object in the audio signal to the listener (fig. 1A-1B; fig. 5; Abstract; para. [0006]; para. [0024]; para. [0034]; Consider the set of 1st order (e.g., B-Format) panning equations … X=S*cos(θ)*cos(ϕ) …, para. [0035]; para. [0041]; para. [0048]; para. [0063]; para. [0082]; step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506 … The encoded spatial audio signal can be, for example, an ambisonics signal that includes audio information quantized at different depths. In an example, step 508 can include encoding the spatial audio signal based on direction information identified in step 504 or received with the depth characteristic at step 506. The encoded spatial audio signal can therefore include information about an azimuth …, para. [0083], 1st order panning functions representing ambisonics signal as spherical harmonics functions, panning functions/spherical harmonics as including azimuth angle information, spatial encoding of ambisonics signal that includes azimuth angle information as encoding based on azimuth information of the spatial propagation path)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Stein with the apparatus of Sen in arriving at the missing features of Sen, because such combination would have resulted in differentiating between nearfield and far field sources while rendering spatial audio signal that include depth characteristics (Stein, para. [0008]-[0009]).
Per claim 16, Sen in view of Stein discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 15,
Apparatus claim 16 and method claim 2 are related as Apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 16 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 2.
Per claim 19, Sen in view of Stein discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 15,
Apparatus claim 19 and method claim 5 are related as Apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 19 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 5.
Per claim 20, Sen in view of Stein discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 15,
Apparatus claim 20 and method claim 6 are related as Apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 20 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUJIMI A ADESANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658